Rydges Kensington London ★★★★

Best price guarantee!

Find a lower price somewhere else and we'll pay 100% of the difference in Orbucks, plus up to $100 in additional Orbucks for Orbitz Rewards members Learn more

$108
avg/night
Rate and special offer based on
Check-in: Feb 21, 2016 Check-out: Feb 22, 2016

Good room, great location

Would recommend Tue, Jul 1, 2014
We had a great vacation in London. Are hotel was nice but there were some drawbacks to the room. The main problem was the bathtub/shower drain did not work properly. By the time one of us finished his/her shower, he/she was standing in calf high water. We notified the desk but nothing was done about it. Otherwise, nice room, but was cramped b/c we had a 3rd person sleeping on the pull out twin-size sofa bed. Great location near Gloucester Rd. Tube station with access to Circle, District, and Piccadilly lines (Pic line access is closed until December).

| Jacksonville, FL Family

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

London trio

Would recommend Fri, Jun 20, 2014
This was my first time in London the hotel was perfect. The staff was friendly and helpful the location was excellent. No complaints at all well worth the cost!!! With this hotel you cannot lose!! Close to the "TUBE" able to navigate the city to get to Camden and Brixton. I will return!!!

Attractions

If you can add the Paris Day trip

| Los Angeles Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Great location!

Would recommend Tue, Jun 10, 2014
Very nice rooms, and very clean. Not far from the Underground station. Good restaurants in the area.

| Chicago, illinois Family

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Very nice, convenient hotel

Would recommend Mon, Jun 2, 2014
Enjoyed our stay in this beautiful and convenient hotel. Room was small (to be expected), clean, updated, and bathroom was nice as well. The air conditioning kept changing settings in middle of the night. We told the front desk and they attempted to fix it, but the problem happened again. Also, they charged us for local calls, and we were unaware that there was a charge for. Staff gave good advice and recommendations! Metro super close, lots within walking distance.

| Virginia Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Great for a single person

Would recommend Wed, Dec 18, 2013
This was the perfect hotel for me, being a single traveler. Everything was within walking distance. There was an ATM across the street and a shop where I could purchase an oyster card next to it. An underground station was less than a block away and there was a combined bus stop and tour bus stop right in front of the hotel. I was within ten minutes of the V and A museum and Harrods. The free breakfast was good and for a minimal fee I could have the English Breakfast. The room was clean, small and had a great shower. This was the best possible location for someone who wanted to see all the sights of Central London, of the outlying areas and still have easy access to Heathrow.

Time saver

If you are in London in the winter take a tour bus that lets you hop off and on. The price covers two days instead of one and you can get to and see everything that is covered in the guide books and then some.

| Portland, Maine Singles

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

The Perfect London Hotel

Would recommend Tue, Oct 29, 2013
We had a superior travel experience thanks to Rydges in Kensington. The general manager quickly responded to any email inquiries and even accommodated some special requests we had for our room. Upon arrival, the staff was friendly and attentive. They held our bags until check-in and brought them to our room while we walked High Street Kensington (which is just a few blocks away.) The room itself was gorgeous. We had a King Executive Suite which was very spacious for a London hotel. There were lots of little touches that made it special - tall windows, a heated towel rack, robes and slippers, lots of electronic hook-ups, a vanity with blow-dryer, generously-sized toiletries that were replenished daily, etc. And a large American-style tub / shower combo! The room was contemporary with dark-wood furniture and a soft, comfortable bed. Best of all, it was super-clean. It makes a world of difference to arrive to a clean, fresh, and comfortable room after a long flight. The location of the hotel is top-notch. It's across the street from the Gloucester Road tube station which hooks up to every major line downtown (District, Circle, and Piccadilly) and straight to Heathrow. The Houses of Parliament, Buckingham Palace, Leicester Square, Harrods, and Covent Garden are all just a few tube stops away. Yet when you return to the hotel in Kensington, it's lovely and quiet. Lots of great restaurant and pub options all around. And Hyde Park is just down the road, which makes for beautiful morning walks. We've stayed at many international hotels and this was by far the best experience we've had. If we returned to London, we would stay here without question and will recommend it to all our friends and family. It made our trip perfect.

