$170 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 19, 2015 Check-out: Jul 20, 2015

Rydges Kensington London

4 stars
View map of 61 Gloucester Road, Kensington, London, SW74PE

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
59 reviews
Wow trip

the hotel was wonderful! would definitely stay there again. The location was right across from the... See full review

  • Sally B.
  • Jun 25, 2015
Awesome hotel, Awesome location.

Hotel was perfect if you're looking to stay in London. It is right next to the underground (subway)... See full review

  • Adam
  • May 29, 2015
Rydges Kensington London is located in one of the most exclusive areas of London. Ideally situated near Hyde Park, Earls Court & Olympia exhibition centres, Royal Albert Hall, Harrods, Kensington High Street, Natural History and Science museums and only a minute walk from Gloucester Road tube station. This four-star deluxe hotel offers guests the benefits of modern facilities including the new Rydges Dream Beds, air-conditioning and wireless internet throughout. Combine the location, facilities and genuine hospitality and service of Rydges Kensington and you're assured of comfortable stay whether it's for leisure or for business.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Rydges Kensington London also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Rydges Kensington London Rooms

Single Room
Fully refurbished room featuring a Rydges Dream single bed including work desk with high definition LCD flat screen TV, freeview channels as well as over 100 on demand movies. A laptop sized safe, fully stocked mini-bar, tea & coffee making facilities, steam iron & access to the hotel's Gymnasium are all included. Bathrooms boast heated towel rails & heated mist free mirrors.High speed wired & wireless internet (at a fee) is available throughout.
Standard Queen or King
Fully refurbished designer room with a work desk, high definition LCD flat screen TV offering freeview channels & over 100 on demand movies. A laptop sized safe, mini-bar, tea & coffee making facilities, steam iron & ironing board are included. The bathrooms boasts heated towel rails & heated mist free mirrors. High speed wired and wireless internet (at a fee) is available throughout. This room features a either a Rydges Dream king size or queen sized bed.
Standard Twin
Complete with traditional furniture and large windows, these rooms comprise of two Rydges Dream single beds, ensuite bathroom, air-conditioning, working desk, wireless internet, in-room safe, mini bar, tea & coffee making facilities, hair-dryer, large wardrobe and TV.
Executive King
Executive rooms consist of all the luxury of the standard rooms, along with additional 'executive' features including an espresso coffee maker, Bluetooth enabled high definition media hub, complimentary magazines and reading material, fluffy bathrobes and slippers and a complimentary beverage. High speed wired and wireless internet (at a fee) is available throughout. All rooms offer complimentary access to the hotel's Gymnasium. The King room features a Rydges Dream king size bed.
Executive Studio
Executive rooms consist of all the luxury of the standard rooms, along with additional 'executive' features including an espresso coffee maker, bluetooth enabled high definition media hub, complimentary magazines & reading material, fluffy bathrobes, slippers & complimentary beverage. High speed wired & wireless internet (at a fee) is available throughout. All rooms offer complimentary access to the hotel's Gymnasium. The Executive Studio features a Rydges Dream king size bed & sofabed.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet

