$166 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 13, 2015 Check-out: Sep 14, 2015

Strand Palace Hotel London

4 stars
View map of 372, Strand, London, WC2R OJJ

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Strand Palace Hotel London

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
251 out of 251
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Milwaukee, WI
Sep 15, 2009

Large Hotel with a quaint and cozy feel

Our room was right off the elevator bank, which we were worried about, but we didn't hear any noise from other guests. There was no air conditioning but the room did come with an oscillating fan. The room also comes equipped with a hair dryer which is a plus when you're a foreign traveler. Our hair dryer didn't work but the front desk responded quickly with a new one. The bathroom was sleek and clean. The hotel is quite a trek from an underground station but not horrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Not Applicable

There is no late night dining in London. Numerous times my fiance and I were looking for food past 11pm and the only place we found was a 24-hour McDonalds. We even asked the hotel front desk and McDonalds was their only suggestion. During your sight-seeing adventures, make sure to make time for dinner well before 10pm.

Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JAYPOL
Family
San Antonio, Texas
Sep 12, 2009

great locqtion

Repeatedly requested messages from hotel operator from book-in date until three days later, since it was imperative I knew where and when I was supposed to be seeing my British family....always told "no messages" Finally on the third morning the telephone was showing a red message light. I retrieved my 5 messages which had been there since Thursday a.m. I let the operator know this and they were uninterested!!.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The Strand Palace is in a very convenient location with the whole of London just a stone's throw from the hotel. Of course the hotel was on a very busy street therefore a constant traffic noise. Restaurants and shopping are so convenient. Worth the noise - take ear[plugs!

Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Overworked, Underpaid, Day Laborer
Single
San Carlos, CA
Sep 10, 2009

Well-Located Gem with a lot of Bang

Hmm. I don't think I have ever written a review for anything, but I did want to express my pleasant surprise at the quality of Strand Palace Hotel - London. I took a quick, last-minute vacation to get away from work. I searched Orbitz for some Hotels and found the Strand Palace. I was a little sceptical based on the price (~$117/night after taxes and all) and location. I decided to chance it. It was well worth it. The room I stayed in was a little small, but very clean and functional. It reminded me of my college dorm (but with a nice, individual bathroom). The hotel charges for internet access, which I found disappointing. However, you can go across the street to Coffee Republic and get 30 minutes free after you purchase something. Although the hotel lacks a gym, they do provide a free pass for the health club across the street (which was a great facility with an indoor pool). You can also use one of their 4 public computers to surf the net. The hotel location was amazing. It was about a couple of small blocks away from Covent Garden (Soho, chinatown, Leicester square were all within walking distance). There were loads of restaraunts around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kraduenz[@]
Friends
Milwaukee, WI
Aug 11, 2009

great price, great location.

the staff was helpful and available. Rooms were very clean. They have a room fan but still the rooms got very stuffy. The windows opened just a few inches and really no air came in through them. That was the only downside. Keep in mind, we were there in August so this might not be an issue when it is not the height of summer. the location of the hotel is the best. There are 3 tube stations within a short walk and only 2 blocks from Covent Garden and about a 5 minute walk to Trafalger Square and Leicester Square. Walk in the other direction and you are 2 blocks from the Waterloo Bridge and the National theatre on the other side. All in all, would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get the Oyster Card. It saves you tons of money in Bus and Tube fares and you can turn the card in at the end of your stay and get your deposit back.

Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Denver, CO
Aug 1, 2009

Great Location

Great hotel. My only complaints are it is a just a tad noisy and they charge for internet. Still the staff is extremely friendly and very helpful. The location alone is a great reason to stay. Right on the west end just a short walk from Buckingham Palace and many other landmarks. The location and the staff are way too good to pass up. Pick this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
eco-man
Single
switzerland
Jul 23, 2009

Nice Hotel, Location Great

Very nice people. Very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Albuquerque NM
Jul 18, 2009

Wonderful hotel in great location

The staff was friendly and the concierge was extremely helpful. The room and especially the bathroom were very clean and adequately spaced. There was a bit of traffic noise, which is to be expected in the heart of London and no air conditioning, also expected in London. I used the fan provided with the room and kept my window open. The hotel was in a great location, within walking distance of the Thames, Theatre District, Covent Garden, Leicester square, Trafalgar square, The British Museum and The National Gallery. Was on the bus and tube routes, and I had no problems getting around. I did not eat at the hotel as breakfast was not included and they charged 15 pounds which I thought was too high for breakfast. There are lovely cafes around the hotel, and of course, the ubiqitous Starbucks is half a block away. All in all a delightful experience and I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Scottsdale, AZ
Jul 17, 2009

Excellent location, great value

Fantastic, almost unbeatable, location with decent restaurant attached. This was a great value. Extremely small rooms by American standards but all that one needed and clean. Great water pressure and no wait for hot water. Much from the hotel is à la carte and pricey but would I would absolutely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

You're a 10-min walk from dozens of West End theatres.

Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Washington DC
Jul 13, 2009

Strabd Palace Hotel - London

This my third stay at the hotel. The hotel is very central to downtown London and convenient to several tube stops. Short walk to Theatre District. I did not see a show this trip because of the length of my stay but if I had more time I would have. Excellent value for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
South Central PA
Jul 9, 2009

Excellent Value for Excellent Location

This was an excellent place to stay while on a theatre trip to London. Lots of places to eat close by and close to the Charing Cross Underground. Well kept, clean with a very friendly staff. I would stay again, but without air conditioning, perhaps not in the summer months. However, as good as this place is, that is still a "Maybe". Next time I travel to London I will consider this place first.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Back to menu Return to top