Guilford Hotel

2 stars
6 Guilford Street, Bloomsbury, London, WC1N 1DR
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
1.6
out of 5
5 reviews
Walking in London

Hotel staff not aware of our reservation thru Orbitz. We were told room was not available for all... See full review

  • And M
  • May 25, 2009
Hotel Guilford, Guilford Street, UK

I made my reservations online before I left and requested a late check in as my flight to Heathrow... See full review

  • Mr. Willis
  • Jun 3, 2009
The Guildford Hotel is within walking distance of famous landmarks such as the British Museum, Trafalgar Square and many others. The Guilford House Hotel is a centrally located Bed and Breakfast that is close to public transport and the shops. This warm and friendly hotel is ideal for those wishing to experience London to the full. Whether you choose to come for business or leisure, this hotel is suitable for you. The hotel has a non-smoking policy throughout the hotel. It is located within walking distance of many of London's famous attractions, such as the British Museum, Piccadilly Circus, Leicester Square, Trafalgar Square, the Houses of Parliament, Big Ben, Buckingham Palace and Oxford Street. Breakfast is included.

Hotel Map

51.5242 -0.1163
Area served
Central London.
Nearby airports
Heathrow International Airport.
Area description
The Guildford Hotel is located approximately 10 miles from London's Heathrow and 25 miles from Gatwick Airports and in easy reach via mainline railway. For printed instructions on finding us please use the tool select form below.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Guilford Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.4 out of 5

Guilford Hotel Rooms

Standard Single Room
The room offers 1 single bed with bathroom amenities, Color TV, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Kettle, Non-smoking rooms, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone.
Standard Double Room
The room offers 1 double bed with bathroom amenities, Color TV, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Kettle, Non-smoking rooms, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone.
Standard Triple Room
The room offers 1 double bed and 1 single bed with bathroom amenities, Color TV, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Kettle, Non-smoking rooms, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone.
Standard Quad Room
The room offers 1 double bed and 2 single beds with bathroom amenities, Color TV, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Kettle, Non-smoking rooms, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone.

Amenities

  • WiFi
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Charles Dickens Museum: 0 mi
  • British Postal Museum and Archive: 0.2 mi
  • The Brunswick : 0.4 mi
  • Russell Square: 0.4 mi
  • Clerkenwell: 0.5 mi
  • Sir John Soane's Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Institute of Education: 0.5 mi
  • Kings Cross-St Pancras station: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Museum: 0.5 mi
  • St Pancras railway station: 0.5 mi
  • Farringdon: 0.5 mi
  • School of Oriental and African Studies: 0.6 mi
  • British Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Sadler's Wells Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • British Library: 0.6 mi
  • Charles Dickens Museum: 0 mi
  • British Postal Museum and Archive: 0.2 mi
  • The Brunswick : 0.4 mi
  • Russell Square: 0.4 mi
  • Clerkenwell: 0.5 mi
  • Sir John Soane's Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Institute of Education: 0.5 mi
  • Kings Cross-St Pancras station: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Museum: 0.5 mi
  • St Pancras railway station: 0.5 mi
  • Farringdon: 0.5 mi
  • School of Oriental and African Studies: 0.6 mi
  • British Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Sadler's Wells Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • British Library: 0.6 mi
  • London Astoria: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of the Order of St John: 0.6 mi
  • Birkbeck: 0.6 mi
  • City University London: 0.6 mi
  • Institute of Archaeology Collections: 0.7 mi
  • London Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • London Canal Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Fleet Street: 0.7 mi
  • Petrie Museum of Egyptian Archaeology: 0.7 mi
  • London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine: 0.7 mi
  • Islington Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Dominion Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Twinings Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Aldwych Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Grant Museum of Zoology: 0.8 mi
  • University College London: 0.8 mi
  • Euston: 0.8 mi
  • Thomas Neal Centre : 0.8 mi
  • Temple church: 0.8 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • St Bartholomew's Hospital Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Royal Opera House: 0.8 mi
  • Old Bailey: 0.8 mi
  • University of London: 0.8 mi
  • Old Operating Theatre Museum and Herb Garret: 0.9 mi
  • London Transport Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Transport Museum: 0.9 mi
  • the Strand: 0.9 mi
  • Somerset House: 0.9 mi
  • West End: 0.9 mi

