$121 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 25, 2014 Check-out: Dec 26, 2014

Rydges Kensington London

4 stars
61 Gloucester Road, Kensington, London, SW74PE
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
49 reviews
1st Time in London

OMG - London! We literally got out from the Metro Station and looked to our left and there it was -... See full review

  • Travelers for Chuy
  • Dec 23, 2014
Trip to London

The hotel was clean, comfy and perfectly located near the Gloucester road underground stop. See full review

  • RATS1234
  • Dec 20, 2014
Rydges Kensington London is located in one of the most exclusive areas of London. Ideally situated near Hyde Park, Earls Court & Olympia exhibition centres, Royal Albert Hall, Harrods, Kensington High Street, Natural History and Science museums and only a minute walk from Gloucester Road tube station. This four-star deluxe hotel offers guests the benefits of modern facilities including the new Rydges Dream Beds, air-conditioning and wireless internet throughout. Combine the location, facilities and genuine hospitality and service of Rydges Kensington and you're assured of comfortable stay whether it's for leisure or for business.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Rydges Kensington London also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Rydges Kensington London Rooms

Single Room
Fully refurbished room featuring a Rydges Dream single bed including work desk with high definition LCD flat screen TV, freeview channels as well as over 100 on demand movies. A laptop sized safe, fully stocked mini-bar, tea & coffee making facilities, steam iron & access to the hotel's Gymnasium are all included. Bathrooms boast heated towel rails & heated mist free mirrors.High speed wired & wireless internet (at a fee) is available throughout.
Standard Queen or King
Fully refurbished designer room with a work desk, high definition LCD flat screen TV offering freeview channels & over 100 on demand movies. A laptop sized safe, mini-bar, tea & coffee making facilities, steam iron & ironing board are included. The bathrooms boasts heated towel rails & heated mist free mirrors. High speed wired and wireless internet (at a fee) is available throughout. This room features a either a Rydges Dream king size or queen sized bed.
Standard Twin
Complete with traditional furniture and large windows, these rooms comprise of two Rydges Dream single beds, ensuite bathroom, air-conditioning, working desk, wireless internet, in-room safe, mini bar, tea & coffee making facilities, hair-dryer, large wardrobe and TV.
Executive King
Executive rooms consist of all the luxury of the standard rooms, along with additional 'executive' features including an espresso coffee maker, Bluetooth enabled high definition media hub, complimentary magazines and reading material, fluffy bathrobes and slippers and a complimentary beverage. High speed wired and wireless internet (at a fee) is available throughout. All rooms offer complimentary access to the hotel's Gymnasium. The King room features a Rydges Dream king size bed.
Executive Studio
Executive rooms consist of all the luxury of the standard rooms, along with additional 'executive' features including an espresso coffee maker, bluetooth enabled high definition media hub, complimentary magazines & reading material, fluffy bathrobes, slippers & complimentary beverage. High speed wired & wireless internet (at a fee) is available throughout. All rooms offer complimentary access to the hotel's Gymnasium. The Executive Studio features a Rydges Dream king size bed & sofabed.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet

