Millennium Gloucester Hotel London Kensington

4 stars
View map of 4-18 Harrington Gardens, London, SW7 4LH

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
85 reviews
Great location for London visit.

Thoroughly pleased with this hotel. Great location with easy access to underground. Well worth... See full review

  • Breda H.
  • May 29, 2015
Very Nice

We were treated like royals. Very close to Underground train station See full review

  • jose r.
  • May 1, 2015
  • Natural History Museum (0.4 mi./0.64 km)
  • Science Museum (0.6 mi./0.96 km)
  • Victoria & Albert Museums (0.6 mi./0.96 km)
  • Harrods (0.72 mi./1.16 km)
  • Kensington Palace & Gardens (0.85 mi./1.37 km)
General

The Millennium Gloucester Hotel London is a 4-star business hotel, complete with a state-of-the-art conference center and comprehensive business services. The hotel also is within quick reach to some of London's top sites and attractions. Rooms are elegant and feature every modern amenity and convenience including Wi-Fi (fees apply), satellite television and mini-bar. All guests have full access to an on-site fitness room, which features treadmills, exercise bikes, step machines, rowing machines and a multi-gym. Relax with a refreshing cocktail at Humphrey's Bar at the end of a long day of power shopping or taxing business meetings. Humphrey's serves tasty drinks and light snacks into the late evening.

Location

The Millennium Gloucester Hotel London is a 4-star business hotel, complete with a state-of-the-art conference center and comprehensive business services. Rooms are elegant and well appointed and include all modern amenities, including satellite television, pay-per-view movies, Wi-Fi (fees apply) and mini-bar. Guests can enjoy the complimentary on-site fitness center and Humphrey's Bar is the perfect place to unwind at the end of a day, where refreshing drinks and light meals are served well into the evening.

Dining
  • Gloucester Road tube station (2 minutes walking)
  • Heathrow Airport (23 minutes)
Rooms

Standard rooms, club rooms and suites are elegant, well-appointed rooms that project a relaxed, comfortable environment. The rooms are perfectly suited for the business traveler yet equally pleasing for those whose focus is leisure. In room amenities include satellite television with pay-per-view movies, direct dial telephone, broadband Internet (fees apply), tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryer, mini-bar and use of the fitness and business centers. Club room guests gain exclusive Club Lounge access (fees apply) and are treated to a complimentary breakfast and newspaper.

Property features

The Millennium Gloucester Hotel London is a 4-star business hotel, complete with a state-of-the-art conference center and comprehensive business services. The hotel also is within quick reach to some of London's top sites and attractions. Rooms are elegant and feature every modern amenity and convenience including Wi-Fi (fees apply), satellite television and mini-bar. All guests have full access to an on-site fitness room, which features treadmills, exercise bikes, step machines, rowing machines and a multi-gym. Relax with a refreshing cocktail at Humphrey's Bar at the end of a long day of power shopping or taxing business meetings. Humphrey's serves tasty drinks and light snacks into the late evening.

Highlights
  • State-of-the-art business center
  • On-site underground parking (fees apply)
  • Short walk to three tube stations
Nearby attractions
  • State-of-the-art business center
  • On-site underground parking (fees apply)
  • Short walk to three tube stations
Business
  • Business Center
  • Wi-Fi in business center and public areas (fees apply)
  • Secretarial services
  • Conference and meeting rooms
  • 24-hour room service
Transportation

Full-service business hotel and conference center in Kensington

Millennium Gloucester Hotel London Kensington Rooms

Standard Room
Room with 2 twin (single) beds or 1 double bed, include a 26" LCD TV with comprehensive TV Channels. Smoking and non-smoking rooms available. In room Safe deposit box, iron & board, high speed internet access, tea & coffee facilities, air conditioning, IDD telephone, minibar, writing desk, 24 hour Room Service, 24 hour housekeeping
Superior Room
Room with one double or two twin beds decorated in a contemporary style with an Eastern flavour ensuring relaxed and welcome feel. Include a 32" LCD TV with compreehensive channels. Smoking and non-smoking rooms available, high speed internet access, IDD Telephone, in-room safe, minibar, pay per view movies, iron & board, air conditioning, 24 hour room service, 24 hour housekeeping
Deluxe Room
Room with one double or two twin beds decorated in light airy colours with spacious working desk. Includes complimentary 24 hour broadband access and complimentary minibar. 32" LCD TV with comprehensive channles, air conditioning, IDD Telephone, voicemail, wake-up service, pay per view movies, iron & board, tea & coffee facilities, in-room safe.
Club Room
Room with one double bed. Room comes with Club benefits which include exclusive access to the Club lounge, complimentary Wi-Fi and continental breakfast,selection of upgraded toiletries

