$131 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 12, 2015 Check-out: Apr 13, 2015

Grange Holborn

5 stars
View map of 50-60 Southampton Row, London, WC1B 4AR

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grange Holborn

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
35 out of 35
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.8

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grange Holborn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston, TX
Jul 28, 2011

Excellent hotel experience

My room was one of the large ones (two Queen-sized beds, sitting area). It was great! The staff were friendly and helpful. The concierge service was not quite as helpful as some London hotels, but it was adequate. I loved the location, close to Covent Garden, the West End, and the City. I loved having a sushi restaurant onsite. So far, this has been the best hotel experience I've had in London. Wonderful gym and indoor pool as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Before buying tube tickets for the day, find out if where you want to go is just as easily reached on foot from the hotel's location. I found I only needed tube tickets for 4 out of the 10 days I was there. Also, grab some nonperishable snacks and drinks from a nearby Sainsbury's and save on eating out.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grange Holborn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nu Flow
Business
San Diego, CA, USA
Sep 17, 2013

Great place

Love the location, easy to walk to many attractions and restaurants. The staff eas very helpful and cheerful. Would go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grange Holborn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Climberwannabe
Business
Boston, MA
Jul 25, 2013

Great London Experience

The service was terrific and the concierge very helpful. Though room size was not big, it was more than adequate and we (2 people) did not feel cramped at all. Conveniently located, it was about 2 blocks from the British Museum, about 2 blocks from the Holborn Underground station and about 4 blocks from a stop for the London bus tours. They also offer a shuttle service to the airport that cost us less than the express train would have cost. We were only there 2 nights, but thoroughly enjoyed the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grange Holborn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bob Thompson
Business
Glenside, Pennsylvania
Aug 18, 2012

Excellent Hotel

Wonderful staff, pleasant and helpful. Good location near the British Museum a short walk from Trafalgar Square and westminster. Very comfortable rooms. Perfect place to stay. Stayed tghere last year, hope to do so again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Get the map at the hotel with the coupons for excellent dinning places.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grange Holborn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
china
Aug 1, 2011

Soso

Staff level so good!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grange Holborn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Jul 28, 2011

Excellent hotel experience

My room was one of the large ones (two Queen-sized beds, sitting area). It was great! The staff were friendly and helpful. The concierge service was not quite as helpful as some London hotels, but it was adequate. I loved the location, close to Covent Garden, the West End, and the City. I loved having a sushi restaurant onsite. So far, this has been the best hotel experience I've had in London. Wonderful gym and indoor pool as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Before buying tube tickets for the day, find out if where you want to go is just as easily reached on foot from the hotel's location. I found I only needed tube tickets for 4 out of the 10 days I was there. Also, grab some nonperishable snacks and drinks from a nearby Sainsbury's and save on eating out.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grange Holborn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
West Chester, PA
Jun 30, 2011

Great value and a nice, pleasant hotel

Everthing was very nice. Clean, well appointed, new furniture, nice electronics, friendly and helpful staff. We really liked the lobby bar area and had a drink there every afternoon. Very reasonably priced for such a nice place. The hotel is only a block away from Holborn tube station. There are many nice cafes in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Shakespeare Pub next to Holborn tube station is a family friendly and very reasonably priced pub. We had breakfast and supper there. Both were quick and good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grange Holborn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
the comfortable one
Business
nicosia
Jun 29, 2011

very good hotel with excellent location

Three persons were booked but all the room accessories towels etc were for two. Although check in time was at 13.00 they told us the room will be ready in two hrs but when we checked out at 11.55 they wanted to charge late check out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Very good priced shops near the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grange Holborn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Glenside PA
May 26, 2011

Large Rooms, Friendly Staff

Great location near the British Museum, and an easy walk to Leiscester Squrae, Traflagar Square and Westminster. Third trip to LOnson in htree years-all have been excellent and memorable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get the London Pass-we have saved a bundle compared to single price entry-plus fast track entry included at most places.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grange Holborn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
erdis
Business
Siracusa Utaly
Jan 1, 2011

bad experience

Very bad experience at reception. [...]. On our arrival it seems very complicated to obtain two rooms in the some floor. The hotel is dirty and the service very bad. [...] I will avoid any Grange Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grange Holborn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
US
Dec 7, 2010

Definitely not a 4-star

Tired drapes and comforter, dirty carpeting in the halls, and a missed wake up call will send me looking for another hotel the next time I'm in London

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top