$105 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 26, 2014

Holiday Inn Express LONDON - CITY

3 stars
275 OLD STREET, LONDON, EC1V 9LN
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
7 reviews
Friday - Tuesday Stay

Very close to the "tube" with a good neighborhood. We were there over the weekend and yes there are... See full review

  • ChrisAZ
  • Jun 25, 2013
A good location

A good location if you are on the go and need to quickly get to the underground. The underground is... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Aug 7, 2007
Book the Holiday Inn Express London-City hotel, set in an area buzzing with nightlife, a short stroll from the City. Step directly from bustling Old Street into Holiday Inn Express London-City's bright and welcoming lobby. We're right on the doorstep of Hoxton Square 's cutting-edge bars and nightclubs, with colourful Brick Lane a 10-minute walk away. Old Street Tube station is 2 minutes' walk from hotel and Liverpool Street station , which connects to London Stansted Airport , is a 10-minute walk. Take a taxi to London Heathrow Airport in 45 minutes. Holiday Inn Express London-City is a quick stroll from Bishopsgate and Finsbury Square's businesses and local offices. Host training days in our 5 air-conditioned meeting rooms and ask our friendly staff to arrange catering. You can link to wireless Internet throughout hotel. Hop on nearby number 8 bus to reach world-class Oxford Street shopping in 20 minutes. Spitalfields Market , packed with boutiques and stalls, is 10 minutes' walk and Tate Modern gallery is 15 minutes by Tube. Catch concerts at Barbican Arts Centre, a 10-minute stroll from the hotel. Holiday Inn Express London-City 's smart Great Room is the ideal spot for your complimentary buffet breakfast and hearty evening meals like fish and chips. Settle into leather chairs and banquettes in our lobby bar to catch the latest big-screen sport action.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Golf
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Maid service
In-Room Safe
FAX
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
White board
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
DVD player
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Temperature control

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Express LONDON - CITY also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

51.5267 -0.0832
Nearby airports
London City, (LCY), 7.10, MI, SE; Stansted, (LST), 33.50, MI, NE; London Heathrow, (LHR), 19.20, MI, W;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Barbican: 0.2 mi
  • Shoreditch: 0.3 mi
  • Broadgate Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Barbican Art Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Guildhall School of Music and Drama: 0.6 mi
  • Liverpool Street Station: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Immigration and Diversity: 0.7 mi
  • Trinity College of Music: 0.7 mi
  • Royal Fusiliers Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Tower 42: 0.8 mi
  • Museum of London: 0.8 mi
  • Clockmakers' Museum: 0.8 mi
  • City University London: 0.8 mi
  • Women's Library: 0.9 mi
  • Museum of London Docklands: 0.9 mi
  • Barbican: 0.2 mi
  • Shoreditch: 0.3 mi
  • Broadgate Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Barbican Art Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Guildhall School of Music and Drama: 0.6 mi
  • Liverpool Street Station: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Immigration and Diversity: 0.7 mi
  • Trinity College of Music: 0.7 mi
  • Royal Fusiliers Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Tower 42: 0.8 mi
  • Museum of London: 0.8 mi
  • Clockmakers' Museum: 0.8 mi
  • City University London: 0.8 mi
  • Women's Library: 0.9 mi
  • Museum of London Docklands: 0.9 mi
  • the Gherkin: 0.9 mi
  • Museum of the Order of St John: 0.9 mi
  • Bank of England: 0.9 mi
  • Royal Exchange: 0.9 mi
  • St Bartholomew's Hospital Museum: 1 mi
  • Sadler's Wells Theatre: 1 mi
  • Whitechapel Gallery: 1 mi
  • Farringdon: 1 mi
  • Clerkenwell: 1 mi
  • Islington Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Old Bailey: 1.1 mi
  • St. Pauls Cathedral: 1.1 mi
  • Aldgate: 1.2 mi
  • Royal London Hospital Archives and Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Tower Hill: 1.2 mi
  • Fleet Street: 1.3 mi
  • British Postal Museum and Archive: 1.3 mi
  • Museum of Childhood: 1.3 mi
  • Millennium Bridge: 1.3 mi
  • Tower of London: 1.3 mi
  • HMS Belfast: 1.4 mi
  • Clink Prison Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Tower Bridge: 1.4 mi
  • Winston Churchill's Britain At War Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Southwark Cathedral: 1.5 mi
  • Kenwood House: 1.5 mi
  • Charles Dickens Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Rose Theatre Exhibition: 1.5 mi
  • London Dungeon: 1.5 mi
  • Tate Modern: 1.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (7)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express LONDON - CITY

