$171 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 19, 2014 Check-out: Oct 22, 2014

Mercure London Paddington

4 stars
144 Praed Street, Paddington, LONDON, W2 1HU
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
28 reviews
Good stay, can't beat the location.

Overall, this hotel was a good value. I stayed for 3 nights for a vacation with my mother (in her... See full review

  • Happy Traveler 184
  • Jul 16, 2014
Terrific location to train and tubes

Staff were very friendly and cordial. I would stay there again. See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Jun 2, 2009
4-star Mercure London Paddington boasts a contemporary design and central location. Setting a precedent to satisfy the needs of busy executives as well as discerning leisure guests, this Central London hotel is located seconds from Paddington UndergroundStation and Heathrow Express. With state-of-the-art facilities, this modern hotel offers Wi-Fi, flat screen TVs and a free 24-hour gym. The on-site restaurant serves food and drinks all day.

Hotel Map

51.516 -0.1749
Nearby airports
LHR, (LHR), 25.75, KM, NW;
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Mercure London Paddington also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5

Mercure London Paddington Rooms

1 Db bed Std
STANDARD ROOM WITH 1 DOUBLE BED. Standard double room (approx size 16 sqm) - 135cm bed width, full air conditioning, ADSL & Wifi internet access, 32" flat screen interactive TV, iPod dock, bathrobes, safe, trouser press, tea and coffee making facilities
2 Sg beds Std
Standard Room with two single beds. Standard twin room (approx size 20 sqm) - two 100cm wide beds, full air conditioning, ADSL & Wifi internet access, 32" flat screen interactive TV, iPod dock, bathrobes, safe, trouser press, tea/coffee making facilitie
1 Sg bed Std
Standard Room with 1 single bed. Small single bedded room (approx size 10 sqm) - 100cm wide restricted access bed, full airconditioning, ADSL & Wifi internet, 32" flat screen interactive TV, iPod dock, bathrobes, in room safe, tea/coffee facilities, tro
1 Db bed Clc
Small double room with 1 double bed. Small double room (approx size 14 sqm) - restricted access to beds, bed sizes vary between 120-135 cm width, full AC, ADSL & Wifi internet access, iPod dock, 32" flat screen TV, bathrobes, safe, trouser press, tea/co
2 Sg beds Exec
Executive Room with twin beds. Executive twin room (approx size 26 sqm) - two 100cm wide beds, full airconditioning, ADSL & Wifi internet, 32" flat screen TV, iPod dock, safe, complementary soft drinks in mini fridge, bathrobes and slippers, trouser pre
1 Kg bed Exec
Executive Room with king-size bed. Executive king room (approx size 26 sqm) - 200cm bed width, full airconditioning, ADSL and Wifi internet, 32" flat screen TV, iPod dock, safe, bathrobes & slippers, complementary soft drinks in mini fridge, trouser pre
1 Kg bed + Sofa Exec
Executive room with 1 King size bed and sofa. Executive king bed + king sofa bed (approx room size 26 sqm) - two 200cm wide king beds, full AC, ADSL & Wifi internet, 32" flat scrn TV, iPod dock, safe, bathrobes & slippers, complementary soft drinks in m

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Computer rental
Internet
WiFi
Room
Satellite TV
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Shower
Iron
Bath tub
Trouser press

Nearby points of interest

  • Paddington Station: 0.2 mi
  • Lancaster Gate: 0.3 mi
  • Showroom Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • City of Westminster: 0.6 mi
  • Queensway: 0.6 mi
  • Whiteleys Shopping Centre : 0.6 mi
  • Hyde Park: 0.6 mi
  • Kensington Gardens: 0.6 mi
  • Marble Arch: 0.7 mi
  • Baker Street: 0.9 mi
  • Lords Cricket Ground: 0.9 mi
  • Sherlock Holmes Museum: 0.9 mi
  • London Business School: 0.9 mi
  • Albert Memorial : 0.9 mi
  • Kensington Palace: 1 mi
  • Paddington Station: 0.2 mi
  • Lancaster Gate: 0.3 mi
  • Showroom Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • City of Westminster: 0.6 mi
  • Queensway: 0.6 mi
  • Whiteleys Shopping Centre : 0.6 mi
  • Hyde Park: 0.6 mi
  • Kensington Gardens: 0.6 mi
  • Marble Arch: 0.7 mi
  • Baker Street: 0.9 mi
  • Lords Cricket Ground: 0.9 mi
  • Sherlock Holmes Museum: 0.9 mi
  • London Business School: 0.9 mi
  • Albert Memorial : 0.9 mi
  • Kensington Palace: 1 mi
  • Selfridges: 1 mi
  • Polish Institute and Sikorski Museum: 1 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 1 mi
  • Wallace Collection: 1 mi
  • Royal Albert Hall: 1 mi
  • Park Lane: 1 mi
  • Bond Street London: 1.1 mi
  • Royal College of Music Archives and Museum of Instruments: 1.1 mi
  • Maida Vale: 1.1 mi
  • Notting Hill: 1.1 mi
  • Royal Academy of Music: 1.2 mi
  • High Street Kensington: 1.2 mi
  • Harrods: 1.2 mi
  • Imperial College London: 1.2 mi
  • Knightsbridge: 1.2 mi
  • Handel House Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Science Museum London: 1.3 mi
  • Oxford Street: 1.3 mi
  • Hyde Park Corner: 1.3 mi
  • Red Mansion Foundation: 1.3 mi
  • Victoria and Albert Museum: 1.3 mi
  • National Art Library: 1.4 mi
  • Regent's College: 1.4 mi
  • University of Westminster: 1.4 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Wellington Arch: 1.4 mi
  • Oxford Circus: 1.4 mi
  • Baden-Powell House Exhibition: 1.4 mi
  • Photographers Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Royal College of Physicians Museum: 1.5 mi

Dining

GARFUNKEL'S RESTAURANT
Garfunkel's Restaurant is open from 6:30am to make sure our guests can enjoy their breakfast before the city wakes up and treat them with a nice dinner to finish the day.
HOTEL BAR
Hotel Bar offers a wide range of wine, beer and spirits.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (28)

Ratings and reviews for Mercure London Paddington

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
28 out of 28
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mercure London Paddington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy Traveler 184
Virginia
Jul 16, 2014

Good stay, can't beat the location.

