$156 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 28, 2014

Strand Palace Hotel London

3 stars
372, Strand, London, WC2R OJJ
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
338 reviews
City Break

This was my 2nd stay at the Strand Palace Hotel and once again I was made welcome and very... See full review

  • Pinklady1967
  • Apr 23, 2014
Very GOOD

Highly Recommended, very clean and Kind, Trafalgar square at walking distance. See full review

  • gyckoo
  • Mar 29, 2014
Fine dining, modern styling, and in the heart of theaterland

The Strand Palace Hotel London is ideally located within walking distance of many of London's major tourist attractions. Guests visiting the city on business can make use of the hotel's nine conference rooms. There are excellent transport links right outside the door, including tube stations and bus stops that further add to the hotel's convenient location. The hotel's interesting contrast of a very modern interior with a typically old-English exterior makes for a comfortable stay and the on-site bar and restaurant serves various European dishes and a traditional British carvery. Wi-Fi is free of charge and available throughout the entire hotel.

Reasons to stay
  • Located in Covent Garden, just a few minutes' walk from London's most prestigious theaters
  • A selection of nine different meeting venues to choose from, making it ideal for business travelers
  • Contemporary and modern interior within a traditional British building
Strand Palace Hotel London rooms

There are two types of room available at the Strand Palace Hotel London: Club and Executive. Each of these categories can provide single, double and king bedrooms. All of the rooms in the hotel are very spacious and contain modern furnishings. The décor is clean and bright, and many of the rooms have marvelous views of London's West End. Executive rooms are decorated in earthy tones and come with a wide variety of extra features, such as complimentary a la carte private breakfast, free movies, choice of luxury toiletries, bathrobe and slippers, and a seating area with desk. All rooms at the Strand Palace Hotel London come with a flat screen television, in-room safe, tea and coffee making facilities and 24 hour room service. For families wishing to stay at the hotel, cots are available on request for children under the age of two, and a sofa bed is also available in some of the rooms.

Things to do nearby
  • Covent Garden (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Leicester Square (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Trafalgar Square (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • St Paul's Cathedral (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Buckingham Palace (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Green Park (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • London Eye (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Piccadilly Circus (2.1 mi/3.4 km)
  • Camden Market (2.6 mi/4.2 km)

Hotel Map

51.5107 -0.1207
Area served
London.
Nearby airports
Heathrow International Airport.
Area description
Great Central Location close to Covent Garden, Trafalgar Square and the River Thames.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Strand Palace Hotel London also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Strand Palace Hotel London Rooms

