$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 13, 2015 Check-out: Sep 14, 2015

Rydges Kensington London

4 stars
View map of 61 Gloucester Road, Kensington, London, SW74PE

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
56 reviews
Bucket List Vacation

I wasn't too sure about the hotel because it was priced good but after arriving there I was amazed.... See full review

  • Gustavo M.
  • Aug 28, 2015
LONDON 2015

The Rydges Hotel was a wonderful hotel to stay in during our recent family vacation to London. We... See full review

  • Mary Ann C.
  • Jul 29, 2015
Rydges Kensington London is located in one of the most exclusive areas of London. Ideally situated near Hyde Park, Earls Court & Olympia exhibition centres, Royal Albert Hall, Harrods, Kensington High Street, Natural History and Science museums and only a minute walk from Gloucester Road tube station. This four-star deluxe hotel offers guests the benefits of modern facilities including the new Rydges Dream Beds, air-conditioning and wireless internet throughout. Combine the location, facilities and genuine hospitality and service of Rydges Kensington and you're assured of comfortable stay whether it's for leisure or for business.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Rydges Kensington London also booked these hotels.

★★★★
$140
4.0 / 5 62 reviews
★★★★
$111
3.8 / 5 143 reviews
★★★★
$232
4.0 / 5 88 reviews
★★★★
$117
3.8 / 5 189 reviews
★★★★
$148
3.8 / 5 21 reviews
★★★★
$130
4.0 / 5 117 reviews
★★★★
$150
4.2 / 5 17 reviews
★★★★
$98
3.2 / 5 15 reviews
★★★★
$125
3.9 / 5 85 reviews

Rydges Kensington London Rooms

Executive King
Bespoke rooms located on the higher floors of our Hotel. Indulge yourself in the executive features of these rooms including luxurious amenities, an espresso coffee maker, HD media hub, complimentary reading material, plush bathrobes and slippers. Free WI-FI and cable internet access. Our Executive King rooms feature a British king size bed(200x157cm) suitable for two people. If you've got extra baggage (luggage or children!) an additional bed can be rolled in to the room at a nominal fee.
Standard Queen or King
Competitively priced rooms located below ground level with natural light, a work desk, high definition 32 LCD flat screen TV offering freeview channels & over 100 on demand movies. A laptop sized safe, mini-bar, tea & coffee making facilities, steam iron & ironing board are included. The bathrooms boasts heated towel rails & heated mist free mirrors. Free WI-FI and cable internet access. This spacious room features a British queen sized bed (200x140cm) and is tailored towards the travellers who like to save on price and buy something nice. A oversized room at a bargain rate, plenty of space for you and your mate!
Standard Single Room
Compact room featuring a British sized single bed (200x85cm) including work desk with high definition LCD flat screen TV, freeview channels as well as over 100 on demand movies. A laptop sized safe, fully stocked mini-bar, tea & coffee making facilities, steam iron & access to the hotels Gymnasium are all included. Bathrooms boast heated towel rails & heated mist free mirrors. Free WI-FI and cable internet access. This room's ideal for the solo traveller with no baggage!
Executive One Bedroom Suite
A luxurious suite which offers you added privacy with both a separate Bedroom and Living Area. This stylish suite consists of all executive features including luxurious amenities, an espresso coffee maker, HD media hub, complimentary reading material, plush bathrobes and slippers. Free WI-FI and cable internet access in included. The suite has a British king size bed (200x157cm) & exclusive living room with a double sofabed, so if you need some relief from the rigours of travel (children, family or an indulgent purchase!) then close the door and worry no more!
Superior Twin
Comfortably sized twin rooms located on the ground floor only. These Twin rooms all comprise of two British sized single beds(200x85cm), ensuite bathroom, air-conditioning, working desk, in-room safe, mini bar, tea & coffee making facilities, hair-dryer, large wardrobe and 32 LCD TV. Free WI-FI and cable internet access. Share with a friend and there's less to spend!
Superior Queen
Superior to our Standard Queen rooms, we're located ground floor and above with a work desk, high definition 32 LCD flat screen TV offering freeview channels & over 100 on demand movies. A laptop sized safe, mini-bar, tea & coffee making facilities, steam iron & ironing board are included. The bathrooms boasts heated towel rails & heated mist free mirrors. Free WI-FI and cable internet access. This room has a British queen sized bed (200x140cm) suitable for two, and if the suns out in London, you'll see it with your view.
The Chelsea Suite
A regal suite that offers you everything and more that a cultured traveller would expect. The Chelsea Suite encompasses all executive features including luxurious amenities, an espresso coffee maker, HD media hub, complimentary reading material, plush bathrobes and slippers. The suites main bedroom has a British Grand King size bed (200x183cm) and a spacious adjoining ensuite with separate bath and shower. This suite also contains a relaxing living area with a double sofabed and an additional flat screen TV. Free WI-FI and cable internet access. Our Chelsea Suite is perfectly styled accommodation for the discerning traveller who is accustomed to indulgence.
The Kensington Suite
This palatial suite has the most stately private entrance in the hotel. This is complemented by the modernistic style of the main bedroom with its British Grand King size bed (200x183cm) and spacious ensuite with separate bath and shower. Our finest suite encompasses all executive features including luxurious amenities, an espresso coffee maker, HD media hub, complimentary reading material, plush bathrobes and slippers. The serene living area has a double sofabed and an additional flat screen TV. Free WI-FI and cable internet access. The Kensington Suite is no doubt our finest residence for the astute traveller who favours opulence during their stay.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet

