$106 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 8, 2015 Check-out: Mar 9, 2015

Shaftesbury Premier London Paddington Hotel

4 stars
View map of 55 Westbourne Terrace, Paddington, London, W2 3DN

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
27 reviews
Great location and good value

This was quite a find - very close to Paddington which was just what I was looking for. Booked last... See full review

  • SueB
  • Nov 20, 2014
Great

Just stayed for one night when getting into London. Good spot for the express to Heathrow. Tiny... See full review

  • La La City Hopper
  • Apr 28, 2014
The Shaftesbury Premier London Paddington is located near Hyde Park, in the popular and vibrant area of Paddington. The property is also just a short walk from Paddington mainline and underground for easy access to Heathrow airport and major tourist attractions. The rooms offer immaculate style accentuated with regal overtones. State-of-the-art technology including a next generation of plasma screen TVs and Complimentary Broadband Internet access from all rooms help satisfy the evolving demands of tomorrow. A myriad of facilities adorn all the rooms, security locks, air conditioning, safes, iron and ironing boards. The bar opens from 6pm to 11pm in weekdays and weekends.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Shaftesbury Premier London Paddington Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Shaftesbury Premier London Paddington Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Double Room
Deluxe Double Room has a Double bed in the room.Complimentary Broadband Internet access in all rooms
Limited room service
In-room coffee/tea service
Private bath/shower with hairdryer & complimentary toiletries
Electronic Door Locks
Iron and ironing board
Electronic Safe in all rooms (laptop size)
Television
Telephone
Air Conditioned rooms
Deluxe Twin Room
Deluxe Twin Room has 2 Single beds in the room.Complimentary Broadband Internet access in all rooms
Limited room service
In-room coffee/tea service
Private bath/shower with hairdryer & complimentary toiletries
Electronic Door Locks
Iron and ironing board
Electronic Safe in all rooms (laptop size)
Television
Telephone
Air Conditioned rooms
Superior Single Room
Superior Single Room has a Single bed in the room.
Complimentary Broadband Internet access in all rooms
Limited room service
In-room coffee/tea service
Private bath/shower with hairdryer & complimentary toiletries
Electronic Door Locks
Television
Telephone
Air Conditioned rooms

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Paddington Station: 0.2 mi
  • Lancaster Gate: 0.3 mi
  • Whiteleys Shopping Centre : 0.4 mi
  • Queensway: 0.4 mi
  • Kensington Gardens: 0.6 mi
  • Showroom Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • City of Westminster: 0.7 mi
  • Hyde Park: 0.8 mi
  • Kensington Palace: 0.8 mi
  • Marble Arch: 0.9 mi
  • Albert Memorial : 0.9 mi
  • Notting Hill: 1 mi
  • Lords Cricket Ground: 1 mi
  • Royal Albert Hall: 1 mi
  • Polish Institute and Sikorski Museum: 1 mi
  • Paddington Station: 0.2 mi
  • Lancaster Gate: 0.3 mi
  • Whiteleys Shopping Centre : 0.4 mi
  • Queensway: 0.4 mi
  • Kensington Gardens: 0.6 mi
  • Showroom Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • City of Westminster: 0.7 mi
  • Hyde Park: 0.8 mi
  • Kensington Palace: 0.8 mi
  • Marble Arch: 0.9 mi
  • Albert Memorial : 0.9 mi
  • Notting Hill: 1 mi
  • Lords Cricket Ground: 1 mi
  • Royal Albert Hall: 1 mi
  • Polish Institute and Sikorski Museum: 1 mi
  • Maida Vale: 1.1 mi
  • Baker Street: 1.1 mi
  • High Street Kensington: 1.1 mi
  • London Business School: 1.1 mi
  • Sherlock Holmes Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Royal College of Music Archives and Museum of Instruments: 1.1 mi
  • Selfridges: 1.2 mi
  • Park Lane: 1.2 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 1.2 mi
  • Wallace Collection: 1.2 mi
  • Imperial College London: 1.2 mi
  • Science Museum London: 1.3 mi
  • Harrods: 1.3 mi
  • Bond Street London: 1.3 mi
  • Knightsbridge: 1.3 mi
  • Portobello Market: 1.3 mi
  • Portobello Road: 1.3 mi
  • Royal Academy of Music: 1.3 mi
  • Victoria and Albert Museum: 1.4 mi
  • National Art Library: 1.4 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Baden-Powell House Exhibition: 1.4 mi
  • Gloucester Road: 1.4 mi
  • Kilburn: 1.4 mi
  • Handel House Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Park Corner: 1.5 mi
  • Regent's College: 1.5 mi
  • Oxford Street: 1.5 mi
  • Red Mansion Foundation: 1.5 mi
  • Wellington Arch: 1.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (27)

Ratings and reviews for Shaftesbury Premier London Paddington Hotel

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
27 out of 27
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.3

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Shaftesbury Premier London Paddington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Badinc
Business
Belfast
Dec 11, 2014

Like lying on the floor!

