$118 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 19, 2015 Check-out: Jul 20, 2015

Corus Hotel Hyde Park

4 stars
View map of 1-7 Lancaster Gate, London, W2 3LG

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
118 reviews
Great hotel option

I chose the hotel for its proximity to Paddington (Heathrow Express) and Hyde Park, nearby tube... See full review

  • tea1700
  • May 26, 2015
Birthday Trip

I loved the location of this hotel. Walking by Hyde Park every morning on the way to the tube... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Apr 18, 2015

The Corus Hotel Hyde Park is ideally located and smartly priced for a weekend break, business trip or special event. The hotel offers every modern amenity from within its 200-year old listed Georgian Building. The Corus Hotel Hyde Park is the result of a graceful marriage of old and new and the property staff pulls it off with graceful refinement, ensuring all guests enjoy a warm and welcome stay. Rooms are smartly decorated and well-appointed, and two dining choices, including the dinner/live opera creation Bel Canto, are popular with guests and locals.

Dining

The Corus Hotel Hyde Park offers two dining choices. The Bel Canto is a fine dining venue that incorporates live-performance opera. Olio's Brasserie, a stylish conservatory restaurant overlooking Hyde Park, serves an eclectic variety of British dishes and authentic Malaysian cuisine for those seeking a more tranquil dining experience.

Rooms

All rooms are smartly decorated and include air conditioning, flat screen TV, complimentary Wi-Fi, mini-safe, tea and coffee making facilities and well-lit workspace.  Room formats include standard, Executive and suites, with single, double and twin layouts.

Highlights
  • 200-year-old Georgian building
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi for all guests
  • Stunning views of Hyde Park
Nearby attractions
  • Hyde Park (0.01 mi./0.01 km)
  • Kensington Gardens (0.33 mi./0.53 km)
  • Shops of Oxford Street (1.4 mi./2.25 km)
  • West End (1.8 mi./2.89 km)
Business
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi
  • Several meeting rooms
  • LCD projector and screen, flip charts available
  • Two restaurants
  • Room service
Transportation
  • Lancaster Gate tube station (2 minutes walking)
  • Paddington tube station (3 minutes walking)
  • Heathrow Airport (30 minutes)
Policies
  • The hotel is currently undergoing a small facelift. Please excuse the make-up brushes and scaffolding as our team is working hard to ensure the hotel looks great and stylish all year round.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Corus Hotel Hyde Park also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Corus Hotel Hyde Park Rooms

Executive Rooms
Executive rooms offer a choice of 1 double or 2 single beds with room amenities including fresh still water, air conditioning, free WIFI, work desk, laptop safe, multi channel plasma TV, tea/coffe maker, hairdryer and trouser press.
Standard Rooms
Standard rooms offer 1 single bed or 1 double bed or 2 single beds (twin). In-room amenities include free WIFI, TV, working desk, air conditioning, tea/coffee maker, hairdryer and trouser press.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Lancaster Gate: 0 mi
  • Kensington Gardens: 0.3 mi
  • Paddington Station: 0.4 mi
  • Queensway: 0.5 mi
  • Whiteleys Shopping Centre : 0.5 mi
  • City of Westminster: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Memorial : 0.6 mi
  • Kensington Palace: 0.7 mi
  • Hyde Park: 0.7 mi
  • Royal Albert Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Polish Institute and Sikorski Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Marble Arch: 0.8 mi
  • Royal College of Music Archives and Museum of Instruments: 0.8 mi
  • Showroom Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • High Street Kensington: 0.9 mi
  • Lancaster Gate: 0 mi
  • Kensington Gardens: 0.3 mi
  • Paddington Station: 0.4 mi
  • Queensway: 0.5 mi
  • Whiteleys Shopping Centre : 0.5 mi
  • City of Westminster: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Memorial : 0.6 mi
  • Kensington Palace: 0.7 mi
  • Hyde Park: 0.7 mi
  • Royal Albert Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Polish Institute and Sikorski Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Marble Arch: 0.8 mi
  • Royal College of Music Archives and Museum of Instruments: 0.8 mi
  • Showroom Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • High Street Kensington: 0.9 mi
  • Imperial College London: 0.9 mi
  • Science Museum London: 1 mi
  • Park Lane: 1 mi
  • Harrods: 1 mi
  • Knightsbridge: 1 mi
  • Victoria and Albert Museum: 1.1 mi
  • National Art Library: 1.1 mi
  • Selfridges: 1.1 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Baker Street: 1.1 mi
  • Baden-Powell House Exhibition: 1.1 mi
  • Notting Hill: 1.2 mi
  • Gloucester Road: 1.2 mi
  • Wallace Collection: 1.2 mi
  • Sherlock Holmes Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Lords Cricket Ground: 1.2 mi
  • Bond Street London: 1.2 mi
  • Hyde Park Corner: 1.2 mi
  • London Business School: 1.2 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 1.3 mi
  • Wellington Arch: 1.3 mi
  • Maida Vale: 1.3 mi
  • Handel House Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Royal Academy of Music: 1.4 mi
  • Oxford Street: 1.4 mi
  • Cadogan Hall: 1.5 mi
  • Red Mansion Foundation: 1.5 mi
  • Portobello Market: 1.5 mi
  • University of Westminster: 1.5 mi
  • Portobello Road: 1.5 mi