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Hotel Map

51.4934 -0.1833
Area served
Gloucester Road, Kensington, London.
Nearby airports
London Heathrow International Airport.
Area description
1 minute walk from Gloucester Road tube station with District, Circle and Piccadilly lines. 40 minutes from London Heathrow.

Nearby points of interest

  • Gloucester Road: 0.1 mi
  • Baden-Powell House Exhibition: 0.2 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Imperial College London: 0.5 mi
  • Science Museum London: 0.5 mi
  • Royal College of Music Archives and Museum of Instruments: 0.5 mi
  • National Art Library: 0.5 mi
  • Victoria and Albert Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Earls Court Exhibition Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Royal Albert Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Memorial : 0.7 mi
  • High Street Kensington: 0.7 mi
  • Polish Institute and Sikorski Museum: 0.7 mi
  • King's Road: 0.7 mi
  • Royal Institute of British Architects Collections: 0.8 mi
  • Gloucester Road: 0.1 mi
  • Baden-Powell House Exhibition: 0.2 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Imperial College London: 0.5 mi
  • Science Museum London: 0.5 mi
  • Royal College of Music Archives and Museum of Instruments: 0.5 mi
  • National Art Library: 0.5 mi
  • Victoria and Albert Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Earls Court Exhibition Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Royal Albert Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Memorial : 0.7 mi
  • High Street Kensington: 0.7 mi
  • Polish Institute and Sikorski Museum: 0.7 mi
  • King's Road: 0.7 mi
  • Royal Institute of British Architects Collections: 0.8 mi
  • Kensington Palace: 0.8 mi
  • Stamford Bridge: 0.9 mi
  • Harrods: 0.9 mi
  • Knightsbridge: 1 mi
  • Kensington Gardens: 1 mi
  • Couper Collection: 1.1 mi
  • Saatchi Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Cadogan Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Sloane Square: 1.1 mi
  • Royal Hospital Chelsea Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Lancaster Gate: 1.3 mi
  • Queensway: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Park Corner: 1.5 mi
  • Whiteleys Shopping Centre : 1.5 mi
  • City of Westminster: 1.5 mi
  • Wellington Arch: 1.5 mi
  • Victoria Place Shopping Centre : 1.6 mi
  • St. Ann's Shopping Centre : 1.6 mi
  • Park Lane: 1.6 mi
  • Hyde Park: 1.6 mi
  • Royal Mews: 1.7 mi
  • Victoria station: 1.7 mi
  • Marble Arch: 1.7 mi
  • Paddington Station: 1.7 mi
  • Broadway Shopping Centre : 1.8 mi
  • Victoria Palace Theatre: 1.8 mi
  • Buckingham Palace: 1.8 mi
  • Green Park: 1.9 mi
  • Battersea Power Station: 1.9 mi
  • Lambeth Palace: 1.9 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
For any size and style of conference or convention we are sure to meet your needs. With 25 function rooms ranging from contemporary to traditional and with the capacity to hold 2 to 500 delegates, we can work closely with you to ensure your event is a success. With our efficient and adaptable advanced lighting, audio-visual and presentation technology; your convention or conference can be bought to life.

Dining

Restaurant
Bugis Street Brasserie friendly bistro serving authentic Singaporean and Chinese cuisines.
Bar
Humphrey's Bar and Lounge
Restaurant
Olives Restaurant and Bar offering relaxed dining
Restaurant
Bombay Brasserie, London's premier restaurant for Goan/Indian Cuisine

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (85)

Ratings and reviews for Millennium Gloucester Hotel London Kensington

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
85 out of 85
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Millennium Gloucester Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Chicago, IL
Jan 21, 2011

Roomy, good location, not deluxe

Good neighborhood, large room (by London standards), good bathtub/shower and clean/good housekeeping. Large towels, ok toiletries, good selection of TV channels, business center had 10 min of internet for 1 pound, pretty good, wierd "sign in at business center" to use fitness center. Mattress was disappointing, sagging in the middle. Not quiet (bring earplugs) but hey, it's London, not too many hotels we've stayed in were quiet; it was just traffic noise and some late nighters at street level. Could hear between rooms but other guests were quiet. Describes itself at "4 star hotel" but we'd give it more like 3 stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Millennium Gloucester Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toronto, Canada
Jan 13, 2011

Good Hotel But...

