$122 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 16, 2015 Check-out: Aug 18, 2015

Corus Hotel Hyde Park

4 stars
View map of 1-7 Lancaster Gate, London, W2 3LG

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
108 reviews
Trip to London

The Chorus Hotel Hyde Park has to be one of the best hotels I've stayed at. The staff was always... See full review

  • Peter H.
  • Jul 9, 2015
Ubeatable locations - better than average in every way.

Central London hotels are such a gamble. Many are total dumps. The Corus is really clean, bright,... See full review

  • George F.
  • Jul 1, 2015

The Corus Hotel Hyde Park offers two dining choices. The Bel Canto is a fine dining venue that incorporates live-performance opera. Olio's Brasserie, a stylish conservatory restaurant overlooking Hyde Park, serves an eclectic variety of British dishes and authentic Malaysian cuisine for those seeking a more tranquil dining experience.

General
  • Lancaster Gate tube station (2 minutes walking)
  • Paddington tube station (3 minutes walking)
  • Heathrow Airport (30 minutes)
Location

The Corus Hotel Hyde Park is ideally located and smartly priced for a weekend break, business trip or special event. The hotel offers every modern amenity from within its 200-year old listed Georgian Building. The Corus Hotel Hyde Park is the result of a graceful marriage of old and new and the property staff pulls it off with graceful refinement, ensuring all guests enjoy a warm and welcome stay. Rooms are smartly decorated and well-appointed, and two dining choices, including the dinner/live opera creation Bel Canto, are popular with guests and locals.

Dining
  • Hyde Park (0.01 mi./0.01 km)
  • Kensington Gardens (0.33 mi./0.53 km)
  • Shops of Oxford Street (1.4 mi./2.25 km)
  • West End (1.8 mi./2.89 km)
Rooms

All rooms are smartly decorated and include air conditioning, flat screen TV, complimentary Wi-Fi, mini-safe, tea and coffee making facilities and well-lit workspace.  Room formats include standard, Executive and suites, with single, double and twin layouts.   

Highlights
  • 200-year-old Georgian building
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi for all guests
  • Stunning views of Hyde Park
Nearby attractions
  • 200-year-old Georgian building
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi for all guests
  • Stunning views of Hyde Park
Business
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi
  • Several meeting rooms
  • LCD projector and screen, flip charts available
  • Two restaurants
  • Room service
Transportation

200-year-old Georgian building overlooking Hyde Park

Policies
  • The hotel is currently undergoing a small facelift. Please excuse the make-up brushes and scaffolding as our team is working hard to ensure the hotel looks great and stylish all year round.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Corus Hotel Hyde Park also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Corus Hotel Hyde Park Rooms