Dining

Olio's Brasserie
Olio's Brasserie is our stylish conservatory restaurant overlooking Hyde Park. You can pick from our seasonal British menu or our authentic Malaysian cuisine, prepared by our resident Malaysian chef
Bel Canto
A welcome new arrival to Corus Hotel Hyde Park, Bel Canto is an eclectic mix of food and opera. The venue combines opera and fine dining with an elegant twist as all the waiting staff are talented young opera stars of the future. The venue offers young professionals the chance to interact with the public while performing arias from Verdi, Puccini, Mozart and many more. At regular intervals during the evening up to four of the performers will burst into song, moving between the tables while belting out opera classics.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:30 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Corus Hotel Hyde Park

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
14 out of 118
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Corus Hotel Hyde Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NNNN
Business
Kuwait
Jan 15, 2014

Perferct Location

The location of the hotel is very good, in front of the hyde park and 10 min walking to Oxford street and Edgeward road.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Oxford street

Review of Corus Hotel Hyde Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cdjdaniels
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Aug 28, 2012

Location made the vacation

Hotels in London can be notoriously tricky and overpriced, but I found the Corus to be a great halfway point. It's right in the city, but without the ridiculous price tag. The rooms are small, but clean and comfortable. I had no complaints about them. The towels were a little rough, but I survived! My only other complaint is that the restaurant is pretty over priced for what they give you. It's better to venture out into the city for something cheap, especially for breakfast. The key to what makes the Corus a great hotel is the location, though. It's just a block from the nearest tube station, and that station is right on the Central Line, which will take you to St. Paul's Cathedral and to the main shopping areas in just a few minutes. It's also close enough to walk to areas like Notting Hill and enjoy the market, or to the museums in the Kensington area. Best of all, it's right on Hyde Park, which means you can spend sunny days walking amongst the locals and their dogs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Island restaurant, just next to the Lancaster Gate tube station, has a great breakfast menu and I really enjoyed their food!

Review of Corus Hotel Hyde Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
solotraveller
Business
Ireland
Aug 23, 2012

Great location, v comfy

This hotel is 2 mins walk from Lancaster Gate tube station and a bus stop with handy bus connections to oxford street and tourist attractions. I was in a single room which had a queen size bed (bigger than I expected). Nice sized room with tv and tea/coffee. Good selection at breakfast to stock up for day, can be busy so order tea/coffee as soon as you sit down. Luxury feel to hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Corus Hotel Hyde Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lichti
Business
Zürich, Switzerland
Apr 12, 2012