Nearby points of interest

  • Gloucester Road: 0 mi
  • Baden-Powell House Exhibition: 0.1 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Imperial College London: 0.4 mi
  • Royal College of Music Archives and Museum of Instruments: 0.4 mi
  • Science Museum London: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Albert Hall: 0.5 mi
  • National Art Library: 0.5 mi
  • Victoria and Albert Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Albert Memorial : 0.5 mi
  • High Street Kensington: 0.6 mi
  • Polish Institute and Sikorski Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Kensington Palace: 0.6 mi
  • Earls Court Exhibition Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Kensington Gardens: 0.8 mi
  • Gloucester Road: 0 mi
  • Baden-Powell House Exhibition: 0.1 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Imperial College London: 0.4 mi
  • Royal College of Music Archives and Museum of Instruments: 0.4 mi
  • Science Museum London: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Albert Hall: 0.5 mi
  • National Art Library: 0.5 mi
  • Victoria and Albert Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Albert Memorial : 0.5 mi
  • High Street Kensington: 0.6 mi
  • Polish Institute and Sikorski Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Kensington Palace: 0.6 mi
  • Earls Court Exhibition Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Kensington Gardens: 0.8 mi
  • King's Road: 0.8 mi
  • Royal Institute of British Architects Collections: 0.8 mi
  • Harrods: 0.9 mi
  • Knightsbridge: 0.9 mi
  • Stamford Bridge: 1 mi
  • Saatchi Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Cadogan Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Lancaster Gate: 1.1 mi
  • Sloane Square: 1.1 mi
  • Couper Collection: 1.2 mi
  • Queensway: 1.2 mi
  • Royal Hospital Chelsea Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Whiteleys Shopping Centre : 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Park Corner: 1.4 mi
  • City of Westminster: 1.4 mi
  • Wellington Arch: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Park: 1.5 mi
  • Park Lane: 1.5 mi
  • Paddington Station: 1.6 mi
  • Marble Arch: 1.6 mi
  • Victoria Place Shopping Centre : 1.6 mi
  • St. Ann's Shopping Centre : 1.6 mi
  • Royal Mews: 1.6 mi
  • Victoria station: 1.7 mi
  • Victoria Palace Theatre: 1.8 mi
  • Buckingham Palace: 1.8 mi
  • Green Park: 1.8 mi
  • Broadway Shopping Centre : 1.8 mi
  • Selfridges: 1.8 mi
  • Notting Hill: 1.8 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
"Our uniquely designed meeting rooms, fully equipped with the latest multimedia technology, are your perfect meeting place at the heart of Kensington and Chelsea" The Park Room has been impressively interiorly designed to reflect the surrounding tree-lined streets and royal parks. It combines historic character, wood panelling, fireplaces and architectural flourishes with high class modern twist. All of our rooms are filled with natural daylight from stunning original glass skylights and spacious enough to accommodate any of your events from One-to-One meetings to cocktail receptions of up to 120 people. Facilities includes: 92" motorised, retractable projection screen Projector with touch panel control system Concealed speakers Wireless microphone system (lapel or handheld) 55" flatscreen TV video conferencing Lighting and audio visual touch control

Dining

Polo Bar
Enjoy a tipple in front of our open fire. Order yourself a sustaining snack while you settle down to watch the latest sporting action on the big screen TV.
The Jam Cupboard Restaurant
Stylish and laid back with a fabulous New York style central bar that's perfect for an early-evening cocktail, the stunningly-designed Jam Cupboard is an ideal venue for a relaxed lunch or supper. There's even an exclusive private table seating 10, just off the main dining room, it's the perfect place for a celebration meal or special event.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (49)

Ratings and reviews for Rydges Kensington London

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
49 out of 49
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Rydges Kensington London

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Nov 11, 2010

Worst Hotel Ever! Is of "motel" quality.

I cannot describe what a HUGE disappointment this so-called hotel is! We had booked a triple room for about $300/night for three adult guests. Upon arrival, no one even open the heavy doors that led to the reception---we were hauling huge suitcases, and had just flown in that afternoon. The receptionist [...] was on her phone the whole time and did not even greet us. We had to say hello, and let her know that we had a reservation. The hotel does not offer free internet. Once checked in, we went up to the 4th floor only to find that the carpet was a disgusting shade of brown/green. The air in the hallways (and in the rooms) smelled like old paint. It was absolutely disgusting. The was no hair dryer, the pipes in the bathroom made so much noise during use, and the tiles in the bathroom had mold---DISGUSTING!!! The hot water appliance had rusted coils, and I could not even use it to make hot beverages. I was so upset and sad at the sight of the room, and the general condition of the hotel inside, but could not cancel the remainder of my reservations because of my 'no refund' policy. I am in absolute disbelief as to how this hotel is considered a 4-star hotel, and carries such good reviews on [...]! Seems like a scam to me, and I am just so disappointed about wasting so much money on this dump. Run, don't walk from this one! Such a waste of money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rydges Kensington London

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, Oregon
Jun 11, 2009

Nice location, but needs some work.

