$140 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 4, 2015 Check-out: Oct 5, 2015

Rydges Kensington London

4 stars
View map of 61 Gloucester Road, Kensington, London, SW74PE

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Rydges Kensington London

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
56 out of 56
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Rydges Kensington London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JenWA77
Couples
Bainbridge Island, WA
Aug 1, 2012

Great hotel in upscale part of London.

This is a wonderful hotel with great remodeling work. Hotel is quiet, clean, confortable and a 4 star experience. Wonderful bed and bathroom. Flat screen tv in the room. We stayed on the 2nd floor facing the road and could not hear the street noise. The hotel is 1 block from the tube stop that has 3 major lines that will take you anywhere in london. The area is down the road from High Street Kensington and Kensington Palace & Gardens. The area now has many french restraurants. Staff is friendly and will help you book major attrations so you do not have to stand in line. Highly recommend for couples needing a quiet and easy getaway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Book the Original tour bus at the hotel and it picks you up right outside the hotels front door. Get to all the major attrations and get on and off all you want for 24 hours.

Review of Rydges Kensington London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
flying cactus
Family
scottsdale, az
Jul 14, 2012

will go back

excellent location for staying w kids, Natural History,Science and V&A museums within walking distance (and free). Hyde park w playgrounds 15 min walk. VERY CLEAN!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

right near subway station grocery store that works late and you could get milk or whatever you need for kids, 2 min from hotel

Review of Rydges Kensington London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ceyceysuda
Business
miami, fl
Jul 10, 2012

Good For a few days!

Nice small city hotel. Clean, good location.. They upgraded me to a better room. Ask for it and they would do it. They offered free fruit and water at the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Rydges Kensington London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
1lcn
Family
Healdsburg CA
Jul 6, 2012

GOOD DEAL!

My experience was good! Rooms are small - but this is an old building.Excellent location as all my activities were centered around Kensington. My family went and we needed two rooms. It was warm for London about 80 F.; my room was air conditioned but my brother inlaws air conditioning was broken and it took the management two days to even have someone look at it. They were given fans the second night which helped but it was still hot. The third day they were relocated (upgraded) to a more comfortable climate controlled room. We didnt spend much time in the rooms so the small size was really an issue. The staff was friendly enough and I would go back considering the deal I got by booking flight and hotel together.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Rent the "city share" bicycles located through out the city for quick short trips. Faster than the bus/tube and London has plenty of places to pick up and drop off the bikes.

Review of Rydges Kensington London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KrausD
Couples
Cincinnati, Ohio
Jul 5, 2012

Loved it all!!!

The staff was very helpful and the location was excellent. Would stay again in a heartbeat. Bar was the best to hangout and have a drink and a burger. Was central to the subway. Could get anywhere in London from the local tube station. Tour buses stop right at the front door of the hotel as well as regular buses. Next time in London will stay here again. Anything needed was a short walk away. The Kraus's

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Rydges Kensington London

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
love2travel12
Friends
Miami, FL
Jun 16, 2012

nice hotel, but poor service

We arrived from Miami after traveling all night and weret old our room was not ready. Exhausted, we waited in the lobby on a Tuesday afternoon for a total of 3 hours and watched as 15+ guests arrived and checked in before us! We asked several times about our room (as it was an executive king, which most of the rooms in the hotel are) and were told it was not ready...all they had was a basement room, which they indicated we would *not* want. Finally, at 2:30, we were given our "non-smoking room" which STANK of smoke. We waited another hour for our tiny king room, with a QUEEN bed (which we were told was a standard king in the UK). For the trouble of ruining our 1st day, we were given 2 complimentary drinks in the hotel bar. (Only limited items applied.) For our 5 night stay, we were never given more than our original tiny bar of soap and never more than 1 wash cloth and 1 hand towel. There was also mold in the shower and the bathroom exhaust fan would not turn on or vent. When our friend checked into the hotel (meeting us here from Paris), she was told the hotel could not change her Euros. The desk agent failed to tell her there was a ATM right across the street. Sadly, there were lots of opportunities for information/service like this that were missed. The location is great, the furnishings are nice, and a small boost in service, we could recommend this hotel. Wifi was an additional $30 for our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Rydges Kensington London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
First Timer from USA
Couples
Illinois
Apr 12, 2012

Solid place to stay

Rooms are small, but that is typical...bathroom excellent...bed very comfortable...staff excellent...location very, very good......near 3 "tube" lines that take you everywhere..."lift" not so hot...cost extra for wifi, but okay...did not try restaurant...price iffy, but felt solidly safe in area...good restaurants nearby...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Rydges Kensington London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MLMC
Couples
Omaha, NE, USA
Mar 24, 2012

Lovely London Location

The staff was very friendly and helpful. Location was fantastic. Take the tube from Heathrow and only a block walk to the hotel. A few blocks walk to the Natural History Museum and the V&A Many great restaurants in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Muriel's Kitchen is a nice walk but worth the time. The meal was excellent.

Review of Rydges Kensington London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AWinnie
Business
Suffolk, UK
Mar 12, 2012

Mixed

Not particularly welcoming reception staff, but able to check-in early without difficulty. Tiny rooms (my colleague could touch opposite walls simultanously) but well-appointed: comfortable bed, good linen, toiletries and Fairtrade tea & (filter) coffee. Short hairdryer cord didn't allow me to look in the mirror whilst drying my hair & no light over the desk. Very courteous & pleasant breakfast staff. Excellent breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Rydges Kensington London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PeteHB
Family
Huntington Beach, California
Jan 9, 2012

Great Hotel

Smallish hotel in a great location. Recently refurbished with top notch furnishing including the bath and bed. Rooms are small, typical for London, but adequate for pleasure trip where little time is spent in your room. Close to restaurants, pubs, tube station, banks and short walking distance to many famous London attractions. A little pricy for what you get, but exchange rate has to be considered. I would highly recommend this hotel, and would definitely stay there again on my next trip to London.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Tube station half a block walk, with pastry / coffee shop on the way.

Back to menu Return to top