$171 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 20, 2014 Check-out: Jul 21, 2014

Rathbone Hotel London

4 stars
30 Rathbone Street, London, W1T 1LB
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
50 reviews
Great Experience

Really enjoyed my stay. A great hotel situated in what has to be the heart of London. I was able to... See full review

  • aebcurator
  • Jun 4, 2014
Rathbone Review

I had a great experience at the Rathbone. I do not have any complaints. See full review

  • Seph Zdarko
  • Nov 9, 2013
Intimate boutique-style hotel in London’s West End

The Rathbone Hotel London is an intimate, boutique-style hotel located in the heart of London's West End, the perfect location for discovering some of London's finest restaurants, shops and nightlife. Comprehensive concierge services are available, where a professional staff will assist with all of one's London sightseeing and travel arrangements. The Rathbone offers an on-site meeting facility that accommodates up to 12 people, and an adjacent office building suite is available for half- or full-day rental. 

Highlights
  • Located in the heart of London's West End
  • Intimate, boutique-style hotel
  • Full concierge services
Rooms

All rooms are traditionally furnished and feature satellite television, Internet access, coffee and tea making facilities, complimentary bottled water and free newspaper. Additionally, Executive rooms, suites and Club rooms provide luxury bathrobes and slippers.

Features

The Rathbone Hotel London is a boutique-style hotel located in the heart of London's West End and is the ideal base for discovering all of London's finest restaurants, shops and nightlife. The Rathbone features comprehensive concierge services that include assistance with theater and restaurant reservations, travel arrangements, car rental and sightseeing tour bookings. The hotel offers an on-site meeting facility that accommodates up to 12 people, and an adjacent office building suite is available for half- or full-day rental. Coffee, a light lunch, and afternoon tea is available and included as part of a delegate rate. While the Rathbone does not operate its own restaurant, it offers guests a unique dining opportunity with the Rathbone Restaurant Club, where a discount is offered on meals purchased from participating nearby restaurants. Full details are available upon hotel check-in.

Transportation
  • Goodge Street tube station (3 minutes walking)
  • Tottenham Court Road tube station (6 minutes)
  • Heathrow Airport (14.1 mi/22.7 km)
  • Gatwick Airport  (25.1 mi/43.7 km)
Attractions
  • The British Museum (0.38 mi./0.61 km)
  • Soho (0.46 mi./0.74 km)
  • Oxford Street  (0.47 mi./0.75 km)
  • Regent Street (0.49 mi./0.78 km)
  • Piccadilly Circus (0.65 mi./1.04 km)
  • Covent Garden (0.68 mi./1.09 km)
  • Theatre District (0.84 mi./ 1.35 km)
  • Bond Street (1.04 mi./1.67 km)
Business
  • Meeting facility for up to 12 people
  • Photocopying and fax facilities
  • High-speed Internet
  • Concierge services

Rathbone Hotel London Rooms

STANDARD - ROOM
Ideal for one person with the shorter stay in mind. These rooms have or a walk in shower cubicle. Minimum room size 7 sq.m.
DELUXE - ROOM
Guests requiring that bit more space than that provided in a Standard Room will find these rooms comfortable and ideal for the longer visit. Minimum room size 10 sq.m.
EXECUTIVE - ROOM
These are spacious rooms which can be configured as either double or twin bedded rooms. All Executive Rooms are provided with luxury bath robes and slippers and are especially popular with guests who are visiting the hotel for a celebration such as a birthday or anniversary. Minimum room size 14.5 (15) sq.m.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Dining
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Rathbone Hotel London also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

51.5188 -0.1355
Area served
Many of London's key attractions and locations are literally within walking distance of the Rathbone and so (especially for the slightly more energetic), you can maintain your 'keep fit regime' whilst enjoying much of what London has to offer.
Area description
The Rathbone is located in the heart of London's West End, close to many of the Capital's most popular sites and attractions. The hotel is within easy walking distance of numerous Underground (subway) stations (Oxford Circus, Tottenham Court Road, Goodge Street to name but three), providing quick and easy travel to and around all areas of the West End and the City financial district. Taxis are on hand and numerous bus routes can be accessed on Oxford Street, which is only a brief walk away.

Nearby points of interest

  • London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine: 0.2 mi
  • Fitzrovia: 0.3 mi
  • Dominion Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Soho: 0.3 mi
  • University of London: 0.3 mi
  • Birkbeck: 0.3 mi
  • Photographers Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • University of Westminster: 0.3 mi
  • Petrie Museum of Egyptian Archaeology: 0.3 mi
  • Grant Museum of Zoology: 0.3 mi
  • School of Oriental and African Studies: 0.4 mi
  • Oxford Circus: 0.4 mi
  • London Palladium: 0.4 mi
  • University College London: 0.4 mi
  • British Museum: 0.4 mi
  • London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine: 0.2 mi
  • Fitzrovia: 0.3 mi
  • Dominion Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Soho: 0.3 mi
  • University of London: 0.3 mi
  • Birkbeck: 0.3 mi
  • Photographers Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • University of Westminster: 0.3 mi
  • Petrie Museum of Egyptian Archaeology: 0.3 mi
  • Grant Museum of Zoology: 0.3 mi
  • School of Oriental and African Studies: 0.4 mi
  • Oxford Circus: 0.4 mi
  • London Palladium: 0.4 mi
  • University College London: 0.4 mi
  • British Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Carnaby Street: 0.4 mi
  • Red Mansion Foundation: 0.4 mi
  • Institute of Education: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Opera House: 0.5 mi
  • Institute of Archaeology Collections: 0.5 mi
  • Oxford Street: 0.5 mi
  • Kingly Court : 0.5 mi
  • West End: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Shaftesbury Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Russell Square: 0.5 mi
  • Thomas Neal Centre : 0.5 mi
  • London Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • Piccadilly Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Regent Street: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • London Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Handel House Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Leicester Square: 0.6 mi
  • Royal College of Physicians Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Euston: 0.7 mi
  • Bond Street London: 0.7 mi
  • Wallace Collection: 0.7 mi
  • Royal Arcade : 0.7 mi
  • Royal Academy of Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Royal Academy of Music: 0.7 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • London Transport Museum: 0.8 mi
  • The Brunswick : 0.8 mi
  • National Gallery: 0.8 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Fitzroy Suite: Is ideal for Board meetings and can accommodate up to 12 delegates. The room has natural Daylight, Fully Air-conditioned with a direct telephone line. Complimentary mineral water is provided and Audio Visual Equipment is on request. There is always a dedicated team to assist you at all times.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (50)

