$223 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 12, 2014 Check-out: Oct 13, 2014

Crowne Plaza LONDON - THE CITY

4 stars
19 New Bridge Street, London, EC4V 6DB
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
10 reviews
Great location

Really nice hotel, receptionists were very nice & helpful. Looked after our cases as we arrived too... See full review

  • Tracy from Ireland
  • Jun 17, 2014
Good Hotel for Business

I don't have anything negative to say except for the breakfast which wasn't very good quality... See full review

  • RN7175
  • Nov 14, 2013
The Crowne Plaza London - The City is a modern and stylish central London hotel in the heart of the City of London. This deluxe London hotel it is just a stone throw away from Blackfriars mainline train station and has a direct connection to St. Pancras International Eurostar terminal. The hotel is only a short walk from either Temple or Mansion House tube stations on the District & Circle lines or from St Paul's tube station on the Central Line. Blackfriars tube station is currently closed due to the extensive renovation works taking place as part of the new Crossrail project.Crowne Plaza London - The City is ideally located for business and leisure, minutes away from some of London's most famous attractions:The London Eye, St Paul's Cathedral, Millennium Bridge, Tate Modern and West End theatres. Crowne Plaza Club rooms, King Studios and Suites are available at your request. High Speed Internet access is offered in all fully air-conditioned bedrooms.Indulge friends or family at one of the hotel's two restaurants or bar. Our acclaimed award winning Refettorio restaurant, directed by Michelin starred Chef Giorgio Locatelli, is the place to be seen in the city. For those seeking fitness and relaxation, our Fitness Club with sauna is complimentary to all hotel guests.

Hotel Map

51.5122 -0.1046
Nearby airports
London City Airport, (LCY), 13.68, KM, W; London Heathrow, (LHR), 28.32, KM, E; London Gatwick, (LGW), 48.44, KM, SE;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza LONDON - THE CITY also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
General
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Porters
FAX
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
White board
Cellular telephone rental
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub
Trouser press

Nearby points of interest

  • St. Pauls Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Temple church: 0.3 mi
  • Fleet Street: 0.3 mi
  • Old Bailey: 0.3 mi
  • Millennium Bridge: 0.3 mi
  • Twinings Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Tate Modern: 0.4 mi
  • St Bartholomew's Hospital Museum: 0.4 mi
  • London Astoria: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of London Docklands: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of London: 0.5 mi
  • Somerset House: 0.5 mi
  • Farringdon: 0.6 mi
  • Clockmakers' Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Hayward Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • St. Pauls Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Temple church: 0.3 mi
  • Fleet Street: 0.3 mi
  • Old Bailey: 0.3 mi
  • Millennium Bridge: 0.3 mi
  • Twinings Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Tate Modern: 0.4 mi
  • St Bartholomew's Hospital Museum: 0.4 mi
  • London Astoria: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of London Docklands: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of London: 0.5 mi
  • Somerset House: 0.5 mi
  • Farringdon: 0.6 mi
  • Clockmakers' Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Hayward Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Aldwych Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • the Strand: 0.6 mi
  • Sir John Soane's Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Rose Theatre Exhibition: 0.6 mi
  • Transport Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Clink Prison Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of the Order of St John: 0.7 mi
  • Trinity College of Music: 0.7 mi
  • Courtauld Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Royal Festival Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Bank of England: 0.7 mi
  • Old Operating Theatre Museum and Herb Garret: 0.7 mi
  • Waterloo station: 0.7 mi
  • Guildhall School of Music and Drama: 0.7 mi
  • London Transport Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Barbican Art Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Royal Exchange: 0.8 mi
  • London Fire Brigade Museum: 0.8 mi
  • London Film Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Southwark Cathedral: 0.8 mi
  • Kenwood House: 0.8 mi
  • Southwark: 0.8 mi
  • Adelphi Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • South Bank: 0.8 mi
  • London Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • London Eye: 0.9 mi
  • London Bridge Station: 0.9 mi
  • British Postal Museum and Archive: 0.9 mi
  • Borough: 0.9 mi

Dining

Diciannove
Diciannove serves up a taste of Italy in the City. A popular choice at Crowne Plaza London The City hotel, the restaurant is a showcase for traditional, regional foods. From delicious pasta to steak and chips with an Italian twist, Diciannove brings the b
Chinese Cricket Club
For a superb taste of the Orient in the vibrant city of London, look no further than Chinese Cricket Club. Set against a sophisticated backdrop, Chinese Cricket Club offers a delectable range of Sichuan and Dim Sum specialities with a modern twist. The
Voltaire
Voltaire is located in London’s Square Mile and is the new haunt for champagne drinkers and cigar lovers. Featuring the largest library of Pommery champagne in London and an extensive range of cigars, the grade II listed building features old stone vaults
The Club Lounge
The Crowne Plaza Club Lounge offers complimentary drinks and canapes throughout the day. The Crowne Plaza Club Lounge is for the exclusive use of our Crowne Plaza Club floor guests and complimentary Continental breakfast with selections of hot items is s
The City Lounge
Located on the ground floor of the hotel, you can enjoy a wide variety of comfort foods from the finest One Pounder to the traditional Club Sandwich. Whether you require an area to dine or an informal setting to converse, the City Lounge has it all, incl

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (10)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza LONDON - THE CITY

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
10 out of 10
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza LONDON - THE CITY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tracy from Ireland
Collon Ireland
Jun 17, 2014