Nearby points of interest

  • Gloucester Road: 0 mi
  • Baden-Powell House Exhibition: 0.1 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Imperial College London: 0.4 mi
  • Royal College of Music Archives and Museum of Instruments: 0.4 mi
  • Science Museum London: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Albert Hall: 0.5 mi
  • National Art Library: 0.5 mi
  • Victoria and Albert Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Albert Memorial : 0.5 mi
  • High Street Kensington: 0.6 mi
  • Polish Institute and Sikorski Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Kensington Palace: 0.6 mi
  • Earls Court Exhibition Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Kensington Gardens: 0.8 mi
  • Gloucester Road: 0 mi
  • Baden-Powell House Exhibition: 0.1 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Imperial College London: 0.4 mi
  • Royal College of Music Archives and Museum of Instruments: 0.4 mi
  • Science Museum London: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Albert Hall: 0.5 mi
  • National Art Library: 0.5 mi
  • Victoria and Albert Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Albert Memorial : 0.5 mi
  • High Street Kensington: 0.6 mi
  • Polish Institute and Sikorski Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Kensington Palace: 0.6 mi
  • Earls Court Exhibition Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Kensington Gardens: 0.8 mi
  • King's Road: 0.8 mi
  • Royal Institute of British Architects Collections: 0.8 mi
  • Harrods: 0.9 mi
  • Knightsbridge: 0.9 mi
  • Stamford Bridge: 1 mi
  • Saatchi Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Cadogan Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Lancaster Gate: 1.1 mi
  • Sloane Square: 1.1 mi
  • Couper Collection: 1.2 mi
  • Queensway: 1.2 mi
  • Royal Hospital Chelsea Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Whiteleys Shopping Centre : 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Park Corner: 1.4 mi
  • City of Westminster: 1.4 mi
  • Wellington Arch: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Park: 1.5 mi
  • Park Lane: 1.5 mi
  • Paddington Station: 1.6 mi
  • Marble Arch: 1.6 mi
  • Victoria Place Shopping Centre : 1.6 mi
  • St. Ann's Shopping Centre : 1.6 mi
  • Royal Mews: 1.6 mi
  • Victoria station: 1.7 mi
  • Victoria Palace Theatre: 1.8 mi
  • Buckingham Palace: 1.8 mi
  • Green Park: 1.8 mi
  • Broadway Shopping Centre : 1.8 mi
  • Selfridges: 1.8 mi
  • Notting Hill: 1.8 mi

Dining

The Jam Cupboard Restaurant
Stylish and laid back with a fabulous New York-style central bar thats perfect for an early-evening cocktail, the stunningly-designed Jam Cupboard is one of the newest restaurants in Kensington and is an ideal venue for a relaxed lunch or supper. The Jam Cupboards exclusive private dining table seats up to 10 guests and adjoins the main dining room. Its the perfect place for a celebratory meal or special event.
Polo Bar
Enjoy a cocktail in front of our open fire at one of the most popular Kensington pubs. Delight in a sustaining snack, or watch the latest sporting action on the big screen TV at the Polo Bar. The Polo Bar Kensington is a classic English pub lounge with room for sitting at the well-stocked bar and tables clustered around the fireplace. We show all the top matches on the bars big screen TV. Its the ideal way to escape and follow the action when staying at our Kensington hotel. When youre feeling peckish, choose a snack or a light meal from our menu or something delicious to drink from our drinks menu.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
"Our uniquely designed meeting rooms, fully equipped with the latest multimedia technology, are your perfect meeting place at the heart of Kensington and Chelsea" The Park Room has been impressively interiorly designed to reflect the surrounding tree-lined streets and royal parks. It combines historic character, wood panelling, fireplaces and architectural flourishes with high class modern twist. All of our rooms are filled with natural daylight from stunning original glass skylights and spacious enough to accommodate any of your events from One-to-One meetings to cocktail receptions of up to 120 people. Facilities includes: 92" motorised, retractable projection screen Projector with touch panel control system Concealed speakers Wireless microphone system (lapel or handheld) 55" flatscreen TV video conferencing Lighting and audio visual touch control

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Rydges Kensington London

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
56 out of 56
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Rydges Kensington London

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
San Francisco, CA
Nov 11, 2010

Worst Hotel Ever! Is of "motel" quality.