The location of this hotel is great! However that is basically all the positive I can say. The cooked breakfast is really basic and costs £10 if bought in advance. The bed feels like concrete. I was in room 002 which is directly outside the lift and so noisy most of the night. The curtains would not cover the whole window and so I had street light blinding me all night!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Not great!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shaftesbury Premier London Paddington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Awesome1
Business
Scotland
Dec 8, 2014

CONVIENIENCE

The room was too small for a double bed, wardrobe was too small to hang clothes and close the door. Bathroom was spotless. Had to crawl into bed from the bottom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shaftesbury Premier London Paddington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SueB
Business
Bath
Nov 20, 2014

Great location and good value

This was quite a find - very close to Paddington which was just what I was looking for. Booked last minute the hotel looked quite cheap so was not quite sure what I would find. Turned out to be a conveniently sited hotel with friendly staff. My room was large, comfortable and although the bathroom was really small they'd still fitted in a bath which for me was a real bonus. I liked that the hotel doesn't look to rip you off - so wifi was free and breakfast, although charged separately, was a reasonable £9. I only had one problem - I couldn't work out how to take the plug out of the bath, so apologies to the staff who would have had to do it for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shaftesbury Premier London Paddington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Helios
Business
Yarm
Jul 16, 2014

Looked promising

An impressive looking hotel in the photos though not so good in real life. Our reception was very ordinary - polite but not overly friendly. The room was tiny - well done but too small for two people to move around or put anything down. As we were there for three days I had hoped for something more. The ensuite was the tiniest I've ever seen. The bed was a double and we are used to a king so this felt small too but the problem here was that it was so uncomfortable. The mattress was lumpy and meant that we got little sleep despite being shattered from walking around London. We are yet to find the bar or any other communal areas. Disappointing and definitely not good value for money. I would not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shaftesbury Premier London Paddington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
La La City Hopper
Business
Orlando, FL
Apr 28, 2014

Great

Just stayed for one night when getting into London. Good spot for the express to Heathrow. Tiny room but it did the job and was nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shaftesbury Premier London Paddington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hollywood Show Attendee
Business
CA Central Coast
Oct 30, 2013

Not Quite There ...

For this trip I would be moving often, spending minimal time in any one hotel so I was most concerned with price and proximity to stations, etc. On that basis, the SPLP fit the criteria but missed the mark in other areas. Owing to travel, etc., it happens that I stayed in three different rooms, all quite small (though I've come to expect this of English hotels and am not really bothered by it except as noted). The first room had a bathroom that I could barely turn around in. Rather than a full tub (!), a shower (as all other rooms I stayed in had) would have allowed much needed floor space. The second room was at the front of the hotel with the door opening immediately onto steps leading down half a floor. As this was a buying trip and I had ALOT of bags, this was pretty much impossible to deal with not to mention that, since the stairs took up a good deal of area, there was effectively no open space in the room itself. All the rooms along the front had warnings on the door about a step down so I assume they all suffer this problem. The third room was perfect: BIG bathroom, plenty of floorspace, etc. On arrival we were unable to operate the lights or television. A staff member came up but was unable so suss-out the problem. We eventually found that each was governed by a separate master switch which wasn't easily found. Assuming all the rooms are essentially the same, why wouldn't the staff know this? The biggest downside to this was that we could operate only certain halogen lights which made the room unbearably hot. The staff was generally a little on the curt side; if I had to guess, I would say all of the staff encountered during my stay was foreign-born (not an issue other than creating some minor language problems). Bed linens were fine though towels were a bit rough and thin. Standard toiletries were provided as was tea, though really only enough to make one cup. Though the rooms, lobby, etc. were quite clean, the building itself seems run-down and there is no external lighting so the parking are felt a bit unsafe. The SPLP is literally minutes from Paddington station (train and tube) and a wide assortment of shops and restaurants. There are quite a few tourists and alot of foot-traffic in general. Overall I felt the location was good but the hotel itself fell a bit short, particularly given the room prices on Friday and Saturday nights (but which fell considerably on Sunday and Monday).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shaftesbury Premier London Paddington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Shelly in Seattle
Business
Seattle, WA
Oct 28, 2013

Had to leave this hotel -- bad beyond description

Arrived to find that the actual room was across the street from the hotel, in the basement (!) and had an unsecured window that opened to an alley. Hardly a four star experience.. Since I was traveling alone and planning to spend most of my time touring about London, I settled on a single bed room. The photo of the room had to have been taken from the ceiling to make it look spacious. In reality, it was the size of a closet, at best. There was no counter for a glass of water near the sink, much less toiletries. Basically, there was no room whatsoever in the bathroom.and the room felt like a small, underground box. Hugely disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shaftesbury Premier London Paddington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
happy me
Business
london
Sep 13, 2013

My stay in the Shaftesbury Premier

Well to start of the staff were good and very helpful ,OK the room was a bit on the small size but it was clean and i only sleep in it so it did not bother me at all. so over all i would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shaftesbury Premier London Paddington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dont have one
Business
norfolk
Sep 10, 2013

good for a week end break

staff could not be faltered it would hav been helpfull if it stated that you had to pay for car parking,it would have been nice to have fried egs at breakfast the rest was good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shaftesbury Premier London Paddington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
muma kamp
Business
houston tx
Aug 25, 2013

mrs

its a small confer table place in a very good environment near padding railway station very easily accessed i liked it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

all fast food places

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top