$117 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 2, 2015 Check-out: Aug 3, 2015

Strand Palace Hotel London

4 stars
View map of 372, Strand, London, WC2R OJJ

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Strand Palace Hotel London

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
247 out of 247
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KarynS
Business
Boston, MA
Jul 16, 2012

Centralized London Hotel

Overall, we had a very good experience at the Strand Palace. The location couldn't have been more perfect for the sites we wanted to visit. We felt as though we were in the heart of the city with easy access the the Underground and major attractions. The check-in process was laborious to say the least. Once we finally got to an employee, it took 20 minutes for us to check-in. We had pre-paid for our room and there were no issues with our booking. Why it took this long is a mystery. Our room was larger than I expected after reading previous reviews. It really was a comfortable amount of space. Keep in mind, we had just completed several cruises with impossibly small cabins so our perspective may be a bit skewed. We did not have air conditioning - although a fan was provided it was quite warm. Our window faced an inward courtyard which provided no breeze to refresh the room. Additionally, the pillows were terrible. I resorted to using a neck pillow I purchased for the flight to sleep throughout the night. We ate at the hotel the first evening we were there (at the Johnston's Restaurant), the food was excellent and certainly something I would recommend if you're looking for a convenient place to eat. Overall we had a wonderful vacation and spent little time in the hotel. There wasn't much to do but sleep, but that was fine with us. The staff was friendly (albeit slow as described) but they always had smiles which created a welcoming environment. We would be glad to stay at the Strand Palace in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eat and Run
Business
Midwest US
Jul 12, 2012

Great location at a fair price!

I'd stayed at the Strand Palace before, and came back for its proximity to Covent Garden/Trafalgar Square/the River/Soho and so on. The rooms are typical size for London, but well arranged and appointed. The hotel is very big, so your room may be a long walk from the lift; however, nothing ever felt crowded (lobby, lift, hallways). We had a corner room - great for quiet, but wish there had been a second window for more ventilation. The price jumps up and down at the Strand Palace, but if you search well and patiently, you can usually get a good, fair price...especially for the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Chor Bizarre...best and most unusual Indian restaurant in London. I go every trip.

Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DCphoto
Business
Tomball TX
Jul 2, 2012

A quck getaway

I stopped in London for a few days.The Strand Hotel was extremely convenient to bus and tub transportations for everything I needed to do. The staff was outstanding. The room was smallish (as is normal for outside the US) but very comfortable and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jack Liczkowski
Business
Poznan, Poland
Jun 26, 2012

Perfect location in the theater district but for food go somewhere else.

Excellent location, next to Savoy, Elevators (lifts) need replacement., as well as most of furnishings. But the price is good and for drinks one can go to American Bar in the Savoy or for a good dinner to close by Rules on Maiden St., the oldest restaurant in London.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Rules

Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SRFZOOM
Business
Sebastopol, CA. USA
Jun 20, 2012

First time in London

I chose the Strand Palace Hotel for it's location and price. My stay of 4 nights were the last nights of a two week trip to the UK & Ireland. By this time I was traveling alone and wanted a Hotel's location to centered enough so I can walk to every attraction I had plan to see. The Strand provided this. The price was fair and as I went to the Hotel to check it out, I could see why. The Hotel was surrounded by scaffold and covered in shrink-wrap, so obviously there was no exterior view to be had. I spoke with a employee at the reception desk and requested a room on the highest floor possible with a possible interior view. I was told I could, the room would have a "courtyard view" . Upon my return and after checking in, receiving my room key and other instruction I went to my room and quickly discovered that the "courtyard view" was in reality a 7 story mechanical well offering up views of neighboring Hotel rooms. Disappointing, not for the lack of a view, but for the staff member not quite telling the truth. My stay there overall was pleasant, the rooms were cleaned by a great staff, customer service was very helpful and the location enabled me to get around London by foot. My only complaint is the fact that the room was very warm and very stuffy, due to the windows for reasons listed, only could be opened very little, providing no fresh air. The hotel did supply a fan which I used constantly. For a Hotel with "Palace" in it, should do better. Also, environmentally speaking the use of plastic wrapped plastic cups in lieu of re-usable glass containers is embarrassing. Plastic glasses are typical at Motel-6' not Hotels. I stayed in 7 different Hotels during my trip and the Strand Palace was the only one to do this. Lastly I asked a staff member if the Hotel provided a clothes drop-off site to be used by travelers who want to leave clothes behind for home-less shelters, the Hotel did not have one....maybe they can incorporate one. When we do return to London, a stay at the Strand Palace Hotel will be a possibility.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Pick a Hotel centralized and walk.

Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Trivia Buff
Business
Colorado
Jun 7, 2012

Fit the bill

Room small. Could easily hear occupants in next room. Room was clean. Bed was very comfortable. Staff very helpful, Location was geat! All in all, would use again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
amuneek
Business
Wolverhampton, West Midlands
May 13, 2012

Dissapointed

The hotel looks good. Several problems arose though. I use crutches and a wheelchair and they kept me standing at check in for about 20 mins while they checked what room to give me. Once in the room, I needed to use an iron and board, it took 3 requests before I got it. I also had to ask twice for the tea and coffee to be replenished and even then they brought the wrong things. I was woken at 8 am by the housekeeping staff talking very loudly outside my room. The bed was rock hard. I have had better service and treatment from Travelodge and Premier Inn hotels. I WILL NOT be returning to The Strand Palace again, I will look for a different hotel for my next visit to London

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
g4sandman
Business
Sheffield, UK
May 5, 2012

Too expensive

Booked this for a business trip because it was near the location I needed. Quite expensive considering the tiny room. The room itself couldn't have been more than 12 foot by 6 foot, with an inward facing window. The hotel was having an exterior facelift so was covered in scaffolding. Disappointing. The staff were great however, courteous and polite. Free wifi with the room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sunchsr
Business
southern California
May 1, 2012

NIce place, great location

This hotel is in a great location, walking to distance to most attractions and theatres. Staff was friendly, rooms clean and comfortable. My only complaint of the place was that they charge a media charge to watch tv. This really should be included in the cost of the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Stay centerally located so you are close to attractions and entertainment. It really saves time and you don't have to use transportation if you don't want to.

Review of Strand Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sacramentan
Business
Folsom, CA, USA
Apr 5, 2012

Location!

Very nice hotel at an excellent location, just several minutes walk from Covent Garden. 5 minute walk from Trafalgar sq.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top