I cannot describe what a HUGE disappointment this so-called hotel is! We had booked a triple room for about $300/night for three adult guests. Upon arrival, no one even open the heavy doors that led to the reception---we were hauling huge suitcases, and had just flown in that afternoon. The receptionist [...] was on her phone the whole time and did not even greet us. We had to say hello, and let her know that we had a reservation. The hotel does not offer free internet. Once checked in, we went up to the 4th floor only to find that the carpet was a disgusting shade of brown/green. The air in the hallways (and in the rooms) smelled like old paint. It was absolutely disgusting. The was no hair dryer, the pipes in the bathroom made so much noise during use, and the tiles in the bathroom had mold---DISGUSTING!!! The hot water appliance had rusted coils, and I could not even use it to make hot beverages. I was so upset and sad at the sight of the room, and the general condition of the hotel inside, but could not cancel the remainder of my reservations because of my 'no refund' policy. I am in absolute disbelief as to how this hotel is considered a 4-star hotel, and carries such good reviews on [...]! Seems like a scam to me, and I am just so disappointed about wasting so much money on this dump. Run, don't walk from this one! Such a waste of money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Rydges Kensington London

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Portland, Oregon
Jun 11, 2009

Nice location, but needs some work.

Nice location in an upscale area. The lobby was nice, but I don't spend my time in the lobby. The room was small as to be expected. About 3 times the size of my single bed. That means no deskspace for a laptop let alone a location other than the floor for the suitcase. Speaking of bed, the worst I have slept on since my college days - about 25 years. It had an indentation of many previous residents in the mattress. I think it was due for a change about 5 years ago. Wallpaper was coming off of the wall and although I didn't see any, another tenent complained to me about silverfish (bugs). I will admit the location was good. A short walk to Hyde park and the subway station was across the street which is an excellent mode of transportation in London.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Rydges Kensington London

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mr. Gu
Family
Oslo
Nov 29, 2010

Renovation needed!

Vacation, shopping etc. The rooms were appalling. Smell from old carpets etc. Other facilities were OK.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Rydges Kensington London

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Copenhagen
Nov 28, 2010

Too small, too expensive

Room to small, room and wireless too expensive, 3G not working in room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Rydges Kensington London

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mr. Gu
Family
Oslo
Nov 29, 2010

Renovation needed!

Vacation, shopping etc. The rooms were appalling. Smell from old carpets etc. Other facilities were OK.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Rydges Kensington London

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
love2travel12
Friends
Miami, FL
Jun 16, 2012

nice hotel, but poor service

We arrived from Miami after traveling all night and weret old our room was not ready. Exhausted, we waited in the lobby on a Tuesday afternoon for a total of 3 hours and watched as 15+ guests arrived and checked in before us! We asked several times about our room (as it was an executive king, which most of the rooms in the hotel are) and were told it was not ready...all they had was a basement room, which they indicated we would *not* want. Finally, at 2:30, we were given our "non-smoking room" which STANK of smoke. We waited another hour for our tiny king room, with a QUEEN bed (which we were told was a standard king in the UK). For the trouble of ruining our 1st day, we were given 2 complimentary drinks in the hotel bar. (Only limited items applied.) For our 5 night stay, we were never given more than our original tiny bar of soap and never more than 1 wash cloth and 1 hand towel. There was also mold in the shower and the bathroom exhaust fan would not turn on or vent. When our friend checked into the hotel (meeting us here from Paris), she was told the hotel could not change her Euros. The desk agent failed to tell her there was a ATM right across the street. Sadly, there were lots of opportunities for information/service like this that were missed. The location is great, the furnishings are nice, and a small boost in service, we could recommend this hotel. Wifi was an additional $30 for our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Rydges Kensington London

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
hotel critics
Single
NY
Dec 17, 2012

Great Location, but ....

Great Great location, direct subway to the airport. However, there is no free WiFi. Can not borrow adapator for free (GBP 10 to buy from the hotel). there was no hair dryer in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Rydges Kensington London

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
C.B. and W.H.
Couples
Oakland, CA
Jun 1, 2013

Hotel Review

The location was excellent! The bath fixtures are high-end, However, the queen size room is really meant for only one person. There were 2 of us, and only one person could walk around at a time. We couldn't use the luggage stand, because there was no room to open it up. The closet extended into the walkway from the doorway, and it was very hard for the waiters to squeeze thru carrying a tray, when we ordered room service. There was no basic cable, not even CNN! If it weren't for these things, I would have given Rydges a 5 star rating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The hop on-hop off tour buses stop in front of the hotel

Review of Rydges Kensington London

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
dallas, texas
Nov 30, 2010

Great location

Very convenient location in Kennsington. Hotel staff very courteous and helpful. Single room was ridiculously small and with poor layout. Hotel will under go major renovation next year. Great places to eat within short walk. Very close to tube station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Rydges Kensington London

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
New York City
Oct 26, 2010

Hotel Review

Helpful staff, nice bar attached but the rooms were way to small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Single

Back to menu Return to top