$134 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Grange Holborn

5 stars
View map of 50-60 Southampton Row, London, WC1B 4AR

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grange Holborn

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
41 out of 41
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grange Holborn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston, TX
Jul 28, 2011

Excellent hotel experience

My room was one of the large ones (two Queen-sized beds, sitting area). It was great! The staff were friendly and helpful. The concierge service was not quite as helpful as some London hotels, but it was adequate. I loved the location, close to Covent Garden, the West End, and the City. I loved having a sushi restaurant onsite. So far, this has been the best hotel experience I've had in London. Wonderful gym and indoor pool as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Before buying tube tickets for the day, find out if where you want to go is just as easily reached on foot from the hotel's location. I found I only needed tube tickets for 4 out of the 10 days I was there. Also, grab some nonperishable snacks and drinks from a nearby Sainsbury's and save on eating out.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grange Holborn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
May 23, 2010

Young, exciting neighborhood

The hotel was in an awesome city. It's a university area, so there are affordable restaurants and bars around. A great area for 20 & 30-somethings. The service at the hotel was phenomenal. It's a nice place. I'd definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grange Holborn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
fgarza
Business
Syracuse,indiana
May 17, 2010

Grange Holborn stay

The stay was very memorable in a good way,the rooms were clean but it was a little dated.I expected a newer updated furniture and bathroom,but that wasn't a deal breaker it was all in good working conditions and very clean.I was in London for business/vacation and we were rarely in the room,because we were out and about.The tube was very convienant for travel,everything was within minutes.I would recommend the Grange Holborn to anyone without hesistation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

for dinning out the restuarants were very close.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grange Holborn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jan 14, 2010

Avoid

Was in London visiting friends for a long weekend. The room was not ready way past check-in time. They said it would take 10 minutes; an hour later I still didn't have my room. Finally got to it and it was freezing. No heat in the hallways and disabled in the room at first. After a few hours of heating (you can barely talk when the heat is on it's so loud) it got too hot and dry. Turning down the heat only made it cold again - no middle ground. Room furnishings were scarce. The bed was a drop down murphy bed covered in dust and the linens seemed quite aged. overall, not a great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grange Holborn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
schoterson
Business
Los Altos, CA
Dec 2, 2009

Great Rooms cost a lot in London

We decided to splurge for the 2nd half of our trip, and the Holborn didn't dissapoint. The room was large, the bed was comfortable. The shower was big enough and the towels were plush. The location is superb, a block from the Holborn tube station and a matter of steps from the bus lines. There is some great restaurants up the street on Southhampton Row which are open late. Our only beef with the hotel was its lack of free or even reasonably priced internet. And the remote control for the very nice LCD TV was garbage. I'd recommend this hotel because of its rooms, service, and location. Some of the smaller things get lost like internet, but perhaps they expect guests not to care if they are already spending $300 a night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Get an Oyster card at any Tube station. They are pay as you go, and if you don't use up all the credit you get a refund when you turn it in. It allows you to travel on the tube (subway) and the buses, and it ensures you only pay the max amount each day (7.5 british pounds) which would be the same as a travel card, but you can save more by traveling off-peak hours or walking around.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grange Holborn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
GILBERT , AZ
Nov 25, 2009

london trip

THIS HOTEL WAS EMACULATE. I would always stay at the Grange Holborn on a visit to london. get the oyster cards and the grange is a 40 min tube ride from heathrow.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grange Holborn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LoveLondon
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Nov 10, 2009

Clean, with fine amenities.

We stayed at the Holborn for a two week trip to London. The Holborn was one of the few hotels in London that had two double beds in one room. Overall, the rooms were very nice and clean. The traffic outside the hotel was quite noisy and was a little disturbing during the stay. The hotel is very close and convenient to the Holborn tube station. I wouldn't recommend if you want to step out your front door into the action of London.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grange Holborn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LoveLondon
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Aug 26, 2009

London

We stayed at the Grange Holborn for two weeks during our stay in London. The rooms were clean and large by European standards. The hotel is convenient to the Tube.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grange Holborn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Victoria,SF
Business
San Francisco,CA
Aug 8, 2009

Very nice hotel, big rooms, clean

Great hotel, 3 min from TUBE station, within working distance to big attractions. On the way back took Tube all the way to the Heathrow Airport (45 min $4.00 p/p and no change of line). Rooms very spacious and clean. We had great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grange Holborn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
tel aviv
Aug 7, 2009

it was perfect vocation

after reading reviews we had some concerns about the hotel.. but the hotel was really fine may be he was not 5 star but at list 4+..rooms was big(20sqm)clean and well equipment. the pool was great kids love it we didnt hear any noice at 8 floor and the staff was great we didnt have breakfast at hotel for 20 who need it if they are a lot of places around for 7??

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grange Holborn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Aug 3, 2009

Great hotel!!

Staff were top notch! Location good with nearby Tube and Bus stops.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top