$185 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 26, 2014

Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London

4 stars
200 Westminster Bridge Road, LONDON SE1 7UT, London, SE1 7UT
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
155 reviews
London 30th Anniversary

Wonderful experience great hotel and location. Clean room, easy to walk to anywhere and Buses... See full review

  • Talon Golden
  • May 18, 2014
Perfect hotel in the central tourist part of London.

Excellent hotel in the central tourist part of London. Super near of all principal attractions and... See full review

  • EfrainAntonio
  • May 12, 2014
Contemporary luxury in London's South Bank, steps to Big Ben

Contemporary luxury meets hip, high-tech in the stylish Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London hotel that's directly opposite Big Ben and Westminster Abbey. Rooms are equipped with every modern convenience and amenity, and a variety of drink and dining options cater to every business and leisure occasion. A full-service spa features a range of treatments, while a fitness center includes weights, cardio stations and a small pool.

Highlights
  • Walking distance to Big Ben and Westminster Abbey
  • 31 meting rooms and an exclusive executive lounge
  • Ichi Sushi & Sashimi Bar awarded five stars by View London
Rooms

Guest rooms of the South Bank Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London hotel are spacious and contemporary with boutique touches that pamper and indulge. Standard features include complimentary Wi-Fi, laptop safe, mini-bar with dual refrigerator, separate shower and bath, and tea and coffee making facilities. A room upgrade allows access to the Executive Lounge, which features complimentary food and drinks.

Features

Standing in sharp contrast to its bustling South Bank location, the Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London hotel is a tranquil urban sanctuary, a welcoming retreat of stylish comfort that embraces both business and leisure travelers. Spacious guestrooms, including 54 suites and penthouses, are ideal for solo travelers, couples and families, and 31 state-of-the-art meeting rooms can accommodate nearly any business conference or event. The Alami Spa and fitness center reinvigorate both body and spirit, and are popular destinations for both hotel guests and locals.

Dining

Brasserie Joel, awarded 9 out of 10 for food and service by The Times, features classic brasserie dishes that delight the plate, while Ichi Sushi & Sashimi Bar was awarded five stars by View London. 1WB Lounge & Patisserie features a tapas menu and afternoon tea, while Espressamente Illy Coffee Bar is an authentic Italian cafe.

Transportation
  • Lambeth North tube station (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Waterloo train station (0.3 mi/0.6 km)
  • Heathrow Airport (17.6 mi/28.4 km)
  • Gatwick Airport (31 mi/49.9 km)
Attractions
  • London Aquarium (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • London Eye (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Big Ben (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Houses of Parliament (0.6 mi/1 km)
Business
  • 31 state-of-the-art meeting rooms
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi
  • 24-hour business center
Policies and fees
The swimming pool will be undergoing essential refurbishment works from early January 2015 and will be closed to guests until the end of February 2015. Mandara Spa and the Fitness Centre will remain open during this period.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

51.5006 -0.1175
Area served
Covent Garden, South Bank Centre, Trafalgar Square
Nearby airports
HEATHROW, (LHR), 28.50, KM, E; LONDON CITY ARPT, (LCY), 14.90, KM, W; GATWICK ARPT, (LGW), 38.10, KM, N; STANSTED, (STN), 45.00, MI, N;
Area description
Downtown, This hotel is located near downtown.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Amenities