Standard Single
Single bed (100 cm) Complimentary Wi-Fi En-suite bathroom/shower LCD TV with full Sky package satellite channels In-room safe Mineral water
Standard Double
Double bed (135 cm) Complimentary Wi-Fi En-suite bathroom/shower LCD TV with full Sky package satellite channels In-room safe Mineral water
Standard Twin
Super king size bed (200cm) Complimentary Wi-Fi En-suite bathroom/shower LCD TV with full Sky package satellite channels In-room safe Mineral water
Air Conditioned King
Room offers a two single beds with amenities like air condition, high speed internet access fee applies, satellite TV, pay movies on request, hairdryer, work desk, water, biscuits, fluffy bathrobes on request, plasma TV, magnifying bathroom mirror, lifestyle and business magazines, 24 hour room service, fan, black out shutters, duvets, showers, baths. For exercise enthusiasts, guests enjoy complimentary access to in-house gym.
Executive King
Plasma TV, complimentary Wi-Fi, TV channels and movies, food and beverage discounts, in-room safe, turndown service, choice of toiletries, bathrobe and slippers, I-Pod docking station, free magazine and newspaper, express check-out service. For exercise enthusiasts, guests enjoy complimentary access to in-house gym.
Air Conditioned Single
Room offers a single bed with amenities like air condition, high speed internet access fee applies, satellite TV, pay movies on request, hairdryer, work desk, water, biscuits, fluffy bathrobes on request, plasma TV, magnifying bathroom mirror- lifestyle and business magazines, 24 hour room service, fan, black out shutters, duvets, showers, baths. For exercise enthusiasts, guests enjoy complimentary access to in-house gym.
Air Conditioned Double
Room offers a double bed with amenities like air condition, high speed internet access fee applies, satellite TV, pay movies on request, hairdryer, work desk, water, biscuits, fluffy bathrobes on request, plasma TV, magnifying bathroom mirror, lifestyle and business magazines, 24 hour room service, fan, black out shutters, duvets, showers, baths. For exercise enthusiasts, guests enjoy complimentary access to in-house gym.
Executive Single
Plasma TV, complimentary Wi-Fi, TV channels and movies, food and beverage discounts, in-room safe, turndown service, choice of toiletries, bathrobe and slippers, I-Pod docking station, free magazine and newspaper, express check-out service. For exercise enthusiasts, guests enjoy complimentary access to in-house gym.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet in room
Accessibility
Accessible facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Courtauld Gallery: 0 mi
  • Transport Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Old Operating Theatre Museum and Herb Garret: 0.1 mi
  • the Strand: 0.1 mi
  • London Transport Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Adelphi Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Somerset House: 0.2 mi
  • Aldwych Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Charing Cross station: 0.2 mi
  • British Music Experience: 0.3 mi
  • British Optical Association Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Benjamin Franklin House: 0.3 mi
  • Thomas Neal Centre : 0.3 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Courtauld Gallery: 0 mi
  • Transport Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Old Operating Theatre Museum and Herb Garret: 0.1 mi
  • the Strand: 0.1 mi
  • London Transport Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Adelphi Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Somerset House: 0.2 mi
  • Aldwych Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Charing Cross station: 0.2 mi
  • British Music Experience: 0.3 mi
  • British Optical Association Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Benjamin Franklin House: 0.3 mi
  • Thomas Neal Centre : 0.3 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • London Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Festival Hall: 0.4 mi
  • National Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Hayward Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Canada House Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Nelson's Column: 0.4 mi
  • Twinings Museum: 0.4 mi
  • West End: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Opera House: 0.4 mi
  • Trafalgar Square: 0.4 mi
  • Port of London: 0.4 mi
  • London School of Economics: 0.4 mi
  • London Astoria: 0.4 mi
  • Leicester Square: 0.4 mi
  • Admiralty Arch: 0.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • Sir John Soane's Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Temple church: 0.5 mi
  • London Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • Shaftesbury Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Institute of Contemporary Arts: 0.5 mi
  • London Eye: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Waterloo station: 0.6 mi
  • Dominion Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Soho: 0.6 mi
  • South Bank: 0.6 mi
  • London Aquarium: 0.6 mi
  • Piccadilly Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • British Museum: 0.6 mi

Dining

Mask Bar
Enjoy a relaxing multitude of cocktails in the sophisticated ambience of the Mask bar. Be it drinks before a show or a night cap at the end of a great evening, the Mask bar is the ultimate venue to unwind. Opening Times: Monday - Saturday 17:00 - 3:00 Sunday 17:00 - 2:00
Hops
This is a great place to get together and enjoy some live sport on our big screens or maybe just shoot some pool while enjoying a cold one. Opening Times: Monday - Thursday 16:30 - 23:00 Friday - Saturday 12:00 - 23:00 Sunday 12:00 - 22:30
Strand Carvery
The Strand Carvery is one of Londons original Carvery restaurants and is a destination for guests and locals alike. A mouth-watering choice of hot and cold buffets are available to guests. Opening Times: Monday - Saturday 17:00 - 22:00 Sunday 12:00 - 22:00
Johnston's Brasserie
Serving modern international dishes, Johnston's Brasserie is a contemporary and stylish restaurant, it is the perfect place to enjoy a pre-theatre dinner or a business lunch. Opening Times: Monday - Sunday 12:00 - 22:00
The Lounge Bar
The Lounge Bar serves a wide range of coffees and teas, complete with a fully stocked bar. The Lounge Bar is perfect for drinks and snacks throughout the day. Opening Times: Monday - Friday 8:00 - 24:00 Saturday 10:30 - 24:00 Sunday 10:30 - 22:30

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (338)

Ratings and reviews for Strand Palace Hotel London

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
338 out of 338
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JV
Business
Calexico, CA
Jul 26, 2010

simple, nice and practical

I was staying there during the Farnborough Air Show 2010 and the hotel was very good, have a good restaurants, bar, service, basically good amenities but the only thing that I did not like was that the room was warm, these guys don't have A/C in rooms, I don't know if was only in my room, but was a little bit hot in the room and I asked about an extra fan and they told me that they couldn't give me an extra one. But in a general way the hotel was OK!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You can have a great time and dinner at Convent Garden that is a couple blocks away from the Strand.

Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pascagoula, MS
Jul 6, 2009

Strand Palce review

It was close to the underground and in walking distance to a lot of the attractions that I wanted to see.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
les c
ireland
Mar 9, 2014

GREAT LOCATION

Stayed here in Feburary for 5 nights.Nice comfortable hotel in a great location only a short walk from 3 tube stations and bus stops across the road.Room was small but comfortable,clean,well equipped exactly what I paid for.Overall great base for sightseeing, theatres and traveling around at a reasonable price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pcook
Virginia
Mar 9, 2011

Good tourist hotel in central location

I always stay at this hotel while in London. The rooms are clean and housekeeping service is accommodating. Hotel staff is pleasant and helpful. Also - You can request guaranteed early check-in between 9am and 2pm for £30 pounds, arranged to pay on arrival through emailing the hotel directly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Very convenient location for museums, Parliament, Westminster Abbey and Buckingham Palace. Also for plays and opera, the location is a 10-minute walk from most theatres which avoids a scramble for a taxi when they all let out around the same time. 5-minute walk to Covent Garden and 10-minute walk to Leicester Square with numerous film theatres and restaurants.

Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Milwaukee, WI
Sep 15, 2009

Large Hotel with a quaint and cozy feel

Our room was right off the elevator bank, which we were worried about, but we didn't hear any noise from other guests. There was no air conditioning but the room did come with an oscillating fan. The room also comes equipped with a hair dryer which is a plus when you're a foreign traveler. Our hair dryer didn't work but the front desk responded quickly with a new one. The bathroom was sleek and clean. The hotel is quite a trek from an underground station but not horrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Not Applicable

There is no late night dining in London. Numerous times my fiance and I were looking for food past 11pm and the only place we found was a 24-hour McDonalds. We even asked the hotel front desk and McDonalds was their only suggestion. During your sight-seeing adventures, make sure to make time for dinner well before 10pm.

Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Russia
Sep 29, 2010

Good quality for good price

Very good hotel with excellent location! Free internet (ask on reception). But room was expected more. In reality it's small, but nice and cosy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anthony's Grampa
Evanston, IL USA
Mar 17, 2013

A fine stay

This is not my first time staying at the Strand. It is very convenient to the theatres and several buses stop close by. The staff is always very helpful and I like having free internet service. I will probably always stay at the Strand because I have only had pleasant experiences.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

And there are several buses if the weather bad.

Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eat and Run
Midwest US
Jul 12, 2012

Great location at a fair price!

I'd stayed at the Strand Palace before, and came back for its proximity to Covent Garden/Trafalgar Square/the River/Soho and so on. The rooms are typical size for London, but well arranged and appointed. The hotel is very big, so your room may be a long walk from the lift; however, nothing ever felt crowded (lobby, lift, hallways). We had a corner room - great for quiet, but wish there had been a second window for more ventilation. The price jumps up and down at the Strand Palace, but if you search well and patiently, you can usually get a good, fair price...especially for the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Chor Bizarre...best and most unusual Indian restaurant in London. I go every trip.

Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chester, PA
Sep 24, 2010

Great location!

I was visiting London doing all of the normal touristy London things. The location of the Strand Palace was really perfect. I was able to walk pretty much everywhere, and it was close to the Covent Garden tube stop for the trips to and from Heathrow. My room was pretty small, but it was always clean and suited me just fine. There were restaurants and drug stores nearby. I'm a single woman in my 20s, and I never felt unsafe walking around alone at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Check out the Wolseley on Piccadilly for breakfast or afternoon tea. It's right across from the Ritz, close to the park, and just feels British.

Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tucson, AZ
May 9, 2009

Wonderful price for the location

The room was clean and updated, the carpet in the hall had not been updated yet and was stained and taped in places. The 9th floor can get warm and since I had a "inside" room there was no breeze to cool the room. That being said, the hotel is a great location for sight seeing and getting to train stations, not to mention several Starbucks near by for morning coffee. The staff was very nice and helpful. I have stayed there four times and will stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy a travel card before you leave the states. It is sent to you and is activated for certain dates. As soon as I land in Heathrow, I can go down to the tube and take it to Covent Garden which is a VERY close walking distance to the Strand Palace. It is quick, easy and cheaper than a taxi :)

Back to menu Return to top