$114 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 25, 2014 Check-out: Dec 26, 2014

Mercure London Bloomsbury

4 stars
130 134 Southampton Row, LONDON, WC1B 5AF
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
12 reviews
Fantastic Stay at the Mercure Bloomsbury!

We recently spent 5 nights here as it was around the corner from my son's apartment while he is... See full review

  • lisaj1020
  • Apr 13, 2014
Great place to stay

The hotel was a perfect location for any tourist. With buses five minutes away it was the best way... See full review

  • Laura88
  • Jul 8, 2014
Contemporary 4 star boutique style hotel with complimentary WiFi, air conditioning & rainfall showers. Within walking distance of many of London's top attractions British Museum, Covent Garden, Oxford Street & Theatres. In close proximity to Russell Square tube station. Euston mainline station and Kings Cross St Pancras for Eurostar are nearby. Enjoy a bite to eat or a relaxing drink in our recently refurbished restaurant and bar, followed by a stroll in London's fashionable Bloomsbury.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Mercure London Bloomsbury also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Mercure London Bloomsbury Rooms

1 Db bed Std
Standard room with 1 double bed. Double bedded non smoking room, fully air conditioned with complimentary WiFi connection. Features include ergonomically designed work space, laptop safe, rain fall showers, flat screen LCD televisions with freeview cha
1 Kg bed Sup
Superior room with 1 kingsize bed. Ergonomically designed Superior room with 1 kingsize bed. This room is non smoking and fully air conditioned. Features include complimentary WiFi, laptop safe, rain fall showers, flat Screen LCD TV with freeview channe
1 Db bed Clc
Small double room with 1 double bed. 120cm Double Bed, non smoking room, fully air conditioned with complimentary WiFi connection. Features include ergonomically designed work space, laptop safe, rain fall showers.
1 Sg bed Std
Standard Room with 1 single bed. Single bedded non smoking room, fully air conditioned with complimentary Wifi connection. Features include ergonomically designed work space, laptop safe, rain fall showers, flat screen LCD televisions with freeview chan
2 Sg beds Std
Standard room with 2 single beds. Twin bedded non smoking room, fully air conditioned with complimentary WiFi connection. Features include ergonomically designed work space, laptop safe, rain fall showers, flat screen LCD televisions with freeview chann

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
FAX
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Safe
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Shower
Iron
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Russell Square: 0.1 mi
  • Cartoon Museum: 0.2 mi
  • British Museum: 0.2 mi
  • School of Oriental and African Studies: 0.2 mi
  • Institute of Education: 0.3 mi
  • Birkbeck: 0.3 mi
  • Charles Dickens Museum: 0.3 mi
  • London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine: 0.4 mi
  • London Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Sir John Soane's Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Dominion Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • The Brunswick : 0.4 mi
  • Institute of Archaeology Collections: 0.5 mi
  • Petrie Museum of Egyptian Archaeology: 0.5 mi
  • Thomas Neal Centre : 0.5 mi
  • Russell Square: 0.1 mi
  • Cartoon Museum: 0.2 mi
  • British Museum: 0.2 mi
  • School of Oriental and African Studies: 0.2 mi
  • Institute of Education: 0.3 mi
  • Birkbeck: 0.3 mi
  • Charles Dickens Museum: 0.3 mi
  • London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine: 0.4 mi
  • London Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Sir John Soane's Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Dominion Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • The Brunswick : 0.4 mi
  • Institute of Archaeology Collections: 0.5 mi
  • Petrie Museum of Egyptian Archaeology: 0.5 mi
  • Thomas Neal Centre : 0.5 mi
  • Royal Opera House: 0.5 mi
  • Grant Museum of Zoology: 0.5 mi
  • British Postal Museum and Archive: 0.5 mi
  • London Astoria: 0.5 mi
  • University College London: 0.5 mi
  • Soho: 0.5 mi
  • University of London: 0.6 mi
  • West End: 0.6 mi
  • Aldwych Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • British Library: 0.6 mi
  • London Transport Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Old Operating Theatre Museum and Herb Garret: 0.6 mi
  • St Pancras railway station: 0.6 mi
  • Kings Cross-St Pancras station: 0.7 mi
  • Transport Museum: 0.7 mi
  • the Strand: 0.7 mi
  • Euston: 0.7 mi
  • Courtauld Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Twinings Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Shaftesbury Avenue: 0.7 mi
  • Fitzrovia: 0.7 mi
  • Somerset House: 0.7 mi
  • London Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • Adelphi Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • Temple church: 0.8 mi
  • Farringdon: 0.8 mi
  • Leicester Square: 0.8 mi
  • Fleet Street: 0.8 mi

Dining

THE BRASSERIE
Experience our stylish restaurant open 7 days a week for lunch and dinner.
THE BAR
The contermporary bar serves Food and Beverage daily

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (12)

Ratings and reviews for Mercure London Bloomsbury

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
12 out of 12
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.6

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mercure London Bloomsbury

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Laura88
Business
Dublin
Jul 8, 2014

Great place to stay

The hotel was a perfect location for any tourist. With buses five minutes away it was the best way to get around. The staff were really helpful and friendly and don't mind answering any questions you have about how to get to local attractions like civent garden. The room was clean and the bed was comfy though on wheels so it rolled if you leaned against it but was fine when sleeping. Overall it was a great hotel :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mercure London Bloomsbury

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KKA2014
Business
UK
Jun 23, 2014

Business Trip

Excellent hotel, good value for money in the location. Will stay again when in London.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mercure London Bloomsbury

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lisaj1020
Business
La Grange, IL
Apr 13, 2014

Fantastic Stay at the Mercure Bloomsbury!

