$171 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 27, 2014 Check-out: Apr 30, 2014

Hotel Verta

5 stars
Bridges Court Road, Battersea, London, SW11 3RS
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
43 reviews
Mature couple visit

The postal code does not validate the satnav location, so it took some time to find the hotel.... See full review

  • Peter D.
  • Feb 10, 2014
Boomerang!

I keep coming back to the Verta because the rooms are great, the gym is always quiet and you can... See full review

  • Fellrunner
  • Jan 31, 2014
Hotel Verta, an exclusive 5 star hotel located on the south side of the River Thames at London's Vertical Gateway: The London Heliport, Battersea. Hotel Verta is the first integrated hotel heliport solution in Europe. The sequence of the suites with infinity baths overlooking the Thames and highly designed rooms, two level subterranean SPA Verta (must be over 18 to use the Spa), Our restaurant has the most exclusive view to spot who is coming in to the capital and Ambrosia Bar where Champagne is the signature cocktail, sets Hotel Verta apart from any London Hotel. Everything at Hotel Verta, from the unique location on the River Thames, to the stunning architecture and state of the art technology, is there to ensure that guests, whether business or leisure, have their every expectation exceeded. The hotel's design, inspired by the Halcyon days of aviation, combines timeless elegance with modernity. The hotel lobby is a striking double height atrium with a signature sweeping staircase up to the mezzanine level. All of the 70 bedrooms, including 4 suites, are furnished in a classically modern style, each with original artwork and the finest bespoke fittings.

Hotel Verta Rooms

Executive River Suites
Plug and play high speed internet access IDD telephone with voice message system. Bedside control panel. Spacious bathroom with separate shower cubicle TV's with news, movie and international channels. Bathroom televisions. Multi channel radio Pioneering mini bar and refrigerator Coffee making facilities. Laptop safe. Hair dryer. Laundry and dry cleaning service. Daily local and international newspapers 24 hour room service. Extensive room service menu. Ergonomic desk chair individual climate control. Desk lamps
River Studio Rooms
Plug and play high speed internet access IDD telephone with voice message system. Bedside control panel. Spacious bathroom with separate shower cubicle TV's with news, movie and international channels. Bathroom televisions. Multi channel radio Pioneering mini bar and refrigerator Coffee making facilities. Laptop safe. Hair dryer. Laundry and dry cleaning service. Daily local and international newspapers 24 hour room service. Extensive room service menu. Ergonomic desk chair individual climate control. Desk lamps
City View Rooms
Plug and play high speed internet access IDD telephone with voice message system. Bedside control panel. Spacious bathroom with separate shower cubicle TV's with news, movie and international channels. Bathroom televisions. Multi channel radio Pioneering mini bar and refrigerator Coffee making facilities. Laptop safe. Hair dryer. Laundry and dry cleaning service. Daily local and international newspapers 24 hour room service. Extensive room service menu. Ergonomic desk chair individual climate control. Desk lamps
River View Rooms
Plug and play high speed internet access IDD telephone with voice message system. Bedside control panel. Spacious bathroom with separate shower cubicle TV's with news, movie and international channels. Bathroom televisions. Multi channel radio Pioneering mini bar and refrigerator Coffee making facilities. Laptop safe. Hair dryer. Laundry and dry cleaning service. Daily local and international newspapers 24 hour room service. Extensive room service menu. Ergonomic desk chair individual climate control. Desk lamps
Executive Rooms with City View
Plug and play high speed internet access IDD telephone with voice message system. Bedside control panel. Spacious bathroom with separate shower cubicle TV's with news, movie and international channels. Bathroom televisions. Multi channel radio Pioneering mini bar and refrigerator Coffee making facilities. Laptop safe. Hair dryer. Laundry and dry cleaning service. Daily local and international newspapers 24 hour room service. Extensive room service menu. Ergonomic desk chair individual climate control. Desk lamps

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Verta also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 5.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

51.4699 -0.1787
Area served
Clapham Junction
Nearby airports
London Heliport London Heathrow London Gatwick London City
Area description
Adjacent to The London Heliport and in close proximity to Europe's Busiest Passenger Rail Station, Clapham Junction. Situated on all major bus routes in and out of the city and within a 5 miles drive from the M4