  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
FEMA approved
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Multilingual
Shops/Commercial services
Conference facilities
Copy service
Currency exchange
Parking
Valet parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible rooms
Brailled elevators
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Kitchen
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
In room movies
Sofa bed
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Florence Nightingale Museum: 0.1 mi
  • London Aquarium: 0.1 mi
  • South Bank: 0.2 mi
  • London Eye: 0.2 mi
  • Waterloo station: 0.2 mi
  • Big Ben: 0.3 mi
  • River Thames: 0.3 mi
  • Palace of Westminster: 0.3 mi
  • Westminster Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Festival Hall: 0.4 mi
  • National Army Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Jewel Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Hayward Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Pharmaceutical Society Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Westminster Abbey Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Florence Nightingale Museum: 0.1 mi
  • London Aquarium: 0.1 mi
  • South Bank: 0.2 mi
  • London Eye: 0.2 mi
  • Waterloo station: 0.2 mi
  • Big Ben: 0.3 mi
  • River Thames: 0.3 mi
  • Palace of Westminster: 0.3 mi
  • Westminster Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Festival Hall: 0.4 mi
  • National Army Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Jewel Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Hayward Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Pharmaceutical Society Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Westminster Abbey Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Westminster Dragoons Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Houses of Parliament: 0.5 mi
  • Imperial War Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Cabinet War Rooms and Churchill Museum: 0.5 mi
  • London School of Economics: 0.6 mi
  • Port of London: 0.6 mi
  • Benjamin Franklin House: 0.6 mi
  • British Optical Association Museum: 0.6 mi
  • British Music Experience: 0.6 mi
  • St. James's Park: 0.6 mi
  • Charing Cross station: 0.6 mi
  • Admiralty Arch: 0.6 mi
  • London South Bank University: 0.7 mi
  • Nelson's Column: 0.7 mi
  • Canada House Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Crime Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Adelphi Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Cutty Sark: 0.7 mi
  • Trafalgar Square: 0.7 mi
  • Institute of Contemporary Arts: 0.7 mi
  • St James's Park: 0.7 mi
  • Vauxhall: 0.7 mi
  • Somerset House: 0.7 mi
  • National Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Courtauld Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • the Strand: 0.7 mi
  • Transport Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Cinema Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Westminster: 0.8 mi

Dining

Brasserie Joel
Chef Walter Ishizuka is at the helm in the kitchen, three years at Lyon's famous 3 Michelin star restaurant behind him
Atrium Executive Lounge
First Floor overlooking Big Ben and Houses of Paliament. Available only for guests paying an upgrade fee of 39 per room
Ichi Sushi & Sashimi Bar
Freshly made sushi and sashimi using the finest ingredients.
espressamente illy coffee shop
With indoor and outdoor seating, espressamente illy will bring illy0s authentic Italian coffee culture to hotel guests a

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (155)

Ratings and reviews for Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
155 out of 155
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

99% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Swillard
Business
UK
Jan 12, 2013

Modern hotel in great location

I Use for business and this place ticks all the right boxes for space, cleanliness, location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Gaucho's steakhouse, fantastic

Review of Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sleepless in atlantis
miami,fl
Jan 7, 2013

too many kids at spa area

after a long day of sightseeing, the last thing i want is headaches from the "public pool". I should have done more research looking for an adult only hotel. The kids overran the place in the pool and sauna areas. It you are with kids, this is the place, but if you want to relax at the pool and steam area, keep looking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

london pass with travel. it gets you free access to a lot of places as well as traveling the Tube and buses. Or do the Big Bus, hop on and hop off tour buses. Thet will take you to the most attractions and you can walk from there most everywhere. Just keep an eye on the time as they stop running near 8pm.

Review of Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MarkinAustin
Austin, Texas
Jan 7, 2013

Mostly good, some cautions though.

Pros: Overall, the Park Plaza was a good value for its location. It's very centrally located to all of the major tourist attractions. It's reasonably close to two tube stations, Westminster and Waterloo (5 min walk) and it has the BEST views of Westminster bridge and Big Ben. Unfortunately, however, it's popular for those reasons. The day we arrived we were cordially greeted by the doorman who guided us to the reception desk. We were shocked to see an extremely long line for check-in. Not completely unexpected for the holiday season but it was a shocker seeing such a long line. The staff were VERY accommodating however. All desk positions (and there are a lot of them) were open. The staff brought out orange juice and water for people waiting in line to check in. We thought that was a nice touch. It took about 20 minutes to get through the line and we eventually got to our room. The room was great. Very stylish and for Europe very spacious. Something that you would normally pay a premium for. This hotel is also one of few that accommodate two adults and a young teenager. There are very few options for a family of three in Europe without having to bring in a roll away bed or book two rooms. So this was a plus for us. The Bar and restaurants are very nice. Good drinks, good food, friendly and accommodating staff. There is also a great little convenience store just outside the main entrance about a half block up towards Westminster. So you can pick up reasonably priced snacks, beer, wine or whatever you need. There are also several restaurants in the area if you prefer not to pay hotel prices for meals. Again, overall, great value for the money. There were some cons thought. Cons: It was hard not to feel like you were on a disney cruise ship. The hotel is popular for families and because of the location it is VERY popular. The bar/lounge area is bustling and it wasn't easy to find a seat. You probably should also make reservations if you decide to eat in the hotel restaurants. The elevators were no good. We waited for four elevators the first morning before giving up and deciding to find the not so obvious staircase to the lobby. The stairs eventually became our primary way of getting from our room to the lobby. The elevators were just too full. Not sure if this is normally the case, or if it was the fact that we were there over the new year. There are also no real public areas of the hotel to enjoy the view of Big Ben. There is however the executive lounge (huge atrium space) with an INCREDIBLE view of the Parliament building, Big Ben and the bridge. Unfortunately, you have to pay an additional 39 pounds per day to enjoy that space. The plus side, if I heard correctly, this cost includes drinks and maybe breakfast. So, it may be worth it if you plan on spending a considerable amount of time in the hotel, which you are probably not. This hotel is great for first-time visitors to London. For the money and convenience you cant lose. We chose it because it was our teens first time to Europe and we only had three days to get in the attractions. If you want quiet and less crowded, I would not chose this hotel. If you are ok with a few inconveniences then you should definitely consider this hotel. I would easily recommend it to first timers to London and families. My personal preference thought is to stay int he SOHO area. Still crowded and somewhat touristy, but for different reasons. More night life, shopping and dining options.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Convenience store right outside the hotel. Skip the mini bar and stock up there...

