$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Millennium Gloucester Hotel London Kensington

4 stars
View map of 4-18 Harrington Gardens, London, SW7 4LH

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Millennium Gloucester Hotel London Kensington

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
87 out of 87
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Millennium Gloucester Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Love retirement
Toronto, Canada
Nov 21, 2012

Fall getaway

Great staff. Very friendly and helpful. Room clean but starting to look a little worn. Nice and quiet facing main floor roof if you don't mind not having a view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Singaporean/Chinese food restaurant with good food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Millennium Gloucester Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
apwhite
Business
Virginia
Mar 15, 2010

Great place to stay

Millennium Gloucester Hotel London Kensington is a great place to stay. Located in a beautiful section of London and right next to the Gloucester tube station which made getting around the city very convenient. The staff were very friendly and helpful, especially the concierge, [...]. I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Excellent dining choices in the hotel and within a very short walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Millennium Gloucester Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mahwah, NJ
Nov 25, 2010

Very convenient & surprisingly quiet

We arrived in London around 9:30pm. After renting a car with a GPS we easily arrived at the Holiday Inn - Heathrow. We had no trouble checking in. We were greeted with a smile and everyone was very professional. The room was small, but clean. Beds were comfortable. Nice shower with shampoo & shower gel provided in the shower. We were a little concerned about noise because the hotel was right off the motorway. Noise was not an issue. The windows have double-paned glass which blocked the noise sufficiently.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Millennium Gloucester Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Feb 22, 2010

Convenient, clean and pleasant

Stay at this hotel and take the tube from the Gloucester Road Station (Piccadily Line, District Line, Circle Line) everywhere. We even took the Piccadily Line from Heathrow right to Gloucester Road. Imagine how pleased we were to find the hotel right around the corner from the station. While it is not the most appealing hotel from the outside, the inside (including the guest rooms) is lovely. The neighborhood is safe and there is a 24 hour Tesco (convenience/small grocery store) opposite the train station. There are also a number of restaurants nearby that are open late. Great if you are hungry after a long day of sightseeing, TIP: Internet fee of 10 - 20 pounds per day is expensive. Get a package that includes wifi if you can.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Great place for breakfast right across the street, next to the Gloucester Road tube station. Much less expensive than eating in the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Millennium Gloucester Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Momma Max
Business
Northern California
Nov 9, 2010

A great base for site seeing

This was our first trip to London and we were very happy with the hotel's location and service from the concierge, the reception desk, and the bell desk. Everyone was very, very friendly. We arrived prior to check in but our room, twin beds for my daughter and myself as requested, was ready and we were able to quickly check-in, drop our luggage and head out to see the sites. The room was larger than anticipated from seeing photos of other London hotels and very quiet. We did not spend very much time in the room, but it did suffer from lack of lighting: the two lamps provided were insufficient for much beyond reading in bed and working with a dim light on the desk. The beds, however, were comfortable and the room was clean and kept clean by the staff. The bathroom was large, had lots of hot water, and it was, unlike the room, very well lit. We had the hotel breakfast-discounted if you buy vouchers from the desk-the first morning and it was convenient but expensive and pretty terrible. There are better spots in the neighborhood, just make sure you don't miss the posted hours; everyone seems to start cleaning up early. We met family at the pleasant hotel bar which was spacious with lots of comfortable seating. The Best is the Location! Just minutes from the Gloucester Station for the tube and a short walk to Gloucester Road for a number of good restaurants. We did a lot of walking at night and, as two women, felt very safe. You can choose to struggle with luggage onto and off the tube, but we decided to take the Heathrow Express right from the airport to Paddington Station and then a short 5 pound taxi ride to the hotel. It was well worth the money! All in all, if you are coming to London to see the sites, this is a great place to stay. It was more than I wanted to pay, but I am glad I did: it was well worth the extra money to have extra time for site-seeing rather than spending precious time on the train or the tube .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

WIFI is not free and very expensive. However, if you have or buy a Starbuck's card and register it, you can use WIFI free at the Starbuck's just down the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Millennium Gloucester Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arizona
Nov 1, 2010

