$136 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 5, 2015

Rathbone Hotel London

4 stars
30 Rathbone Street, London, W1T 1LB
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
35 reviews
Great Experience

Really enjoyed my stay. A great hotel situated in what has to be the heart of London. I was able to... See full review

  • aebcurator
  • Jun 4, 2014
Rathbone Review

I had a great experience at the Rathbone. I do not have any complaints. See full review

  • Seph Zdarko
  • Nov 9, 2013
Intimate boutique-style hotel in London’s West End

The Rathbone Hotel London is an intimate, boutique-style hotel located in the heart of London's West End, the perfect location for discovering some of London's finest restaurants, shops and nightlife. Comprehensive concierge services are available, where a professional staff will assist with all of one's London sightseeing and travel arrangements. The Rathbone offers an on-site meeting facility that accommodates up to 12 people, and an adjacent office building suite is available for half- or full-day rental. 

Highlights
  • Located in the heart of London's West End
  • Intimate, boutique-style hotel
  • Full concierge services
Rooms

All rooms are traditionally furnished and feature satellite television, Internet access, coffee and tea making facilities, complimentary bottled water and free newspaper. Additionally, Executive rooms, suites and Club rooms provide luxury bathrobes and slippers.

Features

The Rathbone Hotel London is a boutique-style hotel located in the heart of London's West End and is the ideal base for discovering all of London's finest restaurants, shops and nightlife. The Rathbone features comprehensive concierge services that include assistance with theater and restaurant reservations, travel arrangements, car rental and sightseeing tour bookings. The hotel offers an on-site meeting facility that accommodates up to 12 people, and an adjacent office building suite is available for half- or full-day rental. Coffee, a light lunch, and afternoon tea is available and included as part of a delegate rate. While the Rathbone does not operate its own restaurant, it offers guests a unique dining opportunity with the Rathbone Restaurant Club, where a discount is offered on meals purchased from participating nearby restaurants. Full details are available upon hotel check-in.

Transportation
  • Goodge Street tube station (3 minutes walking)
  • Tottenham Court Road tube station (6 minutes)
  • Heathrow Airport (14.1 mi/22.7 km)
  • Gatwick Airport  (25.1 mi/43.7 km)
Attractions
  • The British Museum (0.38 mi./0.61 km)
  • Soho (0.46 mi./0.74 km)
  • Oxford Street  (0.47 mi./0.75 km)
  • Regent Street (0.49 mi./0.78 km)
  • Piccadilly Circus (0.65 mi./1.04 km)
  • Covent Garden (0.68 mi./1.09 km)
  • Theatre District (0.84 mi./ 1.35 km)
  • Bond Street (1.04 mi./1.67 km)
Business
  • Meeting facility for up to 12 people
  • Photocopying and fax facilities
  • High-speed Internet
  • Concierge services

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Rathbone Hotel London also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Rathbone Hotel London Rooms

