$52 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 12, 2015 Check-out: Jul 13, 2015

Generator Hostel London

3 stars
View map of 37 Tavistock Place, Rusell Square, London, WC 1H 9SE

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
19 reviews
best ever hostel to date

im from dublin city in ireland and have stayed in the two generation hostels now and the one in... See full review

  • smicksworld
  • Dec 2, 2014
Overall ok

This hostel is nothing special. Rooms are small and walls are thin, however the price is good and... See full review

  • Katharina B.
  • Jun 2, 2015
The Generator hostel offers a unique experience, and has established itself as the place to stay in London for young visitors. There are four public areas: Fuel stop (Self service breakfast and dinner), Chill out lounge (with sofas, movies and inter-net terminals), Turbine 1 (eating area with pool tables) and then there is the Famous Generator Bar, open from 6pm till 2am. A travel shop is also available every day for theatre tickets, travel passes, tourist information and most travel essentials. All bedrooms are basic with bunk beds and a wash basin. All rooms have shared facilities in the communal area and showers and toilets are available on every floor. Towels not included in rate, we recommend guests bring their own or if preferred these can be purchased for a small fee at the in house travel shop. Sport / Entertainment: The bar is open every day from 6pm 2am and has a team that run nightly events each night from Quizzes to Karaoke. Cheap drinks and lots of fun guaranteed. Also movies shown every day in the chill out lounge from 4pm. A Free Tour of London is available for all guests !!! Every day of the year! Guests can store their bags in a luggage room, prices start from GBP 2.00 for a small locker for 6 hours up to GBP 6.00 for a large locker for 24 hours. A large locker can store a 50 Litres ruck sack.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Generator Hostel London also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Generator Hostel London Rooms

Single / Twin Room
This private room has 2 single bunk beds with lockers and a table and chair. Room can be used for single or twin occupancy. Shared bathroom facilities on every floor in the communal area.
Triple Room
Private triple room with 3 bunk beds and shared bathroom amenities in the communal area.
Quad Room
Private quad room can accomodate 4 guests in 4 bunk beds with lockers, shared bathroom facilities available in the communal area.
Dormitory Room For 6
You are booking for one bed in a six-bed mixed dormitory which includes your own locker, if you book for eight people you are not guaranteed the same dormitory room, therefore please book two private quad rooms.Under 18s are not permitted to stay in shared dormitories.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • The Brunswick : 0.1 mi
  • Institute of Education: 0.2 mi
  • Russell Square: 0.3 mi
  • British Library: 0.3 mi
  • Institute of Archaeology Collections: 0.3 mi
  • St Pancras railway station: 0.3 mi
  • School of Oriental and African Studies: 0.3 mi
  • Kings Cross-St Pancras station: 0.3 mi
  • Birkbeck: 0.3 mi
  • Petrie Museum of Egyptian Archaeology: 0.4 mi
  • Charles Dickens Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Euston: 0.4 mi
  • Grant Museum of Zoology: 0.4 mi
  • University College London: 0.4 mi
  • British Museum: 0.5 mi
  • The Brunswick : 0.1 mi
  • Institute of Education: 0.2 mi
  • Russell Square: 0.3 mi
  • British Library: 0.3 mi
  • Institute of Archaeology Collections: 0.3 mi
  • St Pancras railway station: 0.3 mi
  • School of Oriental and African Studies: 0.3 mi
  • Kings Cross-St Pancras station: 0.3 mi
  • Birkbeck: 0.3 mi
  • Petrie Museum of Egyptian Archaeology: 0.4 mi
  • Charles Dickens Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Euston: 0.4 mi
  • Grant Museum of Zoology: 0.4 mi
  • University College London: 0.4 mi
  • British Museum: 0.5 mi
  • University of London: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Museum: 0.5 mi
  • British Postal Museum and Archive: 0.6 mi
  • London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine: 0.6 mi
  • London Canal Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Dominion Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Sir John Soane's Museum: 0.7 mi
  • London Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Fitzrovia: 0.7 mi
  • Clerkenwell: 0.8 mi
  • Soho: 0.8 mi
  • Royal Opera House: 0.8 mi
  • Thomas Neal Centre : 0.8 mi
  • London Astoria: 0.8 mi
  • Royal College of Physicians Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Sadler's Wells Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • West End: 0.9 mi
  • Aldwych Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Red Mansion Foundation: 0.9 mi
  • Farringdon: 0.9 mi
  • Regents Park: 0.9 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Islington Museum: 0.9 mi
  • London Transport Museum: 1 mi
  • Old Operating Theatre Museum and Herb Garret: 1 mi
  • University of Westminster: 1 mi
  • City University London: 1 mi
  • Photographers Gallery: 1 mi
  • Shaftesbury Avenue: 1 mi
  • Museum of the Order of St John: 1 mi

