$70 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 4, 2014

Kensington Rooms London

3 stars
131-137 Cromwell Road,, Kensington, London, SW7 4DU
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
35 reviews
Best hotel. Excellent location for a very good price.

I would recommend this place. The rooms were very nice and clean. I wish there were more amenities See full review

  • TyraLA
  • May 15, 2014
Very nice stay!

We stayed for 3 nights and enjoyed our stay here. The location was great in a nice area of... See full review

  • KH21
  • Apr 8, 2014
Kensington Rooms Hotel is a contemporary hotel and dynamic events venue all under one roof in the fashionable district of Kensington, London. With its atmospheric interiors, attentive staff and state-of-the-art facilities, everything is in place to meet your needs. Cutting-edge but comfortable, friendly but unfussy, Kensington Rooms Hotel is a dynamic fusion of beautiful original Victorian features with contemporary modern style and design. Relax in the hotel bar, enjoy a smooth cocktail whilst sinking into innovatively designed furniture. Kensington Rooms is an ideal venue for a whole host of events from product launches, brainstorming sessions, training courses, cocktail and dinner parties. A range of event spaces are available, all with natural daylight and air conditioning ensuring that delegates remain comfortable throughout the entire day. Come and stay in one of the most popular hotels in Kensington and enjoy a feeling of lightness and calm in one of the 88 stylish bedrooms. The hotel is only a five minute walk from the Earls Court Exhibition Centre and a twenty minute walk from Harrods and shopping in Knights-bridge. The hotel also specializes in conferences, events and weddings at the stylish Kensington hotel. Contemporary furniture, soft leather, young wines, moody music, French limestone floors, discreet staff, sculptural relief, moving images, energetic art and lavish lighting. Welcome to the contemporary Kensington hotel and dynamic events venue all under one roof. With its atmospheric interiors, attentive staff and state-of-the-art facilities, everything is in place at Kensington Rooms to meet your needs. Cutting-edge but comfortable, friendly but unfussy, Kensington Rooms is a dynamic fusion of beautiful original Victorian features with contemporary modern style and design. Relax in the hotel bar, enjoy a smooth cocktail whilst sinking into innovatively designed furniture. Kensington Rooms is an ideal venue for a whole host of events from product launches, brainstorming sessions, training courses, cocktail and dinner parties. A range of event spaces are available, all with natural daylight and air conditioning ensuring that delegates remain comfortable throughout the entire day. The latest audio-visual equipment is available at the hotel including video conferencing facilities.

Hotel Map

51.495 -0.1832
Area served
Kensington and Gloucester Road.
Nearby airports
London Heathrow Airport.
Area description
Kensington Rooms Hotel can be found just west of the vibrant shops, restaurants and bars of Knightsbridge, in London's fashionable district of Kensington. Located within a short walk of Gloucester Road Tube Station (Piccadilly, District and Circle lines),this popular Kensington Hotel is ideally placed with good transport links to all major airports and transport interchanges. Metered parking is available near the entrance to the hotel.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Kensington Rooms London also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Kensington Rooms London Rooms

