$271 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 21, 2014 Check-out: Sep 22, 2014

London Marriott Hotel County Hall

5 stars
London County Hall, Westminster Bridge Road, The London Marriott Hotel County Hall,Westmin, London, SE1 7PB
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
35 reviews
Wonderful London Trip

This was the third city we visited in Europe, and this hotel was the best one we stayed in. We were... See full review

  • DJHA
  • Oct 5, 2013
Luxury in central London

We stayed here one night in August for a night of luxury and got exactly that. The building is... See full review

  • kungfulegend
  • Aug 14, 2013
5-star luxury and service overlooking Big Ben and the River Thames

With breathtaking views overlooking Big Ben and the River Thames, the five-star London Marriott Hotel County Hall pampers travelers with uncompromising elegance and service. Luxurious bedrooms are equipped with every modern amenity and indulgence, including Egyptian cotton linens and luxury down duvets. An indoor pool, full-service spa, 13 meeting rooms and on-site food and drink options make this hotel truly a preferred destination.

Highlights
  • Superb location overlooking the River Thames
  • Luxurious guest rooms featuring Egyptian cotton linens and luxury down duvets
  • Traditional English afternoon tea
Rooms

Luxurious guest rooms of the London Marriott Hotel County Hall have been perfectly appointed, with many offering views of Big Ben and the River Thames. All feature a Marriott bedding package that includes Egyptian cotton linens and luxury down duvets, with other additions that include: marble bathroom, trouser press, coffee and tea making facilities, mini-bar, high-speed Internet (fees apply), work desk, safe, luxury robe and slippers, and complimentary use of the indoor pool and fitness center.

Features

With dramatic views overlooking Big Ben and the River Thames, the London Marriott Hotel County Hall, originally used as a seat of government, is a South Bank gem, a tranquil urban sanctuary that offers a welcoming retreat of elegance that both business and leisure travelers appreciate. 

Rooms have been perfectly appointed with luxurious amenities, boasting a signature Marriott bedding package that includes Egyptian cotton linens and luxury down duvets, an indulgence in line with the hotel's prestigious heritage.

And after a long day of power shopping or corporate wheeling-and-dealing, a curative treatment at the on-site spa, a dip in the indoor pool or brisk workout at the well-equipped fitness center will soothe the senses while reinvigorating body and soul. 

The hotel boasts three lounges and a restaurant, all distinctive venues catering to a variety of tastes and formalities.

Transportation
  • Waterloo tube station (0.2 mi./0.4 km)
  • Westminster tube station (1.4 mi./2.2 km)
  • Heathrow Airport (14.5 mi./23.4 km)
Attractions
  • London Aquarium (0.1 mi./0.1 km)
  • Westminster Abbey (0.4 mi./0.7 km)
  • Trafalgar Square (0.5 mi./0.9 km)
  • Covent Garden (0.8 mi./1.2 km)
  • Buckingham Palace (1 mi./1.6 km)
Business
  • 13 meeting rooms
  • Dedicated event managers
  • Comprehensive business services
  • Audio/visual equipment
  • Wi-Fi (fee applies)

Hotel Map

51.501 -0.1192
Area served
Central London - Covent Garden / Leicester Square
Nearby airports
Heathrow Airport - London, (LHR), 18.00, MI, W; Gatwick Airport - London, (LGW), 30.00, MI, S; London City Airport, (LCY), 3.00, MI, E; London Stansted Airport, (STN), 35.00, MI, N; London Luton Airport, (LTN), 36.00, MI, NW;
Area description
River

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed London Marriott Hotel County Hall also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Steam bath
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub
Trouser press