Dining

Restaurant
Continental breakfast is at a small charge, You can eat as much as you like! Evening meals can be purchased from the canteen, open every night 6pm-9pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
10:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Generator Hostel London

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
19 out of 19
Amenities:
2.6
Cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.2
Comfort:
2.3
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.3

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Generator Hostel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
swisstraveller
Switzerland
Jan 4, 2012

good hostel, great location

the hostel is really good and you are very close to 2 tube stations, you can get almost everywhere within around 30 minutes. the rooms are okay, there's lockers for the luggage, the toilets are pretty clean... showers aren't great, but the rest is :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Lion King Musical

Review of Generator Hostel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Katharina B.
Business
Stamford
Jun 2, 2015

Overall ok

This hostel is nothing special. Rooms are small and walls are thin, however the price is good and the atmosphere is fun. Location isn't super central, but good enough that you can walk or take the metro most places. Would recommend for anyone on a budget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Generator Hostel London

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MUNEESH S.
Business
NASSAU
Jan 7, 2015

wanted a bunk for few days

ridiculous to say the least a million doors in the corridors (fire doors it seems) a single small lift which you have to wait for - if u unluckily get a room on the 5th or 6th floors the bar and restaurant are mediocre - just punk music - unpalatable meals the rooms have no service at all - my bed wasnot done even once in 6 days the bath has no place to keep soap/towel/clothes/etc the bath has no door - some flimsy shower curtains ! security guards keep soliciting for money overall - i was dying to leave this place never again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Generator Hostel London

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ChristyM
Business
N/A
Dec 29, 2014

London

While the hostel looks wonderful and is very clean. We had its of issues with the service. You cannot get in without a key. So when I left my key my friend was able to get in, and I was stuck outside until they approved me. In addition, we had a private room. On the third night they rebooked our private room with us still in it. We were in the middle of changing when people walk into our private room. We were very upset, and the staff didn't really care. Luckily, we were in the room. I am just glad that they didn't send someone when we were gone or our stuff could have been stolen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Generator Hostel London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
smicksworld
Business
ireland
Dec 2, 2014

best ever hostel to date

im from dublin city in ireland and have stayed in the two generation hostels now and the one in london was incredible il be staying here in the future without a doubt i cant fault anything the ppl the staff all were lovely people. the cleaniness the value for money was excellent too,and location to underground was superb too :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

underground

Review of Generator Hostel London

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
VivaciousMsM
Business
New York
Aug 17, 2014

Dorm Living

Location was great! Difficult to locate at night but when you did, close to transportation and a few museums. Staff pleasant so long as you didn't require anything other than a beer. Rooms were clean but extremely small for a family of four adults. Elevator (Lift) - only one for entire Hostel and barely room for three people with no luggage. Bathroom cleaned frequently, showers - no hot water and Laundry room - machines didn't work properly and wasn't sufficient for the 900+ people staying at the hostel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Camden Markets are a must see, quite an experience.