Superior Triple Room
Large modern rooms with a king size bed and a single sofa-bed. Comfortably Sleeps 3 adults or 2 adults and 1 child. En Suite, luxury duvets and bedding, television, tea and coffee making facilities, direct dial phone, hair dryer and hotel bathroom amenities.
Standard Single Room
En suite room with single bed, luxury duvets and bedding, television, tea and coffee making facilities, direct dial phone, hair dryer and hotel bathroom amenities. Functional and ideal for the lone traveller, the standard single offers the added advantage of coming at a budget price with no compromise on quality.
Deluxe Double/Twin Room
Spacious with an air of luxury, our superior rooms offer style and comfort. Modern and alluring, relax, unwind and enjoy your stay. En suite room with a king bed, luxury duvets and bedding, television, tea and coffee making facilities, direct dial phone, hair dryer and hotel bathroom amenities.
Standard Double/Twin Room
Comfortable and intimate, our standard double/twin are great-value rooms with functional layout and high-quality contemporary interiors. En suite, with a king bed, the room can be made into a comfortable twin. Luxury duvets and bedding, television, tea and coffee making facilities, direct dial phone, hair dryer and hotel bathroom amenities.
Superior Family Room
Spacious and airy, the superior family room offers an opportunity to business visitors, and holidaying families to be in tastefully arranged space with a king double and a double sofa bed. Rooms have couches and are perfect for 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children. En suite luxury bathroom, luxury duvets and bedding, Flat Screen and DVD player television, tea and coffee making facilities, safe direct dial phone, hair dryer and hotel bathroom amenities.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Gloucester Road: 0 mi
  • Baden-Powell House Exhibition: 0.2 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Imperial College London: 0.4 mi
  • Science Museum London: 0.4 mi
  • Royal College of Music Archives and Museum of Instruments: 0.4 mi
  • National Art Library: 0.5 mi
  • Victoria and Albert Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Royal Albert Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Albert Memorial : 0.6 mi
  • High Street Kensington: 0.6 mi
  • Polish Institute and Sikorski Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Kensington Palace: 0.6 mi
  • Earls Court Exhibition Centre: 0.7 mi
  • King's Road: 0.8 mi
  • Gloucester Road: 0 mi
  • Baden-Powell House Exhibition: 0.2 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Imperial College London: 0.4 mi
  • Science Museum London: 0.4 mi
  • Royal College of Music Archives and Museum of Instruments: 0.4 mi
  • National Art Library: 0.5 mi
  • Victoria and Albert Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Royal Albert Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Albert Memorial : 0.6 mi
  • High Street Kensington: 0.6 mi
  • Polish Institute and Sikorski Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Kensington Palace: 0.6 mi
  • Earls Court Exhibition Centre: 0.7 mi
  • King's Road: 0.8 mi
  • Royal Institute of British Architects Collections: 0.8 mi
  • Kensington Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • Harrods: 0.9 mi
  • Knightsbridge: 0.9 mi
  • Chelsea: 1 mi
  • Stamford Bridge: 1 mi
  • Saatchi Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Cadogan Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Sloane Square: 1.1 mi
  • Couper Collection: 1.1 mi
  • Lancaster Gate: 1.2 mi
  • Royal Hospital Chelsea Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Queensway: 1.3 mi
  • Whiteleys Shopping Centre : 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Park Corner: 1.4 mi
  • City of Westminster: 1.4 mi
  • Wellington Arch: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Park: 1.5 mi
  • Park Lane: 1.6 mi
  • Victoria Place Shopping Centre : 1.6 mi
  • St. Ann's Shopping Centre : 1.6 mi
  • Paddington Station: 1.6 mi
  • Marble Arch: 1.6 mi
  • Royal Mews: 1.7 mi
  • Victoria station: 1.7 mi
  • Victoria Palace Theatre: 1.8 mi
  • Broadway Shopping Centre : 1.8 mi
  • Buckingham Palace: 1.8 mi
  • Green Park: 1.8 mi
  • Selfridges: 1.9 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Kensington Rooms is an ideal venue for a whole host of events from product launches, brainstorming sessions, training courses, cocktail and dinner parties. A range of event spaces are available, all with natural daylight and air conditioning ensuring that delegates remain comfortable throughout the entire day. The latest audio-visual equipment is available at the hotel including video conferencing facilities.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (35)

Ratings and reviews for Kensington Rooms London

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
35 out of 35
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2.7
Location:
4.1
Value:
2.9

57% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kensington Rooms London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kevkev
HK
Feb 27, 2013

only 2 block from tube

good & nice location, safe! close to natural history museum, V & A, Harrods....walking distance!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Kensington Rooms London

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveller Cho
Montreal, Canada
Feb 24, 2013

A fair stay

We spent 7 nights here in Feb 2013 and the experience is pretty good for the money spent. 24-hour and friendly staffs, room size is pretty big for UK standard, and the proximity to the tube is a plus. From Heathrow to hotel no need to change tube, and the tube goes right to the Vitoria and other riverside tourist sights. Cons: floor is too creaky, the walls are thin (luckily we didn't have noisy neighbour), doors are heavy and hard to close, free wi-fi is available only in the lobby, and breakfast is not included. But all in all for the price we pay and the good night sleeps we have I surely recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Kensington Rooms London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
charlN'sid
swansea, wales.
Feb 17, 2013

Great value!

