$172 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 31, 2014 Check-out: Aug 1, 2014

Millennium Bailey's Hotel London Kensington

4 stars
140 Gloucester Road, Kensington, London, SW7 4QH
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
120 reviews
London vacation

This is an older hotel under some renovation that did not interfere with anyone. GREAT location!... See full review

  • Knollie
  • Jun 25, 2014
Awesome hotel, location could not be better!

Awesome hotel - 10 sec to tube station (right across the street), great staff, got free room... See full review

  • DoctorMeow
  • Dec 27, 2013
Contemporary business and leisure offerings in a grand Victorian hotel

The Millennium Bailey's Hotel London Kensington marries old with new in a magnificent Victorian property that incorporates all the amenities of the present day. A sweeping staircase and stained-glass windows greet guests as they enter this grand property, yet a full range of services and amenities, including high-speed Internet, full business services and fitness center (the latter two at the adjoining Millennium Gloucester Hotel London Kensington). Rooms are warm and inviting, decorated in a traditional English style.

Highlights
  • Magnificent restored Victorian Hotel
  • On-site, underground parking (fees apply)
  • Easy walk to Gloucester Road tube station
Rooms

Quintessentially British in style, rooms at the Millennium Bailey's Hotel London Kensington are bathed in warm colors, exuding a sense of calm and tranquility that makes the hotel unique among Kensington properties. Standard amenities include satellite television and pay-per-view movies, direct dial telephone with voicemail, Wi-Fi (fees apply), tea and coffee making facilities, mini-bar and use of the Fitness Center and Business Center at the adjoining Millennium Gloucester. Standard single room guests enjoy a full English breakfast.

Features

Experience the splendor of another era at the Millennium Bailey's Hotel London Kensington, a magnificent restored Victorian hotel in the heart of Kensington. With its rich history dating to 1876, the hotel has retained many of its grand, Victorian features including a sweeping staircase, stained-glass windows and detailed stonework. Despite its history, the hotel offers all the amenities of the modern day, with Wi-Fi, non-smoking rooms, business services and fitness center (the latter two accessible at the adjoining Millennium Gloucester Hotel). All guests have access to an on-site fitness room at the adjoining Millennium Gloucester Hotel London Kensington, which features cardio equipment and a multi-gym.

Transportation
  • Gloucester Road tube station (1 minute walking)
  • Heathrow Airport (23 minutes)
Attractions
  • Natural History Museum (0.4 mi./0.64 km)
  • Science Museum (0.6 mi./0.96 km)
  • Victoria & Albert Museums (0.6 mi./0.96 km)
  • Harrods (0.72 mi./1.16 km)
  • Kensington Palace & Gardens (0.85 mi./1.37 km)
Business
  • Business center (in adjoining Millennium Gloucester Hotel London Kensington)
  • Wi-Fi (fees apply)
  • Meeting and event space
  • 24-hour room service

