$59 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 28, 2014 Check-out: Dec 29, 2014

Nayland Hotel

4 stars
132-134 Sussex gardens, London, W2 1UB
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
14 reviews
Nice hotel, great location near train station/subway

Nice small hotel near the train station/subway. Room was typical small for this area/price but was... See full review

  • Mistandmountains
  • May 27, 2014
First trip to London

Staff was wonderful. Had an elevator, so easy to get luggage to room. Only real complaint is that... See full review

  • GI heading home
  • Jun 23, 2013
If you are looking for a warm welcome and a wide range facilities and services then look no further, this hotel is just perfect for you. The Nayland Hotel is an early Victorian-style hotel situated in the heart of London town, ideal for the business person or those attracted to the West End. The hotel provides Night Porter, Safety deposit boxes, Room service, Wireless Internet, High-speed Internet - chargeable - 5 GBP per hour or 10 GBP per day.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Nayland Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Nayland Hotel Rooms

Standard Single
The room offers 1 single bed with Private bathroom, Modern access, Telephone, Hairdryer, Safe, Television, Room Service, Cable/Satellite, Complimentary Toiletries.
Standard Double
The room offers 1 double or twin bed with Private bathroom, Modern access, Telephone, Hairdryer, Safe, Television, Room Service, Cable/Satellite, Complimentary Toiletries.
Twin Room
The room offers 1 double bed or twin bed + 1 sgl bed with Private bathroom, Modern access, Telephone, Hairdryer, Safe, Television, Room Service, Cable/Satellite, Complimentary Toiletries.

Amenities

  • WiFi
Dining
Room service
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Paddington Station: 0.3 mi
  • Lancaster Gate: 0.4 mi
  • City of Westminster: 0.5 mi
  • Hyde Park: 0.5 mi
  • Showroom Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Marble Arch: 0.6 mi
  • Kensington Gardens: 0.7 mi
  • Queensway: 0.7 mi
  • Whiteleys Shopping Centre : 0.7 mi
  • Baker Street: 0.8 mi
  • Sherlock Holmes Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Selfridges: 0.9 mi
  • London Business School: 0.9 mi
  • Wallace Collection: 0.9 mi
  • Park Lane: 0.9 mi
  • Paddington Station: 0.3 mi
  • Lancaster Gate: 0.4 mi
  • City of Westminster: 0.5 mi
  • Hyde Park: 0.5 mi
  • Showroom Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Marble Arch: 0.6 mi
  • Kensington Gardens: 0.7 mi
  • Queensway: 0.7 mi
  • Whiteleys Shopping Centre : 0.7 mi
  • Baker Street: 0.8 mi
  • Sherlock Holmes Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Selfridges: 0.9 mi
  • London Business School: 0.9 mi
  • Wallace Collection: 0.9 mi
  • Park Lane: 0.9 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.9 mi
  • Lords Cricket Ground: 0.9 mi
  • Albert Memorial : 0.9 mi
  • Polish Institute and Sikorski Museum: 1 mi
  • Kensington Palace: 1 mi
  • Bond Street London: 1 mi
  • Royal Albert Hall: 1 mi
  • Royal Academy of Music: 1.1 mi
  • Royal College of Music Archives and Museum of Instruments: 1.1 mi
  • Handel House Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Harrods: 1.2 mi
  • Knightsbridge: 1.2 mi
  • Oxford Street: 1.2 mi
  • Imperial College London: 1.2 mi
  • Red Mansion Foundation: 1.2 mi
  • Hyde Park Corner: 1.2 mi
  • Maida Vale: 1.2 mi
  • Notting Hill: 1.3 mi
  • High Street Kensington: 1.3 mi
  • Science Museum London: 1.3 mi
  • University of Westminster: 1.3 mi
  • Wellington Arch: 1.3 mi
  • Victoria and Albert Museum: 1.3 mi
  • National Art Library: 1.3 mi
  • Oxford Circus: 1.3 mi
  • Regent's College: 1.3 mi
  • Photographers Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Royal College of Physicians Museum: 1.4 mi
  • London Palladium: 1.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (14)

Ratings and reviews for Nayland Hotel

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
14 out of 14
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.2
Room comfort:
2.4
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.1

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Nayland Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Supersonicfast
Business
Boston, MA
Aug 25, 2014

