$147 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 21, 2014 Check-out: Sep 22, 2014

Royal National

3 stars
Bedford Way, London, WC1
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
16 reviews
Good hotel

they met our needs, was on the tour list for hotel pickups See full review

  • Lynne and Deon
  • May 16, 2014
Better than expected

The room was very comfortable and the bathroom was well lit and clean. The entire facility... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Oct 17, 2008
This hotel is a good and famous property located in and unbeatable location. A very important part of the hotel was renovated during 2006/2007 so this property is one the best value for money hotels in the whole of London! It is situated in a very convenient location for tourists to visit London. (0507RPL) The building is a large seven storey building with a large and private central courtyard. The hotel is superbly located in the heart of upmarket Bloomsbury, near to Russell Square underground station. It is within walking distance of Covent Garden, the British Museum, famous Oxford Street and all major tourist attractions.

Hotel Map

51.5232 -0.1272

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Royal National also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Royal National Rooms

Guest Rooms
The rooms are medium in size and kept in very good condition. They've been decorated using contemporary-classic wooden furniture and pastel colours. The bathrooms are also in good condition.

Amenities

Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Institute of Education: 0.1 mi
  • School of Oriental and African Studies: 0.1 mi
  • Russell Square: 0.1 mi
  • Birkbeck: 0.2 mi
  • Institute of Archaeology Collections: 0.2 mi
  • Petrie Museum of Egyptian Archaeology: 0.3 mi
  • British Museum: 0.3 mi
  • The Brunswick : 0.3 mi
  • Grant Museum of Zoology: 0.3 mi
  • University College London: 0.3 mi
  • Cartoon Museum: 0.4 mi
  • University of London: 0.4 mi
  • London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine: 0.4 mi
  • British Library: 0.4 mi
  • Dominion Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Institute of Education: 0.1 mi
  • School of Oriental and African Studies: 0.1 mi
  • Russell Square: 0.1 mi
  • Birkbeck: 0.2 mi
  • Institute of Archaeology Collections: 0.2 mi
  • Petrie Museum of Egyptian Archaeology: 0.3 mi
  • British Museum: 0.3 mi
  • The Brunswick : 0.3 mi
  • Grant Museum of Zoology: 0.3 mi
  • University College London: 0.3 mi
  • Cartoon Museum: 0.4 mi
  • University of London: 0.4 mi
  • London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine: 0.4 mi
  • British Library: 0.4 mi
  • Dominion Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Charles Dickens Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Euston: 0.5 mi
  • St Pancras railway station: 0.5 mi
  • Kings Cross-St Pancras station: 0.5 mi
  • London Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Fitzrovia: 0.6 mi
  • Soho: 0.6 mi
  • Sir John Soane's Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Royal Opera House: 0.6 mi
  • Thomas Neal Centre : 0.6 mi
  • British Postal Museum and Archive: 0.6 mi
  • West End: 0.7 mi
  • London Astoria: 0.8 mi
  • Royal College of Physicians Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Aldwych Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Red Mansion Foundation: 0.8 mi
  • University of Westminster: 0.8 mi
  • Photographers Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Shaftesbury Avenue: 0.8 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • London Canal Museum: 0.8 mi
  • London Transport Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Old Operating Theatre Museum and Herb Garret: 0.8 mi
  • Oxford Circus: 0.8 mi
  • London Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • London Palladium: 0.8 mi
  • Carnaby Street: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.9 mi
  • Transport Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Courtauld Gallery: 0.9 mi

Dining

Restaurant
There are two large restaurants, one serves traditional Indian cuisine and the second one is a large Pizza Bar. Real Ales and English cuisine can be tasted at the Pub within the hotel.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (16)

Ratings and reviews for Royal National

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
4 out of 16
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.3
Sort by:
Review of Royal National

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lika C.
New York
Jul 8, 2014

One night at Russel Square

Breakfast is poor, hotel is so loud. There is another hotel in blocks is much better

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Supermarket

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal National

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
KenUSA
Dallas, Texas
Apr 29, 2014

Not good

Okay, I admit I was just looking for someplace inexpensive to lay over for the night between trains at Euston. But this place was poor. Stale rooms, poor beds, overcrowded lobby and reception and breakfast as well. The place is huge and they just don't have the personnel or facilities to deal with everyone. Wifi in lobby only, which leads to people sitting in every available spot, including the floor. (Plus, it doesn't work well.) No shampoo in the room. So, I call and am told I can't get any until housekeeping opens at 8 a.m.--after my train leaves. No iron. No hair dryer. Stay away unless you have little other choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal National

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Philadelphia
Sep 16, 2008

Great Location and So-So Price

The hotel is just off of both Russell Square and Tavistock Square (where one of the bus bombings took place; take time to note the memorial plate outside the British Medical Association). The Bloomsbury area is great. The hotel is one block (as the crow flies) from Russell Square Tube stop and just two blocks from the British Museum. If you're young and healthy you can EASILY walk from the hotel to Leicester Square and also to Trafalgar Square. The hotel was extremely clean and odor free. I had a street view and if you lean your head out you can see Russell Square. This was my second one-night visit in the same week (I was in Manchester for most of the trip). On my first arrival at about 11:00 am no room was available, so I had to leave my bags. They have a GREAT sort of machine-like method of leaving bags so you can go out and do stuff right away. On my second stay, I arrived at about 10:30 am and my room was ready, so I was able to pop up and leave both my bags and some breakables from Manchester. When you arrive, there will ALWAYS be tons of buses in the courtyard, and lots of people meandering in the lobby. Don't let it frighten you; they are in large tour groups, so just politiely make your way to the check-in desk. Check-in both times was quick, efficient and easy (despite the crowds of bus-tour folks). My only real complaint is breakfast. The included breakfast is toast, rolls, butter, jam, various cereals/canned fruits/yoghurt. The full English was, as I recall 4.99 pounds (so about $10). That is fine, but the table set-up is like a large U.S. public high school. That is to say, 6 people to a rectangular table. The tables are very close together, so basically, you're tense and crowded. Get there as soon as it opens (check the time for the given week day or weekend day). I don't like people on top of me while I'm eating, so I had my toast, jam and coffee and left. Again, the hotel can't be beat for location. It lacks any ambiance; there's a nice bar there if you need a beer afer hours, but otherwise no real common space. However, one is only sleeping and showereing there after all. The station is within walking distance, so the hotel's location was doubly convenient. It is also within walking distance of St. Pancras and King's Cross (unless you're lugging a LOT of heavy or breakable things). If looking again for a Bloomsbury Hotel, I would consider it. London single-room hotel rooms simply don't get much cheaper than $150 US anymore (not without facing grime or geographical inconvenience). So, bottom line: if you stay here, you'll probbly have no real complaints, AND you'll be able to walk to quite a few must-see things without putting out the significant cash for a cab or tube fare.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal National

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mary C
Buffalo, NY
May 12, 2007

Comfortable hotel, great location.

The Royal National in London is very comfortable. The lobby has been remodeled and it is now even more user friendly. The restaurant, cafe and pub are all very good. The location is excellent - one block from the tube and three blocks from the British Museum. There are several good restaurants in the area, and a couple of small grocery stores. The staff is very friendly. The hotel itself is also undergoing remodeling, and the completed area are very nice. It is very comfortable adn cozy, considering it is so large.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a lovely park at Russell Square to relax in.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search