$116 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 19, 2015 Check-out: Apr 20, 2015

Rydges Kensington London

4 stars
View map of 61 Gloucester Road, Kensington, London, SW74PE

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Rydges Kensington London

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
51 out of 51
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Rydges Kensington London

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
dallas, texas
Nov 30, 2010

Great location

Very convenient location in Kennsington. Hotel staff very courteous and helpful. Single room was ridiculously small and with poor layout. Hotel will under go major renovation next year. Great places to eat within short walk. Very close to tube station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rydges Kensington London

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mr. Gu
Business
Oslo
Nov 29, 2010

Renovation needed!

Vacation, shopping etc. The rooms were appalling. Smell from old carpets etc. Other facilities were OK.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rydges Kensington London

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Copenhagen
Nov 28, 2010

Too small, too expensive

Room to small, room and wireless too expensive, 3G not working in room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rydges Kensington London

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Nov 11, 2010

Worst Hotel Ever! Is of "motel" quality.

I cannot describe what a HUGE disappointment this so-called hotel is! We had booked a triple room for about $300/night for three adult guests. Upon arrival, no one even open the heavy doors that led to the reception---we were hauling huge suitcases, and had just flown in that afternoon. The receptionist [...] was on her phone the whole time and did not even greet us. We had to say hello, and let her know that we had a reservation. The hotel does not offer free internet. Once checked in, we went up to the 4th floor only to find that the carpet was a disgusting shade of brown/green. The air in the hallways (and in the rooms) smelled like old paint. It was absolutely disgusting. The was no hair dryer, the pipes in the bathroom made so much noise during use, and the tiles in the bathroom had mold---DISGUSTING!!! The hot water appliance had rusted coils, and I could not even use it to make hot beverages. I was so upset and sad at the sight of the room, and the general condition of the hotel inside, but could not cancel the remainder of my reservations because of my 'no refund' policy. I am in absolute disbelief as to how this hotel is considered a 4-star hotel, and carries such good reviews on [...]! Seems like a scam to me, and I am just so disappointed about wasting so much money on this dump. Run, don't walk from this one! Such a waste of money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rydges Kensington London

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York City
Oct 26, 2010

Hotel Review

Helpful staff, nice bar attached but the rooms were way to small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rydges Kensington London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Very satisfied customer
Business
Geneva and Jakarta
Aug 19, 2010

Great hotel and location in London

We went to London for a short holiday, so looked for good and convenient location for hotel. I know Rydges Hotel chain from my stay in Brisbane, so very happy that Kensington Rydges Hotel has the same quality in service and friendliness of staff. Did not take breakfasts at hotel because we found too expensive, compared to outside offers of Garfunkels and La Patisserie nearby. The hotel should look into offering affordable breakfast. This trip has been a great one compared to the one I had made in Oct.2010 when I landed into an awful hotel in Paddington area. Will definitely come back and choose Kensington area as base when visiting London in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rydges Kensington London

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Thrifty World Traveler.
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jul 23, 2010

Ok For Resting Your Head

The wait and maintenance staff was very courteous. It was thoroughly cleaned and vacuumed. Air conditioning in the room was astonishing. It cooled in 2 - 3 minutes. The room was small but cozy. I've seen smaller in London and New York City. The location is the main attraction. Breakfast was not included in my booking. I would go elsewhere as the menu in the restaurant is very expensive and the buffet is 10 GBP. Also the walls in the hotel are very thin. You can hear conversations and water running in the next room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Glocester Road Tube Station is 2 blocks away. Make use of it and a Oyster/TravelCard

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rydges Kensington London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mixing Business and Pleasure
Business
Atlanta, US
Jun 21, 2010

Well located, Good Deal

The hotel was in a very central and convenient location. The room wasn't huge, but the bed was large and comfortable. The shower had good pressure and temperature. I did not hear much noise from the area and the room service was inexpensive. The one thing that bothered me about the hotel was that checkout was at 11am and they wanted me to pay 55 pounds for late checkout, which I think is a bit ridiculous. All in all, it was a very pleasant experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Natural History and the V&A Museums are a 5 and 10 minute walk from the hotel, respectively. And the Gloucester Road tube stop is right across the street from the hotel. Perfect location

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rydges Kensington London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Istanbul, Turkey
Jun 4, 2010

Excellent Location,Great Value for Money

Very convenient location right across Gloucester Road Station. Rooms may be small but are very well maintained and quite comfortable. Overall a very good value for money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rydges Kensington London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Las Vegas Nv.
Mar 12, 2010

compound visit

Our trip turned into a medical emergency and the management staff was right there to assist with getting medical assistance and standing by untill all medical needs were meet . The staff call and sent cards and messages offering any assistance we needed. The Hotel and staff were wonderful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top