$42 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 9, 2015 Check-out: Aug 10, 2015

Generator Hostel London

3 stars
View map of 37 Tavistock Place, Rusell Square, London, WC 1H 9SE

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Generator Hostel London

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
19 out of 19
Amenities:
2.6
Cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.2
Comfort:
2.3
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.3

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Generator Hostel London

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
neilt
Business
Edinburgh, Midlothian, UK
Mar 29, 2012

short stay

at first disappointed, your email to me to confirm my booking said "Room description: Dormitories room. Contains one single bed. Suitable for one person." which made me believe I would get as I asked - a single room to myself - email was misleading. However, breakfast was good and staff were helpful. Hostel conveniently situated for tube and chipshop.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Generator Hostel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
swisstraveller
Business
Switzerland
Jan 4, 2012

good hostel, great location

the hostel is really good and you are very close to 2 tube stations, you can get almost everywhere within around 30 minutes. the rooms are okay, there's lockers for the luggage, the toilets are pretty clean... showers aren't great, but the rest is :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Lion King Musical

Review of Generator Hostel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Papalos
Business
Lisbon Portugal
Aug 29, 2011

Great for family with teenagers

We stayed for 5 days in a 4 bunk bedroom. Beds were OK, it got a bit hot at night. With windows open, the noise was minimum. Hallway noise was also minimum as we stayed in the 4th floor. Breakfast was OK, just cereal, toast with jam and coffee (not bad) some awful soda or juice. My only complain is the Breakfast room staff are not very proactive and lack any initiative. They just stand around and stare at you. One staffer saw a customer pouring coffee ina plastic cup and did not offer to get a regular coffee mug. They shouild be able to speak english at least. Other than that one incident, the stay was great. Would do it again. Great Location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get an Oyster card for the tube

Review of Generator Hostel London

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
California
Jul 7, 2011

Not for Families

Though a clean and reasonably priced hostel, it was not a place to take children. But if I were a single college student that would be my choice to stay. Staff was friendly and always around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

[...]

Review of Generator Hostel London

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
guam
May 17, 2011

good

sightseeing

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Generator Hostel London

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Rad
Business
Nottingham
Jul 25, 2010

paid private room given bunk mixed dorm

Sister and I booked ahead & paid for private bunk room for 2 @ £85! When we got there only beds available were in mixed dorm. No other hotels available by that time so had to take it.Horrible. Very hot. Woke up in night with some bloke staring down at me from his bunk - yuk!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Generator Hostel London

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Rad
Business
Nottingham
Jul 25, 2010

paid private room given bunk mixed dorm

Sister and I booked ahead & paid for private bunk room for 2 @ £85! When we got there only beds available were in mixed dorm. No other hotels available by that time so had to take it.Horrible. Very hot. Woke up in night with some bloke staring down at me from his bunk - yuk!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Generator Hostel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Apr 13, 2010

"Clean, Convenient, Cheap"

Hostel is conveniently located to several tube lines and was both clean and inexpensive. Common (shared) bathrooms were plentiful and always clean. The room was rather small, but satisfactory. Continental breakfast is included. The bar downstairs did prove to be a little noisy at night, but it's to be expected in an 800 bed hostel. A wide variety of people, both nationalities and ages, were staying there. Would definitely recommend for people looking for a cheap, convenient place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Generator Hostel London

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Texan Whirlwinders
Business
Burleson, TX
Apr 7, 2010

Good for the money and location!

This is the first time I had stayed in a hostel, and it turned out to be good experience for the money. The Generator is a large older building, but renovations were in progress while we were there. We stayed in a private room with bunk beds that were clean and there was a sink and mirrors in the room. There was a heater over the doorway that came on automatically as needed. One drawback, you could not sit up on the bottom bunk without hitting your head on the top bunk. Also our room was directly over the outside smoking area so it was a bit noisy. There was a commode directly across from us that was always available when I needed it. Due to renovations on the womens showers on the second floor, we took showers on the third floor. The showers were clean and had good water pressure and plenty of hot water. You had to go to the common area downstairs to get wireless internet as you could not get a connection in your room. Breakfast was included but I only had toast and coffee. I saw cereals and juice. The Generator is conveniently within walking distance to St. Pancras and Kings Cross Railway stations. Also the Russell Square tube station is within walking distance and is on the Piccadilly Line. There were restaurants nearby and a 24 hour store if you needed anything. I would stay here again for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy daily tube passes for each day you'll be in London and ride as much as you want. Our tickets included through zone 3. Also, ride the train from St. Pancras or Kings Cross to any of the London airports.

Back to menu Return to top