Dining

Restaurant
The hotel has a breakfast room.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1200
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (5)

Ratings and reviews for Guilford Hotel

Overall score

1.6 / 5
5.01.0
5 out of 5
Amenities:
1.2
Room cleanliness:
2.4
Hotel staff:
2.2
Room comfort:
1.4
Location:
3.6
Value:
1.2

40% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Guilford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Not Provided
Jul 13, 2011

Pretty basic, but a good price,

Pretty basic, but a good price, and well located if Bloomsbury is what you want access to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Guilford Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Gene
Business
St Vincent
Oct 5, 2012

I rather sleep on the streets

I'll start by saying that it is not a hotel nor a guest house (as it says on the sign), its a b&b. You have to share the shower with other guests and there was no hot water. The room was very small and basic, with just a loo. There was no factilies to have a hot breakfast, hence the reason why they serve only continental breakfast, the staff was off hand and rude. The worst part of this is that you could pay a extra £7 a night and you could of been in a proper hotel nearby, like travelodge, premier inn and holiday inn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Guilford Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Gene
Business
St Vincent
Oct 5, 2012

I rather sleep on the streets

I failed to add that the room had no heating, i was on the top floor and there was no lifts and no-one helped with my bags. And the nearby hotels had amenities/facticities including a pool. Your simply paying for the postcode, because if it was anywhere else i would expect the price to be £30 a night including breakfast

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Guilford Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
PAN.POL.
Business
GEROSHIPOU
Sep 14, 2010

NO WAY

we didnt manage to stay into that hotel (Guilford House Hotel). for 100 pounds to stay in the basement (hole) NO WAY, even that we offered a room to the upper floor. we walk down to the main road (southampton row)we found the Imperial Hotel, and with the same amount of money we got a proper room and much more services

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Guilford Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mr. Willis
Business
Champaign, IL.
Jun 3, 2009

Hotel Guilford, Guilford Street, UK

I made my reservations online before I left and requested a late check in as my flight to Heathrow arrived at 10:45 pm. When I arrived at the Hotel Guilford, with my Orbitz print out and confirmation number I was told by staff that I didn't have a reservation. They had no rooms. It was after 1 AM GMT and I was in the middle of an unfamiliar country with no hotel room. I tried to contact Orbitz and was unable to while abroad in the UK. My wife in the states was able to talk to several Orbitz staffers and try to rectify this. In the meantime the hotel Guilford sent me to the Somerset Hotel for the same rate. I studied the location of Hotel Guilford and picked that location based on it proximity to several sites I wished to see. The Somerset Hotel only had a room available on the 4th floor, and no elevator (lift). I carried my own bags to the top floor only to find out that my room key didn't work, then I carried my bags back to the front desk, and the attendant walked with me back to the 4th floor to only proclain that the door was busted and I wouldn't be able to get in until later in the morning. It was then 2 AM GMT. I was finally given a room on the first floor and the deadbold didn't work, the window didn't lock. I continued to work with orbitz staff to rectify this dilema. The next day I was sent back to the Guilford and given an tiny, tiny room in the basement. the TV didn't work properly, the shower and the toilet were in the same area. It was like a mobile home portable shower. But at least the door locked. The sound of traffic out my window was very unnerving. I was totally unsatisfied with the service and will never stay at either hotel again. My faith in Orbitz has been rocked and I may never use this service again either. This was the WORST way to start an adventure in a new country. Good thing they spoke English.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Pick the Holiday in which is right down the street and much nicer.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Guilford Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
And M
Business
Phoenix, AZ
May 25, 2009

Walking in London

Hotel staff not aware of our reservation thru Orbitz. We were told room was not available for all four nights but they fixed it. I suppose you get what you pay for. Peace of mind, mostly. Could've probably done as well (location or price) if we'd flown in without reservations & looked on our own because there are plenty of small hotels like this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Use public transportation. My son & I are in good shape but after walking to the Tower or War Museum and back we were mentally & physically tired. We walked into parts of London where in an earlier age we would've been left as rotting carcasses after a minute or two. On the other hand, when we saw an interesting place we could check it out.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top