$155 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 21, 2015 Check-out: Jun 22, 2015

Lancaster London

4 stars
View map of Lancaster Terrace, Lancaster Gate London, London, W2 2TY

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Lancaster London

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
100 out of 100
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Lancaster London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JPCH
Business
Perpignan, France
Jan 6, 2012

A very nice location for ageing people

We enjoyed a relatively roomy room and a nice bathroom. The staff was friendly, but unfortunately we were woken during the first night by a housekeeper who apologized : he had mistaken the room number … The restaurant was all right but there wasn't a big choice for lunch or dinner in the area of the hotel. We had breakfast in Island Grill. The standard continental breakfast was really cheap.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The menu à la carte is quite good and not very expensive. But you must have dinner before 7 pm, afterwards the restaurant is closed.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lancaster London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PTG127
Business
Cheshire, CT, USA
Jan 2, 2012

Great Hotel away from the hustle and bustle

We just returned from our trip to London and the Lancaster London did not disappoint. LOCATION: While it is away from many of the sights in the center of London, the Lancaster Gate tube stop below the hotel made getting to any part of London easily accessible. The hotel sits across the street from Hyde Park and Kensington Gardens which was definitely worth a stroll. ROOM: We had a room on a lower floor which we were told was not part of their recent refurbishment. That being said, the room was updated, clean, and very comfortable. Very nice size by London standards. MISCELLANEOUS: -15 minutes of free internet at the Business Center was a nice amenity to stay connected. - the elevators took FOREVER to stop at our floor (3rd) in the morning. Had no problem taking the stairs but they were difficult to navigate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lancaster London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jmac513
Business
Phoenix, AZ, USA
Dec 14, 2011

Girlfriends first visit

I've been to London over a forty times, and this was the first staying at the Lancaster. I took my girlfriend for her first trip out of the US. Overall we liked the Lancaster, except for the lack of free Wifi (considering how much the room cost), the bed was very hard (after further inspection it was two single beds put together to make a "king"), and the tub was dangerous getting in and out (non-skid strips would be advisable in the tub). The amenities were fine, but you have to pay for ice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Bathhurst Deli less than 100 yds/meters walk straight across from the front door serves a great English Breakfast for half the cost as the hotel. Sandwiches were very reasonable and tasty.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lancaster London

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nebt
Business
New York, NY, USA
Dec 8, 2011

Lancaster London

The room mini bar refrigerator was broken and they said they would fix it, but never did. Concierge gave us wrong information about events like changing of the guard. We went there and he had the days wrong. Concierge was not helpful in securing tickets to plays. We asked him to check when we arrived if tickets were available for any nights for our stay,but he only checked for that day we asked. They said they would check again, but we never heard from them again, so I doubt they did. They wanted about $30 dollar per ticket service charge for tickets to another play that we finally were able to get easily ourselves.We booked a tour but had to pay cash because they wouldn't charge it to the room and their credit card machine was broken. The room was clean, but they didn't always replenish used coffee or all the towels, but did clean daily. Nice room and bathroom overall. There was easy access to the Underground and Paddington Station. Not much of interest in terms of shops or restaurants near the hotel. Nice neighborhood overall. The staff was generally very pleasant and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lancaster London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
oskie2
Business
maine
Dec 1, 2011

beatiful view of park

Enjoyed all aspects of hotel, particularly view and ease of transportation. Business center is generous with computer access. Early check in appreciated as was late check out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lancaster London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
American Daughter
Business
Indianapolis, IN, USA
Nov 28, 2011

Mother/Daughter Trip

This hotel was a perfect choice for 2 people. We were able to sleep in seperate single beds and the room was a decent size. It is directly located above the Lancaster Gate tube station, so about a 30 second walk to transportation. Hyde park is directly across the street and it is convienently located next to several transit options. The hotel is actually very busy and seemed well occupied. The lobby/bar area is well priced and very nice with lots of people around. The food in the hotel was also very good. I was extremely happy with the hotel and would stay there again. My only complaint was the internet. It was 17.00 a day or 15 min free in the business center with other additional charges for minutes beyond that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the Hyde Park Christmas festival, it is a great entertainment option with something to do for every member of the family.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lancaster London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Natasha in London
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Nov 27, 2011

My favorite place to stay in London

I've stayed here several times.The staff is very polite and helpful. (They got me a phone charger at one am when mine failed, and totally kept me from disaster). Rooms are quite nicely sized for London, the beds are large and comfy, I love the robes and slippers, tea and biscuits in the room, and the great view. It's on a few steps from the tube at Lancaster Gate, and I always feel safe traipsing in and out late at night. The area is quiet, right against Hyde Park. I'll keep coming back to them, again and again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lancaster London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
L. A. couple
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Oct 22, 2011

London holiday

Perfect location. Parking 35 pounds a day. Concierge knew about location of tube, but absolutely nothing about London and the sights. The staff was unprofessional for what was supposed to be an upscale hotel. The room was fine and clean. The carpet and furniture had seen better days ten years ago. The location was right by Hyde Park which is very hard to find. Would return for that reason alone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lancaster London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
central NY
Business
Rochester, NY, USA
Oct 15, 2011

great location near tubes and walking distance to Paddington

Staff helpful, Location near tubes. Shopping not close.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Tubes can get you anywhere in the city.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lancaster London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A. K.
Business
New York City, NY
Oct 11, 2011

A good value for the money

Its location on Bayswater Road just across from the Lancaster Gate of Hyde Park is very convenient. An easy walk (10 mins.) to Paddington Station. And good bus service right on Bayswater Road which runs into Oxford Street with easy transfer points if needed. All the staff with one exception were extremely helpful and pleasant. It has a very good restaurant, "Island," with good service and tasty food. Excellent for breakfast. They have a lounge in which they serve Afternoon Tea and another restaurant, "Nipa." I did not try either of these. I would stay there again. There were many families and a lot of Americans staying there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy an Oyster Card before going to London so that you can ride the buses without digging for the right change. Even the natives use them. Made getting about very easy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top