$147 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 12, 2014 Check-out: Oct 13, 2014

Corus Hotel Hyde Park

4 stars
1-7 Lancaster Gate, London, W2 3LG
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
98 reviews
Not bad

Hotel was in great location, no more than 2 minutes minutes away from the metro and a couple stops... See full review

  • Kate52144
  • May 27, 2014
Brilliant location in London

The hotel and it's staff were brilliant, the price we paid for a room with 2 double beds and... See full review

  • Linpau
  • May 8, 2014
Central London hotel in a 200-year-old Georgian building

The Corus Hotel Hyde Park is ideally located and smartly priced for a weekend break, business trip or special event. The hotel offers every modern amenity from within its 200-year old listed Georgian Building. The Corus Hotel Hyde Park is the result of a graceful marriage of old and new and the property staff pulls it off with graceful refinement, ensuring all guests enjoy a warm and welcome stay. Rooms are smartly decorated and well-appointed, and two dining choices, including the dinner/live opera creation Bel Canto, are popular with guests and locals.

Highlights
  • 200-year-old Georgian building
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi for all guests
  • Stunning views of Hyde Park
Rooms

All rooms are smartly decorated and include air conditioning, flat screen TV, complimentary Wi-Fi, mini-safe, tea and coffee making facilities and well-lit workspace.  Room formats include standard, Executive and suites, with single, double and twin layouts.   

Dining

The Corus Hotel Hyde Park offers two dining choices. The Bel Canto is a fine dining venue that incorporates live-performance opera. Olio's Brasserie, a stylish conservatory restaurant overlooking Hyde Park, serves an eclectic variety of British dishes and authentic Malaysian cuisine for those seeking a more tranquil dining experience.

Transportation
  • Lancaster Gate tube station (2 minutes walking)
  • Paddington tube station (3 minutes walking)
  • Heathrow Airport (30 minutes)
Attractions
  • Hyde Park (0.01 mi./0.01 km)
  • Kensington Gardens (0.33 mi./0.53 km)
  • Shops of Oxford Street (1.4 mi./2.25 km)
  • West End (1.8 mi./2.89 km)
Business
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi
  • Several meeting rooms
  • LCD projector and screen, flip charts available
  • Two restaurants
  • Room service

Hotel Map

51.5117 -0.1773
Area served
Hyde Park, Kensington Gardens, Bayswater, Paddington
Nearby airports
Heathrow International Airport
Area description
The hotel is next to Hyde Park, 1 minute away from Lancaster tube station and is 5 minutes from Paddington station with Oxford Street a short walk away.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Corus Hotel Hyde Park also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Corus Hotel Hyde Park Rooms

Executive Rooms
Executive rooms offer a choice of 1 double or 2 single beds with room amenities including fresh still water, air conditioning, free WIFI, work desk, laptop safe, multi channel plasma TV, tea/coffe maker, hairdryer and trouser press.
Standard Rooms
Standard rooms offer 1 single bed or 1 double bed or 2 single beds (twin). In-room amenities include free WIFI, TV, working desk, air conditioning, tea/coffee maker, hairdryer and trouser press.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Lancaster Gate: 0 mi
  • Kensington Gardens: 0.3 mi
  • Paddington Station: 0.4 mi
  • Queensway: 0.5 mi
  • Whiteleys Shopping Centre : 0.5 mi
  • City of Westminster: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Memorial : 0.6 mi
  • Kensington Palace: 0.7 mi
  • Hyde Park: 0.7 mi
  • Royal Albert Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Polish Institute and Sikorski Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Marble Arch: 0.8 mi
  • Royal College of Music Archives and Museum of Instruments: 0.8 mi
  • Showroom Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • High Street Kensington: 0.9 mi
  • Lancaster Gate: 0 mi
  • Kensington Gardens: 0.3 mi
  • Paddington Station: 0.4 mi
  • Queensway: 0.5 mi
  • Whiteleys Shopping Centre : 0.5 mi
  • City of Westminster: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Memorial : 0.6 mi
  • Kensington Palace: 0.7 mi
  • Hyde Park: 0.7 mi
  • Royal Albert Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Polish Institute and Sikorski Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Marble Arch: 0.8 mi
  • Royal College of Music Archives and Museum of Instruments: 0.8 mi
  • Showroom Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • High Street Kensington: 0.9 mi
  • Imperial College London: 0.9 mi
  • Science Museum London: 1 mi
  • Park Lane: 1 mi
  • Harrods: 1 mi
  • Knightsbridge: 1 mi
  • Victoria and Albert Museum: 1.1 mi
  • National Art Library: 1.1 mi
  • Selfridges: 1.1 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Baker Street: 1.1 mi
  • Baden-Powell House Exhibition: 1.1 mi
  • Notting Hill: 1.2 mi
  • Gloucester Road: 1.2 mi
  • Wallace Collection: 1.2 mi
  • Sherlock Holmes Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Lords Cricket Ground: 1.2 mi
  • Bond Street London: 1.2 mi
  • Hyde Park Corner: 1.2 mi
  • London Business School: 1.2 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 1.3 mi
  • Wellington Arch: 1.3 mi
  • Maida Vale: 1.3 mi
  • Handel House Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Royal Academy of Music: 1.4 mi
  • Oxford Street: 1.4 mi
  • Cadogan Hall: 1.5 mi
  • Red Mansion Foundation: 1.5 mi
  • Portobello Market: 1.5 mi
  • University of Westminster: 1.5 mi
  • Portobello Road: 1.5 mi