Nearby points of interest

  • Gloucester Road: 0 mi
  • Baden-Powell House Exhibition: 0.1 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Imperial College London: 0.4 mi
  • Royal College of Music Archives and Museum of Instruments: 0.4 mi
  • Science Museum London: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Albert Hall: 0.5 mi
  • National Art Library: 0.5 mi
  • Victoria and Albert Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Albert Memorial : 0.5 mi
  • High Street Kensington: 0.6 mi
  • Polish Institute and Sikorski Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Kensington Palace: 0.6 mi
  • Earls Court Exhibition Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Kensington Gardens: 0.8 mi
  • Gloucester Road: 0 mi
  • Baden-Powell House Exhibition: 0.1 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Imperial College London: 0.4 mi
  • Royal College of Music Archives and Museum of Instruments: 0.4 mi
  • Science Museum London: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Albert Hall: 0.5 mi
  • National Art Library: 0.5 mi
  • Victoria and Albert Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Albert Memorial : 0.5 mi
  • High Street Kensington: 0.6 mi
  • Polish Institute and Sikorski Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Kensington Palace: 0.6 mi
  • Earls Court Exhibition Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Kensington Gardens: 0.8 mi
  • King's Road: 0.8 mi
  • Royal Institute of British Architects Collections: 0.8 mi
  • Harrods: 0.9 mi
  • Knightsbridge: 0.9 mi
  • Stamford Bridge: 1 mi
  • Saatchi Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Cadogan Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Lancaster Gate: 1.1 mi
  • Sloane Square: 1.1 mi
  • Couper Collection: 1.2 mi
  • Queensway: 1.2 mi
  • Royal Hospital Chelsea Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Whiteleys Shopping Centre : 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Park Corner: 1.4 mi
  • City of Westminster: 1.4 mi
  • Wellington Arch: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Park: 1.5 mi
  • Park Lane: 1.5 mi
  • Paddington Station: 1.6 mi
  • Marble Arch: 1.6 mi
  • Victoria Place Shopping Centre : 1.6 mi
  • St. Ann's Shopping Centre : 1.6 mi
  • Royal Mews: 1.6 mi
  • Victoria station: 1.7 mi
  • Victoria Palace Theatre: 1.8 mi
  • Buckingham Palace: 1.8 mi
  • Green Park: 1.8 mi
  • Broadway Shopping Centre : 1.8 mi
  • Selfridges: 1.8 mi
  • Notting Hill: 1.8 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
"Our uniquely designed meeting rooms, fully equipped with the latest multimedia technology, are your perfect meeting place at the heart of Kensington and Chelsea" The Park Room has been impressively interiorly designed to reflect the surrounding tree-lined streets and royal parks. It combines historic character, wood panelling, fireplaces and architectural flourishes with high class modern twist. All of our rooms are filled with natural daylight from stunning original glass skylights and spacious enough to accommodate any of your events from One-to-One meetings to cocktail receptions of up to 120 people. Facilities includes: 92" motorised, retractable projection screen Projector with touch panel control system Concealed speakers Wireless microphone system (lapel or handheld) 55" flatscreen TV video conferencing Lighting and audio visual touch control

Dining

Polo Bar
Enjoy a tipple in front of our open fire. Order yourself a sustaining snack while you settle down to watch the latest sporting action on the big screen TV.
The Jam Cupboard Restaurant
Stylish and laid back with a fabulous New York style central bar that's perfect for an early-evening cocktail, the stunningly-designed Jam Cupboard is an ideal venue for a relaxed lunch or supper. There's even an exclusive private table seating 10, just off the main dining room, it's the perfect place for a celebration meal or special event.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Rydges Kensington London

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
16 out of 59
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Rydges Kensington London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Adam
Business
Moorhead
May 29, 2015

Awesome hotel, Awesome location.

Hotel was perfect if you're looking to stay in London. It is right next to the underground (subway) and the staff was amazing. Will definitely stay there again when I go back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Rydges Kensington London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stephen A.
Business
York
May 24, 2015

Hotel

The room was sufficient. When I was ready to check in it wasn't ready and I had to wait in the lobby for one hour. Other than that there were no other problems.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Rydges Kensington London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tasha g.
Business
Worcester
Apr 6, 2015

London for 1 Week

We had an Amazing time in London. The staff was so amazing and always went out of there way to be helpful. Thanks for a great week and making our trip even better then we could imagine :) We will be coming back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Rydges Kensington London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
shjust
Business
N/A
Apr 6, 2015

Wonderful hotel.

Exceeded our expectations! The staff was friendly and helpful. Our room was large, clean, and modern. Very quiet environment far enough away from central London craziness but close enough to get to things quickly by Tube. East walking distance to Tube, museums, and Hyde Park. Lots of good food close by that wasn't expensive. We will definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Rydges Kensington London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
John and Karen
Business
Grover Beach, CA, USA
Nov 23, 2014

Helpful staff

Good room, nice bar with food, good breakfast, helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Rydges Kensington London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kerigirl
Business
Huntington Beach, CA
Sep 16, 2014

A great place to stay!

Nice British hotel in a great location. Really close to Gloucester Road tube, great local restaurants and decent rooms. Only draw back was the computers for processing flight tickets...get new ones please! Internet Wi-Fi is free but a little spotty (but good enough). Bartender in the Polo Bar, Katarina, was great - kept us coming back in to have a drink and say Hi! People at the desk were really friendly & helpful. Would stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Damario's Italian restaurant - excellent and Little India, also great...