Millennium Bailey's Hotel London Kensington Rooms

Standard Room
Room with one twin bed or one double bed includes standard rooms, which are decorated in warm colours ensuring a relaxed and welcoming feel. In-room amenities include: satellite TV & in-house movies, direct-dial telephone with voicemail, broadband internet connection (chargeable), tea & coffee making facilities, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, mini bar and use of the Fitness Centre and Business Centre located at the adjoining Millennium Gloucester hotel. The hotel provides amenities like air conditioning, bathroom amenities, colour TV, ensuite/ private bathroom, internet access, kettle, laundry service, modern / data port connection, non-smoking rooms, pay-per-view movies, room service, safe in room, tea and coffee making facilities, telephone and voicemail.
Superior Room
Room with one twin bed or one double bed includes standard rooms, which are decorated in warm colours ensuring a relaxed and welcoming feel. In-room amenities include: satellite TV & in-house movies, direct-dial telephone with voicemail, broadband internet connection (chargeable), tea & coffee making facilities, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, mini bar and use of the Fitness Centre and Business Centre located at the adjoining Millennium Gloucester hotel. The hotel provides amenities like air conditioning, bathroom amenities, colour TV, ensuite/ private bathroom, internet access, kettle, laundry service, modern / data port connection, non-smoking rooms, pay-per-view movies, room service, safe in room, tea and coffee making facilities, telephone and voicemail.
Deluxe Room
Room with one twin bed or one double bed includes standard rooms, which are decorated in warm colours ensuring a relaxed and welcoming feel. In-room amenities include: satellite TV & in-house movies, direct-dial telephone with voicemail, broadband internet connection (chargeable), tea & coffee making facilities, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, mini bar and use of the Fitness Centre and Business Centre located at the adjoining Millennium Gloucester hotel. The hotel provides amenities like air conditioning, bathroom amenities, colour TV, ensuite/ private bathroom, internet access, kettle, laundry service, modern / data port connection, non-smoking rooms, pay-per-view movies, room service, safe in room, tea and coffee making facilities, telephone and voicemail.
Standard Single Room
Room with one twin bed includes standard rooms, which are decorated in warm colours ensuring a relaxed and welcoming feel. In-room amenities include: satellite TV & in-house movies, direct-dial telephone with voicemail, broadband internet connection (chargeable), tea & coffee making facilities, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, mini bar and use of the Fitness Centre and Business Centre located at the adjoining Millennium Gloucester hotel. The hotel provides amenities like air conditioning, bathroom amenities, colour TV, ensuite/ private bathroom, internet access, kettle, laundry service, modern / data port connection, non-smoking rooms, pay-per-view movies, room service, safe in room, tea and coffee making facilities, telephone and voicemail.
Club Room
Exclusive access to Club Lounge; Complimentary wifi & continental breakfast, selection of upgraded toiletries

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Millennium Bailey's Hotel London Kensington also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

51.4936 -0.1825
Area served
Gloucester Road, Kensington, London.
Nearby airports
Heathrow International Airport.
Area description
Less than a minutes walk from Gloucester Road underground station with District, Circle and Piccadilly line, 40 minutes from London Heathrow Airport, and 45 minutes to London Gatwick Airport

Nearby points of interest

  • Gloucester Road: 0.1 mi
  • Baden-Powell House Exhibition: 0.2 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Imperial College London: 0.4 mi
  • Science Museum London: 0.4 mi
  • Royal College of Music Archives and Museum of Instruments: 0.5 mi
  • National Art Library: 0.5 mi
  • Victoria and Albert Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Royal Albert Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Earls Court Exhibition Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Memorial : 0.6 mi
  • Polish Institute and Sikorski Museum: 0.7 mi
  • High Street Kensington: 0.7 mi
  • King's Road: 0.7 mi
  • Royal Institute of British Architects Collections: 0.7 mi
  • Gloucester Road: 0.1 mi
  • Baden-Powell House Exhibition: 0.2 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Imperial College London: 0.4 mi
  • Science Museum London: 0.4 mi
  • Royal College of Music Archives and Museum of Instruments: 0.5 mi
  • National Art Library: 0.5 mi
  • Victoria and Albert Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Royal Albert Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Earls Court Exhibition Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Memorial : 0.6 mi
  • Polish Institute and Sikorski Museum: 0.7 mi
  • High Street Kensington: 0.7 mi
  • King's Road: 0.7 mi
  • Royal Institute of British Architects Collections: 0.7 mi
  • Kensington Palace: 0.7 mi
  • Stamford Bridge: 0.9 mi
  • Chelsea: 0.9 mi
  • Harrods: 0.9 mi
  • Knightsbridge: 0.9 mi
  • Kensington Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • Saatchi Gallery: 1 mi
  • Couper Collection: 1.1 mi
  • Cadogan Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Sloane Square: 1.1 mi
  • Royal Hospital Chelsea Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Lancaster Gate: 1.2 mi
  • Queensway: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Park Corner: 1.4 mi
  • Wellington Arch: 1.5 mi
  • City of Westminster: 1.5 mi
  • Whiteleys Shopping Centre : 1.5 mi
  • Victoria Place Shopping Centre : 1.6 mi
  • St. Ann's Shopping Centre : 1.6 mi
  • Park Lane: 1.6 mi
  • Hyde Park: 1.6 mi
  • Royal Mews: 1.7 mi
  • Victoria station: 1.7 mi
  • Marble Arch: 1.7 mi
  • Paddington Station: 1.7 mi
  • Victoria Palace Theatre: 1.8 mi
  • Buckingham Palace: 1.8 mi
  • Broadway Shopping Centre : 1.8 mi
  • Green Park: 1.8 mi
  • Battersea Power Station: 1.9 mi