Dining

Olio's Brasserie
Olio's Brasserie is our stylish conservatory restaurant overlooking Hyde Park. You can pick from our seasonal British menu or our authentic Malaysian cuisine, prepared by our resident Malaysian chef
Bel Canto
A welcome new arrival to Corus Hotel Hyde Park, Bel Canto is an eclectic mix of food and opera. The venue combines opera and fine dining with an elegant twist as all the waiting staff are talented young opera stars of the future. The venue offers young professionals the chance to interact with the public while performing arias from Verdi, Puccini, Mozart and many more. At regular intervals during the evening up to four of the performers will burst into song, moving between the tables while belting out opera classics.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1430
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (98)

Ratings and reviews for Corus Hotel Hyde Park

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
98 out of 98
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.6

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Corus Hotel Hyde Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Linda in London
St. Petersburg, FL
Aug 9, 2009

Good location, lots of street noise

This hotel has a great location near Paddington Station. However, they gave us a room on the second floor that was not accessible by elevator and did not even offer to bell-hop service. When I mentioned this to the front desk, I was met by silence. This room was also over a back street so there was outrageous noise when the trash truck came by at 4am. There is only instant coffee offered in the room and the continental breakfast was offered at 10.5L (about $17 dollars per day per person). Also, the consierge was not very knowledgable and gave incorrect information. Internet access was out of order often.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy an Oyster Card for unlimited access to the tube and the buses. It's about $50 for one week.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Corus Hotel Hyde Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NYC
Jul 15, 2009

Recent stay

Met really nice people including threeladies who'd just had tea with the queen. No joke. Great breakfast. Super location. Internet intermittent in room was a big problem for my job. Had to do my work in the lobby. Poor room temp control combined with duvet bedding made you too hot or too cold at some point everynight we were there

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Corus Hotel Hyde Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Israel
Jun 28, 2009

Nice Place, good location.

Good place, near to Hyde Park. Quite and clean. Big advantage if you arrive from Heatrow.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Two nice and very friendly Pubs 10 steps from the hotel entrance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Corus Hotel Hyde Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Europe once a year
Chicago
Jun 26, 2009

Great Location

Corus should stress the location; it is one block from the Lancaster tube stop which has access to central London in minutes. Hyde Park is literally across the street making it easy to take a walk in the early morning or after dinner. There are several good pubs nearby and the staff was extremely accommodating. The concierge desk was always staffed and helped me many times during my stay. I will definitely stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The neighborhood has much to offer.The Mitre right up the block; Shiela's sandwiches, which are an excellent quick bite, and The Swan virtually next door. The English breakfast at the hotel was great, and the bar and restaurant in the lobby were well staffed and good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Corus Hotel Hyde Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
St. Louis, MO
Jun 12, 2009

We would return

The hotel is in an excellent location - very close to a tube stop which made getting around London very easy. We stayed at the hotel at the beginning of our trip, and at the end - only because of being offered an upgrade if we returned. Our 1st room was VERY small - even smaller than on any cruise ship we've ever been on. Our upgradedroom at the end of the of our trip was much better and I'd compare it to what you'd expect at a Holiday Inn or hotel of that type in the US. The staff at the hotel was very helpful and polite. Because we didn't spend much time in our room, even the small one was adequate, but beware when booking that the standard room is very small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

You should definitely use the public transportation and get an Oster card which will save you lots of money on transportation.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Corus Hotel Hyde Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dee the Traveler
Swannanoa, NC
Jun 1, 2009

Fantastic Location

This hotel was close to the Underground, buses and Hyde Park making it an excellent location to do all the London sights easily. This hotel bills itself as 3 to 4 stars but having a tea kettle & ironing board & safe do not make it one! The room was extremely tiny with a bathroom sink about one foot around. There was not one single drawer or shelf and a few poor quality hangers that would not stay on the bar. We had to pile our clothes in a heap in the corner for our one week stay. They offered an upgrade to a bigger room for an additional charge of about $35 a night. We refused. They should have given us the upgrade free of charge as the room was awful for 2 people spending a week. It should have been considered a single room (for one person). I've been to London many, many times over the past 35 years and this location is one of the best I've stayed in. The hotel is overpriced for the room we got, only the Orbitz excellent deal made it worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get yourself an "Oyster Card" at any Underground station. We got a one week pass & jumped on & off the underground and buses all day long for one flat price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Corus Hotel Hyde Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
KC, MO
Jun 1, 2009

Great Stay

The hotel provided great reception and a great location. The rooms were soloid basic hotel rooms with sufficient space and great housekeeping and front desk staff. Being close to the subway made for easy access throughout the city. The neighborhood was quiet and had a nice pub next door. For out of town trips, the hotel is a short walk from paddington station. Overall, a great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is across the street from Hyde park--definitely take some time to walk through the park.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Corus Hotel Hyde Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
if
May 30, 2009

good location, small room

the corus hotel is in a great location, close to the tube and hyde park. the rooms are small even for london. think of a shoe box only slighty bigger. the bath is nice with a good shower. the bed was a bit hard and you could feel the springs. my wife and i decided to sleep on top of the covers an just use the spare blanket. that worked better. the full breakfast was ok and they kept it stocked well. this is a large hotel so if you go during rush hour, expect to wait for a table. when we arived they did not have our reservation from orbitz but cheched us in. the next day they called orbitz and everything was taken care of without us having to get involved.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Corus Hotel Hyde Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
California, USA
May 26, 2009

it is good but small

it is a nice experience to stay in this hotel, everything good, but small room, really small.yes,I know that is not USA. LOL~~~~

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Corus Hotel Hyde Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Texas
May 15, 2009

Overnight stay

The staff was friendly and very helpful. We arrived before our check-in time and we didn't have to wait for a room. Though the room was small it served our purpose well. Our room was overlooking the hotel enterance which was abit noisey with people coming and going but nothing we couldn' cope with for the night. Would as for a different room if going to be there for a longer stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search