We recently spent 5 nights here as it was around the corner from my son's apartment while he is studying abroad. It couldn't have been a better experience. The staff were wonderful, the room was great, as was the location for us. Close to the tube stops, and a fantastic buffet breakfast. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mercure London Bloomsbury

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ruthie
Business
Netherlands
Nov 13, 2012

Where did it get four stars?

The room was small, which is normal for London, but there was a lot of noise from the outside corridor. The staff were indifferent when this was brought to their attention. The shower would not get very hot and had a very wasteful large shower head which uses a lot of water for no good reason, and was particularly irritating as the bath wouldn't drain properly so you had to stand in cold water up to your ankles to shower. The breakfast was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mercure London Bloomsbury

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ajayy
Business
Toronto
Oct 23, 2012

Loved it!

I was here for one night and definitely enjoyed my stay. It was my first time over here so I was unaware of what to expect. This place met my standards easily. Staff was very friendly and helpful. They helped me find the major attractions nearby and gave me directions on how to get there. Although the room was a bit small, it was big enough for me (Single traveler) and had enough space for all my stuff to fit and open up (one large suitcase, backpack, laptop bag). Bathroom was very clean and had all that would be expected. Highly recommend and will definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mercure London Bloomsbury

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tcow
Business
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Oct 8, 2012

Great Hotel! - Bad Internet

Really nice room (small - but that is NORMAL in this city). Nicely styled. Great breakfast buffet. Fantastic location to get around. Walking distance to a lot of the sites - and lots of subway options (easy to take the Tube to the airport). The internet was terrible though for both days of my stay (I am happy that I was not there on business) - -it crashed every 10 minutes. I reported to the front desk and it was a known problem. I would totally stay there again - (but would leave my laptop at home!)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mercure London Bloomsbury

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
davidlux
Business
Luxembourg
Sep 17, 2012

Okay but very small room

Stayed here for a weekend. Paid more for this hotel than others and the room was very small. The TV's wall mount was flat against the same wall as the bed so couldn't watch TV (while in bed). Also, the wireless Internet didn't work, and after repeated calls to the front desk, the problem was not resolved. The hotel itself is nicely located and the staff are friendly. Given the size of the room, the Internet issues and the TV location, I would not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mercure London Bloomsbury

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TravelingArnie
Business
Boston
Sep 3, 2012

Great Location-Refurbished

Stayed here for one night on may way back from Edinburgh. Nicely refurbished hotel. Pleasant and helpful staff. Free internet throughout. Very small double room. Had to watch where I moved as not to bump into things. But very modern with amenities. Mirror in shower with motion sensor that turned it on when entering. Very comfortable bed and decor. Had a desk and chair and sitting chair, but had to put my suitcase there as the luggage holder had no place to go unless I put it in front of the door. Tea setup with biscuts, iron, AC and TV worked well. They have a nice breakfast, but I wanted to go out and about. Location: two-three blocks from the Russel St Underground, and of course tons of buses. I walked the three blocks to the British Museum. It's in the Bloomsbury/West End part of London. Very central. Would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mercure London Bloomsbury

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joe Photo Traveler
Business
Silver Spring, Md
Jul 11, 2012

Great location in the heart of London

My wife and I stayed at the Mercure London Bloomsbury for a couple of nights after a family wedding. Great location in the heart of London, close to the British Museum and several tube stations so it's quick to get just about anywhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Euston Tap and Bree Louise are great pubs that are about a 10 minute walk away by Euston station. Euston tap has a great selection of UK and US craft beers and Bree Louise has a great selection of independent real ales and great meat pies.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mercure London Bloomsbury

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
wolfgang8741
Business
Michigan
Apr 16, 2012

Friendly with a few growing pains

I stayed here for 6 nights and throughout enjoyed the staff and location. While the rooms were small as expected they are sized well for a place to rest your head. There were a few annoyances but nothing that would keep me from coming back. One of the days house keeping forgot to return towels and a second day they did not leave any towels in the bathroom room at all. Also while I attended the wifi was being upgraded and experienced a few failures of service, but once the front desk was notified the issue was resolved quickly. If you need more bandwidth for streaming or video call you can request an upgrade (free) to your room's wifi allocation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get the Oyster card its worth it if you plan to ride public transport.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top