$116 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 29, 2015

Corus Hotel Hyde Park

4 stars
View map of 1-7 Lancaster Gate, London, W2 3LG

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
111 reviews
Super stay

The hotel is clean, comfortable, and convenient. I have stayed at the Corus four times now and was... See full review

  • Calico
  • Mar 13, 2015
December Birthday Trip

The Corus Hotel is in great location for exploring London- and beyond. Hyde Park is opposite with... See full review

  • Rick M.
  • Dec 29, 2014
Central London hotel in a 200-year-old Georgian building

The Corus Hotel Hyde Park is ideally located and smartly priced for a weekend break, business trip or special event. The hotel offers every modern amenity from within its 200-year old listed Georgian Building. The Corus Hotel Hyde Park is the result of a graceful marriage of old and new and the property staff pulls it off with graceful refinement, ensuring all guests enjoy a warm and welcome stay. Rooms are smartly decorated and well-appointed, and two dining choices, including the dinner/live opera creation Bel Canto, are popular with guests and locals.

Highlights
  • 200-year-old Georgian building
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi for all guests
  • Stunning views of Hyde Park
Rooms

All rooms are smartly decorated and include air conditioning, flat screen TV, complimentary Wi-Fi, mini-safe, tea and coffee making facilities and well-lit workspace.  Room formats include standard, Executive and suites, with single, double and twin layouts.   

Dining

The Corus Hotel Hyde Park offers two dining choices. The Bel Canto is a fine dining venue that incorporates live-performance opera. Olio's Brasserie, a stylish conservatory restaurant overlooking Hyde Park, serves an eclectic variety of British dishes and authentic Malaysian cuisine for those seeking a more tranquil dining experience.

Transportation
  • Lancaster Gate tube station (2 minutes walking)
  • Paddington tube station (3 minutes walking)
  • Heathrow Airport (30 minutes)
Attractions
  • Hyde Park (0.01 mi./0.01 km)
  • Kensington Gardens (0.33 mi./0.53 km)
  • Shops of Oxford Street (1.4 mi./2.25 km)
  • West End (1.8 mi./2.89 km)
Business
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi
  • Several meeting rooms
  • LCD projector and screen, flip charts available
  • Two restaurants
  • Room service

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Corus Hotel Hyde Park also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Corus Hotel Hyde Park Rooms

Executive Rooms
Executive rooms offer a choice of 1 double or 2 single beds with room amenities including fresh still water, air conditioning, free WIFI, work desk, laptop safe, multi channel plasma TV, tea/coffe maker, hairdryer and trouser press.
Standard Rooms
Standard rooms offer 1 single bed or 1 double bed or 2 single beds (twin). In-room amenities include free WIFI, TV, working desk, air conditioning, tea/coffee maker, hairdryer and trouser press.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Lancaster Gate: 0 mi
  • Kensington Gardens: 0.3 mi
  • Paddington Station: 0.4 mi
  • Queensway: 0.5 mi
  • Whiteleys Shopping Centre : 0.5 mi
  • City of Westminster: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Memorial : 0.6 mi
  • Kensington Palace: 0.7 mi
  • Hyde Park: 0.7 mi
  • Royal Albert Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Polish Institute and Sikorski Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Marble Arch: 0.8 mi
  • Royal College of Music Archives and Museum of Instruments: 0.8 mi
  • Showroom Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • High Street Kensington: 0.9 mi
  • Lancaster Gate: 0 mi
  • Kensington Gardens: 0.3 mi
  • Paddington Station: 0.4 mi
  • Queensway: 0.5 mi
  • Whiteleys Shopping Centre : 0.5 mi
  • City of Westminster: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Memorial : 0.6 mi
  • Kensington Palace: 0.7 mi
  • Hyde Park: 0.7 mi
  • Royal Albert Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Polish Institute and Sikorski Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Marble Arch: 0.8 mi
  • Royal College of Music Archives and Museum of Instruments: 0.8 mi
  • Showroom Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • High Street Kensington: 0.9 mi
  • Imperial College London: 0.9 mi
  • Science Museum London: 1 mi
  • Park Lane: 1 mi
  • Harrods: 1 mi
  • Knightsbridge: 1 mi
  • Victoria and Albert Museum: 1.1 mi
  • National Art Library: 1.1 mi
  • Selfridges: 1.1 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Baker Street: 1.1 mi
  • Baden-Powell House Exhibition: 1.1 mi
  • Notting Hill: 1.2 mi
  • Gloucester Road: 1.2 mi
  • Wallace Collection: 1.2 mi
  • Sherlock Holmes Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Lords Cricket Ground: 1.2 mi
  • Bond Street London: 1.2 mi
  • Hyde Park Corner: 1.2 mi
  • London Business School: 1.2 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 1.3 mi
  • Wellington Arch: 1.3 mi
  • Maida Vale: 1.3 mi
  • Handel House Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Royal Academy of Music: 1.4 mi
  • Oxford Street: 1.4 mi
  • Cadogan Hall: 1.5 mi
  • Red Mansion Foundation: 1.5 mi
  • Portobello Market: 1.5 mi
  • University of Westminster: 1.5 mi
  • Portobello Road: 1.5 mi