Review of Rydges Kensington London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DMOORE46
Business
Los Angeles
Jun 20, 2014

London trio

This was my first time in London the hotel was perfect. The staff was friendly and helpful the location was excellent. No complaints at all well worth the cost!!! With this hotel you cannot lose!! Close to the "TUBE" able to navigate the city to get to Camden and Brixton. I will return!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you can add the Paris Day trip

Review of Rydges Kensington London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Young travel love
Business
Virginia
Jun 2, 2014

Very nice, convenient hotel

Enjoyed our stay in this beautiful and convenient hotel. Room was small (to be expected), clean, updated, and bathroom was nice as well. The air conditioning kept changing settings in middle of the night. We told the front desk and they attempted to fix it, but the problem happened again. Also, they charged us for local calls, and we were unaware that there was a charge for. Staff gave good advice and recommendations! Metro super close, lots within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Rydges Kensington London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
G.M.R
Business
New York, New York
Oct 29, 2013

The Perfect London Hotel

We had a superior travel experience thanks to Rydges in Kensington. The general manager quickly responded to any email inquiries and even accommodated some special requests we had for our room. Upon arrival, the staff was friendly and attentive. They held our bags until check-in and brought them to our room while we walked High Street Kensington (which is just a few blocks away.) The room itself was gorgeous. We had a King Executive Suite which was very spacious for a London hotel. There were lots of little touches that made it special - tall windows, a heated towel rack, robes and slippers, lots of electronic hook-ups, a vanity with blow-dryer, generously-sized toiletries that were replenished daily, etc. And a large American-style tub / shower combo! The room was contemporary with dark-wood furniture and a soft, comfortable bed. Best of all, it was super-clean. It makes a world of difference to arrive to a clean, fresh, and comfortable room after a long flight. The location of the hotel is top-notch. It's across the street from the Gloucester Road tube station which hooks up to every major line downtown (District, Circle, and Piccadilly) and straight to Heathrow. The Houses of Parliament, Buckingham Palace, Leicester Square, Harrods, and Covent Garden are all just a few tube stops away. Yet when you return to the hotel in Kensington, it's lovely and quiet. Lots of great restaurant and pub options all around. And Hyde Park is just down the road, which makes for beautiful morning walks. We've stayed at many international hotels and this was by far the best experience we've had. If we returned to London, we would stay here without question and will recommend it to all our friends and family. It made our trip perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If flying into Heathrow, definitely take the tube from the airport rather than a car, as the tube stop is right across the street from the hotel and there are lifts up to the street.

Review of Rydges Kensington London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
G.M.R
Business
New York, New York
Oct 27, 2013

The Perfect London Hotel

We had a superior travel experience thanks to Rydges in Kensington. When we first planned our week-long London trip, we saw Rydges had great reviews and figured we'd give it a try. Boy, are we glad we did! Our experience with Rydges was stellar from start to finish. The general manager quickly responded to any email inquiries and even accommodated some special requests we had for our room. Upon arrival, the staff was friendly and attentive. Since our flight arrived early in the morning, the hotel staff held our bags until check-in and brought them to our room while we walked High Street Kensington (which is just a few blocks away.) The room itself was gorgeous. We had a King Executive Suite which was very spacious for a London hotel. There were lots of little touches that made it special - tall windows, a heated towel rack, robes and slippers, lots of electronic hook-ups, a vanity with blow-dryer, generously-sized toiletries that were replenished daily, etc. And a large American-style tub / shower combo! The room was contemporary with dark-wood furniture and a soft, comfortable bed. Best of all, it was super-clean. It makes a world of difference to arrive to a clean, fresh, and comfortable room after a long flight. The location of the hotel is top-notch. It's across the street from the Gloucester Road tube station which hooks up to every major line downtown (District, Circle, and Piccadilly) and straight to Heathrow. The Houses of Parliament, Buckingham Palace, Leicester Square, Harrods, and Covent Garden are all just a few tube stops away. Yet when you return to the hotel in Kensington, it's lovely and quiet. Lots of great restaurant and pub options all around. And Hyde Park is just down the road, which makes for beautiful morning walks. But perhaps the best surprise of all was the reasonable rate we were able to book the room at. The cost of London hotels can cause sticker-shock once converted to dollars. We booked the hotel along with our flight and saved a considerable amount on the nightly charge. We truly got a five-star experience for a very reasonable rate. We've stayed at many international hotels and this was by far the best experience we've had. If we returned to London, we would stay here without question and will recommend it to all our friends and family. It made our trip perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you're flying into Heathrow, definitely take the tube to the hotel rather than an expensive car. The Piccadilly line runs straight from Heathrow to Gloucester Road, and there are lifts to the street from the station, so no stairs to carry your bags up (except for one very short flight of stairs, about 12 steps.)

Back to menu Return to top