Nearby points of interest

  • Couper Collection: 0.9 mi
  • Stamford Bridge: 1 mi
  • West Ham United Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Wandsworth: 1.2 mi
  • Southside Shopping Centre : 1.2 mi
  • King's Road: 1.3 mi
  • Royal Institute of British Architects Collections: 1.3 mi
  • Royal Hospital Chelsea Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Chelsea: 1.6 mi
  • Earls Court Exhibition Centre: 1.6 mi
  • British Red Cross Museum and Archives: 1.6 mi
  • Saatchi Gallery: 1.7 mi
  • Battersea Power Station: 1.7 mi
  • Gloucester Road: 1.8 mi
  • Baden-Powell House Exhibition: 1.8 mi
  • Couper Collection: 0.9 mi
  • Stamford Bridge: 1 mi
  • West Ham United Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Wandsworth: 1.2 mi
  • Southside Shopping Centre : 1.2 mi
  • King's Road: 1.3 mi
  • Royal Institute of British Architects Collections: 1.3 mi
  • Royal Hospital Chelsea Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Chelsea: 1.6 mi
  • Earls Court Exhibition Centre: 1.6 mi
  • British Red Cross Museum and Archives: 1.6 mi
  • Saatchi Gallery: 1.7 mi
  • Battersea Power Station: 1.7 mi
  • Gloucester Road: 1.8 mi
  • Baden-Powell House Exhibition: 1.8 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 1.8 mi
  • Sloane Square: 1.8 mi
  • National Art Library: 1.9 mi
  • Victoria and Albert Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Cadogan Hall: 1.9 mi
  • Science Museum London: 1.9 mi
  • Imperial College London: 2 mi
  • Royal College of Music Archives and Museum of Instruments: 2.1 mi
  • Pimlico: 2.1 mi
  • Knightsbridge: 2.1 mi
  • Harrods: 2.2 mi
  • Royal Albert Hall: 2.2 mi
  • Polish Institute and Sikorski Museum: 2.2 mi
  • Victoria Place Shopping Centre : 2.2 mi
  • St. Ann's Shopping Centre : 2.2 mi
  • Albert Memorial : 2.3 mi
  • High Street Kensington: 2.3 mi
  • Victoria station: 2.4 mi
  • Kensington Palace: 2.4 mi
  • Kennington: 2.5 mi
  • Lambeth Palace: 2.5 mi
  • Royal Mews: 2.5 mi
  • Victoria Palace Theatre: 2.5 mi
  • London Sewing Machine Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Broadway Shopping Centre : 2.5 mi
  • Hyde Park Corner: 2.5 mi
  • Vauxhall Bridge: 2.5 mi
  • Wellington Arch: 2.6 mi
  • Kensington Gardens: 2.6 mi
  • Cardinal Place : 2.6 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Business Centre Fully equipped business centre; 7 meeting rooms 2 work stations with broadband internet access Secretarial services Dedicated Business and Events Level Comprehensive business centre offers 7 private meeting rooms are available with cutting edge technology and equipment Secretarial support Courier services Video conferencing Conference calling Conference caf High speed internet access

Dining

Restaurant
Our Restaurant has the most exclusive view to spot who is coming in to the capital and Ambrosia Bar where Champagne is the signature cocktail, sets Hotel Verta apart from any London Hotel
Ambrosia Bar and Lounge
The Ambrosia Bar and lounge on the mezzanine level is a glamorous, contemporary bar: perfect for meeting friends and family for afternoon tea, informal meetings, or after work drinks. As dusk falls, Champagne is the signature drink and guests can dine on tapas and tasty platters whilst admiring the view. Ambrosia provides glamour, style, views and atmosphere, which together with great food, drink and company, makes it the ultimate London lounge bar.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (43)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Verta

Overall score

4.3 / 5
43 out of 43
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
3.3
Value:
4.3

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Verta

Reviewer score

5
Ritzyish
SLC, Ut
Dec 31, 2012

Lovely stay in London

Great service, yummy breakfast. A little out of the way but there's a bus stop right outside or you can take the shuttle to Sloane Square.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Verta

Reviewer score

5
Peter D.
Portugal
Feb 10, 2014

Mature couple visit

The postal code does not validate the satnav location, so it took some time to find the hotel. Rather use local transport - Clapham Junction train station is nearest to the hotel. Upon arrival, the room smelled of smoke but we were too tired to complain. The next morning, the manager was very apologetic and upgraded us to a penthouse room, which was fantastic and spacious with the most beautiful views. The hotel has all the 5 star amenities and qualities any visitor would want. Breakfast satisfies all tastes, including hot buffet dishes, and Dinner at the Chinese Restaurant onsite is tops and recommendable. If you have time, go for long walks along the riverside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The hotel offers a shuttle service to and from airports. Rather use this service than rent a car as location is difficult to find and parking is expensive. Otherwise use public transport but make sure you know where the nearest stops are.

Review of Hotel Verta

Reviewer score

5
Fellrunner
Business
UK
Jan 31, 2014

Boomerang!

I keep coming back to the Verta because the rooms are great, the gym is always quiet and you can enjoy a drink or meal with great views over the Thames. I always find the staff helpful and fiendly too. Just wish the shuttle service went to Clapham junction too, and not just Sloane Square - but this is a minor point.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Verta

Reviewer score

5
Agistri Debs
Agistri Island, Greece
Dec 14, 2013

A Wonderful Experience!

