$163 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Strand Palace Hotel London

4 stars
View map of 372, Strand, London, WC2R OJJ

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Strand Palace Hotel London

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
272 out of 272
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Your Friendly Vacationer
St Louis, USA
Nov 21, 2012

My kinda hotel

Great hotel!! Location unbeatable (esp. if you like theatre), price fabulous, room service excellent, bed nice and firm. The only possible drawback is that the room was quite small. Really only barely fit the bed and desk. But for this location at this price it was totally worth it!! Would definitely recommend and frequent again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

close to all the main theatres!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SHOrbitz
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Mar 6, 2012

Just a place to sleep

The room was fine, but cramped and covering only the bare minimum; the main advantage of this hotel is the location, walking distance from so much of West End London. This is a hotel for people who aren't planning to spend much time in their hotel room, but want a convenient location for touristing around London.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
totozft
Business
Raleigh, NC, USA
Jan 4, 2012

perfect location

It was 4 days for vacation. Got a good price considering I spent New Year's Eve in London. The room was small (one single bed), but again, I didn't plan to spend my time there ! The location is perfect, right in the middle of everything. I'm walking a lot and - being in a central location - I could get from Hyde Park to the London Tower w/o getting in the underground. It's 2mn walk from Covent Garden, 5mn from Charing Cross, Embankment and Temple subway stations, a nice walk to Soho, the London Eye, etc.... I'll check it again next time I go back to London !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Wellington Pub is just located in the next block !

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
r888
Business
London, UK
Jan 3, 2012

nice location

the room was very noisy , like some machinery working out of the window.Windows did not open for ventilation as well

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JKGart
Business
Baltimore, MD, USA
Nov 29, 2011

Perfect place to stay in London

Easy access to the tube and train stations. Easy walking distance to many sites. The staff was very accomadating and helpful, arranged for several site seeing tours. Very comfortable beds, well maintained and serviced rooms. Baths good size by Europen standards. Will definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
92612
Business
Irvine CA
Nov 9, 2011

Great location - hard beds - crummy pillows

The individual room I had was lovely, small but more than adequate. Bathroom was perfect. The location is fabulous, just across from the Savoy and near theaters. I wanted walking distance to the British Museum so it had seemed worth the extra money. Unfortunately, I arrived with a terrible head cold and spent my time in bed. Yikes, I couldn't believe how hard the bed was and the pillows were thin and hard as well. Maybe it is American vs British standards, or that I was in an individual room. I ate at Johnson's, one of their restaurants, what a mistake. Overpriced and terrible food - the pan fried mullet was inedible and the 'specialty bread' was greasy with butter. The replacement was marginally better so I gave up. (Or maybe I just forgot how bad English 'cuisine' is - this wasn't my first time). The prepaid breakfast was expensive but excellent (after two sick days I could finally eat). 15.3 pound cab ride from Paddington Station, not the 10 pounds I was told. The cost was not justified for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sifrina
Business
Province of Trento, Italy
Nov 7, 2011

Great location and beautiful hotel

We had never been to London before and this was the perfect place! The location was amazing, and the people were very helpful with anything we needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cshapar14
Business
St. Louis
Nov 7, 2011

Great Value

For the money, you don't get much better in central london. Walk to Covent Garden, Leicester Square, Theater District, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr RAL
Business
.............................N.J.
Oct 18, 2011

Great Location

Best point is the location. Can walk to many attractions and subway. Safe. Helpful staff. Clean rooms w/ new linens. Newly remodeled bathroom. Quiet. No bugs. In room coffee. Great value and quality in hotel buffett. Stayed for four nights. Overall very satisfied. Complaints: You only get a half hour a day of free internet connection. You have to pay for more time. The bedroom is small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Flea market around the corner. Small supermarket down the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
harriesj
Business
Swansea
Oct 11, 2011

Lovely hotel - Very central

We stayed for a long weekend after our wedding. On check in we were upgraded to a bigger room which was lovely. It was very clean and had everything we needed. The staff were very helpful and I really cant find any fault. The location was perfect for us - 2 mins from Covent Garden, lots to see and do within walking distance. Couldnt fault it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kenpasadena
Business
Pasadena, CA
Oct 11, 2011

Location, location, location

If you want a perfectly decent hotel in a great location, this is it. The rooms are small (in the US think Holiday Inn or Motel 6). Perfectly acceptable and much more reasonable than other hotels in London. The best thing about this hotel is the location - in the heart of the theater district and central to everything. You can walk or take a short tube ride to most of the top sites. Staff is nice and very helpful. Would recommend if you aren't planning on staying in your hotel room all day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top