Money saver

If flying into Heathrow, definitely take the tube from the airport rather than a car, as the tube stop is right across the street from the hotel and there are lifts up to the street.

| New York, New York Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

The Perfect London Hotel

Would recommend Sun, Oct 27, 2013
We had a superior travel experience thanks to Rydges in Kensington. When we first planned our week-long London trip, we saw Rydges had great reviews and figured we'd give it a try. Boy, are we glad we did! Our experience with Rydges was stellar from start to finish. The general manager quickly responded to any email inquiries and even accommodated some special requests we had for our room. Upon arrival, the staff was friendly and attentive. Since our flight arrived early in the morning, the hotel staff held our bags until check-in and brought them to our room while we walked High Street Kensington (which is just a few blocks away.) The room itself was gorgeous. We had a King Executive Suite which was very spacious for a London hotel. There were lots of little touches that made it special - tall windows, a heated towel rack, robes and slippers, lots of electronic hook-ups, a vanity with blow-dryer, generously-sized toiletries that were replenished daily, etc. And a large American-style tub / shower combo! The room was contemporary with dark-wood furniture and a soft, comfortable bed. Best of all, it was super-clean. It makes a world of difference to arrive to a clean, fresh, and comfortable room after a long flight. The location of the hotel is top-notch. It's across the street from the Gloucester Road tube station which hooks up to every major line downtown (District, Circle, and Piccadilly) and straight to Heathrow. The Houses of Parliament, Buckingham Palace, Leicester Square, Harrods, and Covent Garden are all just a few tube stops away. Yet when you return to the hotel in Kensington, it's lovely and quiet. Lots of great restaurant and pub options all around. And Hyde Park is just down the road, which makes for beautiful morning walks. But perhaps the best surprise of all was the reasonable rate we were able to book the room at. The cost of London hotels can cause sticker-shock once converted to dollars. We booked the hotel along with our flight and saved a considerable amount on the nightly charge. We truly got a five-star experience for a very reasonable rate. We've stayed at many international hotels and this was by far the best experience we've had. If we returned to London, we would stay here without question and will recommend it to all our friends and family. It made our trip perfect.

Money saver

If you're flying into Heathrow, definitely take the tube to the hotel rather than an expensive car. The Piccadilly line runs straight from Heathrow to Gloucester Road, and there are lifts to the street from the station, so no stairs to carry your bags up (except for one very short flight of stairs, about 12 steps.)

| New York, New York Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Great stay

Would recommend Mon, Sep 16, 2013
I had a great stay at the Rydges Kensington hotel. The room was beautiful, comfortable bed and even a bath tub. The shower was a rain shower head which was excellent with a lot of water pressure. Even tho I like to stay in new places each time I go to London. I would actually stay here again because its that wonderful. The only bad note is that they even charge for local calls. I bought a calling card to use and even when I dialed the local number on the card they charged me 1 pound.

Shopping hint

Waitrose across the street for a cheaper breakfast than the one at the hotel. They have excellent fresh fruit.

| Phoenix AZ Singles

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Hotel Review

Would recommend Sat, Jun 1, 2013
The location was excellent! The bath fixtures are high-end, However, the queen size room is really meant for only one person. There were 2 of us, and only one person could walk around at a time. We couldn't use the luggage stand, because there was no room to open it up. The closet extended into the walkway from the doorway, and it was very hard for the waiters to squeeze thru carrying a tray, when we ordered room service. There was no basic cable, not even CNN! If it weren't for these things, I would have given Rydges a 5 star rating.

Entertainment hint

The hop on-hop off tour buses stop in front of the hotel

| Oakland, CA Couples

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

great hotel and very good price for London

Would recommend Thu, Apr 11, 2013
was pefect... would totally stay here again. Good value for London

| Scottsdale, AZ Business

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 5 /5