$123 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 20, 2015 Check-out: Sep 21, 2015

Millennium Gloucester Hotel London Kensington

4 stars
View map of 4-18 Harrington Gardens, London, SW7 4LH

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Millennium Gloucester Hotel London Kensington

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
85 out of 85
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Millennium Gloucester Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
I love cities
Friends
Dallas, Texas
May 22, 2012

Perfect hotel to experience all of London

In the heart of London's exclusive residential districts, this friendly neighborhood location is right by a Tube stop with three main lines (Circle, District and Piccadilly) and only a few stops from most of London's main sights. A cute corner grocery store, numerous local restaurants and neighborhood shops are just half a block from the hotel and provide handy, delicious and very inexpensive meals. Handsome homes are in every other direction. It was easy access to the best of London. The hotel staff and concierge were friendly and very helpful. The room was very comfortable. I can hardly wait to stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get a 7-day unlimited use Travelcard/Oyster Card for zones 1 and 2, AND both a Tube map and a London bus map. The tube is fast, but the bus is great because you can sit on top and see tons of London. Being able to jump on and off both all day at will lets you cover huge amounts of ground at very low cost. NOTE: if you are there fewer than 4 days, get a shorter term card.

Review of Millennium Gloucester Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Calabasas Hills, CA
Sep 7, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

Overall our experience was very good. The hotel's proximity to a tuibe station helped us do our shopping in London with the tube as a main transport medium.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Waitrose supermarket is very close near the Gloucester Road tube station.

Review of Millennium Gloucester Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bronxville
Couples
California
Aug 23, 2010

Won't be returning

First, the hotel is located near the Gloucester Rd tube station and if you are arriving from Heathrow, it is conveniently located on the Picadilly line. Also, a short walk from Harrods, the V&A, and much more. On arrival, I was told that I had a room with two twin beds although I had reserved a king bed for my wife and myself. When I pointed that out to the reservation clerk, I was told that if I returned in two hours, they would put me in the right room. After lunch and a pint, I returned and went up to my new room. Surprise! It was a twin. Down to the reception desk again, and the supercilious desk clerk informs me that it will be £30 extra a night, even though I'd paid for a king. I then ask to speak to her manager. She scowled, walked away, returned and asked me to sit down and wait (even though I knew the manager was right around the corner). I told her I would wait -- right at the desk, upon which she went away and the manager suddenly reappeared. Bravo. I got the room that I paid for. Aside from that, across the street, around 7 or 8 am every morning, a large truck picked up the rubbish and raised such a racket that it was impossible to sleep through. One lamp had a burnt out bulb, and the television, which had a keyboard for internet access was missing the batteries. I asked the concierge if he would put in batteries, and he promised me he would. Of course, he did not. Mind you, the internet access was not free anyways, and do not expect WiFi of any kind as it is not available (except in the business center, which charges £8 per four hours). Other details: the bed sagged at the middle, and martinis ordered at the bar were very conspicuously watered down (my wife, who tasted it and was not prompted to my suspicions confirmed my belief). Conclusion: I would pay more to stay somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Some above average curry can be found nearby

Review of Millennium Gloucester Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Peedah
Single
Houston TX
Aug 10, 2010

Good Hotel in great location

Hotel is located literally across the street from Gloucester Road tube station, which, being on the Piccadilly line is handy when travelling to/from Heathrow. Room was nice but was in need of updating -e.g desk chair had rips, some stains on carpet. Staff were friendly and accomodating. Still, very reasonable and a good size for London

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are going to be in London for a few days consider an Oyster card which allows travel on the tube, buses and some trains. It is rechargeable and it works out the best deal for you based on the number of trips (e.g. a single station to station fare versus a day travelcard). You can get them at the tube stations and other locations

Review of Millennium Gloucester Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Jersey Shore
Jun 29, 2010

Get a Club room

Great location accross the street from Tesco mini-mart, restaurants, & the Underground. Stay in a Club room, it's far better than the regular rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Millennium Gloucester Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Jun 7, 2010

Great hotel

I spent one night here before heading back home. Location is central, on the Tube lines to St Pancras (international train terminal), Paddington, and Heathrow so transport to train stations or airports is cheap and easy. Though not directly near to central sights, it is walking distance to the Natural History and Victoria and Albert Museums and a short Tube ride to everywhere else. The nearest Tube is less than a 5-minute walk. There are quite a few restaurants and cafes in the area, as well as two grocery stores (and a fridge in the room to keep water and snacks). The room was spacious, bed was comfortable, amenities more than sufficient. The furniture was a bit worn, but that didn't outweigh the convenience and comfort or detract from the overall niceness of the room and hotel. Staff were friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the Tube to the airpot - took only 40 minutes; it's a straight shot and cheaper than any other mode of transport.

Review of Millennium Gloucester Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The London traveler.
Friends
St. Paul, MN
Jun 1, 2010

Very nice hotel and very convenient!!

Very friendly and helpful staff. Rooms were very clean and quiet. Our friends had a room near the courtyard which was noisy in the evenings due to wedding receptions. Location was very convenient to the tube stop. Location was in walking distance to many good restaurants. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The tube stop was literally across the street. This saved us a lot of time.

Review of Millennium Gloucester Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kalispera
Couples
Farmington, CT
May 17, 2010

Centrally Located, Comfortable Hotel

Hotel is located a 3 minute walk away from the Gloucester Road tube stop (next to the Bailey's Hotel -- The Bailey's sits on the square just outside the tube station - you can't miss it). Takes about 40 minutes to get to Gloucester Road from Heathrow airport on the tube (Piccadilly Line)and costs about eight pounds for the trip plus 1 day travel pass. The hotel lobby is updated with friendly, helpful staff. Definitely has the feel of a business hotel. We arrived 4 hours before check-in and our room was ready. Room is quite large by European standards, very quiet, on the fourth floor facing a residential garden. Despite the hotels, neighborhood is quiet and residential, with local pub on the corner, a 24 hour mini mart and a full service Waitrose supermarket next to the tube station. Plenty of local restaurants, also Burger King and Starbucks nearby. In front of the tube station there is also a bus stop for Sightseeing Tour Bus (definitely worth it if this is your first trip to London. Would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Millennium Gloucester Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Dayton, Ohio
Apr 28, 2010

Nice Large Rooms for London

For the price, this is the best 4 star hotel in the Gloucester Road area. We first booked the Holiday Inn and it was terrible in comparison. The rooms were small and the beds incredibly hard! We left and looked at 5 other hotels in the area, this one was by far the best for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Millennium Gloucester Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Virginia
Apr 10, 2010

Wonderful location

We enjoyed the services of the Millenium Club and ate breakfast and evening snack sandwiches there. Excellent service by Waiter-host, Rapin. It was also nice to talk to other travelers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Excellent neighborhood restaurants and grocery store.

Review of Millennium Gloucester Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Connie, the traveller
Couples
South Windsor, CT
Mar 26, 2010

London Getaway

The hotel was at a great location, just around the corner from one of the subway station. The room is not as small as I expected. It was decent size for just two people and very comfortable. The room is a bit out-dated in appearance, but nevertheless comfy and clean. The service is excellent. A doorman opening the door for you every time you leave and enter the hotel. The only bad thing I would say our room is very close to the elevator on the second floor, so needless to say it can be quite noisy at times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top