So for me this was my first time travelling to London and I only had 3 days before flying back to Canada. The purpose of my trip was business so I needed a hotel that's comfortable, has high speed internet, and several restaurants to eat at.Location wise, I need something close to the office so it wasn't a consideration at the time of booking, but the hotel is right on the subway/metro/tube line which is very convenient, and the location is ideal I think for both business and vacation travel.My biggest issues with the hotel is the cost - the price on [...]was actually quite nice - but the costs while staying at the hotel. Now, this could be my inexperience with London hotels, but, £20 per 24 hours for internet access is crazy. Buffet breakfast was £18, which is reasonable for what it was.The other BIG but is the cancellation policy - you can't cancel when booking through [...]. So, if you think you might need to cancel, get trip cancellation insurance. In my case, I arrived 1 day after I planned to arrive, and lost 1 night.The staff were very friendly while I was there, so no complaints from that.The room was clean and nice - later upgrade to the club room so I had a large room then originally booked. The club package includes internet, breakfast, and lounge access for £80/night, but there was a special to get it for half-off, so £40/night, or the price of internet and breakfast, so it definitely made sense.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Millennium Gloucester Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy Yank
Couples
Bethel, CT, USA
Dec 26, 2010

Great location, great staff

Initial room was bad - no heat Appeared that hotel is being renovated real time Asked for & received a room change Great experience from there on out Staff was superior / exceptional Location is exceptional (e.g. Near Underground, variety of great local restaurants, supermarket close by, etc)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Underground was so close - easy access to everything

Review of Millennium Gloucester Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tourist Kate
Couples
Lynchburg, VA
Dec 24, 2010

What a nice spot and what a GREAT price!

WE were stuck in London during the December snows, and our original hotel wanted to double our room rates. We found the Millenium at 80 pounds with breakfast, and what a delight! Lovely period reception, nice beds adn rooms, a good bar - the only down side was a RIDICULOUS 20 pound charge for wireless! Otherwise the location in South Kensington is good, a bit out of the way, but near enough to great shopping and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bibendums is close by - great lunch menu!

Review of Millennium Gloucester Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Paul in Hawaii
Business
Honolulu, HI, USA
Dec 1, 2010

LOndon Hotel November 2010

Great hotel. Many restaurants and even a casino in the hotel. Clean, luxurious and very prestigious with an incredible price. I will be staying at this hotel the next time I fly to London

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Casino in the the hotel!!!! Awesome treat

Review of Millennium Gloucester Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Mahwah, NJ
Nov 25, 2010

Very convenient & surprisingly quiet

We arrived in London around 9:30pm. After renting a car with a GPS we easily arrived at the Holiday Inn - Heathrow. We had no trouble checking in. We were greeted with a smile and everyone was very professional. The room was small, but clean. Beds were comfortable. Nice shower with shampoo & shower gel provided in the shower. We were a little concerned about noise because the hotel was right off the motorway. Noise was not an issue. The windows have double-paned glass which blocked the noise sufficiently.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Millennium Gloucester Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Momma Max
Family
Northern California
Nov 9, 2010

A great base for site seeing

This was our first trip to London and we were very happy with the hotel's location and service from the concierge, the reception desk, and the bell desk. Everyone was very, very friendly. We arrived prior to check in but our room, twin beds for my daughter and myself as requested, was ready and we were able to quickly check-in, drop our luggage and head out to see the sites. The room was larger than anticipated from seeing photos of other London hotels and very quiet. We did not spend very much time in the room, but it did suffer from lack of lighting: the two lamps provided were insufficient for much beyond reading in bed and working with a dim light on the desk. The beds, however, were comfortable and the room was clean and kept clean by the staff. The bathroom was large, had lots of hot water, and it was, unlike the room, very well lit. We had the hotel breakfast-discounted if you buy vouchers from the desk-the first morning and it was convenient but expensive and pretty terrible. There are better spots in the neighborhood, just make sure you don't miss the posted hours; everyone seems to start cleaning up early. We met family at the pleasant hotel bar which was spacious with lots of comfortable seating. The Best is the Location! Just minutes from the Gloucester Station for the tube and a short walk to Gloucester Road for a number of good restaurants. We did a lot of walking at night and, as two women, felt very safe. You can choose to struggle with luggage onto and off the tube, but we decided to take the Heathrow Express right from the airport to Paddington Station and then a short 5 pound taxi ride to the hotel. It was well worth the money! All in all, if you are coming to London to see the sites, this is a great place to stay. It was more than I wanted to pay, but I am glad I did: it was well worth the extra money to have extra time for site-seeing rather than spending precious time on the train or the tube .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