Dining

Olio's Brasserie
Olio's Brasserie is our stylish conservatory restaurant overlooking Hyde Park. You can pick from our seasonal British menu or our authentic Malaysian cuisine, prepared by our resident Malaysian chef
Bel Canto
A welcome new arrival to Corus Hotel Hyde Park, Bel Canto is an eclectic mix of food and opera. The venue combines opera and fine dining with an elegant twist as all the waiting staff are talented young opera stars of the future. The venue offers young professionals the chance to interact with the public while performing arias from Verdi, Puccini, Mozart and many more. At regular intervals during the evening up to four of the performers will burst into song, moving between the tables while belting out opera classics.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:30 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Corus Hotel Hyde Park

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
111 out of 111
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.6

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Corus Hotel Hyde Park

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Speedy Gonzalez
Business
San Jose, CA
Sep 14, 2009

Deceiving looks and description

I would not stay at this hotel again, nor would I recommend it. The grand lobby smelled like curry! Small, dirty room -- so I was told that I was upgraded to look at a back alley and a dumpster...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Corus Hotel Hyde Park

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Mar 4, 2011

Drunks

I got a room right next to the elevator and could not sleep for three nights. Who puts a room right next to an elevator? How do you know if you're going to get that room when you buy the hotel for the night? Horrible. Plus, there were drunken Scottish women every night SCREAMING at the tops of their lungs and pounding on doors at 4am. One night, ok. But by the second night, shouldn't hotel staff have dealt with these anti-social people?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Skip the Swan, go the Mitre right down the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Corus Hotel Hyde Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, Texas
Sep 14, 2010

Great Location

Staff is extremely accomodating and compensates some for one of the worst rooms we have ever visited. Location is great as it is close to taxi, bus and underground. Did not use restaurant services so can not rate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

For a great Irish meal and cold Guinnes try the Swan's pub next door to the Corus Hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Corus Hotel Hyde Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Brother
Business
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Apr 5, 2012

Tiny and uncomfortable

I was really disappointed. It was not close to anything, and other than being fairly clean, did not have much going for it. The room was tiny and the bathroom was so small you could barely turn around in it. For the cost of the package, I felt burnt by the room/hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Corus Hotel Hyde Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Professional and student
Business
Los Angeles
Dec 5, 2012

London Calling

Nice hotel with delightful staff. My Clean yet small room was okay for a single traveler. Too small for two. Newer carpet and furnishings in the room would help. I needed a bunk for one night and it fit the bill.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Just a few blocks form Paddington station in a nice location near Hyde Park.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Corus Hotel Hyde Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jenny in London
Business
San Francisco
Jun 19, 2013

cheap hotel in london

great location, decent pice (for london) but can really use a refresh. and my single room was a glorified closet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Corus Hotel Hyde Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Customer Service Queen
Business
Wolverhampton
Mar 6, 2014

Customer Service = Shocking!

In short - The reason i stayed in this hotel was purely down to the fact it was close to a conference that i was attending the following day and VFM - upon arrival i was prompted to take the option of breakfast - i was presented with vouchers, which i didnt use and still actually have on my possesion! Now when speaking to your rude staff and your incompetent manager.. telling me, even though i hadnt used them, i still had to pay for them? This is beyond absurd. I wasnt offered a refund, just it is a 'policy' that they dont.. I will never travel back to this hotel - my company will never travel to this hotel and I have forwarded my complaint on to complaints team.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Corus Hotel Hyde Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Soniakd
Business
Ireland
Apr 20, 2014

Standard room is tiny

The standard double room was the smallest I've ever seen !!! There wasn't space to turn around in the "bathroom". When I requested to switch to another room the staff at reception were non obliging and dismissive . Will no be going back and will be advising friends to avoid this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Corus Hotel Hyde Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlotte, NC
Feb 25, 2010

Don't come with a car

There is no on-site parking. Nearest car park is 3 blocks away, charging variable hourly rate 24/7. I paid 1.60 pounds/hr. Hotel is just inside London's congestion pricing zone, costing 12 pounds, every day M-F your tag appears on the street. The only attraction in easy walking range from the hotel is Hyde Park. The room I booked was small, even for a single, and I paid a premium to move up for a night, before writing off the prepaid room and moving to a Premier Inn on the outskirts for the rest of my time in London. The whole charge for the room there was less than the combination of the room upgrade and the parking I would have paid at Corus. I had planned to base in central London, playing the tourist and driving my locally resident fiancee out to her school in the suburbs a few times, but this was not practical due to traffic and car fees. Instead, we stayed in the burbs and came into London to sightsee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Corus Hotel Hyde Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
CN
Business
Chicago, IL
Aug 28, 2009

Not Quite What it Seems

The hotel was in a good location but the features that Orbitz had listed were not included in the fee that I paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top