$92 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 6, 2015 Check-out: May 7, 2015

Kensington Rooms London

3 stars
View map of 131-137 Cromwell Road,, Kensington, London, SW7 4DU

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
38 reviews
Excellent location to Olympia convention center

It's a safe, comfortable, and most of all, a very good location to stay for visiting Olympia... See full review

  • Functionally
  • Mar 14, 2015
Great 2 days in London

Our hotl although budget was good. Fab location close to tube. Room 108 actually had a balcony too... See full review

  • Grumorf01
  • Nov 12, 2014
Kensington Rooms Hotel is a contemporary hotel and dynamic events venue all under one roof in the fashionable district of Kensington, London. With its atmospheric interiors, attentive staff and state-of-the-art facilities, everything is in place to meet your needs. Cutting-edge but comfortable, friendly but unfussy, Kensington Rooms Hotel is a dynamic fusion of beautiful original Victorian features with contemporary modern style and design. Relax in the hotel bar, enjoy a smooth cocktail whilst sinking into innovatively designed furniture. Kensington Rooms is an ideal venue for a whole host of events from product launches, brainstorming sessions, training courses, cocktail and dinner parties. A range of event spaces are available, all with natural daylight and air conditioning ensuring that delegates remain comfortable throughout the entire day. Come and stay in one of the most popular hotels in Kensington and enjoy a feeling of lightness and calm in one of the 88 stylish bedrooms. The hotel is only a five minute walk from the Earls Court Exhibition Centre and a twenty minute walk from Harrods and shopping in Knights-bridge. The hotel also specializes in conferences, events and weddings at the stylish Kensington hotel. Contemporary furniture, soft leather, young wines, moody music, French limestone floors, discreet staff, sculptural relief, moving images, energetic art and lavish lighting. Welcome to the contemporary Kensington hotel and dynamic events venue all under one roof. With its atmospheric interiors, attentive staff and state-of-the-art facilities, everything is in place at Kensington Rooms to meet your needs. Cutting-edge but comfortable, friendly but unfussy, Kensington Rooms is a dynamic fusion of beautiful original Victorian features with contemporary modern style and design. Relax in the hotel bar, enjoy a smooth cocktail whilst sinking into innovatively designed furniture. Kensington Rooms is an ideal venue for a whole host of events from product launches, brainstorming sessions, training courses, cocktail and dinner parties. A range of event spaces are available, all with natural daylight and air conditioning ensuring that delegates remain comfortable throughout the entire day. The latest audio-visual equipment is available at the hotel including video conferencing facilities.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Kensington Rooms London also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Kensington Rooms London Rooms