Executive Rooms
Executive rooms offer a choice of 1 double or 2 single beds with room amenities including fresh still water, air conditioning, free WIFI, work desk, laptop safe, multi channel plasma TV, tea/coffe maker, hairdryer and trouser press.
Standard Rooms
Standard rooms offer 1 single bed or 1 double bed or 2 single beds (twin). In-room amenities include free WIFI, TV, working desk, air conditioning, tea/coffee maker, hairdryer and trouser press.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Lancaster Gate: 0 mi
  • Kensington Gardens: 0.3 mi
  • Paddington Station: 0.4 mi
  • Queensway: 0.5 mi
  • Whiteleys Shopping Centre : 0.5 mi
  • City of Westminster: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Memorial : 0.6 mi
  • Kensington Palace: 0.7 mi
  • Hyde Park: 0.7 mi
  • Royal Albert Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Polish Institute and Sikorski Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Marble Arch: 0.8 mi
  • Royal College of Music Archives and Museum of Instruments: 0.8 mi
  • Showroom Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • High Street Kensington: 0.9 mi
  • Lancaster Gate: 0 mi
  • Kensington Gardens: 0.3 mi
  • Paddington Station: 0.4 mi
  • Queensway: 0.5 mi
  • Whiteleys Shopping Centre : 0.5 mi
  • City of Westminster: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Memorial : 0.6 mi
  • Kensington Palace: 0.7 mi
  • Hyde Park: 0.7 mi
  • Royal Albert Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Polish Institute and Sikorski Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Marble Arch: 0.8 mi
  • Royal College of Music Archives and Museum of Instruments: 0.8 mi
  • Showroom Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • High Street Kensington: 0.9 mi
  • Imperial College London: 0.9 mi
  • Science Museum London: 1 mi
  • Park Lane: 1 mi
  • Harrods: 1 mi
  • Knightsbridge: 1 mi
  • Victoria and Albert Museum: 1.1 mi
  • National Art Library: 1.1 mi
  • Selfridges: 1.1 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Baker Street: 1.1 mi
  • Baden-Powell House Exhibition: 1.1 mi
  • Notting Hill: 1.2 mi
  • Gloucester Road: 1.2 mi
  • Wallace Collection: 1.2 mi
  • Sherlock Holmes Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Lords Cricket Ground: 1.2 mi
  • Bond Street London: 1.2 mi
  • Hyde Park Corner: 1.2 mi
  • London Business School: 1.2 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 1.3 mi
  • Wellington Arch: 1.3 mi
  • Maida Vale: 1.3 mi
  • Handel House Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Royal Academy of Music: 1.4 mi
  • Oxford Street: 1.4 mi
  • Cadogan Hall: 1.5 mi
  • Red Mansion Foundation: 1.5 mi
  • Portobello Market: 1.5 mi
  • University of Westminster: 1.5 mi
  • Portobello Road: 1.5 mi

Dining

Olio's Brasserie
Olio's Brasserie is our stylish conservatory restaurant overlooking Hyde Park. You can pick from our seasonal British menu or our authentic Malaysian cuisine, prepared by our resident Malaysian chef
Bel Canto
A welcome new arrival to Corus Hotel Hyde Park, Bel Canto is an eclectic mix of food and opera. The venue combines opera and fine dining with an elegant twist as all the waiting staff are talented young opera stars of the future. The venue offers young professionals the chance to interact with the public while performing arias from Verdi, Puccini, Mozart and many more. At regular intervals during the evening up to four of the performers will burst into song, moving between the tables while belting out opera classics.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:30 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Corus Hotel Hyde Park

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
19 out of 108
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.5

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Corus Hotel Hyde Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
George F.
Business
HAZELHURST
Jul 1, 2015

Ubeatable locations - better than average in every way.

Central London hotels are such a gamble. Many are total dumps. The Corus is really clean, bright, efficient and modern and no funny business or any of that dumpiness and damp typically associated with English hotels on a budget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Corus Hotel Hyde Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
tea1700
Business
Havertown
May 26, 2015

Great hotel option

I chose the hotel for its proximity to Paddington (Heathrow Express) and Hyde Park, nearby tube station, and good bus route. After reading reviews of 10+ hotels in this Lancaster Gate area, this seemed like the best option overall. The room and bath were small but fine for one person, very clean and comfortable, quiet, with a good free Wifi connection, and helpful staff. I didn't use the restaurant, bar, or lounge areas but they seemed nice as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Corus Hotel Hyde Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Calico
Business
N/A
Mar 13, 2015

Super stay

The hotel is clean, comfortable, and convenient. I have stayed at the Corus four times now and was delighted when offered a room upgrade this time. The standard rooms are small but have all you need for a few days break. I find the staff friendly and helpful and twice have enjoyed freshly baked croissants as by early afternoon they had none left .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Corus Hotel Hyde Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Calico
Business
Nottingham, England
Nov 14, 2014

Clean, Good Value, Comfortable

The Corus Hotel is very good value and very convenient. I have had several visits to the hotel and on each occasion my room has been very clean and comfortable. I have not had dinner on my visits so cannot comment on that. I have enjoyed the breakfasts and much prefer being upstairs for that rather than in the basement which is very gloomy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk over Hyde Park to Knightsbridge.