Perfect location, Gloucester Rd tube just around the corner. Sainsbury's opposite for any bits you may need and a couple of restaurants too. The room we stayed in was plenty for us not huge amounts of space, but for two nights it wasn't necessary and we weren't spending much time in the room. Would definitely stay here again and recommend it to friends!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Kensington Rooms London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
remysaissy
Business
Paris,France
Nov 15, 2012

Great Hotel

It was great! the only missing thing was free wifi in the room. Instead, I had to go downstairs to get it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Kensington Rooms London

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Maul
Paris, France
Oct 17, 2012

It was OK but ...

The room was fine. BUT .... don't pay attention to the talks of the neighbours in the corridor AND don't be a rugby-player if you want to move in the bathroom. Overall it is convenient if you need to be in this area of London, and that's why I COULD (not I would) consider recommending this hotel to a friend..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Kensington Rooms London

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Gregory Business Traveler
Business
Denver
Sep 19, 2012

Noise, no air, 2 star hotel advertised as 4 star

Hotel advertised as 4 stars, but no ware close. Check in to a dingy poorly maintained room with no air conditioning and very loud busy street. Over 80 degrees in room with window open. Hotel staff’s only assistance was directions to a convenience store for ear plugs. Front desk clerk finally apologized, but said nothing could be done because they were over booked. Would be impossible to sleep there, had to leave hotel and pay through the nose for an actual 4 star hotel. Hotel later charged for 3 nights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Kensington Rooms London

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Rob the Yank
Business
Melbourne
Sep 17, 2012

Basic, cheap room

There are 18 rooms on each floor (that's a bit of a misnomer - my room was on the half floor between levels 2 and 3, which led to some humorous banter with other patrons about looking for John Malcovitch#. My room certainly didn't look anything like the photographs. The room was small, plain and unventilated #which was a problem the first two days when it was hot). Access was by a lift and two staircases - not good for someone who has any accessability issues. The bedding was past its "use by" date by a substantial margin. The bath was...compact...about what I had on the A380 I flew in on the way to London, with the addition of a shower stall too small to bend over in (which led to a few comical moments of trying to pick up soap with my feet). On the good side, the staff was generally friendly and helpful, the breakfast competant and reasonably priced (although no variety) and the location was quite good. Good value for the low price - but select this one only if you aren't planning on spending anything but sleeping time in your room. But four stars...not for my room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Kensington Rooms London

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
pricelece84
hayward, ca
Aug 15, 2012

Worked for us!

So, we were there during the Olympics, I am not sure what the normal rates are, but for the rate, the value was so, so. It was a maze to get to our room - literally walking up and down stairs and many 5+ hallways and fire doors. We are mobile and young so for us this was not a problem. The closest Tube/Underground station was Glochester Road which was about .25 miles or a 3 minute walk away. You can buy breakfast for between 5 and 7 Pounds, the internet is only free downstairs, but it is high speed. Internet in the room will cost you 9 pounds per day. Bathroom was my least favorite with the window not opening (but when you do usually get a window in a hotel bathroom anyway?), and the tub/shower being tricky and a balance act to get in and out of - - little scary. Bed was OK. There were ample outlets - you will need UK adapters! The location was safe and convenient with a small market, tour bus company and restaurants and tube very nearby. Overall, a good stay. Staff is also helpful and accomadating to special requests when you are nice :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Stonhenge and other tours company across the street, friendly and affordable : )

Review of Kensington Rooms London

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Skyfall 2012
Finland
Jul 8, 2012

Good basic hotel

The room was clean and total experience was ok. Everything went smoothly. We can recommend this hotel if you don't need anything special but only good basic accommodation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Kensington Rooms London

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jessica the Nomad
Boston, MA
May 31, 2012

Not Impressed

I guess with this hotel you get what you pay for. I used to live in London and knew the area well, was trying to find something reasonably priced. There is no air conditioning, just walking up the stairs it was sweltering. The window only opened an inch, no curtains so we woke up to sun in our faces and the broken blinds had about an inch of dust on them permanently opened, they would not close. If I were staying more than a night I would have switched hotels, would not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top

Change search