$124 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 27, 2014 Check-out: Apr 28, 2014

Mercure London Kensington

4 stars
1a Lexham Gardens, Kensington, LONDON, W8 5JJ
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
9 reviews
A comfy corner of London

Nice comfy hotel. Friendly staff, great shower, comfortable bed, flat screen TV, good... See full review

  • Radiodoctor
  • Jul 28, 2011
Would stay again

Great service, allowed us to keep our luggage on site prior to check in. Very clean and updated... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Apr 13, 2010
Recently refurbished, this contemporary 4-star hotel is in the midst of the fashionable Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea. With fast connections to Heathrow Airport and London Underground, Mercure London Kensington is minutes from Earls Court and Olympia, the exclusive shops of High Street Kensington and Knightsbridge, and the Natural History, Science and V&A Museums. State-of-the-art facilities include free WiFi, a conference room and a Starbucks lounge-bar with an urban terrace.

Mercure London Kensington Rooms

1 Db bed Clc
Small double room with 1 double bed. Small double room (approx total size 13.5 sqm) - 135cm wide double bed, fully airconditioned, bathrobes provided, ADSL and Wifi internet access, 32" flat screen interactive TV, in room safe, complementary tea and cof
4 Sg beds Std
Standard quad room with 4 single beds. Quad room non smoking- 4 separate beds which can be zip and link into 2 double beds, fully air conditioned, ADSL and WIFI internet access, flat screen TV with on-demand movies and CD's, tea and coffee making facili
1 Db bed Std
Standard Room with one double bed. Standard double room (approx total size 16.5 sqm) - 135cm wide double bed, fully airconditioned, bathrobes provided, complementary soft drinks in mini fridge, ADSL/ Wifi internet access, 32" flat screen interactive TV,
1 Kg bed Std
Standard Room with 1 kingsize bed. Standard king room (approx total size 20 sqm) - front facing room with 200cm wide king bed, airconditioned, bathrobes provided, complementary soft drinks in mini fridge and tea/coffee, ADSL/Wifi internet, 32" flat scre
1 Sg bed Std
Standard Room with 1 single bed. Standard single room (approx total size 13.5 sqm) - 120cm wide small double bed with restricted access, airconditioned, bathrobes provided, ADSL/Wifi internet, 32" flat screen interactive TV,safe, complementary tea and
2 Sg beds Std
Standard Room with two single beds. Standard twin room (approx total size 20 sqm) - front facing room with two 100cm wide single beds, airconditioned, bathrobes provided, complementary soft drinks in mini fridge and tea/coffee, ADSL/Wifi internet, 32" f
1 Kg bed Exec
Privilege Room with 1 King size bed. Privilege king room (approx total size 20 sqm) - front facing room, 2m wide king bed, bathrobes & slippers, complimentary soft drinks in mini fridge, Nespresso coffee machine, iPod docking, ADSL/Wifi internet, 32" fl

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee shop
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Room
Satellite TV
Safe
Hairdryer in room
Shower
Iron
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Mercure London Kensington also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

51.4948 -0.1909
Nearby airports
LHR, (LHR), 20.92, KM, SW;
Area description
Downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Gloucester Road: 0.3 mi
  • Earls Court Exhibition Centre: 0.4 mi
  • High Street Kensington: 0.5 mi
  • Baden-Powell House Exhibition: 0.5 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Kensington Palace: 0.7 mi
  • Royal College of Music Archives and Museum of Instruments: 0.7 mi
  • Imperial College London: 0.7 mi
  • Royal Albert Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Science Museum London: 0.7 mi
  • Albert Memorial : 0.8 mi
  • National Art Library: 0.8 mi
  • Victoria and Albert Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Polish Institute and Sikorski Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Stamford Bridge: 0.9 mi
  • Gloucester Road: 0.3 mi
  • Earls Court Exhibition Centre: 0.4 mi
  • High Street Kensington: 0.5 mi
  • Baden-Powell House Exhibition: 0.5 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Kensington Palace: 0.7 mi
  • Royal College of Music Archives and Museum of Instruments: 0.7 mi
  • Imperial College London: 0.7 mi
  • Royal Albert Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Science Museum London: 0.7 mi
  • Albert Memorial : 0.8 mi
  • National Art Library: 0.8 mi
  • Victoria and Albert Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Polish Institute and Sikorski Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Stamford Bridge: 0.9 mi
  • Kensington Gardens: 1 mi
  • King's Road: 1.1 mi
  • Royal Institute of British Architects Collections: 1.1 mi
  • Harrods: 1.2 mi
  • Knightsbridge: 1.2 mi
  • Queensway: 1.3 mi
  • Chelsea: 1.3 mi
  • Lancaster Gate: 1.3 mi
  • Couper Collection: 1.3 mi
  • Whiteleys Shopping Centre : 1.4 mi
  • Saatchi Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Cadogan Hall: 1.4 mi
  • Broadway Shopping Centre : 1.5 mi
  • Sloane Square: 1.5 mi
  • Royal Hospital Chelsea Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Westfield Shopping Centre : 1.6 mi
  • King's Mall Shopping Centre : 1.6 mi
  • Hammersmith Apollo: 1.7 mi
  • City of Westminster: 1.7 mi
  • Paddington Station: 1.7 mi
  • Hyde Park Corner: 1.7 mi
  • Hyde Park: 1.8 mi
  • Notting Hill: 1.8 mi
  • Wellington Arch: 1.8 mi
  • Park Lane: 1.8 mi
  • Marble Arch: 1.9 mi
  • Victoria Place Shopping Centre : 1.9 mi
  • St. Ann's Shopping Centre : 1.9 mi
  • Portobello Market: 2 mi
  • Portobello Road: 2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (9)

