$135 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 16, 2015 Check-out: Aug 17, 2015

Rydges Kensington London

4 stars
View map of 61 Gloucester Road, Kensington, London, SW74PE

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
54 reviews
Wow trip

the hotel was wonderful! would definitely stay there again. The location was right across from the... See full review

  • Sally B.
  • Jun 25, 2015
Awesome hotel, Awesome location.

Hotel was perfect if you're looking to stay in London. It is right next to the underground (subway)... See full review

  • Adam
  • May 29, 2015
Rydges Kensington London is located in one of the most exclusive areas of London. Ideally situated near Hyde Park, Earls Court & Olympia exhibition centres, Royal Albert Hall, Harrods, Kensington High Street, Natural History and Science museums and only a minute walk from Gloucester Road tube station. This four-star deluxe hotel offers guests the benefits of modern facilities including the new Rydges Dream Beds, air-conditioning and wireless internet throughout. Combine the location, facilities and genuine hospitality and service of Rydges Kensington and you're assured of comfortable stay whether it's for leisure or for business.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Rydges Kensington London also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Rydges Kensington London Rooms

Executive King
Executive rooms consist of all the luxury of the standard rooms, along with additional executive features including an espresso coffee maker, Bluetooth enabled high definition media hub, complimentary magazines and reading material, fluffy bathrobes and slippers. Free WI-FI and cable internet access. All rooms offer complimentary access to the hotels Gymnasium. The Executive King room features a British king size bed suitable for two people. A rollaway bed can be added to accommodate one extra person " extra charges apply.
Executive Studio
Executive rooms consist of all the luxury of the standard rooms, along with additional executive features including an espresso coffee maker, bluetooth enabled high definition media hub, complimentary magazines & reading material, fluffy bathrobes and slippers. Free WI-FI and cable internet access. All rooms offer complimentary access to the hotels Gymnasium. The Executive Studio features a British king size bed & sofabed. This room is suitable for three people maximum.
Standard Single Room
Fully refurbished room featuring a British sized single bed including work desk with high definition LCD flat screen TV, freeview channels as well as over 100 on demand movies. A laptop sized safe, fully stocked mini-bar, tea & coffee making facilities, steam iron & access to the hotels Gymnasium are all included. Bathrooms boast heated towel rails & heated mist free mirrors. Free WI-FI and cable internet access. This room is suitable for one person only.
Standard Queen or King
Fully refurbished designer room with a work desk, high definition 32 LCD flat screen TV offering freeview channels & over 100 on demand movies. A laptop sized safe, mini-bar, tea & coffee making facilities, steam iron & ironing board are included. The bathrooms boasts heated towel rails & heated mist free mirrors. Free WI-FI and cable internet access. This room features a either a British king size or queen sized bed. Standard Kings feature a Rydges Dream British king size bed. Those rooms are suitable for two people maximum.
Standard Twin
Complete with traditional furniture and large windows, these rooms comprise of two British sized single beds, ensuite bathroom, air-conditioning, working desk, in-room safe, mini bar, tea & coffee making facilities, hair-dryer, large wardrobe and 32 LCD TV. Free WI-FI and cable internet access. These rooms is suitable for two people maximum.
Superior Queen
Superior to our Standard Queen rooms, we're located ground floor and above with a work desk, high definition 32 LCD flat screen TV offering freeview channels & over 100 on demand movies. A laptop sized safe, mini-bar, tea & coffee making facilities, steam iron & ironing board are included. The bathrooms boasts heated towel rails & heated mist free mirrors. Free WI-FI and cable internet access. This room has a British queen sized bed (200x140cm) suitable for two, and if the suns out in London, you'll see it with your view.
Superior Twin
Comfortably sized twin rooms located on the ground floor only. These Twin rooms all comprise of two British sized single beds(200x85cm), ensuite bathroom, air-conditioning, working desk, in-room safe, mini bar, tea & coffee making facilities, hair-dryer, large wardrobe and 32 LCD TV. Free WI-FI and cable internet access. Share with a friend and there's less to spend!