WIFI is not free and very expensive. However, if you have or buy a Starbuck's card and register it, you can use WIFI free at the Starbuck's just down the street.

Review of Millennium Gloucester Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RxTravellerLA
Friends
Los Angeles, CA
Nov 2, 2010

A Great Hotel in Every Way

After our flight from JFK, Heathrow Connection and a cab ride from Paddington, we were welcomed by our friendly, informative front-desk guy. Our club level room, which comes with continental breakfast and evening drinks and appetizers, was clean, well-appointed and roomy by London standards. Every staff member was courteous and always had time for us. The hotel itself is large and centrally located. The Gloucester tube is across the street, a Waitrose supermarket and Boots is steps away with a very busy Tesco across the street. Even a Starbucks, KFC and Burger King are right there if you're so inclined. The bar staff even accomodated by American craving for ice by giving me a large plastic bag of the stuff when I went upstairs to my room each night. Definitely coming back again!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Fish Kitchen in Borough Market for wonderful fish and chips and an incredible setting.

Review of Millennium Gloucester Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Arizona
Nov 1, 2010

Great Rates and Location--a few quirks

This hotel is a great value four-star hotel. It is literally across the street from the Gloucester Road exit on the subway (Piccadilly tube line) and is also across the street from two grocery stores that you can use for inexpensive breakfast, lunch or snacks (use Waitrose over Tesco because of the variety). Here are the plusses: 1. great price 2. location (couple of blocks from Science and Nat. Hist. museums, one mile from heart of London). 3. great sized room compared to others 4. nearby restaurants 5. ease of getting around via Tube Here are the negatives or quirks: 1. I was charged ($3.75) for making three, ten-second calls to an 800 number in the UK. I only got a recorded message saying the line was busy, but had to pay for the calls anyhow. 2. Fortunately, I had wireless 3G with me and did not have to pay $15 a day for Internet usage in my room or $12 per day for WIFI use in the lobby. This hotel is trying to make up for its discounts by charging you for Internet, phone and food at high rates like a lot of other hotels--discounters or not. 3. On the quirky side, my bed only had a bottom sheet, no top sheet or blanket. On top of the bottom sheet was a lightweight comforter. That was it. In most U.S. hotels, you would have a top sheet separating your body from the comforter, but not here. Because this comforter was lightweight, it could be washed easily (I hope) with the inner lining removed. 4. I had difficulty understanding one of the desk clerks where English is a second language. This occurred in other places as well. Despite the mixed feelings, I would definitely stay here again, to save the money if nothing else. I just wouldn't use the phone or Internet and get my food elsewhere. The hotel is clean and has a nice array of amenities as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The three must-see experiences for London are: (1) Windsor Castle in the town of Windsor. It is easily reached by taking the tube to the Paddington train station, then taking a quick commuter train the rest of the way. The State Apartments are mouth dropping! (2) The British Museum with spectacular, large collections of Egyptian, ancient Greek and ancient Roman artifacts. (3) The Tower of London for its history, crown jewels, suits of armor, famous prisoners, and grounds. There are many other great attractions but these you cannot miss!

Review of Millennium Gloucester Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Texas
Oct 30, 2010

Millennium Gloucester South Kensington

location is great, business office, bellmen,housekeeping very nice. Desk staff unhelpful and unresponsive. 2 rooms had heater problems...,there for 5 nights, when staff finally brought a space heater in on last night of stay. no apologies. we had very smallest rooms in hotel after booking thru [...]. my husband and i were booked into a room with 2 single beds after booking 3 rooms. could not have been farther apart from each other 2 on opposite ends of floor and 3rd on a different floor!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top