Superior Triple Room
Large modern rooms with a king size bed and a single sofa-bed. Comfortably Sleeps 3 adults or 2 adults and 1 child. En Suite, luxury duvets and bedding, television, tea and coffee making facilities, direct dial phone, hair dryer and hotel bathroom amenities.
Standard Single Room
En suite room with single bed, luxury duvets and bedding, television, tea and coffee making facilities, direct dial phone, hair dryer and hotel bathroom amenities. Functional and ideal for the lone traveller, the standard single offers the added advantage of coming at a budget price with no compromise on quality.
Deluxe Double/Twin Room
Spacious with an air of luxury, our superior rooms offer style and comfort. Modern and alluring, relax, unwind and enjoy your stay. En suite room with a king bed, luxury duvets and bedding, television, tea and coffee making facilities, direct dial phone, hair dryer and hotel bathroom amenities.
Standard Double/Twin Room
Comfortable and intimate, our standard double/twin are great-value rooms with functional layout and high-quality contemporary interiors. En suite, with a king bed, the room can be made into a comfortable twin. Luxury duvets and bedding, television, tea and coffee making facilities, direct dial phone, hair dryer and hotel bathroom amenities.
Superior Family Room
Spacious and airy, the superior family room offers an opportunity to business visitors, and holidaying families to be in tastefully arranged space with a king double and a double sofa bed. Rooms have couches and are perfect for 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children. En suite luxury bathroom, luxury duvets and bedding, Flat Screen and DVD player television, tea and coffee making facilities, safe direct dial phone, hair dryer and hotel bathroom amenities.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Gloucester Road: 0 mi
  • Baden-Powell House Exhibition: 0.2 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Imperial College London: 0.4 mi
  • Science Museum London: 0.4 mi
  • Royal College of Music Archives and Museum of Instruments: 0.4 mi
  • National Art Library: 0.5 mi
  • Victoria and Albert Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Royal Albert Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Albert Memorial : 0.6 mi
  • High Street Kensington: 0.6 mi
  • Polish Institute and Sikorski Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Kensington Palace: 0.6 mi
  • Earls Court Exhibition Centre: 0.7 mi
  • King's Road: 0.8 mi
  • Gloucester Road: 0 mi
  • Baden-Powell House Exhibition: 0.2 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Imperial College London: 0.4 mi
  • Science Museum London: 0.4 mi
  • Royal College of Music Archives and Museum of Instruments: 0.4 mi
  • National Art Library: 0.5 mi
  • Victoria and Albert Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Royal Albert Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Albert Memorial : 0.6 mi
  • High Street Kensington: 0.6 mi
  • Polish Institute and Sikorski Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Kensington Palace: 0.6 mi
  • Earls Court Exhibition Centre: 0.7 mi
  • King's Road: 0.8 mi
  • Royal Institute of British Architects Collections: 0.8 mi
  • Kensington Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • Harrods: 0.9 mi
  • Knightsbridge: 0.9 mi
  • Stamford Bridge: 1 mi
  • Saatchi Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Cadogan Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Sloane Square: 1.1 mi
  • Couper Collection: 1.1 mi
  • Lancaster Gate: 1.2 mi
  • Royal Hospital Chelsea Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Queensway: 1.3 mi
  • Whiteleys Shopping Centre : 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Park Corner: 1.4 mi
  • City of Westminster: 1.4 mi
  • Wellington Arch: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Park: 1.5 mi
  • Park Lane: 1.6 mi
  • Victoria Place Shopping Centre : 1.6 mi
  • St. Ann's Shopping Centre : 1.6 mi
  • Paddington Station: 1.6 mi
  • Marble Arch: 1.6 mi
  • Royal Mews: 1.7 mi
  • Victoria station: 1.7 mi
  • Victoria Palace Theatre: 1.8 mi
  • Broadway Shopping Centre : 1.8 mi
  • Buckingham Palace: 1.8 mi
  • Green Park: 1.8 mi
  • Selfridges: 1.9 mi
  • Notting Hill: 1.9 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Kensington Rooms is an ideal venue for a whole host of events from product launches, brainstorming sessions, training courses, cocktail and dinner parties. A range of event spaces are available, all with natural daylight and air conditioning ensuring that delegates remain comfortable throughout the entire day. The latest audio-visual equipment is available at the hotel including video conferencing facilities.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Kensington Rooms London

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
38 out of 38
Amenities:
2.5
Cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.1
Comfort:
2.8
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.1

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kensington Rooms London

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Andy
Business
Coventry
May 17, 2012

poor quality

First impressions were OK and room looked stylish. However things went wrong early on. The TV had three channels, one of which was in black and white, despite the fact the system was digital with a freeview box somewhere. The TV switcher was connected to the bedside table by a cord - making customers feel they are treated as potential thieves. In the bathroom, the shower head was not connected up, and the shampoo/shower gel dispenser was located as far away from the shower and the sink as was humanely possible (ie in the opposite corner of the room!). The lift was out of order for 2 of the 3 days. Basically we had a very poor experience and will not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Thai Taste across the road was great. The Italian immediately opposite is poor and expensive

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kensington Rooms London

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jessica the Nomad
Business
Boston, MA
May 31, 2012

Not Impressed

I guess with this hotel you get what you pay for. I used to live in London and knew the area well, was trying to find something reasonably priced. There is no air conditioning, just walking up the stairs it was sweltering. The window only opened an inch, no curtains so we woke up to sun in our faces and the broken blinds had about an inch of dust on them permanently opened, they would not close. If I were staying more than a night I would have switched hotels, would not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kensington Rooms London

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Gregory Business Traveler
Business
Denver
Sep 19, 2012

Noise, no air, 2 star hotel advertised as 4 star

Hotel advertised as 4 stars, but no ware close. Check in to a dingy poorly maintained room with no air conditioning and very loud busy street. Over 80 degrees in room with window open. Hotel staff’s only assistance was directions to a convenience store for ear plugs. Front desk clerk finally apologized, but said nothing could be done because they were over booked. Would be impossible to sleep there, had to leave hotel and pay through the nose for an actual 4 star hotel. Hotel later charged for 3 nights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kensington Rooms London