Ratings and reviews for Rathbone Hotel London

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
50 out of 50
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.6

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Rathbone Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stephen Likes WC2
Atlanta, Georgia
Jan 22, 2013

Wonderful Staff, Great Location!

The staff, including the hotel manager, could not have been more accommodating. All my requests were taken care of and I was completely satisfied. I will definitely stay at the hotel in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Oxford Street shopping is a five minute (or less) walk and there is a TESCO grocery store about two blocks away which was very convenient.

Review of Rathbone Hotel London

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Trystan
Maryland
Jul 5, 2010

I will never stay here again!

This was the smallest hotel room I have ever stayed in, it does not look the same as it does in the photos. The staff obviously [*], they were rude, unaccomodating and uninformative. In the lobby we could hear them on the phone with other guest and they were very pleasant and willing to help those people, but when we asked for locations of places, more towels, etc, they were very rude to us, handed us a map and told us we were on our own. There is a slot at the door when you get into the room to put your key in, it turns all the lights on in the room, we didn't know that and called down to the front desk, the gent at the front desk came to our room and proceeded to make us both feel stupid. The room was literally the size of a walk in closet, the only thing that was ok about this hotel was the room was clean and the food wasn't bad. However, I would never stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

If you want to check out any of the old churches, such as Westminister Abbey do so before sunday because on sunday you can go in and have a look around but you really can't explore due to services going on.

Review of Rathbone Hotel London

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Trystan
Maryland
Jul 5, 2010

I will never stay here again!

This was the smallest hotel room I have ever stayed in, it does not look the same as it does in the photos. The staff obviously [*], they were rude, unaccomodating and uninformative. In the lobby we could hear them on the phone with other guest and they were very pleasant and willing to help those people, but when we asked for locations of places, more towels, etc, they were very rude to us, handed us a map and told us we were on our own. There is a slot at the door when you get into the room to put your key in, it turns all the lights on in the room, we didn't know that and called down to the front desk, the gent at the front desk came to our room and proceeded to make us both feel stupid. The room was literally the size of a walk in closet, the only thing that was ok about this hotel was the room was clean and the food wasn't bad. However, I would never stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

If you want to check out any of the old churches, such as Westminister Abbey do so before sunday because on sunday you can go in and have a look around but you really can't explore due to services going on.

Review of Rathbone Hotel London

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington, DC
Aug 25, 2010

Fine location - poor service

It's close to the tube but that's about it's only selling point. Staff was unhelpful and the room was uncomfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Rathbone Hotel London

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Joei
San Diego, CA, USA
Sep 5, 2011

London yearly vacation

I had my Do not disturb sign posted n they just walked in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walking distance to Oxford circle.

Review of Rathbone Hotel London

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Joei
San Diego, CA, USA
Sep 5, 2011

London yearly vacation

I had my Do not disturb sign posted n they just walked in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walking distance to Oxford circle.

Review of Rathbone Hotel London

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
comfort?
Kailua, HI
Jun 28, 2010

Rathbone

Excellent location to SOHO. Nice staff. Central air wasn't working very hot in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Two short blocks to the heart of the SOHO scene.

Review of Rathbone Hotel London

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
comfort?
Kailua, HI
Jun 28, 2010

Rathbone

Excellent location to SOHO. Nice staff. Central air wasn't working very hot in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Two short blocks to the heart of the SOHO scene.

Review of Rathbone Hotel London

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington, DC
Aug 25, 2010

Fine location - poor service

It's close to the tube but that's about it's only selling point. Staff was unhelpful and the room was uncomfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Rathbone Hotel London

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Feb 1, 2010

Not the boutique experience I hoed for

I was blown away by the small size of the room and the price for that small room. I'm a New Yorker--I live in small spaces. When a hotel room in smaller than a Manhattan studio, it's too small. When I put my (small) suitcase down in the room there wasn't any other space. They had to put my room service tray on the bed. The internet was overpriced and not included. Breakfast was not included. The food was very good as was the location. It's kept up well. I found myself wishing for that other hotel that I almost booked. Especially when the desk staff was mumbling and then snotty about it at check out. I wouldn't recommend it but it was fine. What you'll be paying for is location and cleanliness.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Rathbone Hotel London

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
London Visitor
Toronto, ON, Canada
Feb 19, 2012

good price for london, not a bad location, clean room

For a downtown London hotel the price is reasonable. The rooms are old, beds could use an upgrade. Overall not a bad spot for the cost and worked just fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If your staying here there is a Japanese restaurant across the street which was quite good.

Back to menu Return to top