$170 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 28, 2014

Rathbone Hotel London

4 stars
30 Rathbone Street, London, W1T 1LB
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
50 reviews
Great Experience

Really enjoyed my stay. A great hotel situated in what has to be the heart of London. I was able to... See full review

  • aebcurator
  • Jun 4, 2014
Rathbone Review

I had a great experience at the Rathbone. I do not have any complaints. See full review

  • Seph Zdarko
  • Nov 9, 2013
Intimate boutique-style hotel in London’s West End

The Rathbone Hotel London is an intimate, boutique-style hotel located in the heart of London's West End, the perfect location for discovering some of London's finest restaurants, shops and nightlife. Comprehensive concierge services are available, where a professional staff will assist with all of one's London sightseeing and travel arrangements. The Rathbone offers an on-site meeting facility that accommodates up to 12 people, and an adjacent office building suite is available for half- or full-day rental. 

Highlights
  • Located in the heart of London's West End
  • Intimate, boutique-style hotel
  • Full concierge services
Rooms

All rooms are traditionally furnished and feature satellite television, Internet access, coffee and tea making facilities, complimentary bottled water and free newspaper. Additionally, Executive rooms, suites and Club rooms provide luxury bathrobes and slippers.

Features

The Rathbone Hotel London is a boutique-style hotel located in the heart of London's West End and is the ideal base for discovering all of London's finest restaurants, shops and nightlife. The Rathbone features comprehensive concierge services that include assistance with theater and restaurant reservations, travel arrangements, car rental and sightseeing tour bookings. The hotel offers an on-site meeting facility that accommodates up to 12 people, and an adjacent office building suite is available for half- or full-day rental. Coffee, a light lunch, and afternoon tea is available and included as part of a delegate rate. While the Rathbone does not operate its own restaurant, it offers guests a unique dining opportunity with the Rathbone Restaurant Club, where a discount is offered on meals purchased from participating nearby restaurants. Full details are available upon hotel check-in.

Transportation
  • Goodge Street tube station (3 minutes walking)
  • Tottenham Court Road tube station (6 minutes)
  • Heathrow Airport (14.1 mi/22.7 km)
  • Gatwick Airport  (25.1 mi/43.7 km)
Attractions
  • The British Museum (0.38 mi./0.61 km)
  • Soho (0.46 mi./0.74 km)
  • Oxford Street  (0.47 mi./0.75 km)
  • Regent Street (0.49 mi./0.78 km)
  • Piccadilly Circus (0.65 mi./1.04 km)
  • Covent Garden (0.68 mi./1.09 km)
  • Theatre District (0.84 mi./ 1.35 km)
  • Bond Street (1.04 mi./1.67 km)
Business
  • Meeting facility for up to 12 people
  • Photocopying and fax facilities
  • High-speed Internet
  • Concierge services

Rathbone Hotel London Rooms

STANDARD - ROOM
Ideal for one person with the shorter stay in mind. These rooms have or a walk in shower cubicle. Minimum room size 7 sq.m.
DELUXE - ROOM
Guests requiring that bit more space than that provided in a Standard Room will find these rooms comfortable and ideal for the longer visit. Minimum room size 10 sq.m.
EXECUTIVE - ROOM
These are spacious rooms which can be configured as either double or twin bedded rooms. All Executive Rooms are provided with luxury bath robes and slippers and are especially popular with guests who are visiting the hotel for a celebration such as a birthday or anniversary. Minimum room size 14.5 (15) sq.m.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Dining
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Rathbone Hotel London also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

51.5188 -0.1355
Area served
Many of London's key attractions and locations are literally within walking distance of the Rathbone and so (especially for the slightly more energetic), you can maintain your 'keep fit regime' whilst enjoying much of what London has to offer.
Area description
The Rathbone is located in the heart of London's West End, close to many of the Capital's most popular sites and attractions. The hotel is within easy walking distance of numerous Underground (subway) stations (Oxford Circus, Tottenham Court Road, Goodge Street to name but three), providing quick and easy travel to and around all areas of the West End and the City financial district. Taxis are on hand and numerous bus routes can be accessed on Oxford Street, which is only a brief walk away.

