$81 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 6, 2015 Check-out: May 7, 2015

Hyde Park Suites

4 stars
View map of 55 Inverness Terrace, London, W2 3JN

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hyde Park Suites

Overall score

2.6 / 5
5.01.0
50 out of 50
Amenities:
2.8
Cleanliness:
2.8
Hotel staff:
2.8
Comfort:
2.7
Location:
4.1
Value:
2.9

56% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hyde Park Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami, Florida USA
Dec 22, 2009

Hyde Park Suites

The hotel is very well located, close access to transportation; so we could go to see all the interest places in London. The staff was very nice the room was clean. But the bed, after a whole day out walking, was horrible, the bed was very low, and the mattress was unconfortable. I had stayed in several hotels around the world and this is the first time I stayed in a room with such a bad matrress.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyde Park Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
I<3Traveling
Business
Seattle, WA
Nov 29, 2009

Definitely not what I was expecting!

I really should have read the reviews of the hotel before jumping at such a cheap rental price.. I mean, I should have known... You get what you pay for!!! The staff was not very friendly during our check in, and wasn't at the desk 24/7 which made checking out at 0730 in the morning to catch a 1000 flight a little hard..... Upon our arrival we finally found reception and then had to turn around, walk about 20 meters down the street to find our hotel room, only to find it was on the 6th floor -- AND THERE WERE NO ELEVATORS! The rooms are VERY small, the bathroom is about the size of my hallway closet, and the walls are paper thin so you can hear any and everything going on in the building around you. There are no cleaning services during your stay, so the towels you get when you arrive are the towels you will still have 3 or 4 days later. Really, the only added bonus that I can think of is you're located right next to a Tube station and a Starbucks.. So long as you plan to be out and about most of your stay and only need accomodations for a place to sleep at night, then and ONLY THEN would I recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Black Lion, right down the street on the corner from the Tube station served great bar food and quite a cheap pint! I fell in love with the overall atmosphere there! 123 Bayswater Rd. London W2 3JH

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyde Park Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Youk
Nov 19, 2009

Hyde Park Suites Stay

Staff not available at certain hours. Noise in my suite when staff was not available. Hotel was close to ground transportation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyde Park Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Loves London
Business
Seattle, WA
Nov 4, 2009

Not the best place to stay

The flat was a decent size but had many issues. The front door looked like it had been previously kicked open. The door didn't hang straight and it drug along the floor, one lock didn't quite work because part of the door jamb was missing. Both windows had locks that didn't match up, therefore the locks didn't work. I asked the staff about it and I got the response of "So? You're on the top floor." One lock had been fixed the next day. The laundry facilities were dirty and consisted of one washer and one dryer. I had to haul my laundry up and down the seven flights of narrow stairs (no lift) several times because the washer was always being used. The building is surrounded by hostels, which meant a lot of people outside drinking and being loud all night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyde Park Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
carboots
Business
County Down, Northern Ireland
Sep 14, 2009

Basement Suite

The basement was basic but recently decorated, the bed was very comfortable, towels,bedding,and kitchen utensils were very clean, alough a fan was provided we found the suite very hot and sticky, steps leading down to basement were a bit tricky.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walking distance to underground, excellent location for concerts in Hyde Park.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyde Park Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jonnyenglish69
Business
Miami, FL
Jul 24, 2009

Good location

Great location - 2 mins from Bayswater tube. Convenient for Oxford St, West End, Soho etc. The studio was fairly clean and well furbished. No real information for tourists, you have to do your own research ahead of time. My appartement was in the basement so couldn't get wireless signal, but plenty of coffee shops and restaurants on Queensway, one block over.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Just head to the end of street where Kensington Gardens are - you can walk through the park as well - Oxford St is about a 15 min walk

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyde Park Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Flagstaff, AZ
Jul 2, 2009

AVOID.....

Overall this place is poorly managed.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The only nice thing I can say, it's located in an area for access to public transportation....

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyde Park Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
unhappy andy
Business
New York City
Jun 29, 2009

mixed bag

lets see - where to start. First, we arrived at 1030 pm. We had previously made arrangements for late check in - an additional 30 pounds per the hotel (ridiculous), but when the 6 of us arrived with 10 bags, there was no one at the hotel office. There was a note on the door telling us who to call for late check in - but we had no phone that would work in England. Eventually, we went to another hotel and borrowed their phone to call. The person who came gave us room keys, but did not show us to our rooms which were in a different building and we did not know which floors-so first we had to search the building to find our rooms - on two separate floors. We had ordered and paid for two triple deluxe suites, but we were given one triple and one double. There was only one double bed in each room. One room had a pullout couch, the other a fold up cot. Not what I would call triple deluxe. Eventually, the hotel gave us a discount of 30% on one of the rooms and gave us a third room for 6 of the 9 nights of our stay. The air conditioner did not work in either room, the shower head fell of when adjusted in one room, there was only one room key per room so when we accidentally locked ourselves out, it was difficult to get back in, since the front desk is not manned after 10 pm or before 9 am. The TV had satellite cable, but each room had different settings. It was difficult to find a useful channel. The beds were not comfortable. One good comment - the rooms were recently renovated, so everything was reasonably fresh. The kitchen was also a plus, so we could east at least one or two meals a day in. One final comment - there is only one room cleaning for the 9 days of our stay. This is too infrequent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyde Park Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Muzh
Business
Memphis,TN
Jun 24, 2009

Great location near the tube & the park

Great Location especially if you have kids. Tow tube line within a short stroll.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyde Park Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Jun 24, 2009

All considered we had a great stay here!

First the fleeting, unpleasant aspects to this stay followed by our glowing endorsement for the place once all was said and done: On arrival the hotel staff claimed we had cancelled our reservation (NOT! --despite an Orbitz email hotel confirmation the day before we left the US for the UK) which made our intital contact, after being awake for 24 hours, way more surreal than we wanted! After checking with Orbitz the hotel staff agreed that we were in fact reserved. Unfortunately we couldn't actually get into the room for another two hours so we wandered dazed about the expansive and very beautiful Hyde park until 2 PM. When we at last picked up the key, another guest was in the office complaining about two strange men coming into her room at midnight the night before. We were thinking, "What have we done?!?" However, once we were in our cozy (we say "cozy" you might say "small" if you are expecting daily maid service and everything else to be Americanized and supersized), comfortable room we had NO significant issues or surprises the balance of our stay. The bed was very comfortable, we loved the kitchenette and the convenience and economy of not having to eat out all the time, the room had been recently renovated and quite serviceable with ensuite WC, lavatory and shower, and we only had one morning without very hot water(on the weekend when the place was full.) There are two handy tube stations within two blocks on Queensway, as well as several grocery stores (the best being Marks & Spencer in the Whiteley shopping center), a chemist, and several decent restuarants nearby. The fact that our room was a block away from the office and up several flights of stairs on the third floor was welcome to us as we are active 50 something adults and enjoy the exercise and as a bonus effectively eliminated most hallway noise one would ordinarily be subjected to. Despite our initial impression we found this place to be exactly what we were looking for in lodging in London.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Several grocery stores a couple of blocks away (to supply your kitchenette) and outstanding Chinese food at the Royal China Restaurant,

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top