Review of Generator Hostel London

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Edmond Dantes
Business
London, UK
Nov 27, 2012

Excellent value near Kings Cross

Friendly and clean hostel very conveniently located near Kings Cross, which puts you within 15 min of central London. Would recommend to budget travelers looking for a convenient location as a base to explore London. Note that I booked a private room so cannot comment on the dorms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Generator Hostel London

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
achriswell4
Business
Anchorage, Alaska
Aug 12, 2012

Generator Hostel

You get what you pay for. I found the cheapest place I could find and that's what I got. I wasn't expecting the plastic coated mattress though. I forgot how annoying it is not to have a bathroom in your room. I expected to hear the bar every night, but I only heard it on karaoke night. Entertaining until about midnight, then pretty annoying. Easy to find from the train station, and only about a 7-8 minute walk from St. Pancras. All in all, I felt safe there, I felt safe leaving my stuff there while I was out, it was convenient and cheap, but I don't know that I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

I thought it would be more expensive to buy a day pass on the London tube. Nope, it's way cheaper to buy an all day pass than even to buy a ticket out and a ticket back. Buy the day pass!

Review of Generator Hostel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Let me be Frank with you.
Business
Akron, Ohio
Jul 3, 2012

Inexpensive stay in London.

Great location. Most people staying there are young adults. The music in the bar goes till 3am. You can hear it, but neither I nor my 15 and 17 year old had trouble falling asleep. The bar, the cafe, and the lunchroom all had TV's, where we watched Euro cup football(soccer) matches. They also have a little shop where I bought shampoo. They have all you can eat breakfast for 4.5 pounds as of June 2012 and a dinner special with a beer for a couple of bucks more, laundry which I didn't try to use, wifi, which was spotty, but I did manage to get emails in and out most days. They are thinking about upgrading. They were upgrading a few rooms while I was there. They have computers which work, 1 pound per half hour. You can print for 10pence a page. They have lockers in the rooms which you can lock, but you need a padlock. They will sell you one. I rented a room with 3 beds, and just used the keycards. One was a bunk bed. They had a sink in the room. You can come and go 24/7. Mini tesco supermarket is 4 minutes walk at the Russel Square tube station. The beds are one star, but they have clean bedding, and we got towels, which we had replaced once, though I had to ask, and the person at the front desk didn't think they replaced them until I pointed out what I read on the sign on my door. The shared bathrooms were fine, but if you try to shower at the busiest time in the morning, and you are a woman, you might have to wait. I only stood behind one person waiting on 4 showers. If you've camped before, and it didn't bother you, you will be fine. One of them told me they have like 800 people staying there, so there are solutions at hand for common travel related things. The British Museum is awesome, free and walking distance. If you are there in the summer, and have not seen Queen Mary's garden in Regent's park, do. The Piccadilly line will get you to and from London Heathrow. Straight shot, no changes. It's not beautiful, or luxurious, but it is functional and maintained. Bottom line, I would stay there again, because it's ok, cheap, and in a great location, but it may not be the best for little kids, not that you couldn't, but they really are set up for 20 year olds. You can eat and drink the money you save.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Generator Hostel London

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
junereview
Business
London
Jun 8, 2012

a nightmare

Do not stay here!!!! The room had an unpleasant odor. We expected loud music. What we didn't realize is that the music can be heard three stories up. (When people weren't dancing the DJ blasted the music even louder to get people to dance.) The management agreed that the karaoke volume was out of control and moved us... next to the elevators where we had drunks shouting outside of the room throughout the night. You would get a better, safer sleep on the streets of London.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Generator Hostel London

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DRAFTER12
Business
NJ
May 1, 2012

Some surprises, but overall is good

I paid for one bed in a 4-bed room on internet. But when I checked in, the front girl gave me a bed in a TEN-bed room!!! Regardless I told her this is NOT what I paid for, she insisted that she cannot do anything about it. At last, I had to pay extra £20 to switch to a 4-bed room. The hall-way was shabby while the shower room was really clean. The bed sheet was wrinkled, like someone has used it already. Do watch your head if you are given a bottom bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

After you come off the underground station at Russell Square, right opposite the train station on the right hand corner, you will see a sign of Burnswick, just get on that stree and walk for about 500 meters, you will hit Tavistock Place. Turn right onto Tavistock Place, and you will see the blue color sign of Generator Hostel on the left hand side in about 200 meters. The location is super convenient.

Back to menu Return to top