STANDARD - ROOM
Ideal for one person with the shorter stay in mind. These rooms have or a walk in shower cubicle. Minimum room size 7 sq.m.
DELUXE - ROOM
Guests requiring that bit more space than that provided in a Standard Room will find these rooms comfortable and ideal for the longer visit. Minimum room size 10 sq.m.
EXECUTIVE - ROOM
These are spacious rooms which can be configured as either double or twin bedded rooms. All Executive Rooms are provided with luxury bath robes and slippers and are especially popular with guests who are visiting the hotel for a celebration such as a birthday or anniversary. Minimum room size 14.5 (15) sq.m.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Dining
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine: 0.2 mi
  • Fitzrovia: 0.3 mi
  • Dominion Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Soho: 0.3 mi
  • University of London: 0.3 mi
  • Birkbeck: 0.3 mi
  • Photographers Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • University of Westminster: 0.3 mi
  • Petrie Museum of Egyptian Archaeology: 0.3 mi
  • Grant Museum of Zoology: 0.3 mi
  • School of Oriental and African Studies: 0.4 mi
  • Oxford Circus: 0.4 mi
  • London Palladium: 0.4 mi
  • University College London: 0.4 mi
  • British Museum: 0.4 mi
  • London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine: 0.2 mi
  • Fitzrovia: 0.3 mi
  • Dominion Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Soho: 0.3 mi
  • University of London: 0.3 mi
  • Birkbeck: 0.3 mi
  • Photographers Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • University of Westminster: 0.3 mi
  • Petrie Museum of Egyptian Archaeology: 0.3 mi
  • Grant Museum of Zoology: 0.3 mi
  • School of Oriental and African Studies: 0.4 mi
  • Oxford Circus: 0.4 mi
  • London Palladium: 0.4 mi
  • University College London: 0.4 mi
  • British Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Carnaby Street: 0.4 mi
  • Red Mansion Foundation: 0.4 mi
  • Institute of Education: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Opera House: 0.5 mi
  • Institute of Archaeology Collections: 0.5 mi
  • Oxford Street: 0.5 mi
  • Kingly Court : 0.5 mi
  • West End: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Shaftesbury Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Russell Square: 0.5 mi
  • Thomas Neal Centre : 0.5 mi
  • London Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • Piccadilly Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Regent Street: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • London Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Handel House Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Leicester Square: 0.6 mi
  • Royal College of Physicians Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Euston: 0.7 mi
  • Bond Street London: 0.7 mi
  • Wallace Collection: 0.7 mi
  • Royal Arcade : 0.7 mi
  • Royal Academy of Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Royal Academy of Music: 0.7 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • London Transport Museum: 0.8 mi
  • The Brunswick : 0.8 mi
  • National Gallery: 0.8 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Fitzroy Suite: Is ideal for Board meetings and can accommodate up to 12 delegates. The room has natural Daylight, Fully Air-conditioned with a direct telephone line. Complimentary mineral water is provided and Audio Visual Equipment is on request. There is always a dedicated team to assist you at all times.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (35)

Ratings and reviews for Rathbone Hotel London

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
35 out of 35
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.7

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Rathbone Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
2Proud parents
Business
CT
Dec 19, 2012

Small room but great location and staff

I traveled alone and stayed one night in December. The room was typical for this type of hotel in London (or NYC) - the bed takes up most of the room and the bathroom is no bigger than a closet, the shower is the size of a coffin . But, hey, it's clean and warm and I only needed to sleep. The location is perfect for shopping, restaurants, public transport etc. The staff are really good - friendly and efficient. No free wi-fi. You do hear street noise (garbage collection etc) but nothing too bad - what you expect in a city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rathbone Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stephen Likes WC2
Business
Atlanta, Georgia
Jan 22, 2013

Wonderful Staff, Great Location!

The staff, including the hotel manager, could not have been more accommodating. All my requests were taken care of and I was completely satisfied. I will definitely stay at the hotel in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Oxford Street shopping is a five minute (or less) walk and there is a TESCO grocery store about two blocks away which was very convenient.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rathbone Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Science Prof
Business
central California
Jun 24, 2013

Great location, decent rooms, small problems

The hotel has a very nice location -- a 10-20 minute walk to theaters, museums, Covent Garden, book stores, shopping, Soho, Chinatown -- and a helpful staff. My single room was small (I'd say standard European), with a shower but no tub, but clean and comfortable, about what I expected for the price I paid. My biggest complaint was noise in the late evening: there are several nearby pubs, and a lot of sound comes in on Friday and Saturday nights, even with the windows closed. The wireless connection was also outrageously expensive, and not very fast. Overall, I might look around for a different hotel my next time in London, but I certainly wouldn't mind coming back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Bonnie Gull Seafood Shack, 21A Foley Street,is not very fancy, but has very good seafood.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rathbone Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DorisMaude
Business
UK
Aug 13, 2013

Great location, great staff.