Dining

Restaurant
Hotel offers Olives Restaurant relaxed dining - Bombay Brasserie, London's premier restaurant for Goan/Indian cuisine. Enjoy the tastes of Singapore and China at Bugis Street Brasserie

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (120)

Ratings and reviews for Millennium Bailey's Hotel London Kensington

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
120 out of 120
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Millennium Bailey's Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Smokewagon
Ottawa ,Ontario
Jul 3, 2014

close to Hyde Park

Beautiful Hotel Nice size rooms Staff were helpfull

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Right beside Gloucester Street Station Underground Ten minute walk to southwest side of Hyde Park.

Review of Millennium Bailey's Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DingDong
Dubai
Jun 25, 2014

Perfect location in central London

The hotel is perfectly located just opposite the tube station which makes it easy to get to the airport or anywhere in London (note that you will need to change trains since there are some upgrades happening to the lifts ALSO you will have to take stairs) There is also a bus stop in front of the metro which takes you to either South Kensington (all the museums) or High Street Kensington (shopping; not as busy as Oxford str) The check in was smooth, and I was given my room earlier than check-in time. The room was on a small size - the bed was pushed to the wall on one side and hence was accessible from one side or end only (I got to sleep by the wall) There was also a lamp on the wall on that side which I managed to hit couple times at night. The bed itself needs a topper for sure - you could feel lumps and bumps underneath. But I am ok with any bed as long as it is long and wide enough. The A/C was rather loud but worked perfectly well. The mini bar is empty (why? especially that they take your credit card details at check in). TV was rather small too (32inch or so?) The bathroom was the best part of this room - really spacious (almost same size as the room) Nice bathtub and shower, very good water pressure and nice hot water. The toiletries were also nice. The towels were big and nice too. No slippers or bath robes provided. Our room was on a low floor facing the inner yard. There are some works being done but I was informed it happens 9am-5pm during the weekdays and 10am - 4pm on the weekends (we never heard anything since were out most of the day) and never in the mornings. So do not be put off by the fact there are works carried at the hotel. The breakfast was not nice at all. They serve pre-fried eggs and when we asked if we could get some eggs freshly cooked the waiter told us we need to get one from the cooked ones. When we explained we wanted new he started telling us that it is not boiled egg but fried (??) Then another waitress got involved and tried to explain to him that we want friend eggs fried 'more'. In the end they took the 'pre-cooked' eggs and fried them more - they were rubbery and impossible to eat. Another issue was coffee. You could only get filter coffee with breakfast. If you want any other type of coffee it is charged. The coffee was watery and very bad. The selection is very small and unappetising. Even though we had the breakfast included in the price, we never returned - there is Pret opposite the hotel, also further down the road there is Caffee Nero for even better coffee. Other places on the street cater for tourists mainly and the food is not that good. The hotel bar is nice. We went there to watch football and relax. The only problem was when I ordered some wine I was served the largest size. I did not realise at the time #late night, too tired etc# but though would have been nice of them to ask what size I wanted. There is also a happy hour in the early evenings and we also got served some complimentary canapés which was lovely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There is an amazing restaurant at High Street Kensington station (1 stop on circle line) called Bills I think. We discovered it too late to have a breakfast there but their lunch was lovely. There is also a nice pub past Café Nero (turn right when you exit the hotel and walk maybe 5-10mins) They do great food too. I cannot recall the name but it is a cute white building always busy with young crowd catching up after work.