Nearby points of interest

  • London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine: 0.2 mi
  • Fitzrovia: 0.3 mi
  • Dominion Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Soho: 0.3 mi
  • University of London: 0.3 mi
  • Birkbeck: 0.3 mi
  • Photographers Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • University of Westminster: 0.3 mi
  • Petrie Museum of Egyptian Archaeology: 0.3 mi
  • Grant Museum of Zoology: 0.3 mi
  • School of Oriental and African Studies: 0.4 mi
  • Oxford Circus: 0.4 mi
  • London Palladium: 0.4 mi
  • University College London: 0.4 mi
  • British Museum: 0.4 mi
  • London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine: 0.2 mi
  • Fitzrovia: 0.3 mi
  • Dominion Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Soho: 0.3 mi
  • University of London: 0.3 mi
  • Birkbeck: 0.3 mi
  • Photographers Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • University of Westminster: 0.3 mi
  • Petrie Museum of Egyptian Archaeology: 0.3 mi
  • Grant Museum of Zoology: 0.3 mi
  • School of Oriental and African Studies: 0.4 mi
  • Oxford Circus: 0.4 mi
  • London Palladium: 0.4 mi
  • University College London: 0.4 mi
  • British Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Carnaby Street: 0.4 mi
  • Red Mansion Foundation: 0.4 mi
  • Institute of Education: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Opera House: 0.5 mi
  • Institute of Archaeology Collections: 0.5 mi
  • Oxford Street: 0.5 mi
  • Kingly Court : 0.5 mi
  • West End: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Shaftesbury Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Russell Square: 0.5 mi
  • Thomas Neal Centre : 0.5 mi
  • London Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • Piccadilly Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Regent Street: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • London Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Handel House Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Leicester Square: 0.6 mi
  • Royal College of Physicians Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Euston: 0.7 mi
  • Bond Street London: 0.7 mi
  • Wallace Collection: 0.7 mi
  • Royal Arcade : 0.7 mi
  • Royal Academy of Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Royal Academy of Music: 0.7 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • London Transport Museum: 0.8 mi
  • The Brunswick : 0.8 mi
  • National Gallery: 0.8 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Fitzroy Suite: Is ideal for Board meetings and can accommodate up to 12 delegates. The room has natural Daylight, Fully Air-conditioned with a direct telephone line. Complimentary mineral water is provided and Audio Visual Equipment is on request. There is always a dedicated team to assist you at all times.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (50)

Ratings and reviews for Rathbone Hotel London

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
50 out of 50
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.6

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Rathbone Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sinde
Modesto, CA, USA
Jun 17, 2014

Over Charge Wi-fi access

Hotel was nice but,ludicrous to be charged 22 pounds for two day use of wi-fi, esp. when most establishments today offer internet access for free (even our local coffee shops do not charge!)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Rathbone Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brenny
Cork . Southern Ireland
Jan 21, 2010

Great Location and a good price

Touring the city centre. Would have liked some access to a computer, but they do not have a business centre. They were helpful in helping overcome this problem. Location much better then previous trip. Would go back again when next in London

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Rathbone Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GDesigner
New Jersey
Sep 2, 2013

