$111 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 27, 2015

Rydges Kensington London

4 stars
View map of 61 Gloucester Road, Kensington, London, SW74PE

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Rydges Kensington London

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
53 out of 53
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Rydges Kensington London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KrausD
Business
Cincinnati, Ohio
Jul 5, 2012

Loved it all!!!

The staff was very helpful and the location was excellent. Would stay again in a heartbeat. Bar was the best to hangout and have a drink and a burger. Was central to the subway. Could get anywhere in London from the local tube station. Tour buses stop right at the front door of the hotel as well as regular buses. Next time in London will stay here again. Anything needed was a short walk away. The Kraus's

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rydges Kensington London

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
love2travel12
Business
Miami, FL
Jun 16, 2012

nice hotel, but poor service

We arrived from Miami after traveling all night and weret old our room was not ready. Exhausted, we waited in the lobby on a Tuesday afternoon for a total of 3 hours and watched as 15+ guests arrived and checked in before us! We asked several times about our room (as it was an executive king, which most of the rooms in the hotel are) and were told it was not ready...all they had was a basement room, which they indicated we would *not* want. Finally, at 2:30, we were given our "non-smoking room" which STANK of smoke. We waited another hour for our tiny king room, with a QUEEN bed (which we were told was a standard king in the UK). For the trouble of ruining our 1st day, we were given 2 complimentary drinks in the hotel bar. (Only limited items applied.) For our 5 night stay, we were never given more than our original tiny bar of soap and never more than 1 wash cloth and 1 hand towel. There was also mold in the shower and the bathroom exhaust fan would not turn on or vent. When our friend checked into the hotel (meeting us here from Paris), she was told the hotel could not change her Euros. The desk agent failed to tell her there was a ATM right across the street. Sadly, there were lots of opportunities for information/service like this that were missed. The location is great, the furnishings are nice, and a small boost in service, we could recommend this hotel. Wifi was an additional $30 for our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rydges Kensington London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
First Timer from USA
Business
Illinois
Apr 12, 2012

Solid place to stay

Rooms are small, but that is typical...bathroom excellent...bed very comfortable...staff excellent...location very, very good......near 3 "tube" lines that take you everywhere..."lift" not so hot...cost extra for wifi, but okay...did not try restaurant...price iffy, but felt solidly safe in area...good restaurants nearby...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rydges Kensington London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MLMC
Business
Omaha, NE, USA
Mar 24, 2012

Lovely London Location

The staff was very friendly and helpful. Location was fantastic. Take the tube from Heathrow and only a block walk to the hotel. A few blocks walk to the Natural History Museum and the V&A Many great restaurants in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Muriel's Kitchen is a nice walk but worth the time. The meal was excellent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rydges Kensington London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AWinnie
Business
Suffolk, UK
Mar 12, 2012

Mixed

Not particularly welcoming reception staff, but able to check-in early without difficulty. Tiny rooms (my colleague could touch opposite walls simultanously) but well-appointed: comfortable bed, good linen, toiletries and Fairtrade tea & (filter) coffee. Short hairdryer cord didn't allow me to look in the mirror whilst drying my hair & no light over the desk. Very courteous & pleasant breakfast staff. Excellent breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rydges Kensington London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lenanj
Business
usa
Feb 26, 2012

pleasant stay

This was one of the most idyllic hotel in which we have ever stayed. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay! Wonderful location very near Gloucester Road tube and the Kensington museum, 15 minute walk to South Kensington for your shopping needs. We'd recommend it to anyone. It's a must in your tour of London. Congratulations to the hotel for their choice of personnel. You were fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rydges Kensington London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lenanj
Business
usa
Feb 26, 2012

pleasant stay

This was one of the most idyllic hotel in which we have ever stayed. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay! Wonderful location very near Gloucester Road tube and the Kensington museum, 15 minute walk to South Kensington for your shopping needs. We'd recommend it to anyone. It's a must in your tour of London. Congratulations to the hotel for their choice of personnel. You were fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rydges Kensington London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PeteHB
Business
Huntington Beach, California
Jan 9, 2012

Great Hotel

Smallish hotel in a great location. Recently refurbished with top notch furnishing including the bath and bed. Rooms are small, typical for London, but adequate for pleasure trip where little time is spent in your room. Close to restaurants, pubs, tube station, banks and short walking distance to many famous London attractions. A little pricy for what you get, but exchange rate has to be considered. I would highly recommend this hotel, and would definitely stay there again on my next trip to London.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Tube station half a block walk, with pastry / coffee shop on the way.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rydges Kensington London

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mielml
Business
new york
Aug 2, 2011

wonderful

lovely hotel. bed amazing, shower incredible. great rate because of construction. awesome location. staff was average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

prince bonaparte

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rydges Kensington London

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Glmrokstr
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 11, 2011

Good for the price

Being the first time I have ever been to London I'm not sure how this hotel compare to others, but it is in a very close to a tube station, resturants, shopping. It is currently in the middle of a remodel so construction is noisy if you want to sleep in later.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

within walking distance to the natural history and V&A museum

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top