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
7 out of 7
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
2.4
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.4

57% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express LONDON - CITY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jay spell
Houston
Sep 19, 2013

Unprofessional

The front desk employees were not friendly or helpful. Upon arrival, the lady that checked us in was not friendly at all. She was not helpful with instructions on parking and charged us $30. pound per night to park our car. Day 2 the elevator broke and was down for a day and a half. Day 3 was raining and I asked the front desk for advice on eating around the area to avoid the rain and they told me to order a pizza that they did not know about restaurants in the area. Day 4 while eating eggs for the 4th day in a row, the breakfast room attendant fussed at me for the way I was using the touch screen coffee maker, I didn't place my cup correctly and a little coffee spilled.... She made a big deal about it and called over another attendant and showed her. I complained to the manager and he just apologized.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Use the Tube (subway) in London to travel

Review of Holiday Inn Express LONDON - CITY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ChrisAZ
Phoenix, Arizona
Jun 25, 2013

Friday - Tuesday Stay

Very close to the "tube" with a good neighborhood. We were there over the weekend and yes there are clubs/pubs near but it was not a problem, with double windows very little sound. The hotel seems to be a popular tourist hotel there was even a large tour group. Breakfast was fantastic with all the English classics (sausage, beans, eggs, toast" and plenty of fruit juice, cereal & milk, croissants, yogurt, fruit and a coffee machine that would make you whatever you wanted. The free continental breakfast was excellent the dining area was very clean and very well stocked with two full time staff. The staff were helpful in helping to navigate the city and the rooms were clean and modern. The shower was spacious but no counter space. NO temperature control in the room so we were sometimes slightly warm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The free continental breakfast with well worth the slightly higher price of the room. It will save you loads of time and money. & Don't pay for internet nearly every pub/coffee shop/restaurant in London has free WiFi.

Review of Holiday Inn Express LONDON - CITY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NomadNye
Business
NYC
Nov 5, 2011

Good Deal!

I was on business in London for a week and stayed at the Holiday Inn Express. The rooms were small but clean and comfortable. The breakfast was a very pleasant surprise as well. The staff was helpful and courteous. Additionally the location worked out well. My office is in the financial district and although some of my colleagues mentioned how far away I was, the reality was that it was only an 8-10 min walk to the office which I enjoyed as the weather was nice. I would recommend this hotel for those working in downtown London.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express LONDON - CITY

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sharon
May 25, 2008

Don't exect much

The place is decent and the staff is okay. But I found much better places for only 10 pounds more after the fact.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Nearby pubs

Review of Holiday Inn Express LONDON - CITY

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sharon
May 25, 2008

Don't exect much

The place is decent and the staff is okay. But I found much better places for only 10 pounds more after the fact.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Nearby pubs

Review of Holiday Inn Express LONDON - CITY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Francisco, CA
Aug 7, 2007

A good location

A good location if you are on the go and need to quickly get to the underground. The underground is less than a 2 minute walk away. The hotel staff aren't as professional as what I am used to. It is a bit noisy at night - you can hear the police and ambulance cars drive by and will wake up more than 3 times if you are a light sleeper. Nearby are 2 bars that many young people frequent. The people around the area seem friendly and the location is safe. There are a lot of cheap fast food places to eat at around hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn Express LONDON - CITY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Francisco, CA
Aug 7, 2007

A good location

A good location if you are on the go and need to quickly get to the underground. The underground is less than a 2 minute walk away. The hotel staff aren't as professional as what I am used to. It is a bit noisy at night - you can hear the police and ambulance cars drive by and will wake up more than 3 times if you are a light sleeper. Nearby are 2 bars that many young people frequent. The people around the area seem friendly and the location is safe. There are a lot of cheap fast food places to eat at around hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top