Ratings and reviews for Mercure London Kensington

Overall score

3.2 / 5
9 out of 9
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4
Value:
3.7

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mercure London Kensington

Reviewer score

1
steffiec
New York, NY
Apr 1, 2010

not what you think it is

the hotel is centrally located and the staff were truly helpful, kind and above average. Unfortunately they do not have much to work with in terms of resources. No bar, restaurant or gym on the premises. I had paid extra for the king size bed that was really two doubles pushed together and I could hear all of the people on my floor coming and going along with all conversations in between.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Mercure London Kensington

Reviewer score

3
Oma
Ithaca, NY
Jun 20, 2011

cosy and convenient

Sightseeing in London - the location was a few blocks from the Natural History Museum, the Science Museum, the Victoria and Albert Museum, and had subway access to Heathrow Airport and Kew Gardens, as well as Westminster. Lovely upscale neighborhood of Kensington and Chelsea with good restaurants. We got the cheapest room, which was so tiny there was no floor space, but it was clean and modern. Beds weren't very comfortable, though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Mercure London Kensington

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
DC
Jul 11, 2011

ok in a pinch

This hotel was not horrible you just don't leave smiling and saying this is where we will always stay when we come to London but ok for a weekend. The staff were friendly, not above and beyond just not rude. Our usual hotel was booked up. We thought that the wifi internet was included in the price of the hotel instead after converting the cost it ended up being $21.00 for one night. The walk to the closest tube station gets old after you have been walking around all day. It's about a 15 minute walk. The room size was comparable to other London hotels we had been in and the bathroom was a good size for London. Nothing really special though. The walls are not very thick and if you have roughly neighbors in the room across or beside you you will hear every word they say. One thing we really liked was the in room mini fridge. After going to the 24 hr supermarket right down the road we put many things in the fridge to stay cold through the days we were there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Mercure London Kensington

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Philadelphia, PA
Jul 31, 2009

Traveler

It was, generally, good, although there were a few glitches because they did not heed what he had requested (twin beds) and gave us a double, instead. Even at the second night, they still had not fixed it, although we had requested it, personally, from the manager, before twe left the hotel in the morning. However, they gave us 2 free breakfasts each, instead. We thought the breakfasts were included in the price, as they had been in the other hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Mercure London Kensington

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
san jose, ca
May 30, 2011

could have been quieter

Room was awfully noisy - could hear neighbors discussing something "vigorously" AND someone turned off my TV with their remote.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

This is very near the Natural History Museum and a little further to the Victoria&Albert.

Review of Mercure London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Milwaukee, WI
Apr 13, 2010

Would stay again

Great service, allowed us to keep our luggage on site prior to check in. Very clean and updated rooms. The compact rooms are a bit small even by euro standards, but with all the things to do in London we werent't in the room much. Skip the extra fee for breakfast and zip down a block to the Sainsbury and grab a quick bite or zip over by the Earls Court tube station and grab a full english breakfast for about 5 pounds. We have stayed at this hotel before and have encouraged others to stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Mercure London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
Radiodoctor
Norfolk VA
Jul 28, 2011

A comfy corner of London

Nice comfy hotel. Friendly staff, great shower, comfortable bed, flat screen TV, good air-conditioner and NO SMOKING!! Only one elevator and the room a bit small, but one does not go to London to vegitate in a room. Sainsbury grocery a block away, internet cafe down the street, Gloucester Road tube station within easy walking distance. We'd definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Get your snacks at Sainsburys and save some $ on food (which can be pricey if you don't know your way around).

Review of Mercure London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
arb0050
Voorhees NJ
Sep 20, 2009

A happy Surprise

This was a very nice well decorated hotel and excellent for the price. Lobby has a franchised coffee bar with outside seats and umbrellas. Close to a huge 24 hr supermarket. Rooms small but well designed, with modern clean bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Mercure London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
In love with London
Seattle, WA
Apr 5, 2010

Quite Nice

Ok, first of all, the rooms are definitely small. It was perfect for me as a solo traveler, and absolutely gorgeously decorated, but the compact double I had would not have worked for two people, no matter how close or in love. The bathroom was roomy with a lovely shower/tub but I had to lift my roller suitcase over the bed to get it to the other end of the room. The lobby was warm and inviting and I really did find my room to be beautifully done. The staff were friendly, not above and beyond, but helpful and on top of things. I got the impression, while in the lobby, that they heard a lot of complaints about the size of the rooms which they seem quite well versed at handling. The area is not completely central to tourist points but definitely still very London, and close to the Tube (King's Cross can get you anywhere) along with bus stops right outside the hotel door. There are a lot of restaurants in the area (especially toward King's Cross) and a huge grocery/everything store about two or three blocks away (life saver when I needed a new US/UK electric socket converter). I would without a doubt stay again as a single traveler, but I'd shop other options for family trips.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you need to stretch your legs after landing, head north and wind through some lovely streets of typical London houses.

Back to menu Return to top