$161 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 26, 2015 Check-out: Jul 27, 2015

Strand Palace Hotel London

4 stars
View map of 372, Strand, London, WC2R OJJ

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Strand Palace Hotel London

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
276 out of 276
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Steph123456789
Business
Belfast, UK
Aug 22, 2011

Strand Palace Hotel

It was wonderful; the staff was very helpful and timely with their service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Loved Camden! Check it out!

Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Steph123456789
Business
Belfast, UK
Aug 22, 2011

Strand Palace Hotel

It was wonderful; the staff was very helpful and timely with their service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Loved Camden! Check it out!

Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Toronto male
Business
Toronto
Aug 20, 2011

Palace Strand

The hotel was well situated and the room well appointed. However, there was no air conditioning and the window opened on to a main street so sleeping was difficult. I would not recommend it in the summer months.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
oldtimes3
Business
Chatsworth,CA, USA
Aug 17, 2011

Great Place to Stay & See Everything on Foot

Able to check in early at no extra charge. Friendly staff able to answer questions. Room was small by American standards but probably normal in London. In-house dining for breakfast rather high.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Less than 10 minutes to Trafalger by foot and even shorter time from tube exit on ride from Heathrow. Overall in the middle of the live play district and near all major tourist spots all on foot.

Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
oldtimes3
Business
Chatsworth,CA, USA
Aug 17, 2011

Great Place to Stay & See Everything on Foot

Able to check in early at no extra charge. Friendly staff able to answer questions. Room was small by American standards but probably normal in London. In-house dining for breakfast rather high.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Less than 10 minutes to Trafalger by foot and even shorter time from tube exit on ride from Heathrow. Overall in the middle of the live play district and near all major tourist spots all on foot.

Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Aug 11, 2011

Not Bad for the Price

Overall, the Strand Palace is not a bad deal. Its location is ideal: less than 10 minute walk to Trafalgar Square, Leicester Square and Piccadilly Circus, a short hop to the Mall, Downing Street and Parliament. What can be better than that? The hotel itself is nice but be warned - NO AIR CONDITIONING IN ANY OF THE ROOMS. Luckily, London is often quite cool, even in August yet it can still get quite hot and stuffy in the rooms. When I checked in, I was given a room facing a closed-off courtyard of other rooms. It was stifling and stuffy. However, I immediately asked for a room change and the staff was accommodating. They gave me a room facing the street which had a nice cross-breeze that kept the room cool. I still wonder how it would be like, however, if I experienced a 90+ spell. (It's rare but it does happen during London summers). Other than that, the room is serviceable. It's quite tiny (some might compare it to a closet) but that's not all that uncommon for European hotels. Just be prepared. The website and the lobby certainly make it seem like the Strand Palace is a modern, American-style hotel. It is none of those things. However, for the price and the location (which is amazing), it's not bad. PS - Don't forget to explore Covent Gardens, a great little area filled with shops and restaurants right behind the hotel. Silly me, I didn't even discover this neat little area until my last day. Thus, there are plenty of affordable places to eat and shop right next to the hotel. (The hotel's Carvery also offers a great buffet lunch and dinner for a good price.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
agbert
Business
Rocklin, CA
Aug 4, 2011

Amazing! Comfortable & Helpful!

We were visiting London to see the closing performance of Luise Miller @ Donmar Warehouse with Alex Kingston. This hotel's location was perfect for us. We'd never been in London before, and this hotel was central to everything! The theater, London eye, Aquarium, Westminster Abbey, Buckingham Palace - all were within walking distance. Everyone was helpful. I lost my cell phone in a London cab! Not only was the hotel staff helpful in giving us advice, but the caby got in touch with me and returned my device! WOW... Amazing! Some things they could improve is air conditioning. This doesn't count against, but given the unusual weather (hot, humid, but not raining) it made the rooms a little stuffy. ALL in all we had a great visit, and will use this hotel next time we visit!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sophie's Steak House! Go Go Go!

Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new york
Aug 2, 2011

great location

hotel had a great location, easily accessible to attractions and subways. we were able to walk to most places. great recommendations for restaurants from the staff. very accommodating and friendly staff. would have been nice to have free wifi in this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

go out to eat dinner early as everything shuts down at 11pm!!

Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cleveland, OH
Jul 25, 2011

Not Apple Friendly

I have no real complaints about the hotel itself. It's in a busy area so I was expecting noise to be an issue but it was tolerable (I was not facing towards the main road, thankfully). The room was crazy small, but I was expecting that in an old building in a European country. There are two Tube stations within easy walking distance. My real problem was the Internet issues other reviewers mentioned. If you have an iPhone or iPad it doesn't work (altho it will charge you and the front desk will have to remove the fee). Finding Wifi in London was harder than I expected it to be, but you'll find it here and there. Stay away from the BTOpen Voucher cards, as they also don't work particularly well on mobile devices. If you are using a laptop instead of mobile I believe that it would work fine. I would not stay there again, but it's only because of the Internet issue. Other than that I would have given it 5 stars, and would be back in a flash.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Massachusetts
Jul 13, 2011

Tiny room but great Location

Great lOcation near charing cross,national gallery So for sightseeing made perfect sense! Room and bath were modern, up to date Internet access was extremely limited(30 minutes within a 24 Hr period) but could be purchased. Didn't need directions but staff seemed helpful;) Did not use restaurant at hotel asthere are many eateries adjacent to the hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Markets are near the hotel that stay open fairly late so get your sOft drinks and nibbles there instead

Back to menu Return to top