Nice getaway

Overall a nice experience. The room was very tiny but I traveled alone wasn't in the room much so not an issue. I book two breakfasts but went to one and was charged for the second for some reason. Not cool. Wifi wasn't free but was expensive, just cut the price in half and add it to the price of the room. I mean McDs and Starbucks has free wifi. Even the airport has a free 45min wifi. The other reviews were actually pretty much all accurate. The staff were all nice and polite like the other reviews say. I went to Burger King today and the staff acted like they didn't want a job so kindness friendliness does matter. Keep it up. The room did seem long in the tooth like another reviewer said but it was clean and comfortable. One thing that bothered me was the space between the door and floor. There was like a gap. I don't know if all the rooms were like that but I didn't like that. At night I mean the hallway lights were pretty bright it looks like some sort of alien movie, lol. Sound travels by air right? Well I can hear people in the hallway from that gap. I'd fix that knock the presentation down a bit. I mean if the gap was completely straight across then I would think "O thats just the way the rooms or doors are". But it curved so looked like something was wrong. Hotel stinking in or something. Again good positive experience with the hotel. I guess I would go back and recommend to others. Perfectly fine place to stay but I could lean toward another hotel if they had free wifi. Thumbs up from me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

First time outside of US and England. Watch out for bacon. I mean I got bacon in the hotel and Heathrow term. 4 and that was not bacon. Again that was not bacon don't even waste your time. I don't think these people know what bacon is. That's ham, lol. I think. Thats like putting a pork chop on a plate and saying "Well its pork so it counts as bacon". lol.

Review of Rathbone Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DorisMaude
UK
Aug 13, 2013

Great location, great staff.

Great location for theatres, restaurants and British Museum - close to Soho amenities and Tottenham Court Rd tube . Walked to Haymarket in about 15 minutes. Travelling alone so prepared for worst when booking single room at value rate but in fact room was good, and reasonable size for one. Certainly above my previous experiences. Immaculately clean, quiet and bed comfortable.Staff could not have been more helpful. Will definitely book again if good rate available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Easy walk to theatre district and to British Museum

Review of Rathbone Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JoeTravelerTwo
Los Angeles, CA
Oct 16, 2012

Great Location

Although a smaller room by American standards, the staff was very pleasant and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable. Was disappointed that it was necessary to get to another hotel for a tour bus pick up, as this type of amenity was not available at the hotel. Minor inconvenience. Overall a pleasant experience and would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Rathbone Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
2Proud parents
Business
CT
Dec 19, 2012

Small room but great location and staff

I traveled alone and stayed one night in December. The room was typical for this type of hotel in London (or NYC) - the bed takes up most of the room and the bathroom is no bigger than a closet, the shower is the size of a coffin . But, hey, it's clean and warm and I only needed to sleep. The location is perfect for shopping, restaurants, public transport etc. The staff are really good - friendly and efficient. No free wi-fi. You do hear street noise (garbage collection etc) but nothing too bad - what you expect in a city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Rathbone Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JOHNPAULBRYAN
Saugus, CA
Jul 20, 2010

Great Location, not the best beds...

Great location , the staff was friendly and helpful. The beds and pillows were lumpy and/or to soft, very hard to get good rest

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Rathbone Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LRS735
Leeds
Sep 12, 2010

Excellent location for the price

Excellent location within easy walking distance of Oxford Street, Soho, the west end and most attractions. Small but very smart and clean hotel. Room was relatively large for London and was very clean and well appointed. The staff were very polite, friendly and helpful. I would certainly stay thre again and I would have no hesitation in recommending it to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Rathbone Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CAjoe
west hollywood, ca
Dec 1, 2011

great hotel in a great location

this was my 2nd time here and it was just as expected. in a great location , walking distance to soho and theatreland. located a short 5 minute walk from googe underground station - it's easy to get to from LHR (if you're taking the tube). hotel is quiet and had everything that I needed. only bummer was wifi was pretty expensive at the hotel (15 pounds/day) and it was the only reliable wifi available - but performed well. might be a little more than hotels a bit further away, but the time and money saved from not having to use taxi's makes it break close to even. looking forward to my next visit to the UK and will stay here again. will definately stay here again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Rathbone Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Honolulu, HI
Mar 29, 2010

hotel

During our stay at the Rathbone Hotel, we enjoyed the friendly service, cleanliness, and location. The location of the hotel was walking distance to the popular actions such as the British Museum and Oxford Street. The price of the hotel was reasonable considering it was a four star hotel. The front desk helped out with directions, tube information, and tour group information.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top