$40 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 29, 2015 Check-out: Mar 30, 2015

Generator Hostel London

3 stars
View map of 37 Tavistock Place, Rusell Square, London, WC 1H 9SE

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
17 reviews
best ever hostel to date

im from dublin city in ireland and have stayed in the two generation hostels now and the one in... See full review

  • smicksworld
  • Dec 2, 2014
Inexpensive stay in London.

Great location. Most people staying there are young adults. The music in the bar goes till 3am. You... See full review

  • Let me be Frank with you.
  • Jul 3, 2012
The Generator hostel offers a unique experience, and has established itself as the place to stay in London for young visitors. There are four public areas: Fuel stop (Self service breakfast and dinner), Chill out lounge (with sofas, movies and inter-net terminals), Turbine 1 (eating area with pool tables) and then there is the Famous Generator Bar, open from 6pm till 2am. A travel shop is also available every day for theatre tickets, travel passes, tourist information and most travel essentials. All bedrooms are basic with bunk beds and a wash basin. All rooms have shared facilities in the communal area and showers and toilets are available on every floor. Towels not included in rate, we recommend guests bring their own or if preferred these can be purchased for a small fee at the in house travel shop. Sport / Entertainment: The bar is open every day from 6pm 2am and has a team that run nightly events each night from Quizzes to Karaoke. Cheap drinks and lots of fun guaranteed. Also movies shown every day in the chill out lounge from 4pm. A Free Tour of London is available for all guests !!! Every day of the year! Guests can store their bags in a luggage room, prices start from GBP 2.00 for a small locker for 6 hours up to GBP 6.00 for a large locker for 24 hours. A large locker can store a 50 Litres ruck sack.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Generator Hostel London also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Generator Hostel London Rooms

Single / Twin Room
This private room has 2 single bunk beds with lockers and a table and chair. Room can be used for single or twin occupancy. Shared bathroom facilities on every floor in the communal area.
Triple Room
Private triple room with 3 bunk beds and shared bathroom amenities in the communal area.
Quad Room
Private quad room can accomodate 4 guests in 4 bunk beds with lockers, shared bathroom facilities available in the communal area.
Dormitory Room For 6
You are booking for one bed in a six-bed mixed dormitory which includes your own locker, if you book for eight people you are not guaranteed the same dormitory room, therefore please book two private quad rooms.Under 18s are not permitted to stay in shared dormitories.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • The Brunswick : 0.1 mi
  • Institute of Education: 0.2 mi
  • Russell Square: 0.3 mi
  • British Library: 0.3 mi
  • Institute of Archaeology Collections: 0.3 mi
  • St Pancras railway station: 0.3 mi
  • School of Oriental and African Studies: 0.3 mi
  • Kings Cross-St Pancras station: 0.3 mi
  • Birkbeck: 0.3 mi
  • Petrie Museum of Egyptian Archaeology: 0.4 mi
  • Charles Dickens Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Euston: 0.4 mi
  • Grant Museum of Zoology: 0.4 mi
  • University College London: 0.4 mi
  • British Museum: 0.5 mi
  • The Brunswick : 0.1 mi
  • Institute of Education: 0.2 mi
  • Russell Square: 0.3 mi
  • British Library: 0.3 mi
  • Institute of Archaeology Collections: 0.3 mi
  • St Pancras railway station: 0.3 mi
  • School of Oriental and African Studies: 0.3 mi
  • Kings Cross-St Pancras station: 0.3 mi
  • Birkbeck: 0.3 mi
  • Petrie Museum of Egyptian Archaeology: 0.4 mi
  • Charles Dickens Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Euston: 0.4 mi
  • Grant Museum of Zoology: 0.4 mi
  • University College London: 0.4 mi
  • British Museum: 0.5 mi
  • University of London: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Museum: 0.5 mi
  • British Postal Museum and Archive: 0.6 mi
  • London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine: 0.6 mi
  • London Canal Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Dominion Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Sir John Soane's Museum: 0.7 mi
  • London Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Fitzrovia: 0.7 mi
  • Clerkenwell: 0.8 mi
  • Soho: 0.8 mi
  • Royal Opera House: 0.8 mi
  • Thomas Neal Centre : 0.8 mi
  • London Astoria: 0.8 mi
  • Royal College of Physicians Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Sadler's Wells Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • West End: 0.9 mi
  • Aldwych Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Red Mansion Foundation: 0.9 mi
  • Farringdon: 0.9 mi
  • Regents Park: 0.9 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Islington Museum: 0.9 mi
  • London Transport Museum: 1 mi
  • Old Operating Theatre Museum and Herb Garret: 1 mi
  • University of Westminster: 1 mi
  • City University London: 1 mi
  • Photographers Gallery: 1 mi
  • Shaftesbury Avenue: 1 mi
  • Museum of the Order of St John: 1 mi

Dining

Restaurant
Continental breakfast is at a small charge, You can eat as much as you like! Evening meals can be purchased from the canteen, open every night 6pm-9pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
10:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Generator Hostel London

Overall score

2.6 / 5
5.01.0
8 out of 17
Amenities:
2.4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2.8
Comfort:
2.1
Location:
3.6
Value:
3

50% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Generator Hostel London

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ChristyM
Business
N/A
Dec 29, 2014

London

While the hostel looks wonderful and is very clean. We had its of issues with the service. You cannot get in without a key. So when I left my key my friend was able to get in, and I was stuck outside until they approved me. In addition, we had a private room. On the third night they rebooked our private room with us still in it. We were in the middle of changing when people walk into our private room. We were very upset, and the staff didn't really care. Luckily, we were in the room. I am just glad that they didn't send someone when we were gone or our stuff could have been stolen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Generator Hostel London