Overall, this hotel was a good value. I stayed for 3 nights for a vacation with my mother (in her 60s). The best feature of the hotel is the location (right next to Paddington Station). This is especially convenient for anyone flying into Heathrow and taking the Heathrow Express or Connect to central London. It is also a convenient location for getting around London via the Tube. As with all London hotels, the room was tiny, but it had all the amenities you'd expect. In addition, it is one of the few hotels that have AC in the area. The only downside of this hotel is that it is somewhat noisy as it is so close to the train station and St. Mary's Hospital. If you are a light sleeper the sounds of the trains and occasional ambulances may disturb your sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Try Kew Gardens. It's a bit out of the way, but it is accessible via the Tube, and it is lovely!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mercure London Paddington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hanuman6
Business
San Francisco, California
Mar 11, 2013

Great location and friendly staff

A well kept hotel with friendly staff in a very convenient location next to the entrance of Paddington Station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mercure London Paddington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
George from Georgia
Dahlonega, Ga, USA
Jan 28, 2013

Small but Great Location

This is indeed a very nice hotel - lots of bathroom amenities, bathrobes, slippers, etc., but my room was quite small even by European standards; I was by myself so this was no big deal, but I really doubt that two could stay. The hotel is litterally next door to Paddington, which I found great as I used its Heathrow Express to get to the airport, which is much less arduous than staying our near there and having to take the shuttles. And I used the Paddington Underground station to get around the city - very convienient. The hotel has a tiny bar which I found convenient. And it has a restaurant attached - I don't recall the name - but this was also helpful. But I got lots of eats right in Paddington, there is quie a variety.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are quite a few informal restaurants within a block or two of the hotel, so eating is no problem, and several stores where you can buy soda, beer wine, snax, etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mercure London Paddington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
StenV
Business
Copenhagen, Denmark
Dec 9, 2012

Very small room, good location for Paddington st.

The room was very small, but the hotel is right by Paddington station which was what I needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

24hr Tesco about 1/2 mile down Praed St (turn left)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mercure London Paddington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lucky Dave
Irvine, CA
Jul 22, 2012

Mercure stay

The hotel is located right next to the Peddington station. It is very convinent just to drop you luggage and start to explore London. The room size is small, a typical London hotel room, but it is clean and has a shower room. For less than $150 it is a great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

It is about 1.5 miles away from Portotbello Market, a interesting open door market on Saturday, a lots of antique trader.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mercure London Paddington

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cairo,egypt
Jul 10, 2011

Reservation un found

I went to hotel,and they told me no reservation and how orbits accept reservation and we have no rooms.after one hour they change me to hotel quality crown kenigston.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mercure London Paddington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
kidsnave
Connecticut
Feb 28, 2011

Nice, convenient BUT....

Couldn't be a more convenient location right next door to Paddington station. Plenty of local activity, restaurants, etc but not too noisy. Well maintained, up to date, comfortable BUT.... ...the room stank of pipe tobacco! I immediately asked for a new room with no luck. All I got was a free can of spray to mask the smell. I sprayed all surfaces - walls, windows, ceiling, carpet but still had chest and sinus congestion and a raw throat the next morning. If I had had enough time, I would have moved to another hotel when they wouldn't give me a clean room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mercure London Paddington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
joan and carol
Dallas & New York
Nov 6, 2010

not great for American tourists

My mother, who is in her 80s, and I have taken several trips to London and always stayed at Bed and Breakfasts in the Paddington area. We wanted to upgrade to a chain hotel with elevators, so mom wouldn't have to carry luggage up staircases. We remembered seeing this place from our last trip and decided to try it. [...] This is not a place for tourists, but I'm sure it is fine for business people who just want to be close to the train station. We asked where to find a laundromat in walking distance and the front desk staff did not know and were not interested in helping us find one. I had to search online at the internet cafe across the street. Next time we will pay the higher rates at the Hilton and be comfortable and stay where there is a staff that is courteous and helpful for American tourists.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mercure London Paddington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Aug 29, 2010

Napoleonic King

While the hotel was very convenient to Kensington Station, we can't recommend it for a couple reasons. The rooms were clean but very small, even by London standards, and the so-called "king-size bed" was smaller than the queen-size mattresses we've had in other hotels in the city. It was more like a double bed. When we called down to ask about it, we were told the room had a "contemporary king" mattress. Fit for Napoleon, perhaps, but not a king. Also have to wonder why a "business hotel" didn't have internet access on site. You had to go across the street to an internet cafe to get online.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mercure London Paddington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Toronto
Jul 16, 2010

Great Location

Arrived from Toronto at 9 p.m., Heathrow Express to Paddington, cross the street and there is the hotel. Also good location for trip to St Pancras and Chunnel Room was "compact", as most London hotels. Restaurent on ground floor very convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search