Ok for a sightseeing trip

We have spent our 4-day Easter weekend in London and the most important issue regarding the hotel was the location. Corus Hotel Hyde Park matches this criteria for sure. It's located less than two walking minutes from Central line Underground station "Lancaster Gate", directly beneath the Hyde Park. That's about all I can say about the hotel, that's positive. On the negative side the hotel has very, very small rooms (at least for the standard room category we had). Taking a shower will challenge everyone taller than 1,70m because one can not turn due to some strange wall construction, the cleanliness of the bed was good, but the rest of the room, let's say it was average to be nice. Also I could not get a bottle of water at the hotel bar after 11pm, because they would not accept cash and my credit card seemed not to be registered with the hotel (although I paid the room in advance with credit card?). And of course you will hear the guests next door and cars on the street. I appreciate that all looks not that important, and if you're planning on spending just one or two nights in London for sightseeing it's a good place. BUT I would definitely not recommend this hotel for more than two nights, nor to any couple looking for privacy, nor for a business trip, family holiday or the like. Sorry.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you step out of the hotel, turn right and walk about 100m. On the left side you will see a pub called "The Mitre". Check out the burgers or Fish & Chips, you will not be disappointed. Food is served until 10.30pm, perfect for late arrivals at the hotel.

Review of Corus Hotel Hyde Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Apr 30, 2011

Enjoyed my stay

Hotel staff was very courteous. Location 3 blocks away from the tube, a short walk from Queensway and across the street from beautiful Hyde Park. The single room I booked was clean but TINY as expected

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Corus Hotel Hyde Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Apr 30, 2011

Enjoyed my stay

Hotel staff was very courteous. Location 3 blocks away from the tube, a short walk from Queensway and across the street from beautiful Hyde Park. The single room I booked was clean but TINY as expected

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Corus Hotel Hyde Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Mar 28, 2011

perfect stay!

Great trip, mostly sight seeing. The hotel was very comfortable. No complaints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Corus Hotel Hyde Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jacksonville Beach, FL
Mar 18, 2011

Great Location!

We chose this hotel for the location, the wifi, and the breakfast. The location is great! It is right next to Hyde Park, and very close to the underground. We literally walked everywhere to see the sites--the only time we needed to use the underground was to go to and from the train to the airport. Of course some may find that to be too much walking, but the point is that it's a great central location. The room...well, I think calling it modern is a stretch. It's kind of like a room that was half-renovated. The room itself looks to be at least 100 years old or more, and the carpet is very nasty (luckily house shoes are included). In contrast, the TV and furniture are all very modern. The beds are very, very comfortable, and the linens were nice and clean. There is a decent selection of cable channels, but this is not why one goes to London, right? The bathroom is small and simple but serves it's purpose just fine. I loved the awesome water pressure in the shower that could probably strip paint at full power. We didn't deal with the staff too much, but they didn't seem very friendly or outgoing. The bar next door is a good place for a pint, and the staff are very friendly and helpful. Finally, the breakfast...we were very much looking forward to the full English breakfast here; however, I feel slighted by the third party vendor I used to book the room. Apparently part of the reason we got a better deal is that this vendor removed the breakfast from the reservation, but failed to make this clear. Be sure you find out about that if you're interested in the breakfast. All in all, we are pretty satisfied. London is very expensive. Taking that into consideration, this hotel with it's great location was a good deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

If you use a third party vendor, be sure you know for certain which amenities they've eliminated in order to give you a better deal or you may be unpleasantly surprised.

Review of Corus Hotel Hyde Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Aug 13, 2010

Convenient location, helpful staff

We assigned one of the lesser rooms in the hotel. (Because of an [...] booking?) The room was very small with no view, but it was efficient and the staff was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Concierge were excellent and helpful.

Review of Corus Hotel Hyde Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jul 14, 2010

Overpriced tiny rooms

The room was small, but I expected that. What I didn't expect was tiny beds, smaller than my ship berth from earlier in the week. And worse than that, the shower has a wall jutting downward at about the level of your shoulders, such that you cannot stand straight up under the shower. A disappointment overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top