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
VivaciousMsM
Business
New York
Aug 17, 2014

Dorm Living

Location was great! Difficult to locate at night but when you did, close to transportation and a few museums. Staff pleasant so long as you didn't require anything other than a beer. Rooms were clean but extremely small for a family of four adults. Elevator (Lift) - only one for entire Hostel and barely room for three people with no luggage. Bathroom cleaned frequently, showers - no hot water and Laundry room - machines didn't work properly and wasn't sufficient for the 900+ people staying at the hostel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Camden Markets are a must see, quite an experience.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Generator Hostel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Let me be Frank with you.
Business
Akron, Ohio
Jul 3, 2012

Inexpensive stay in London.

Great location. Most people staying there are young adults. The music in the bar goes till 3am. You can hear it, but neither I nor my 15 and 17 year old had trouble falling asleep. The bar, the cafe, and the lunchroom all had TV's, where we watched Euro cup football(soccer) matches. They also have a little shop where I bought shampoo. They have all you can eat breakfast for 4.5 pounds as of June 2012 and a dinner special with a beer for a couple of bucks more, laundry which I didn't try to use, wifi, which was spotty, but I did manage to get emails in and out most days. They are thinking about upgrading. They were upgrading a few rooms while I was there. They have computers which work, 1 pound per half hour. You can print for 10pence a page. They have lockers in the rooms which you can lock, but you need a padlock. They will sell you one. I rented a room with 3 beds, and just used the keycards. One was a bunk bed. They had a sink in the room. You can come and go 24/7. Mini tesco supermarket is 4 minutes walk at the Russel Square tube station. The beds are one star, but they have clean bedding, and we got towels, which we had replaced once, though I had to ask, and the person at the front desk didn't think they replaced them until I pointed out what I read on the sign on my door. The shared bathrooms were fine, but if you try to shower at the busiest time in the morning, and you are a woman, you might have to wait. I only stood behind one person waiting on 4 showers. If you've camped before, and it didn't bother you, you will be fine. One of them told me they have like 800 people staying there, so there are solutions at hand for common travel related things. The British Museum is awesome, free and walking distance. If you are there in the summer, and have not seen Queen Mary's garden in Regent's park, do. The Piccadilly line will get you to and from London Heathrow. Straight shot, no changes. It's not beautiful, or luxurious, but it is functional and maintained. Bottom line, I would stay there again, because it's ok, cheap, and in a great location, but it may not be the best for little kids, not that you couldn't, but they really are set up for 20 year olds. You can eat and drink the money you save.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Generator Hostel London

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
junereview
Business
London
Jun 8, 2012

a nightmare

Do not stay here!!!! The room had an unpleasant odor. We expected loud music. What we didn't realize is that the music can be heard three stories up. (When people weren't dancing the DJ blasted the music even louder to get people to dance.) The management agreed that the karaoke volume was out of control and moved us... next to the elevators where we had drunks shouting outside of the room throughout the night. You would get a better, safer sleep on the streets of London.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Generator Hostel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Papalos
Business
Lisbon Portugal
Aug 29, 2011

Great for family with teenagers

We stayed for 5 days in a 4 bunk bedroom. Beds were OK, it got a bit hot at night. With windows open, the noise was minimum. Hallway noise was also minimum as we stayed in the 4th floor. Breakfast was OK, just cereal, toast with jam and coffee (not bad) some awful soda or juice. My only complain is the Breakfast room staff are not very proactive and lack any initiative. They just stand around and stare at you. One staffer saw a customer pouring coffee ina plastic cup and did not offer to get a regular coffee mug. They shouild be able to speak english at least. Other than that one incident, the stay was great. Would do it again. Great Location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get an Oyster card for the tube

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Generator Hostel London

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
California
Jul 7, 2011

Not for Families

Though a clean and reasonably priced hostel, it was not a place to take children. But if I were a single college student that would be my choice to stay. Staff was friendly and always around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

[...]

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Generator Hostel London

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
guam
May 17, 2011

good

sightseeing

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Generator Hostel London

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Texan Whirlwinders
Business
Burleson, TX
Apr 7, 2010

Good for the money and location!

This is the first time I had stayed in a hostel, and it turned out to be good experience for the money. The Generator is a large older building, but renovations were in progress while we were there. We stayed in a private room with bunk beds that were clean and there was a sink and mirrors in the room. There was a heater over the doorway that came on automatically as needed. One drawback, you could not sit up on the bottom bunk without hitting your head on the top bunk. Also our room was directly over the outside smoking area so it was a bit noisy. There was a commode directly across from us that was always available when I needed it. Due to renovations on the womens showers on the second floor, we took showers on the third floor. The showers were clean and had good water pressure and plenty of hot water. You had to go to the common area downstairs to get wireless internet as you could not get a connection in your room. Breakfast was included but I only had toast and coffee. I saw cereals and juice. The Generator is conveniently within walking distance to St. Pancras and Kings Cross Railway stations. Also the Russell Square tube station is within walking distance and is on the Piccadilly Line. There were restaurants nearby and a 24 hour store if you needed anything. I would stay here again for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy daily tube passes for each day you'll be in London and ride as much as you want. Our tickets included through zone 3. Also, ride the train from St. Pancras or Kings Cross to any of the London airports.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top