Review of Corus Hotel Hyde Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GlobeTrotter626
Business
Bronx, NY
Apr 10, 2012

The Corus "Low" Hotel

**I stayed at this hotel for two nights in a single room** Amenities: This hotel provided free Wi-Fi with reasonable speed. Location: The hotel is close to the Lancaster Gate underground station on the Circle Line. The hotel is literally a 5 minute walk away from the tube. There isn't much around the hotel since it is in a residential area. Therefore, you will need to take the train to get anywhere in London. I found this a bit inconvenient because at times I was forced to eat the over priced hotel food. Room Cleanliness: Overall the room was very clean however the bathroom could use a good scrubbing. The shower had a lot of mold around the handles and I could hardly turn the knobs to turn the shower on because of the mold. Room Comfort: I had no complaints here the room was the standard size for a typical European hotel for one person. Staff: The staff was average. They did not go out of their way to make your stay comfortable at all. Every time I would ask them if they had good restaurants suggestions they would only suggest the hotel facilities or would tell me the nearest restaurants were ten minutes away but would never give a specific name. It was as if none of them lived or worked in London at all! Value: Overall, you do not get a good value for your money. I paid $300 for my entire stay and thought it was a total waste of money as I had received better service at two star hotels. I had to switch my room twice because the lock inside my room did not work. Also, my reservation did not include the breakfast and the hotel staff seemed so confused when I would say that I would pay for it out of pocket. Overall, the people at this hotel are just very socially awkward.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

If the breakfast is not included in your reservation try to have a plan as to where you are going to eat in the morning. There are very few places around the hotel and the breakfast at the hotel costs 16 euros!!

Review of Corus Hotel Hyde Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Brother
Business
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Apr 5, 2012

Tiny and uncomfortable

I was really disappointed. It was not close to anything, and other than being fairly clean, did not have much going for it. The room was tiny and the bathroom was so small you could barely turn around in it. For the cost of the package, I felt burnt by the room/hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Corus Hotel Hyde Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Padmore
Business
New Jersey
Apr 5, 2011

Great location for the price but,!

Excellent staff with warm reception at the desk, but the room is too small for my comfort plus no refridgetor in the room. But I guess a room that size cannot have a fridge.But overall the staff were very helpful.And yes! I will stay in Corus hotel again whenever I'm in London.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

A short walk to most shoping centers and short bus ride to other attractions.

Review of Corus Hotel Hyde Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ahrus
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 18, 2011

Corus Hotel Hyde Park

The room was extremely small, bed seemed to be smaller than twin, but it was always exceptionally clean. The staff was also very nice. Just 20 minutes to Trafalgar Square by tube and a 50minute walk... Exploring a little bit, you will find places to have breakfast around the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Corus Hotel Hyde Park

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Mar 4, 2011

Drunks

I got a room right next to the elevator and could not sleep for three nights. Who puts a room right next to an elevator? How do you know if you're going to get that room when you buy the hotel for the night? Horrible. Plus, there were drunken Scottish women every night SCREAMING at the tops of their lungs and pounding on doors at 4am. One night, ok. But by the second night, shouldn't hotel staff have dealt with these anti-social people?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Skip the Swan, go the Mitre right down the street.

Review of Corus Hotel Hyde Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Salinas,CA
Feb 28, 2011

Great location!

I did a lot of sight seeing while I was there the hotel is in an excellent location. It is directly across from hyde park you can walk through the park to get to "museum row" and there is a tube station less than a block away. The tube station is really the best way to get around it takes you everywhere without being expensive. I've noticed people complaining about the room sizes but mine was just fine. Yes, they're probably not as big as some are used to but nobody goes to London to stay in the hotel room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

The hotel can help you get tickets for any west end show. I saw "We will rock you." it's a musical based off queens music it was a lot of fun.

Back to menu Return to top