Great Rates and Location--a few quirks

This hotel is a great value four-star hotel. It is literally across the street from the Gloucester Road exit on the subway (Piccadilly tube line) and is also across the street from two grocery stores that you can use for inexpensive breakfast, lunch or snacks (use Waitrose over Tesco because of the variety). Here are the plusses: 1. great price 2. location (couple of blocks from Science and Nat. Hist. museums, one mile from heart of London). 3. great sized room compared to others 4. nearby restaurants 5. ease of getting around via Tube Here are the negatives or quirks: 1. I was charged ($3.75) for making three, ten-second calls to an 800 number in the UK. I only got a recorded message saying the line was busy, but had to pay for the calls anyhow. 2. Fortunately, I had wireless 3G with me and did not have to pay $15 a day for Internet usage in my room or $12 per day for WIFI use in the lobby. This hotel is trying to make up for its discounts by charging you for Internet, phone and food at high rates like a lot of other hotels--discounters or not. 3. On the quirky side, my bed only had a bottom sheet, no top sheet or blanket. On top of the bottom sheet was a lightweight comforter. That was it. In most U.S. hotels, you would have a top sheet separating your body from the comforter, but not here. Because this comforter was lightweight, it could be washed easily (I hope) with the inner lining removed. 4. I had difficulty understanding one of the desk clerks where English is a second language. This occurred in other places as well. Despite the mixed feelings, I would definitely stay here again, to save the money if nothing else. I just wouldn't use the phone or Internet and get my food elsewhere. The hotel is clean and has a nice array of amenities as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The three must-see experiences for London are: (1) Windsor Castle in the town of Windsor. It is easily reached by taking the tube to the Paddington train station, then taking a quick commuter train the rest of the way. The State Apartments are mouth dropping! (2) The British Museum with spectacular, large collections of Egyptian, ancient Greek and ancient Roman artifacts. (3) The Tower of London for its history, crown jewels, suits of armor, famous prisoners, and grounds. There are many other great attractions but these you cannot miss!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Millennium Gloucester Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kalispera
Business
Farmington, CT
May 17, 2010

Centrally Located, Comfortable Hotel

Hotel is located a 3 minute walk away from the Gloucester Road tube stop (next to the Bailey's Hotel -- The Bailey's sits on the square just outside the tube station - you can't miss it). Takes about 40 minutes to get to Gloucester Road from Heathrow airport on the tube (Piccadilly Line)and costs about eight pounds for the trip plus 1 day travel pass. The hotel lobby is updated with friendly, helpful staff. Definitely has the feel of a business hotel. We arrived 4 hours before check-in and our room was ready. Room is quite large by European standards, very quiet, on the fourth floor facing a residential garden. Despite the hotels, neighborhood is quiet and residential, with local pub on the corner, a 24 hour mini mart and a full service Waitrose supermarket next to the tube station. Plenty of local restaurants, also Burger King and Starbucks nearby. In front of the tube station there is also a bus stop for Sightseeing Tour Bus (definitely worth it if this is your first trip to London. Would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Millennium Gloucester Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
CA
Oct 12, 2009

excellent lovation

Good helpful staff. Bathroom essentials missing. Had to call house keeping to supply.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Millennium Gloucester Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Peedah
Business
Houston TX
Aug 10, 2010

Good Hotel in great location

Hotel is located literally across the street from Gloucester Road tube station, which, being on the Piccadilly line is handy when travelling to/from Heathrow. Room was nice but was in need of updating -e.g desk chair had rips, some stains on carpet. Staff were friendly and accomodating. Still, very reasonable and a good size for London

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are going to be in London for a few days consider an Oyster card which allows travel on the tube, buses and some trains. It is rechargeable and it works out the best deal for you based on the number of trips (e.g. a single station to station fare versus a day travelcard). You can get them at the tube stations and other locations

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Millennium Gloucester Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tourist Kate
Business
Lynchburg, VA
Dec 24, 2010

What a nice spot and what a GREAT price!

WE were stuck in London during the December snows, and our original hotel wanted to double our room rates. We found the Millenium at 80 pounds with breakfast, and what a delight! Lovely period reception, nice beds adn rooms, a good bar - the only down side was a RIDICULOUS 20 pound charge for wireless! Otherwise the location in South Kensington is good, a bit out of the way, but near enough to great shopping and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bibendums is close by - great lunch menu!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Millennium Gloucester Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
London Visit
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 12, 2014

Decent hotel

Flush for the toilet was not working sometimes due to the age of the hotel. We had to keep trying for the flush to work. Shower head was not adjustable and very low. Could not shower well. Room provided towel, shampoo, and soap for min usage. Would be nice if they were little more generous. Other than it is ok hotel. Hotel is what you get for a hotel in the US at half price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top