$136 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 5, 2015

Rathbone Hotel London

4 stars
30 Rathbone Street, London, W1T 1LB
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
35 reviews
Great Experience

Really enjoyed my stay. A great hotel situated in what has to be the heart of London. I was able to... See full review

  • aebcurator
  • Jun 4, 2014
Rathbone Review

I had a great experience at the Rathbone. I do not have any complaints. See full review

  • Seph Zdarko
  • Nov 9, 2013
Intimate boutique-style hotel in London’s West End

The Rathbone Hotel London is an intimate, boutique-style hotel located in the heart of London's West End, the perfect location for discovering some of London's finest restaurants, shops and nightlife. Comprehensive concierge services are available, where a professional staff will assist with all of one's London sightseeing and travel arrangements. The Rathbone offers an on-site meeting facility that accommodates up to 12 people, and an adjacent office building suite is available for half- or full-day rental. 

Highlights
  • Located in the heart of London's West End
  • Intimate, boutique-style hotel
  • Full concierge services
Rooms

All rooms are traditionally furnished and feature satellite television, Internet access, coffee and tea making facilities, complimentary bottled water and free newspaper. Additionally, Executive rooms, suites and Club rooms provide luxury bathrobes and slippers.

Features

The Rathbone Hotel London is a boutique-style hotel located in the heart of London's West End and is the ideal base for discovering all of London's finest restaurants, shops and nightlife. The Rathbone features comprehensive concierge services that include assistance with theater and restaurant reservations, travel arrangements, car rental and sightseeing tour bookings. The hotel offers an on-site meeting facility that accommodates up to 12 people, and an adjacent office building suite is available for half- or full-day rental. Coffee, a light lunch, and afternoon tea is available and included as part of a delegate rate. While the Rathbone does not operate its own restaurant, it offers guests a unique dining opportunity with the Rathbone Restaurant Club, where a discount is offered on meals purchased from participating nearby restaurants. Full details are available upon hotel check-in.

Transportation
  • Goodge Street tube station (3 minutes walking)
  • Tottenham Court Road tube station (6 minutes)
  • Heathrow Airport (14.1 mi/22.7 km)
  • Gatwick Airport  (25.1 mi/43.7 km)
Attractions
  • The British Museum (0.38 mi./0.61 km)
  • Soho (0.46 mi./0.74 km)
  • Oxford Street  (0.47 mi./0.75 km)
  • Regent Street (0.49 mi./0.78 km)
  • Piccadilly Circus (0.65 mi./1.04 km)
  • Covent Garden (0.68 mi./1.09 km)
  • Theatre District (0.84 mi./ 1.35 km)
  • Bond Street (1.04 mi./1.67 km)
Business
  • Meeting facility for up to 12 people
  • Photocopying and fax facilities
  • High-speed Internet
  • Concierge services

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Rathbone Hotel London also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Rathbone Hotel London Rooms

STANDARD - ROOM
Ideal for one person with the shorter stay in mind. These rooms have or a walk in shower cubicle. Minimum room size 7 sq.m.
DELUXE - ROOM
Guests requiring that bit more space than that provided in a Standard Room will find these rooms comfortable and ideal for the longer visit. Minimum room size 10 sq.m.
EXECUTIVE - ROOM
These are spacious rooms which can be configured as either double or twin bedded rooms. All Executive Rooms are provided with luxury bath robes and slippers and are especially popular with guests who are visiting the hotel for a celebration such as a birthday or anniversary. Minimum room size 14.5 (15) sq.m.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Dining
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine: 0.2 mi
  • Fitzrovia: 0.3 mi
  • Dominion Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Soho: 0.3 mi
  • University of London: 0.3 mi
  • Birkbeck: 0.3 mi
  • Photographers Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • University of Westminster: 0.3 mi
  • Petrie Museum of Egyptian Archaeology: 0.3 mi
  • Grant Museum of Zoology: 0.3 mi
  • School of Oriental and African Studies: 0.4 mi
  • Oxford Circus: 0.4 mi
  • London Palladium: 0.4 mi
  • University College London: 0.4 mi
  • British Museum: 0.4 mi
  • London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine: 0.2 mi
  • Fitzrovia: 0.3 mi
  • Dominion Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Soho: 0.3 mi
  • University of London: 0.3 mi
  • Birkbeck: 0.3 mi
  • Photographers Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • University of Westminster: 0.3 mi
  • Petrie Museum of Egyptian Archaeology: 0.3 mi
  • Grant Museum of Zoology: 0.3 mi
  • School of Oriental and African Studies: 0.4 mi
  • Oxford Circus: 0.4 mi
  • London Palladium: 0.4 mi
  • University College London: 0.4 mi
  • British Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Carnaby Street: 0.4 mi
  • Red Mansion Foundation: 0.4 mi
  • Institute of Education: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Opera House: 0.5 mi
  • Institute of Archaeology Collections: 0.5 mi
  • Oxford Street: 0.5 mi
  • Kingly Court : 0.5 mi
  • West End: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Shaftesbury Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Russell Square: 0.5 mi
  • Thomas Neal Centre : 0.5 mi
  • London Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • Piccadilly Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Regent Street: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • London Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Handel House Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Leicester Square: 0.6 mi
  • Royal College of Physicians Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Euston: 0.7 mi
  • Bond Street London: 0.7 mi
  • Wallace Collection: 0.7 mi
  • Royal Arcade : 0.7 mi
  • Royal Academy of Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Royal Academy of Music: 0.7 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • London Transport Museum: 0.8 mi
  • The Brunswick : 0.8 mi
  • National Gallery: 0.8 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Fitzroy Suite: Is ideal for Board meetings and can accommodate up to 12 delegates. The room has natural Daylight, Fully Air-conditioned with a direct telephone line. Complimentary mineral water is provided and Audio Visual Equipment is on request. There is always a dedicated team to assist you at all times.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (35)