Review of Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lynette Y.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Dec 27, 2012

Excellent Stay

The best location! Walking distance to the London Eye, Christmas Market & Parliament. Just exceded my expectations. I will definitely recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DAGMD
Baltimore
Dec 21, 2012

Dark and cold atmosphere otherwise quite good

Very modern. Lighting throughout poor giving the hotel a dark and cold feeling otherwise a good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vitali
Secaucus, NJ
Dec 2, 2012

vacation

perfect location, very clean, modern,super comfortable bed, slept like a baby which was a surprise, bcs normally I never do sleep well in the hotels..will recommend to my friends

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

can go on foot basically anywhere i central London

Review of Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Retired 2012
Cresco,Pennsylvania
Oct 29, 2012

Retirement trip

The hotel is extremely modern, the front desk did an excellent job with registration, The room was clean and functional.We picked your hotel for its location in the city and we were very pleased that we were so close to so many landmarks

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chicago Traveler773
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Oct 26, 2012

Perfect location for tourists!

This hotel is located at the base of the Westminster bridge. Depending on your room, you may have a view of Westminster Abbey and Big Ben. Regardless, the location is great - about a 3 minute walk across the bridge to get to the Westminster Tube station. The room was nice but a bit dark. This was complicated by the fact that I was upgraded to a studio...the weird thing about the studio was that you couldn't have lights on on both sides (it was a large room with the bathroom cutting through the middle of it). So if you wanted to go back and forth, you had to turn the lights on each side each time you passed back and forth. Not as big of a deal as I was traveling solo but would've defeated the purpose of having 2 sections of the room if I'd been traveling with someone else. Biggest complaint is there were no non-hotel restaurants right there - ended up walking towards Westminster or Embankment to find restaurants. Very walkable hotel though - I walked to Piccadilly, Embankment, Buckingham Palace, Covent Garden, Green Park, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

You can go to the 1/2 price ticket booth and get great prices on all the major shows

Review of Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PeterJ313
Perth, Australia
Oct 13, 2012

Great location for starting point to explore London

Started off on the wrong foot as the "superior" room was far from that - inward looking room with very small window with views to an internal atrium- plus bathroom for wheelchair user aka walk in shower. We were able to upgrade to a studio room @£40/night - which negated the 15% discount provided by Rates to Go - but was worth it. External facing room with clear view to Big Ben, a kitchenette - allowing us to bypass hotel services, and a five minute walk to Waterloo Station from where we were easily able to radiate from to visit the many attractions on offer. Having Oyster Cards a must.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

Yes Prime Minister - playing at the Trafalgar Theatre - a most intimate venue - worth attending. Discount tickets were only 6 rows from the stage!

Review of Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SuperShawn
Business
Boston, MA
Sep 24, 2012

It's where I stay in London

I stay at the PPWBL every time I go to London. It's centrally located (5 minute walk to Waterloo or Westminster stations). The fitness centre has a pool, steamroom and sauna (the spa is great, too). Always end with a nightcap at the lounge. All that, and the room rate is almost always lower than other hotels of comparable quality.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The breakfast plan can be a bit pricey. Walk to the Queens Walk (right by the London Eye) Starbucks or another establishment and save about 20 pounds. Or get something premade from the Hotel Cafe to take away.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search