Three Days in London

Spent three days in a small room on the 4th floor. I would only stay here to put my head down for the night then keep it moving.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Nayland Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cortneys
Business
Germany
Aug 16, 2014

Family vacation

The hotel was in a great location not too far from the tube station. I was very disappointed with how small the room was. I know real estate is limited but it was the size of a closet! Bathroom was so small you could barely run around. Breakfast was very simple and included in the price. Cannot really complain because it got the job done.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Nayland Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mistandmountains
Business
SC
May 27, 2014

Nice hotel, great location near train station/subway

Nice small hotel near the train station/subway. Room was typical small for this area/price but was good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Direct high speed train from Heathrow but not if you take the subway

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Nayland Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pabloncho33
Business
Montevideo, Uruguay
Apr 30, 2014

good hotel, good location

It's a good hotel. I think that the bedroom is small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Nayland Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hights
Business
Trinidad
Mar 25, 2014

Fair for short stay on business

It was a fair experience,the room was too small.not much to write about,it met my need

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get bigger rooms

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Nayland Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tile00
Business
los angeles, ca
Mar 1, 2014

Good Value

This hotel is nothing extraordinary and if you booked a great rate then it is more than worth considering. It's location is its best feature...central and within walking distance of Paddington as well as other retail and restaurants and the subway. I walked to Oxford Circus in less than 10 minutes for example. The hotel has no real amenities but the room was clean and reasonable for the price I paid but small. Small is not bad for me but if you are looking for a "standard" sized room common in the US, you will be disappointed. The for-a-fee wifi was poor though. I had to ask for a refund on one of my two days there. Easy to walk to McDonalds a couple blocks away to use their free wifi if you don't need a constant connection or need to work. With that said, I wouldn't stay here if I was on business. Desk in my room was very small and it doubled as the TV stand. The staff was very nice. Overall the experience was fine and worth my rate booked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Save yourself 10 pounds a day in wifi fees and walk to McDonalds 2 blocks away and use their free wifi

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Nayland Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Eizik
Business
New York
Jan 20, 2014

Big mistake

First I'll write what was, then my experience. Room was small as expected in London. No counter/dresser space at all to put things down or do anything. One chair in the room. (We got a 3 person room.) Beds were okay. Room was cold as heat was on only a few hours in the morning and evening. Bathroom was even colder as the window wouldn't close fully (besides being hard to handle). Shower was okay though no consistent temperature. No tissues, alarm clock - actually no clock at all in the room. And when I mentioned that to the desk I was told "this is not a five star hotel. It's a THREE STAR hotel." Location was an eight minute walk to the closest tube/subway station. The person at the desk didn't know anything he was asked. It was not as posted on the site. I think all of the above is not worth 100 pounds/$165 a night. Terrible experience with the hotel, but it didn't do much to us as we were hardly there. We were out touring almost the whole day. So we didn't let that get us down and we fell asleep so fast since we were so tired after a long day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Nayland Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Traveling Chicago Man
Business
Chicago
Aug 29, 2013

Race way... too much noise

If you enjoy sleeping next to a race track with cars, police and trucks running past your single pain window you will love this hotel. They will keep you up well into the night with horns, engines and sirens. I should have selected a different location on a quite street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Near the train

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Nayland Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GI heading home
Business
Great Falls, Mt
Jun 23, 2013

First trip to London

Staff was wonderful. Had an elevator, so easy to get luggage to room. Only real complaint is that the information printed in the information book was generic to several hotels, so it was not accurate. For instance, I didn't really mind that I had to purchase my own adaptor so I could plug in my computer, but the book of information stated I could borrow one from the front desk. Should mark that out. Also, I did not bother with WiFi, so not sure if it was free or not. I tried to log in, and discovered I required a password, and the info book stated I needed to purchase a voucher at the front desk. Again, not sure if that was accurate. But clean, comfortable, right next to Paddington station--perfect for my needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Nayland Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mum and son on a weekend
Business
Luxembourg
Apr 9, 2013

a weekend in London

we had a clear room. the room was very hot, the pillows and bed not of best quality. but as it was only for two nights it was acceptable. i could not stay there for any longer period.... oh ye, the breakfast was very basic (could not offer hot chocolate for my kid)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top