I've stayed in 5* hotels before but this was exceptional. The staff were so friendly and helpful, the room was stunning and the under floor heating in the bathroom was a huge bonus, in fact the whole design was magnificent. The location right next to London Heliport was quite exciting and of course it had a lovely view over the Thames. There's no shops or restaurants nearby but you can either take the shuttle into Sloane Square or get the bus to Clapham Junction for shopping and restaurants on Lavendar Hill. When we returned to the hotel in the evening the curtains in the room had been drawn, the bed turned down and a tray of tea and cookies left by the bed. As for the breakfast buffet, it was huge, you couldn't wish for more and we'll definitely be returning!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Even if you're not staying in the hotel it's well worth a visit to eat there (you can sit in the Ambrosia and watch the helicopters come and go) and if you look around on the internet you will probably find a good deal for the room or discount vouchers for food!

Review of Hotel Verta

Reviewer score

4
Choosy traveller
Manchester
Dec 13, 2013

Short break

The location is a challenge as to go into the city and back more than once a day is not really practical. But the hotel is very good,the breakfast was excellent.the standards are excellent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Verta

Reviewer score

4
Impred
Business
Cheltenham
Dec 13, 2013

Fantastic hotel

Fantastic hotel with superb room and top of the range bathroom. Very quiet with two sets of windows to keep the noise out. The bed was very comfortable although short in depth, sleep slightly sideways resolves this. Strange location in a small industrial area next to the river and next to the heli pad which you do not hear! Will definately be staying here again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Verta

Reviewer score

5
Kate and Mac
Wiltshire
Dec 13, 2013

Lovely hotel with laid back vibe

We had a very nice room with a view of the river. It was spotless and was well equipped and it had a very comfortable bed and pillows with nice linen. The staff were friendly and efficient. Clapham junction is about a 10-15 minute walk away but the position of the hotel on the riverside is great and more than makes up for any minor inconvenience in getting there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Verta

Reviewer score

3
Will I Am
Business
Leeds
Nov 28, 2013

Great Hotel spoilt for me by WiFi rip off prices

A lovely room with a great view but had two flaws for me, 1) It's too far from central London and not particularly close to a tube station - A Taxi costing £14 each way. The hotel does have a shuttle bus service but not very frequent. 2) WIFi - The hotel on its web site says that Wifi is complimentary. When I was prompted to pay £16 for a day I was told that if you had booked on the internet then Wifi was extra. Shame as such a small thing spoilt my stay and I felt ripped off when in fact the hotel price and quality were great. Credit to the hotel though when I complained they gave me an hour free - thank you for that!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Plan the Hotel shuttle service as it is infrequent and gets full

Review of Hotel Verta

Reviewer score

2
EarlofWarwick
Warwick UK
Nov 20, 2013

Poorly trained unmotivated staff

30 minutes to check in - only 5 people in queue. Breakfast experience very poor - no eye contact from staff - nobody clearing tables - nobody seems to want to help. It was as though the managers and supervisors were away for the weekend so the staff thought that they would take the weekend off as well. Room was great - very comfortable - very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Hotel Verta

Reviewer score

3
Popple
London
Nov 18, 2013

A one night stay

I was pleased to get a deal at this hotel for a one night stay but glad that it was not any longer as I did encounter a few problems. Good points include the reception staff and the spa which had really good facilities. Both saunas were lovely. I slept well, I was very comfortable due to the good bed, choice of pillows and the temperature of the room which was easy to control. There was a bath with shower over it and a TV in the bathroom, but unfortunately that didn't work. There was no booklet with information about the hotel in the room, the breakfast times etc, or how to use any of the technology. There were booklets about room service and the spa. When I came back from the spa my safe was open and I was unable to lock it - pressing reset and lock just brought up the word open. I called reception and they send someone up who was able to sort that but said he would have to check downstairs about the TV - I never heard back about that. The next day after breakfast I came back to find my door was not locked properly - I thought it must have been me but looking at reviews it looks as though the key must have been deactivated like other people found. I went to the safe and that was open again with the same problem. I mentioned the safe problem at check out because I was not happy that the door and safe were both open during my time at breakfast. I assumed at that point the open door was my fault. A £25 hold was put on my debit card as I arrived even though I knew I would not use the mini bar. I accepted this was usual practice but having noticed that the hold was still on today, I rang to find that it could take 3 more days for this to be lifted. I find this astonishing. I would not rule out visiting the hotel again but it would have to be a good price for me to want to stay there

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Verta

Reviewer score

5
Barbara lopez
Llandudno
Nov 17, 2013

Cannot change anything

We needed to go to London on the 10th November to make Leo´s first passport in the Spanish embassy. Travel was stressful with a 3 month baby in a not baby-friendly London. However everything changed when we arrived at the hotel, a nice smile from the concierge invited us to relax and enjoy every minute of our stay. I cannot thank enough how welcome you made us feel after being so stressed... Impeccable and beautiful room. Beautiful Chinese dinner served to our room as well. Shame we could not have a chance to use the spa. I strongly recommend this hotel, I worked for many luxury hotels and this would not disappoint you. Many thanks again to the staff you were fab.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Shuttle minivan to sloane square was very useful!

Back to menu Return to top