Ratings and reviews for Rathbone Hotel London

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
11 out of 35
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.8

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Rathbone Hotel London

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Trystan
Business
Maryland
Jul 5, 2010

I will never stay here again!

This was the smallest hotel room I have ever stayed in, it does not look the same as it does in the photos. The staff obviously [*], they were rude, unaccomodating and uninformative. In the lobby we could hear them on the phone with other guest and they were very pleasant and willing to help those people, but when we asked for locations of places, more towels, etc, they were very rude to us, handed us a map and told us we were on our own. There is a slot at the door when you get into the room to put your key in, it turns all the lights on in the room, we didn't know that and called down to the front desk, the gent at the front desk came to our room and proceeded to make us both feel stupid. The room was literally the size of a walk in closet, the only thing that was ok about this hotel was the room was clean and the food wasn't bad. However, I would never stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

If you want to check out any of the old churches, such as Westminister Abbey do so before sunday because on sunday you can go in and have a look around but you really can't explore due to services going on.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rathbone Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phila., Pa.
Oct 5, 2009

Pleasant place to stay

Hotel was lovely, clean and quiet. Not sure this would be a good spot if traveling with children. We were able to access the tube easily for travel and walk to nearby restaurants. Room service was available but only breakfast served in the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

London is very crowded. Whether traveling by car, tube or walking, took much longer than we expected. Allow plenty of time to get anywhere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rathbone Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LRS735
Business
Leeds
Sep 12, 2010

Excellent location for the price

Excellent location within easy walking distance of Oxford Street, Soho, the west end and most attractions. Small but very smart and clean hotel. Room was relatively large for London and was very clean and well appointed. The staff were very polite, friendly and helpful. I would certainly stay thre again and I would have no hesitation in recommending it to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rathbone Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JoeTravelerTwo
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Oct 16, 2012

Great Location

Although a smaller room by American standards, the staff was very pleasant and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable. Was disappointed that it was necessary to get to another hotel for a tour bus pick up, as this type of amenity was not available at the hotel. Minor inconvenience. Overall a pleasant experience and would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rathbone Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tinu
Business
Zurich, Switzerland
Mar 15, 2010

Great value and great location

This hotel is situated 5 minutes from Tottenham Court Road and 3 minutes from Goodge Street subway stations. There are around 10 restaurants (Italian, Indian, Spanish, French, etc.) and several pubs just around the corner. The rooms have a comfortable size of about 12-14 square meters. The beds are England style, but very comfortable. The room cleaning was impeccable. There is a hotel bar with reasonable pricing. There is the possibility to eat breakfast in the hotel, but we didn't do that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Chinese restaurant Hakkasan on 8 Hanway Place is the best I know. Go for dim sum at lunch time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rathbone Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Honolulu, HI
Mar 29, 2010

hotel

During our stay at the Rathbone Hotel, we enjoyed the friendly service, cleanliness, and location. The location of the hotel was walking distance to the popular actions such as the British Museum and Oxford Street. The price of the hotel was reasonable considering it was a four star hotel. The front desk helped out with directions, tube information, and tour group information.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rathbone Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brenny
Business
Cork . Southern Ireland
Jan 21, 2010

Great Location and a good price

Touring the city centre. Would have liked some access to a computer, but they do not have a business centre. They were helpful in helping overcome this problem. Location much better then previous trip. Would go back again when next in London

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rathbone Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Connecticut, USA
Jul 16, 2010

Rathbone Hotel Survey

It was a very nice hotel, with friendly attentive staff. The rooms were clean and neat. The staff was helpful with wake-up calls, taxis, our tour cars and luggage. But it was noisy. There is a pub right across the street, and while you can't really hear the people, you hear the giant bags of glass bottles hitting the sidewalk for hours as they prep for recycle pick-up - both late at night and very early in the morning. And the in-hotel dining options were not great. Although it says there is 24 hour bar and restaurant service, it's the bellman staff that operates that in off hours, and they don't really know what they're doing behind the bar, or with the food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rathbone Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JOHNPAULBRYAN
Business
Saugus, CA
Jul 20, 2010

Great Location, not the best beds...

Great location , the staff was friendly and helpful. The beds and pillows were lumpy and/or to soft, very hard to get good rest

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rathbone Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sinde
Business
Modesto, CA, USA
Jun 17, 2014

Over Charge Wi-fi access

Hotel was nice but,ludicrous to be charged 22 pounds for two day use of wi-fi, esp. when most establishments today offer internet access for free (even our local coffee shops do not charge!)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top