Great location for theatres, restaurants and British Museum - close to Soho amenities and Tottenham Court Rd tube . Walked to Haymarket in about 15 minutes. Travelling alone so prepared for worst when booking single room at value rate but in fact room was good, and reasonable size for one. Certainly above my previous experiences. Immaculately clean, quiet and bed comfortable.Staff could not have been more helpful. Will definitely book again if good rate available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Easy walk to theatre district and to British Museum

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rathbone Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GDesigner
Business
New Jersey
Sep 2, 2013

Nice getaway

Overall a nice experience. The room was very tiny but I traveled alone wasn't in the room much so not an issue. I book two breakfasts but went to one and was charged for the second for some reason. Not cool. Wifi wasn't free but was expensive, just cut the price in half and add it to the price of the room. I mean McDs and Starbucks has free wifi. Even the airport has a free 45min wifi. The other reviews were actually pretty much all accurate. The staff were all nice and polite like the other reviews say. I went to Burger King today and the staff acted like they didn't want a job so kindness friendliness does matter. Keep it up. The room did seem long in the tooth like another reviewer said but it was clean and comfortable. One thing that bothered me was the space between the door and floor. There was like a gap. I don't know if all the rooms were like that but I didn't like that. At night I mean the hallway lights were pretty bright it looks like some sort of alien movie, lol. Sound travels by air right? Well I can hear people in the hallway from that gap. I'd fix that knock the presentation down a bit. I mean if the gap was completely straight across then I would think "O thats just the way the rooms or doors are". But it curved so looked like something was wrong. Hotel stinking in or something. Again good positive experience with the hotel. I guess I would go back and recommend to others. Perfectly fine place to stay but I could lean toward another hotel if they had free wifi. Thumbs up from me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

First time outside of US and England. Watch out for bacon. I mean I got bacon in the hotel and Heathrow term. 4 and that was not bacon. Again that was not bacon don't even waste your time. I don't think these people know what bacon is. That's ham, lol. I think. Thats like putting a pork chop on a plate and saying "Well its pork so it counts as bacon". lol.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rathbone Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Andy1
Business
Cheshire
May 4, 2014

Enjoyable base for a short break

A well kept hotel with friendly staff. Good location; convienient for tube & Oxford street shops. Also a few good pubs on the same street if you don't want to travelin the evening.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rathbone Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tinu
Business
Zurich, Switzerland
Mar 15, 2010

Great value and great location

This hotel is situated 5 minutes from Tottenham Court Road and 3 minutes from Goodge Street subway stations. There are around 10 restaurants (Italian, Indian, Spanish, French, etc.) and several pubs just around the corner. The rooms have a comfortable size of about 12-14 square meters. The beds are England style, but very comfortable. The room cleaning was impeccable. There is a hotel bar with reasonable pricing. There is the possibility to eat breakfast in the hotel, but we didn't do that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Chinese restaurant Hakkasan on 8 Hanway Place is the best I know. Go for dim sum at lunch time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rathbone Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Honolulu, HI
Mar 29, 2010

hotel

During our stay at the Rathbone Hotel, we enjoyed the friendly service, cleanliness, and location. The location of the hotel was walking distance to the popular actions such as the British Museum and Oxford Street. The price of the hotel was reasonable considering it was a four star hotel. The front desk helped out with directions, tube information, and tour group information.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rathbone Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
North Plainfield, NJ
Oct 5, 2010

nice place

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel rooms were very clean. The breakfast was a little expensive but certainly convenient. The connection to the wifi was not good as you went further up the building. 15 pounds a day seems a lot since many hotels will do free wifi. The side street of the hotel was quite noisy in the mornings as local businesses were setting up or having trash emptied, etc. Definately don't want to open windows if you like it quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Right around the block are a number of restaurants of all types. Lots of choices. You can eat a different type of cuisine every night!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rathbone Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, D.C.
Sep 27, 2010

Eighth London trip in 10 years

Probably the best all around hotel experience in 8 trips to London. Would have liked it a bit warmer in my room, or at least another blanket, and was frequently bothered by sun (yes,believe it or not, it was sunny all week) streaming in through a gap a foot wide and five feet high between draperies that would not close.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Soho and theater district an easy and apparently safe walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top