Great location

Really nice hotel, receptionists were very nice & helpful. Looked after our cases as we arrived too early. Great location no hussle and bussle. Straight opposite tube station 2 stops to most places. Really enjoyed the stay in hotel & London

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy a 1 day tube ticket - saves money and covers all areas you want to visit.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza LONDON - THE CITY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RN7175
Business
Geneva, Switzerland
Nov 14, 2013

Good Hotel for Business

I don't have anything negative to say except for the breakfast which wasn't very good quality compared to the quality of the hotel. It is best to not to buy the breakfast and eat at one of the many local breakfast places just steps from the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza LONDON - THE CITY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA
Jan 24, 2011

Fantastic hotel and good location

My wife and I stayed at the Crowne Plaza - The City over the Christmas and New Year holiday. We had great stay at this hotel. Staff is very friendly and courteous. The Concierge folks will go out of their way to help you in any manner. The rooms are spacious and modern. We got the standard deluxe room with a queen bed. Our room was very clean, comfortable, and quite. We had very good amenities within the room (including high speed internet access to hook up to our netbook computer). We felt that the location of the hotel was centrally located. Within an easy walking distance to St. Pauls, Millennium Bridge, and Shakespeare's Globe. The Tube station (Blackfairs) is right across the street and will easily take you anywhere within London. There are plenty of nice food eateries (Pret A Manger, EAT, Japanese Sushi, Starbucks) within the hotel neighborhood. There are also several major banks across the street from the hotel for ATM cash withdraws. So overall, our stay was fantastic and the hotel an excellent choice. We will definitely come back to stay that this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

You should catch a perfomance at Shakespeare's Globe. It's a must see while visting London. There are also hourly tours available of the theater itself. They are worth doing and learning about the Globe's fascinating history. It's well worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza LONDON - THE CITY

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Tem
Business
Moscow
Nov 2, 2010

Awful staff

I stood in the hotel as it was very close from the office I was visiting in London. When I arrived the receptionist was not able to find the documents proving that my stay had been prepaid. However the documents were with the hotel and the receptionist found the docs from the 2nd attempt. Anyway, the staff was so clever, that irrespectively of the existing documents proving the prepayment, they debited my personal credit card as well. Be careful and try to avoid such situations. 2 weeks have passed and I still try to get my money back. I will NEVER stay in this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza LONDON - THE CITY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Utah
Mar 22, 2010

Crowne Plaza Hotel Review

This is a very nice hotel. Management was good and helpful. Room was nice. Restaurants were good and priced accordingly. Over all experience was good. The one negative that I had was with the internet. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Dont walk

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza LONDON - THE CITY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
wendif
Atlanta GA
Oct 5, 2009

enjoyed my stay at the Crowne Plaza

I stayed at the Crowne Plaza for 10 nights. I got a great rate [...] - I don't think I would stay there at their normal rates - too pricey for me.The location was fabulous for me right at the Blackfriar's Bridge. It's a short walk to the Temple Tube station - note that the Blackfriar's tube station is closed until 2011.The room was quite big for London standards. I asked for a quiet room and got one in the interior facing a courtyard (room 420). It had 2 double beds plus some chairs, a table, desk, etc. The bathroom was good sized too with plenty of hot water in the shower which is critical for me. Also, I did like getting my free Daily Mail every morning at my door.Overall, I would stay there again if I got another good deal which was about half the 'advanced purchase' rate. The location was perfect for me. The staff I encountered was friendly and my room was clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza LONDON - THE CITY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
First-time London Traveler
Des Moines, Iowa
Sep 10, 2009

Great hotel in a great location!

This hotel was fantastic. The service was great and very attentive. We had a slight issue with our booking, which they remedied very quickly and at their own expense. After that issue was resolved, though, what a great place to stay!! Within walking distance of St. Paul's Cathedral and a number of historic and very interesting pubs. Across the street from Blackfriar's Tube station, but that is unfortunately closed until 2011. Very close to Temple Tube station, though, so it didn't matter much to us!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

While you're staying at the Crown Plaza - The City, be sure to have a meal and a pint in Blackfriar's Pub, right across the street. Great food, friendly staff and really historic and interesting building!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza LONDON - THE CITY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
stan9255
Kingston, New York
Jun 9, 2009

Good experence

The hotel is in a great location. Close to St. Pauls and a short underground ride to the Tower of London. A Underground Station is located almost in front of the hotel. From there, you can get anywhere in London.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza LONDON - THE CITY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York
May 18, 2009

Nice hotel near St. Pauls

Convenient location near the Thames. You can walk to the Tate Modern and St Paul's. It is also Convenient to Covent Gardens for dining. Friendly and helpful staff. The rooms were a good size and very comfortable. The Blackfriars tube station is closed which makes it a little more difficult to get around. There are other tube stations within walking distance. Wifi service is not available in the rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza LONDON - THE CITY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Feb 24, 2008

Great hospitality w nice restaurants

Everything's perfect with our stay (one week); very convenient to the Tubes, buses, and one of the bridges if you want to walk right across the Thames. Great hospitality from all the staff. This place also has a bar, a British and an Italian restaurant downstairs; we tried the Italian restaurant and it was one of the best we had. The food from their room service was so good that it beats most of the restaurants our there, in addition, they offer after-hours (24x7) light menu, which helps tremendously when we got back to the hotel very late in the evening. We've already recommended this hotel to both our co-workers and friends, as it's perfect for both business trips and personal/family vacations alike.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search