Nice location in an upscale area. The lobby was nice, but I don't spend my time in the lobby. The room was small as to be expected. About 3 times the size of my single bed. That means no deskspace for a laptop let alone a location other than the floor for the suitcase. Speaking of bed, the worst I have slept on since my college days - about 25 years. It had an indentation of many previous residents in the mattress. I think it was due for a change about 5 years ago. Wallpaper was coming off of the wall and although I didn't see any, another tenent complained to me about silverfish (bugs). I will admit the location was good. A short walk to Hyde park and the subway station was across the street which is an excellent mode of transportation in London.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rydges Kensington London

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mr. Gu
Business
Oslo
Nov 29, 2010

Renovation needed!

Vacation, shopping etc. The rooms were appalling. Smell from old carpets etc. Other facilities were OK.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rydges Kensington London

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Copenhagen
Nov 28, 2010

Too small, too expensive

Room to small, room and wireless too expensive, 3G not working in room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rydges Kensington London

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Manchester, NH USA
Feb 27, 2011

Nice Hitel

The staff was nice, and the Hotel was comfortable and had a pub and restaurant!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rydges Kensington London

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
love2travel12
Business
Miami, FL
Jun 16, 2012

nice hotel, but poor service

We arrived from Miami after traveling all night and weret old our room was not ready. Exhausted, we waited in the lobby on a Tuesday afternoon for a total of 3 hours and watched as 15+ guests arrived and checked in before us! We asked several times about our room (as it was an executive king, which most of the rooms in the hotel are) and were told it was not ready...all they had was a basement room, which they indicated we would *not* want. Finally, at 2:30, we were given our "non-smoking room" which STANK of smoke. We waited another hour for our tiny king room, with a QUEEN bed (which we were told was a standard king in the UK). For the trouble of ruining our 1st day, we were given 2 complimentary drinks in the hotel bar. (Only limited items applied.) For our 5 night stay, we were never given more than our original tiny bar of soap and never more than 1 wash cloth and 1 hand towel. There was also mold in the shower and the bathroom exhaust fan would not turn on or vent. When our friend checked into the hotel (meeting us here from Paris), she was told the hotel could not change her Euros. The desk agent failed to tell her there was a ATM right across the street. Sadly, there were lots of opportunities for information/service like this that were missed. The location is great, the furnishings are nice, and a small boost in service, we could recommend this hotel. Wifi was an additional $30 for our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rydges Kensington London

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
hotel critics
Business
NY
Dec 17, 2012

Great Location, but ....

Great Great location, direct subway to the airport. However, there is no free WiFi. Can not borrow adapator for free (GBP 10 to buy from the hotel). there was no hair dryer in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rydges Kensington London

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
C.B. and W.H.
Business
Oakland, CA
Jun 1, 2013

Hotel Review

The location was excellent! The bath fixtures are high-end, However, the queen size room is really meant for only one person. There were 2 of us, and only one person could walk around at a time. We couldn't use the luggage stand, because there was no room to open it up. The closet extended into the walkway from the doorway, and it was very hard for the waiters to squeeze thru carrying a tray, when we ordered room service. There was no basic cable, not even CNN! If it weren't for these things, I would have given Rydges a 5 star rating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The hop on-hop off tour buses stop in front of the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rydges Kensington London

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
dallas, texas
Nov 30, 2010

Great location

Very convenient location in Kennsington. Hotel staff very courteous and helpful. Single room was ridiculously small and with poor layout. Hotel will under go major renovation next year. Great places to eat within short walk. Very close to tube station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rydges Kensington London

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York City
Oct 26, 2010

Hotel Review

Helpful staff, nice bar attached but the rooms were way to small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top