Review of Millennium Bailey's Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Knollie
New Jersey
Jun 25, 2014

London vacation

This is an older hotel under some renovation that did not interfere with anyone. GREAT location! Kensington is eligant with many dining, museum and shopping options. Close to Harrod's. Best of all the hotel is literately accross the street from the Glouster Road station for the tube. Go anywhere in minutes. Would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many great pubs in the area and the National Meseum. The included breakfast in the hotel is a bargain and full American.

Review of Millennium Bailey's Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Blackbird 71 Mom
Illinois
Mar 16, 2014

Perfect location!

Vacation trip to London March 9-15, 2014. Chose this hotel for price and location, location, location, which couldn't have been better. Just steps away from an Underground station, great restaurants (did not really try the restaurant at the hotel), decent pubs. Staff was very good and handled the one issue I had very quickly. Any other requests (car hire, champagne for newly engaged couple) were also done well. Any pre-arrival communication was handled promptly. Room is tired, but for an older property which has been retrofitted, it's very acceptable. Had no issues with noise, even though my room was on the Tube side. My room had one U.S., two UK, outlets. (Outlets somewhat inaccessible though.) If I ever have occasion to visit London, and I do so hope I do, I will very much consider staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Millennium Bailey's Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy234
Oxford
Mar 4, 2014

Lovely historic hotel

A great location and historic features of hotel made it feel more special to us. Reception staff very friendly and room and bed really comfortable. All at a good price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Millennium Bailey's Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DoctorMeow
Indiana
Dec 27, 2013

Awesome hotel, location could not be better!

Awesome hotel - 10 sec to tube station (right across the street), great staff, got free room upgrade and 10 am check-in. Stayed there for 7 days, I would definitely stay there again if I visit London again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Millennium Bailey's Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wooster
Massachusetts
Nov 19, 2013

We loved our stay here!

Lovely hotel. Large, clean room. Very comfortable bed. Very helpful and friendly staff. Excellent restaurant downstairs. Convenient to Gloucester Ave station. We stayed for a week and couldn't have been happier with our stay. Thank you!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a train station just outside the hotel. Because we used the Tube all week for getting around London, it was so convenient.

Review of Millennium Bailey's Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alibfa
Greenland nh
Oct 17, 2013

Wonderful stay

I stayed here for 3 nights with my daughter. We had a wonderful experience, the hotel staff were amazing So nice and accomadating. We thoroughly enjoyed our time here and will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Portobello road

Review of Millennium Bailey's Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rox and Bob
Annapolis, MD
Oct 15, 2013

Quaint Hotel, friendly staff, easy to get around.

When we arrived the staff was very pleasant and helpful. The location is great as it is right across the street from the tube station. Many places easily accessible by a 15 min walk such as Harrods dept store, restaurants, and museums. The restaurant was a little pricey but well decorated. We did not eat there but stopped in the lounge for an after dinner drink. The service was very good. The hotel looks very pretty and is convenient. The room was okay. The room layout could have been better to make it easier to open your luggage. The room layout is really the only negative thing I could say.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Millennium Bailey's Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TwinSpires
Louisville, Kentucky
May 28, 2013

Perfect for a week of Day Trips

The staff are fantastic and always ready to meet a need or answer any question. The location is 50 meters from all transportation... cabs, buses, and the Gloucester underground which has the Central, District and Piccadilly lines. The bath tubs in the rooms are very high and not easily accessed if you have mobility issues but that is the one and only problem I myself had at this fine hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Hop on a bus or take the underground to most all of London's attractions from here.

Back to menu Return to top