Nearby points of interest

  • London Aquarium: 0.1 mi
  • Florence Nightingale Museum: 0.2 mi
  • London Eye: 0.2 mi
  • South Bank: 0.2 mi
  • Big Ben: 0.2 mi
  • River Thames: 0.2 mi
  • Palace of Westminster: 0.3 mi
  • Waterloo station: 0.3 mi
  • National Army Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Royal Festival Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Jewel Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Westminster Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Westminster Abbey Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Westminster Dragoons Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Hayward Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • London Aquarium: 0.1 mi
  • Florence Nightingale Museum: 0.2 mi
  • London Eye: 0.2 mi
  • South Bank: 0.2 mi
  • Big Ben: 0.2 mi
  • River Thames: 0.2 mi
  • Palace of Westminster: 0.3 mi
  • Waterloo station: 0.3 mi
  • National Army Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Royal Festival Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Jewel Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Westminster Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Westminster Abbey Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Westminster Dragoons Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Hayward Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Houses of Parliament: 0.4 mi
  • Cabinet War Rooms and Churchill Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Pharmaceutical Society Museum: 0.4 mi
  • London School of Economics: 0.5 mi
  • Port of London: 0.5 mi
  • Benjamin Franklin House: 0.5 mi
  • British Optical Association Museum: 0.5 mi
  • British Music Experience: 0.5 mi
  • St. James's Park: 0.6 mi
  • Imperial War Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Admiralty Arch: 0.6 mi
  • Charing Cross station: 0.6 mi
  • Nelson's Column: 0.6 mi
  • Canada House Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Crime Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Institute of Contemporary Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Trafalgar Square: 0.6 mi
  • Cutty Sark: 0.6 mi
  • St James's Park: 0.6 mi
  • Adelphi Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • National Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Somerset House: 0.7 mi
  • Courtauld Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Westminster: 0.7 mi
  • the Strand: 0.7 mi
  • Transport Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Guards Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Vauxhall: 0.7 mi
  • London South Bank University: 0.7 mi

Dining

Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar (www.gillrays.com)
Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar is located on the River Thames with views of the London Eye and Big Ben. Gillray's Bar has over 70 different types of Gin! You can enjoy locally sourced produce: delicious steak from O'Sheas or try our signature Sherry Trifle.
The Library Lounge for Afternoon Tea & Private events
The Library Lounge is the premier spot near Westminster for afternoon tea. Enjoy a cup whilst you gaze out across the River Thames at sights including the London Eye and Houses of Parliament. Enquire about hosting a private dinner here.
Leader's Bar & Outside Terrace for drinks/snacks/dining
Sip a cocktail or a glass of wine in the traditional Leader's Bar which features terrace seating in the warmer months. A light Bar/Snack menu is offered here or you can enjoy afternoon tea with views of the Courtyard.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (35)

Ratings and reviews for London Marriott Hotel County Hall

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
35 out of 35
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.1

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of London Marriott Hotel County Hall

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mr Wesley
Naples, Italy
Apr 12, 2013

Expected more

For a 5 star hotel we expected rooms more than an average 3 star hotel. Bathrooms were apparently impossible to clean according to the maid sent to the room. "It's always like this" where her exact words. The location was great just expected more on cleanliness side from a 5 star.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of London Marriott Hotel County Hall

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DaveinBoston
Boston, MA, USA
May 22, 2012

4 Nights at Marriot Hotel

Wow, location was awesome, we could walk to some of the biggest atttractions. The view was outstanding if you get a more expensive river view. The room was comfortable but the heating was difficult to adjust and it was a little cold. The only downside was there was not a good place for lunch in the Hotel (there was a place but it was a meeting area as well) and the Dinner restaraunt was pricey. It did not matter much because the Hotel Concierge gave us great dinner reservations nearby on 3/4 nights. All the meals were outstanding, although London food is pricey. The staff could not have been more helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

On the other side of the hotel (opposite side to the river) are some nice Restaurants, including a Mediteranian place. There is also a Starbucks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of London Marriott Hotel County Hall

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, Illinois
Aug 31, 2009

Great location

Everyone at the hotel was friendly and eager to help

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of London Marriott Hotel County Hall

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
VA
Aug 8, 2011

What a view!