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Peter D
Business
Bracknell
Apr 29, 2013

DON'T DO IT

This simply has to be the worst hotel that we have stayed in. The bedroom was very small the room that apparently was the en suite was no bigger than the size of a three seater sofa. You cannot get around it you can't sit down properly the sink is in the way the shower is a very small and you can't bend over in it either. The staff were not helpful and full of bad colds. The taxi that the hotel booked for us fleeced us in the fair. Our destination was only less that 2mile away and her tried to get £22 for the longer route that he said wasrequired because of heavy traffic. The bblack cab on the way back even after midnight was only just over £10. I would not recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kensington Rooms London

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
moma roper
Business
Thousand oaks
Jul 8, 2014

Are you kidding!

The hotel had overbooked and made my family wait until almost 11 pm for their rooms. They would have left, but they could not get a hold of me. A month in advance, we had booked 2 rooms that were suppose to have queen size beds? When my family got two rooms. One was a queen size, the other a single. At least the booking site did right by my family and reimbursed us. It still did not take away from their bad experience. Shame on this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kensington Rooms London

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
travels frequently 101
Business
australia
Jul 19, 2014

horrible

no air-conditioning; one window which opened directly onto an exhaust from the kitchen in a light-well; towels stained and scary; avoid this hotel at all costs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kensington Rooms London

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
T and K 253
Business
Tacoma, WA, USA
Aug 23, 2014

a bed to sleep in; nothing else

while the price was ok for the location, the hotel was lacking in too many areas for me to consider staying again. the rooms were extremely loud: the walls very thin, and the windows provided zero insulation to the very busy and loud street outside. also, while the cleaning staff did make up our room when we needed it to be, they kept knocking even when we had the "dont disturd" sign on the door handle. the maintenance staff also came to our room saying that they needed to replace the batteries in the fire alarm at that very moment and that they couldnt do it at a later time --like when we werent actually in the room-- so my wife and i awkwardly layed they on the bed while they went about their business. all in all, it was a dingy and loud place with awkward staff. they also required us to leave a £50 security deposit in cash even though we ready fully paid using a credit card online. needless to say, we will not even be staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kensington Rooms London

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
AD73
Business
Oregon, US
Apr 12, 2014

"good location, poor room, mediocre staff"

When I arrived at the hotel I was greeted by a surly man, who never welcomed me or smiled my whole trip. Most of the staff were rather cold and unwelcoming. The room was tiny, with barely enough space to get around the bed. The traffic noise from the window was loud, as were the people in the next room (who were often right outside my window, due to a shared balcony). The shower was functional, but small and, due to an inward folding door, I had to get into it when it was cold and wait for it to get hot. The carpets, tiles etc. were in a general state of disrepair. Next time I will book at the Holiday Inn, which is a block away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kensington Rooms London

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Rob the Yank
Business
Melbourne
Sep 17, 2012

Basic, cheap room

There are 18 rooms on each floor (that's a bit of a misnomer - my room was on the half floor between levels 2 and 3, which led to some humorous banter with other patrons about looking for John Malcovitch#. My room certainly didn't look anything like the photographs. The room was small, plain and unventilated #which was a problem the first two days when it was hot). Access was by a lift and two staircases - not good for someone who has any accessability issues. The bedding was past its "use by" date by a substantial margin. The bath was...compact...about what I had on the A380 I flew in on the way to London, with the addition of a shower stall too small to bend over in (which led to a few comical moments of trying to pick up soap with my feet). On the good side, the staff was generally friendly and helpful, the breakfast competant and reasonably priced (although no variety) and the location was quite good. Good value for the low price - but select this one only if you aren't planning on spending anything but sleeping time in your room. But four stars...not for my room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kensington Rooms London

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SVRC
Business
Florida
Dec 17, 2013

Nothing as promised except the price

Advertised free wi-fi; just didn't tell you it is only available in the lobby. Advertised a bar and restaurant; was told it was under renovation, but I could find no location for either one within the hotel so I do not think they have one at all. Allowed me to select a smoking room, again not true. I had many other choices and would have choose differently if I knew it was false advertising.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top