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet

Nearby points of interest

  • Gloucester Road: 0 mi
  • Baden-Powell House Exhibition: 0.1 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Imperial College London: 0.4 mi
  • Royal College of Music Archives and Museum of Instruments: 0.4 mi
  • Science Museum London: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Albert Hall: 0.5 mi
  • National Art Library: 0.5 mi
  • Victoria and Albert Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Albert Memorial : 0.5 mi
  • High Street Kensington: 0.6 mi
  • Polish Institute and Sikorski Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Kensington Palace: 0.6 mi
  • Earls Court Exhibition Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Kensington Gardens: 0.8 mi
  • Gloucester Road: 0 mi
  • Baden-Powell House Exhibition: 0.1 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Imperial College London: 0.4 mi
  • Royal College of Music Archives and Museum of Instruments: 0.4 mi
  • Science Museum London: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Albert Hall: 0.5 mi
  • National Art Library: 0.5 mi
  • Victoria and Albert Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Albert Memorial : 0.5 mi
  • High Street Kensington: 0.6 mi
  • Polish Institute and Sikorski Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Kensington Palace: 0.6 mi
  • Earls Court Exhibition Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Kensington Gardens: 0.8 mi
  • King's Road: 0.8 mi
  • Royal Institute of British Architects Collections: 0.8 mi
  • Harrods: 0.9 mi
  • Knightsbridge: 0.9 mi
  • Stamford Bridge: 1 mi
  • Saatchi Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Cadogan Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Lancaster Gate: 1.1 mi
  • Sloane Square: 1.1 mi
  • Couper Collection: 1.2 mi
  • Queensway: 1.2 mi
  • Royal Hospital Chelsea Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Whiteleys Shopping Centre : 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Park Corner: 1.4 mi
  • City of Westminster: 1.4 mi
  • Wellington Arch: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Park: 1.5 mi
  • Park Lane: 1.5 mi
  • Paddington Station: 1.6 mi
  • Marble Arch: 1.6 mi
  • Victoria Place Shopping Centre : 1.6 mi
  • St. Ann's Shopping Centre : 1.6 mi
  • Royal Mews: 1.6 mi
  • Victoria station: 1.7 mi
  • Victoria Palace Theatre: 1.8 mi
  • Buckingham Palace: 1.8 mi
  • Green Park: 1.8 mi
  • Broadway Shopping Centre : 1.8 mi
  • Selfridges: 1.8 mi
  • Notting Hill: 1.8 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
"Our uniquely designed meeting rooms, fully equipped with the latest multimedia technology, are your perfect meeting place at the heart of Kensington and Chelsea" The Park Room has been impressively interiorly designed to reflect the surrounding tree-lined streets and royal parks. It combines historic character, wood panelling, fireplaces and architectural flourishes with high class modern twist. All of our rooms are filled with natural daylight from stunning original glass skylights and spacious enough to accommodate any of your events from One-to-One meetings to cocktail receptions of up to 120 people. Facilities includes: 92" motorised, retractable projection screen Projector with touch panel control system Concealed speakers Wireless microphone system (lapel or handheld) 55" flatscreen TV video conferencing Lighting and audio visual touch control

Dining

The Jam Cupboard Restaurant
Stylish and laid back with a fabulous New York-style central bar thats perfect for an early-evening cocktail, the stunningly-designed Jam Cupboard is one of the newest restaurants in Kensington and is an ideal venue for a relaxed lunch or supper. The Jam Cupboards exclusive private dining table seats up to 10 guests and adjoins the main dining room. Its the perfect place for a celebratory meal or special event.
Polo Bar
Enjoy a cocktail in front of our open fire at one of the most popular Kensington pubs. Delight in a sustaining snack, or watch the latest sporting action on the big screen TV at the Polo Bar. The Polo Bar Kensington is a classic English pub lounge with room for sitting at the well-stocked bar and tables clustered around the fireplace. We show all the top matches on the bars big screen TV. Its the ideal way to escape and follow the action when staying at our Kensington hotel. When youre feeling peckish, choose a snack or a light meal from our menu or something delicious to drink from our drinks menu.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Rydges Kensington London

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
12 out of 54
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Rydges Kensington London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Terri S.
Business
Washington
Jul 22, 2015

Nice hotel

Rydges Kensington was a quick walk to the tube, which certainly helped me because I was in and out of my hotel everyday visiting different places. My room was pretty small, but I did not mind. I was barely there at my hotel and I am of average size anyway. I liked that a room was ready for me as I had arrived early that day before check-in. I got in around 9am. Obviously, this will not be the case for everyone. However, this allowed me to get an early day on the sights in London. The staff was friendly and helpful. The wireless was free. My only suggestion would be for the hotel to get an ice machine. I hated having to bother everyone with requests for ice everyday. I would prefer to be able to get it myself. Otherwise, the location was convenient. There were cheap food options close by: grocery stores, fast food locations. I would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Rydges Kensington London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KEM12
Business
Portland, Maine
Nov 18, 2014

