$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 18, 2015 Check-out: Jan 21, 2015

Royal National

3 stars
Bedford Way, London, WC1
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
17 reviews
Good hotel

they met our needs, was on the tour list for hotel pickups See full review

  • Lynne and Deon
  • May 16, 2014
Better than expected

The room was very comfortable and the bathroom was well lit and clean. The entire facility... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Oct 17, 2008
This hotel is a good and famous property located in and unbeatable location. A very important part of the hotel was renovated during 2006/2007 so this property is one the best value for money hotels in the whole of London! It is situated in a very convenient location for tourists to visit London. (0507RPL) The building is a large seven storey building with a large and private central courtyard. The hotel is superbly located in the heart of upmarket Bloomsbury, near to Russell Square underground station. It is within walking distance of Covent Garden, the British Museum, famous Oxford Street and all major tourist attractions.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Royal National also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Royal National Rooms

Guest Rooms
The rooms are medium in size and kept in very good condition. They've been decorated using contemporary-classic wooden furniture and pastel colours. The bathrooms are also in good condition.

Amenities

Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Institute of Education: 0.1 mi
  • School of Oriental and African Studies: 0.1 mi
  • Russell Square: 0.1 mi
  • Birkbeck: 0.2 mi
  • Institute of Archaeology Collections: 0.2 mi
  • Petrie Museum of Egyptian Archaeology: 0.3 mi
  • British Museum: 0.3 mi
  • The Brunswick : 0.3 mi
  • Grant Museum of Zoology: 0.3 mi
  • University College London: 0.3 mi
  • Cartoon Museum: 0.4 mi
  • University of London: 0.4 mi
  • London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine: 0.4 mi
  • British Library: 0.4 mi
  • Dominion Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Institute of Education: 0.1 mi
  • School of Oriental and African Studies: 0.1 mi
  • Russell Square: 0.1 mi
  • Birkbeck: 0.2 mi
  • Institute of Archaeology Collections: 0.2 mi
  • Petrie Museum of Egyptian Archaeology: 0.3 mi
  • British Museum: 0.3 mi
  • The Brunswick : 0.3 mi
  • Grant Museum of Zoology: 0.3 mi
  • University College London: 0.3 mi
  • Cartoon Museum: 0.4 mi
  • University of London: 0.4 mi
  • London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine: 0.4 mi
  • British Library: 0.4 mi
  • Dominion Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Charles Dickens Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Euston: 0.5 mi
  • St Pancras railway station: 0.5 mi
  • Kings Cross-St Pancras station: 0.5 mi
  • London Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Fitzrovia: 0.6 mi
  • Soho: 0.6 mi
  • Sir John Soane's Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Royal Opera House: 0.6 mi
  • Thomas Neal Centre : 0.6 mi
  • British Postal Museum and Archive: 0.6 mi
  • West End: 0.7 mi
  • London Astoria: 0.8 mi
  • Royal College of Physicians Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Aldwych Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Red Mansion Foundation: 0.8 mi
  • University of Westminster: 0.8 mi
  • Photographers Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Shaftesbury Avenue: 0.8 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • London Canal Museum: 0.8 mi
  • London Transport Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Old Operating Theatre Museum and Herb Garret: 0.8 mi
  • Oxford Circus: 0.8 mi
  • London Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • London Palladium: 0.8 mi
  • Carnaby Street: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.9 mi
  • Transport Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Courtauld Gallery: 0.9 mi

Dining

Restaurant
There are two large restaurants, one serves traditional Indian cuisine and the second one is a large Pizza Bar. Real Ales and English cuisine can be tasted at the Pub within the hotel.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (17)

Ratings and reviews for Royal National

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
17 out of 17
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.1
Value:
3

53% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal National

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mary C
Business
Buffalo, NY
May 12, 2007

Comfortable hotel, great location.

The Royal National in London is very comfortable. The lobby has been remodeled and it is now even more user friendly. The restaurant, cafe and pub are all very good. The location is excellent - one block from the tube and three blocks from the British Museum. There are several good restaurants in the area, and a couple of small grocery stores. The staff is very friendly. The hotel itself is also undergoing remodeling, and the completed area are very nice. It is very comfortable adn cozy, considering it is so large.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a lovely park at Russell Square to relax in.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal National

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Silver Spring
Oct 17, 2008

Better than expected

The room was very comfortable and the bathroom was well lit and clean. The entire facility appeared to be very well maintained. The continental breakfast was entirely satisfactory. I would certainly stay here the next time I visit London and would encourage anyone else seeking an excellent value in a convenient neighborhood to stay there. (Easy short walk to 2 Tube stations on different lines; easy walk to the British Museum and other Bloomsbury attractions; only a 15-20 minute walk to Covent Garden area or to the Kings Cross area.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal National

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Marcos
Oct 28, 2008

Convenient

The Royal National Hotel is extremely close to the British Museum, a must see for mummy fans. Although somewhat confusing as to which side of the hotel to check into (the south side) and lacking internet in the rooms, the hotel was adequate, if a bit pricey. The free breakfast is a little meagre, but you can upgrade for 4.50 pounds. Internet in the lobby tended to be slow during peak hours, but easy to access (Many Univ. of London students were availing themselves of the service).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal National