Chose with view in mind, while a bit more than we usually pay. There was a problem with cleanliness of items in the room we were originally given, and when brought to their attention they definitely agreed and moved us up to a WONDERFUL (and cleaner) room and better view! They were certainly helpful and willing to make our stay memorable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Best thing we did was to take the double decker bus tour--one stop was right outside the hotel. We were able to hop on wherever we wanted and hop back on later for another location.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of London Marriott Hotel County Hall

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mbmr
Orlando, FL, USA
Dec 31, 2011

Great spot for first time in London

This hotel is in the heart of everything! Great location for easy access to everything London had to offer. The staff was very professinal, friendly, and helpful. The hotel has an amazing fitness center and pool. The only down sides were expensive breakfast and wifi internet access.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of London Marriott Hotel County Hall

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tom from Florida
Naples, FL
Sep 8, 2011

great hotel

We had a great time at this hotel. The concierge we had, Nic, was fabulous. The location is great for easy access to a lot of London attractions and public transportation. We particularly liked the Thames Clipper. the hotel is clean and the staff courteous and prompt. The gym and pool are very good. A couple of downsides are that there are very few restaurants in the area. Also, many of the staff are from other countries and, while they are all friendly and helpful, some of them can't speak English. Overall, would definitely recommend it. Just plan on going across the river or down it a ways to eat (unless you want to eat in the hotel every night).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Plan on travelling a ways to dinner or eating in the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of London Marriott Hotel County Hall

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sprinkler
Lancaster, CA
Apr 11, 2011

Great Location

The Marriott County Hall is located on the bank of the Thames River, at the foot of the Westminster Bridge, next to the London Eye, and across the river from Parliament. It is the former seat of local London government and is within walking distance to most tourist attractions in London. The Hotel building is unique and has actual historical significance. The Westminster Underground station is directly across the bridge. Upon arrival I upgraded my room to a river view and paid extra for access to the Executive Lounge. I found both to be worth my while. The view was wonderful! Out my window I saw Big Ben, the Thames and the London Eye. The room was, clean and generally nice. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was large featuring a tub and shower, and two sinks. There was a large walk in closet. The Executive Lounge offers a complete breakfast as well as afternoon tea and snacks, wine, beer, soft drinks and water throughout the day and evening, all at no extra charge. A computer is available in the lounge to access the internet, also at no charge. The only downside was at times the room became crowded and there was no place to sit, particularly at breakfast. The staff was very attentive. I found the desk personnel and the concierge staff to be extremely helpful. I booked two tours via the concierge and they went off without a hitch. Whenever I approached a staff member I was greeted with a smile and a salutation. Although the staff treated my family and I very well there seemed to be conflict between some staff that played out in public view. For example, while at the Hotel restaurant we saw one waiter argue with another one and he displayed the "reverse peace sign". We also saw other staff members arguing. However, as I said it did not affect us or our service at all. We stayed for a week and overall it was a great experience. It is expensive, but I did choose to add extras to my Hotel stay. London itself is an expensive city to visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

We found the Hotel Restaurant to be outstanding, particularly the beef dishes. Like most hotel restaurants it is not very well attended, but I encourage you to try it. The restaurant is well appointed and every table has a river view. The service is excellent. Downside, the prices are high, but so is almost every other high end London restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of London Marriott Hotel County Hall

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
quiltedblimps
Concord, MA
Dec 20, 2012

walking in london

I had tickets to several events at the south bank center and wanted a place close by. I was safely able to walk to these events as well as the museums on the south bank. I could also walk to waterloo tube station when i needed it. The length of the walk to by room was excessive but it was quiet and had a nice view. The charge for wi fi is excessive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

London Eye, the globe theater, St Paul"s cathedral, the Courthault, the Tate Modern are all in walking distance on a very attractive promenade .

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of London Marriott Hotel County Hall

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Providence, RI
Jun 1, 2011

great location

a great location near Westminster Abbey, Parliament and the London Eye. The staff was extremely wonderful in helping us get from place to place

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of London Marriott Hotel County Hall

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Alexandria, VA
Oct 26, 2010

Exceptional property in a great location

We were very pleased with this elegant hotel. The location is ideal for touring, the hotel is very well maintained, and the staff were all excellent. We will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a row of shops and eating places right across the street. The food was good at all of the places we ate at, and, for London, the prices were reasonable. There is a great French bakery/coffee shop on the ground floor (outside entrance; not affiliated with the hotel) that is not to be missed.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search