Great location and spotless room

I chose this hotel due to its location in Kensington and its proximity to the Tube Station (about a two minute walk at the most). I had read other reviews about the size of the room and I have to agree that the single room was very small. But the room was spotless and modern. It had some nice amenities like a heated towel rack, tea kettle with tea bags, milk and sugar, a nice flat screen TV and nice toiletries. There are a number of nice restaurants within walking distance. The staff was very helpful. I would definitely stay at Rydges again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Light of India, Da Maria, Bugis Street and Wildwood restaurants, all just a short walking distance from the hotel.

Review of Rydges Kensington London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ally's Mom100
Business
Silver Spring, Maryland
Jul 25, 2014

Amazing London location

One block from the Underground, Double-decker buses, Starbucks, and other reasonable eateries, a very convenient location in beautiful, safe, South Kensington. Hotel was modern, equipped with free Wi-Fi, very comfortable bed with comforter, and tile and glass bathroom. Small room, standard for Europe, but adequate. An excellent value for the money. Would easily stay at Rydges again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Excellent, authentic Indian restaurants close by. Kensington Palace a short walk away; Harrods, Victoria and Albert Museum a short walk or bus ride.

Review of Rydges Kensington London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lover of London
Business
Portland, Maine
Dec 18, 2013

Great for a single person

This was the perfect hotel for me, being a single traveler. Everything was within walking distance. There was an ATM across the street and a shop where I could purchase an oyster card next to it. An underground station was less than a block away and there was a combined bus stop and tour bus stop right in front of the hotel. I was within ten minutes of the V and A museum and Harrods. The free breakfast was good and for a minimal fee I could have the English Breakfast. The room was clean, small and had a great shower. This was the best possible location for someone who wanted to see all the sights of Central London, of the outlying areas and still have easy access to Heathrow.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you are in London in the winter take a tour bus that lets you hop off and on. The price covers two days instead of one and you can get to and see everything that is covered in the guide books and then some.

Review of Rydges Kensington London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sarah Achs
Business
Phoenix AZ
Sep 16, 2013

Great stay

I had a great stay at the Rydges Kensington hotel. The room was beautiful, comfortable bed and even a bath tub. The shower was a rain shower head which was excellent with a lot of water pressure. Even tho I like to stay in new places each time I go to London. I would actually stay here again because its that wonderful. The only bad note is that they even charge for local calls. I bought a calling card to use and even when I dialed the local number on the card they charged me 1 pound.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Waitrose across the street for a cheaper breakfast than the one at the hotel. They have excellent fresh fruit.

Review of Rydges Kensington London

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
hotel critics
Business
NY
Dec 17, 2012

Great Location, but ....

Great Great location, direct subway to the airport. However, there is no free WiFi. Can not borrow adapator for free (GBP 10 to buy from the hotel). there was no hair dryer in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Rydges Kensington London

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Glmrokstr
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 11, 2011

Good for the price

Being the first time I have ever been to London I'm not sure how this hotel compare to others, but it is in a very close to a tube station, resturants, shopping. It is currently in the middle of a remodel so construction is noisy if you want to sleep in later.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

within walking distance to the natural history and V&A museum

Review of Rydges Kensington London

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
dallas, texas
Nov 30, 2010

Great location

Very convenient location in Kennsington. Hotel staff very courteous and helpful. Single room was ridiculously small and with poor layout. Hotel will under go major renovation next year. Great places to eat within short walk. Very close to tube station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Rydges Kensington London

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York City
Oct 26, 2010

Hotel Review

Helpful staff, nice bar attached but the rooms were way to small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Rydges Kensington London

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Thrifty World Traveler.
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jul 23, 2010

Ok For Resting Your Head

The wait and maintenance staff was very courteous. It was thoroughly cleaned and vacuumed. Air conditioning in the room was astonishing. It cooled in 2 - 3 minutes. The room was small but cozy. I've seen smaller in London and New York City. The location is the main attraction. Breakfast was not included in my booking. I would go elsewhere as the menu in the restaurant is very expensive and the buffet is 10 GBP. Also the walls in the hotel are very thin. You can hear conversations and water running in the next room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Glocester Road Tube Station is 2 blocks away. Make use of it and a Oyster/TravelCard

Back to menu Return to top