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
las vegas, NV
May 22, 2008

Good Hotel

The Royal National is a good middle of the road hotel. Not fancy but generally well maintained. The room was large with separate bathroom and vanity areas. Closet was large enough and adequate hangers for clothes are provided. Vanity area was more than adequate and the room was clean with one double and two single beds. The location is good with walking access to Trafalgar square, buckingham palace and the London eye. A number of pubs and resturants are within easy walking distance and bus service to reach further destinations is nearby. Check-in and out was easy and the staff was helpful although a little stressed at times due to the number of people checking in and out. This is a large hotel and seems to have a lot of charter bus traffic so at times the front counter is quite busy. They also seem to have a lot of young (children) groups although they seemed well behaved and did not create undue noise even when we had about 50 of them on our floor. The breakfast was good and in and out was quick. The only complaint I had was that the matress on the bed needed to be replaced as it had a week spot in the middle from use and this tends to make couples get a lot closer than they might otherwise plan to be.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Big Ben, Westminster Abby are within about a mile of the hotel. Walking is easy but bus service is also available within a short distance from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal National

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Herndon, VA
Sep 3, 2008

Great Marketing

The Royal National was not what I expected. They had to give you the floor layouts because it was that complicated. It is a pretty long walk to the local attracations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal National

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lynne and Deon
Business
Oregon
May 16, 2014

Good hotel

they met our needs, was on the tour list for hotel pickups

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal National

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Spring
Oct 16, 2008

Great Location

The Royal National Hotel - Imperial Group Lt, London, GB was good value for the money and a great location to spend a few days, especially if you are coming into St. Pancras RER and want to spend some time at the West End. There's also a Double-Decker pick-up location right around the corner. The two rooms we rented were very adequate, clean and spacious. The hotel is quite old, but well maintained. The check-in was a little slow and we did not get the adjoining rooms we requested. The concierge was not helpful in acquiring theatre tickets, but he did provide the theatre's phone number and we were able to get great seats on our own. The dining facility was exceptional - much more than we expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Short walk to the West End Theatre District.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal National

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cjurzec
Business
Chicago, IL
Nov 26, 2012

Royal National Nov. 2012

Great location, OK room quality. You get what you pay for and this is pretty much what I expected. I would stay there again as I do not spend much time in the room or at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal National

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia
Sep 16, 2008

Great Location and So-So Price

The hotel is just off of both Russell Square and Tavistock Square (where one of the bus bombings took place; take time to note the memorial plate outside the British Medical Association). The Bloomsbury area is great. The hotel is one block (as the crow flies) from Russell Square Tube stop and just two blocks from the British Museum. If you're young and healthy you can EASILY walk from the hotel to Leicester Square and also to Trafalgar Square. The hotel was extremely clean and odor free. I had a street view and if you lean your head out you can see Russell Square. This was my second one-night visit in the same week (I was in Manchester for most of the trip). On my first arrival at about 11:00 am no room was available, so I had to leave my bags. They have a GREAT sort of machine-like method of leaving bags so you can go out and do stuff right away. On my second stay, I arrived at about 10:30 am and my room was ready, so I was able to pop up and leave both my bags and some breakables from Manchester. When you arrive, there will ALWAYS be tons of buses in the courtyard, and lots of people meandering in the lobby. Don't let it frighten you; they are in large tour groups, so just politiely make your way to the check-in desk. Check-in both times was quick, efficient and easy (despite the crowds of bus-tour folks). My only real complaint is breakfast. The included breakfast is toast, rolls, butter, jam, various cereals/canned fruits/yoghurt. The full English was, as I recall 4.99 pounds (so about $10). That is fine, but the table set-up is like a large U.S. public high school. That is to say, 6 people to a rectangular table. The tables are very close together, so basically, you're tense and crowded. Get there as soon as it opens (check the time for the given week day or weekend day). I don't like people on top of me while I'm eating, so I had my toast, jam and coffee and left. Again, the hotel can't be beat for location. It lacks any ambiance; there's a nice bar there if you need a beer afer hours, but otherwise no real common space. However, one is only sleeping and showereing there after all. The station is within walking distance, so the hotel's location was doubly convenient. It is also within walking distance of St. Pancras and King's Cross (unless you're lugging a LOT of heavy or breakable things). If looking again for a Bloomsbury Hotel, I would consider it. London single-room hotel rooms simply don't get much cheaper than $150 US anymore (not without facing grime or geographical inconvenience). So, bottom line: if you stay here, you'll probbly have no real complaints, AND you'll be able to walk to quite a few must-see things without putting out the significant cash for a cab or tube fare.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal National

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lika C.
Business
New York
Jul 8, 2014

One night at Russel Square

Breakfast is poor, hotel is so loud. There is another hotel in blocks is much better

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Supermarket

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top