$115 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 2, 2015 Check-out: Apr 5, 2015

Strand Palace Hotel London

4 stars
View map of 372, Strand, London, WC2R OJJ

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Strand Palace Hotel London

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
249 out of 249
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cshapar14
Business
St. Louis
Nov 7, 2011

Great Value

For the money, you don't get much better in central london. Walk to Covent Garden, Leicester Square, Theater District, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr RAL
Business
.............................N.J.
Oct 18, 2011

Great Location

Best point is the location. Can walk to many attractions and subway. Safe. Helpful staff. Clean rooms w/ new linens. Newly remodeled bathroom. Quiet. No bugs. In room coffee. Great value and quality in hotel buffett. Stayed for four nights. Overall very satisfied. Complaints: You only get a half hour a day of free internet connection. You have to pay for more time. The bedroom is small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Flea market around the corner. Small supermarket down the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
harriesj
Business
Swansea
Oct 11, 2011

Lovely hotel - Very central

We stayed for a long weekend after our wedding. On check in we were upgraded to a bigger room which was lovely. It was very clean and had everything we needed. The staff were very helpful and I really cant find any fault. The location was perfect for us - 2 mins from Covent Garden, lots to see and do within walking distance. Couldnt fault it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kenpasadena
Business
Pasadena, CA
Oct 11, 2011

Location, location, location

If you want a perfectly decent hotel in a great location, this is it. The rooms are small (in the US think Holiday Inn or Motel 6). Perfectly acceptable and much more reasonable than other hotels in London. The best thing about this hotel is the location - in the heart of the theater district and central to everything. You can walk or take a short tube ride to most of the top sites. Staff is nice and very helpful. Would recommend if you aren't planning on staying in your hotel room all day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A retired bum
Business
Midland, MI, USA
Oct 6, 2011

THE BEST LOCATION!!!

I have stayed here many times and have always been pleased. This time London was experiencing record heat for October. I expected a hotel in this price range to be air conditioned - WRONG. The windows did open and they provided a fan but still it was too warm. It is a fabulous location for sight-seeing, the theatre district and all the entertainment and dining choices around Covent Garden.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy an oyster card and load it up "pay as you go". Maybe start with 10 pounds. You can use it anytime on a bus, train or underground. Just tap and go. Saves money and time. You can add more money to it at any time. The Brits call this "topping up". BTW, it is not valid on the Heathrow or Gatwick trains. Also if you need or want to be reachable by phone, pick up a cheap pay as you go phone at the train station or a Tesco grocery store. I paid something like 5-10 pounds for mine 2 years ago and still use it anytime I am in Europe. Be prepared to pay for internet use at every hotel and it isn't cheap!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
barfly
Business
Austin, TX
Oct 3, 2011

small but comfortable room

Great location. close to tube stations. easy access to everything. didn't mind the small room because we were only there to sleep and the shower facility was very relaxing. could have used something other than a fan i.e. air conditioner as it was hot and humid. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get an "oyster pass" It is good for the tube as well as the buses and DLR train. Then all you have to do is swipe the card. You can refill as necessary and cash in for refund when you are ready to leave London.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SundevilJ
Business
Tempe, AZ, USA
Sep 27, 2011

Great Stay, Better Location

Right by Covent Garden, close to the Tube and several top-flight sites, the Strand Palace is a great base for a London adventure! We loved the fact that so much was within a short walk. The room was tight as everything in Europe is, but it was clean and quiet. The staff were excellent as well. Can't think of anything wrong with this hotel. There are cheaper alternatives but few as centrally located.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Trafalgar Square is a 5-minute walk away

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Erika 1
Business
Florida, USA
Sep 21, 2011

Sightseeing Beautiful London

I enjoyed the cleanliness and comfort of the room. I did find the it noisy in the early morning from outside. I am from the USA and missed not getting wash clothes. The breakfast buffet was great! We had an enjoyable stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

It was great ordering our tickets for buses and attractions over the internet.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
UKtraveler
Business
California, USA
Sep 19, 2011

Ordinary hotel, excellent location

There was a slight mix up with our booking - online we booked for two people but the hotel only had us down for one - but they fixed it quickly. The bathroom was not super clean and the overhead light was very flickery, so it wasn't the most comfortable room ever, but the bed was nice and the location was great, close to several tube stations and tourist attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Steph123456789
Business
Belfast, UK
Aug 22, 2011

Strand Palace Hotel

It was wonderful; the staff was very helpful and timely with their service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Loved Camden! Check it out!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top