$153 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 21, 2015 Check-out: Aug 24, 2015

Melia White House

4 stars
View map of Albany Street, Regents Park, Regents Park, London, NW1 3UP

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Melia White House

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
39 out of 39
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.6

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Melia White House

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Granpa and the boys
Business
Auburn, ME
Aug 2, 2011

No more than one

We booked this room having stayed here in 1997 before renovation. But that was a larger room for three people. We had two "classic" rooms (their term) for my wife and I and two grandsons (18 and 20). The rooms were tiny - siutable only for an ectomorph - an anorexic ectomorph travelling alone. At no point was there 24 inches or more of clear floor space. You almost need to go out into the corridor to turn around. The bathroom was equally tiny. The bathtub/shower was particularly hazardous for seniors with a high step to enter and inadequate grab bars. The one bar of soap was the size of a commerative postage stamp. Checking my bill on the room TV I noticed three charges of 12-15 pounds with no explanation. After pressing the point at the front desk, they finally admitted it was a "mistake" and they were removed. But what if I hadn't checked? The hotel is now run by a spanish company with all spanish personnel. They were generally helpful and congenial. There are convenience shops, pubs and restaurants across the street. We patronized them rather than the pricey restaurants in the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The best feature is the location - with Underground stations on two different lines two-three blocks away. It is a short taxi ride or Underground ride to Oxford Street shopping, Piccadilly and theaters and the British Museum. Regents Park, which is enormous, is next door.

Review of Melia White House

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington DC
May 2, 2011

Melia White House

Room was too small and away from the main attractions of London.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Melia White House

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Enochemery
Business
Washington, DC
Nov 30, 2010

Loud and expensive.

Stayed for 7 days in November. The hotel was very conveniently located and relatively clean. Staff was helpful. However, the walls are paper thin. We could hear the neighbors wadding up a paper bag and word for word of their conversations. The pipes made a strange noise that regularly woke us up. You have to pay to use the mini-fridge. I expected to be able to get a good night's rest for the amount of money I spent on the room. The bathtub was 2 feet off the ground and dangerous to get out of. You also have to pay for the internet, so instead we just walked across the street to the Green Man pub for free wifi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the Green Man Pub on Euston Road for free wifi. Good food friendly staff.

Review of Melia White House

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kathleen - Daughter To Gypsy Joan
Business
Greensboro, NC
Oct 5, 2010

Enjoyed Our Stay

In London for weekend to attend Raindance Film Festival with my teenage son. Room was large, clean, well-appointed. Hotel was easy walk from Regents Park tube stop. After arriving exhausted from overnight flight, staff was willing to change room so we could get in room early, shower, nap before starting day. Doorman rescued us upon departure when we discovered tube on strike and cabs were hard to come by!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Melia White House

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Linda Red and friends
Business
New Rochelle NY
Aug 9, 2010

Great location

The staff was very helpful with everything from where to get the correct bus to sending up ice for our aching legs! Sunday is the gentleman who works in the cafe and was exceptionally kind and generous with helping us. The location is unbelievable--literally across the street from the tube. Rooms were clean, small but not horrible. The bar in the hotel was lovely as well. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Melia White House

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jlcnyc
Business
New York City
Jul 7, 2010

You get what you pay for

Very, very small rooms and not very helpful staff. Concierges appear to be picked off the streets, without any knowledge of London.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take time to go to Regent's Park. It is incredibly well kept and beautiful.

Review of Melia White House

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington DC
Jul 2, 2010

Excellent Experience

Very pleasant, upscale public areas and very comfortable although small rooms. Staff was very knowledgeable, helpful, and friendly. Location is a bit off the beaten path but convenient to the Underground.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Melia White House

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Grand Rapids, MI
Jun 16, 2010

London Trip

Had a great time on our trip to London. Hotel rooms were very roomy for London and pretty clean. I stayed at another hotel on my last visit to London that was right by Victoria Station and preferred that location for sight seeing but still had a great time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Get discount tickets

Review of Melia White House

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Apr 22, 2009

Wonderful Hotel and Location

I am from Minneapolis, Minnesota, and have never been to Europe before. I have a cousin who has lived in London for almost forty years, and only see her occasionaly at weddings and funerals back home. I met my twenty-one year old daughter at Heathrow airport, and we traveled together to the Melia White House. My daughter is studying in Antibes, near Cannes and Monte Carlo, France, and had visited London and my cousin already. A friend, who is also a AAA travel agent suggested the Melia White House because of its proximity to my cousin's home in Little Venice, and the wonderful access to the Tube...just a block away, and the fact that it is a world class hotel! My daughter and I were there over the G20 conference, and there were press interviews being done at the hotel, but it was hardly noticed because of the expertise of the staff there at the hotel. Breakfasts were wonderful! So much food, and a great reason for getting up and starting the day. The staff, especially the concierges, were so very helpful with directions, cabs, transports and a room upgrade. We were a little cramped in our original room, so we upgraded to the "Level", a larger room and much more liveable for a few days. I have stayed in many hotels accross the US, Mexico, Canada and the Carribbean, and this hotel was surely a treat. I am glad that my friend reccomended it. My only regret as an American, was the lack of wash cloths in the bathroom... apparently Europeans use what we call hand towels in place of wash cloths. We did ask for wash cloths, and immediately received more "hand towels". This was truely a lovely adventure for myself and my daughter, and if I am lucky enough to visit my cousin in London again, I will defineately stay here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top