$117 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 14, 2015 Check-out: Jun 15, 2015

Corus Hotel Hyde Park

4 stars
View map of 1-7 Lancaster Gate, London, W2 3LG

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Corus Hotel Hyde Park

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
116 out of 116
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.6

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Corus Hotel Hyde Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
solotraveller
Business
Ireland
Aug 23, 2012

Great location, v comfy

This hotel is 2 mins walk from Lancaster Gate tube station and a bus stop with handy bus connections to oxford street and tourist attractions. I was in a single room which had a queen size bed (bigger than I expected). Nice sized room with tv and tea/coffee. Good selection at breakfast to stock up for day, can be busy so order tea/coffee as soon as you sit down. Luxury feel to hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Corus Hotel Hyde Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jane3nc
Business
Midlands
Jun 26, 2012

Most requirements covered

Clean, comfortable and nice rooms (executive rooms) warning - standard rooms are small and have bed pushed up against wall, pay the extra. Only compliant was shower was almost useless, dribbled out, no power. Bed was kind of comfy but had that roll together which was a bit annoying. Price excellent, location good. Would stay again for business and pleasure (in exec room) but hope for a better bed and shower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Just between the hotel and Lancaster Gate Tube Stn is a resturant that servces breakfast (Island Grill), more reasonable than hotel, opens at 7am.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Corus Hotel Hyde Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CHACHOMAN99
Business
Ciudad de México, DF, México
Apr 16, 2012

Great location london hotel

it was a good hotel, about 2 mins walking from lancaster gate underground, although the bathroom is very very tiny,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

At marble gate underground, just one from lancaster gate, theres a shopping store PRIMARK, really great prices, also a Sainsbury supermarket, mcdonalds,kfc, its a perfect stop

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Corus Hotel Hyde Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lichti
Business
Zürich, Switzerland
Apr 12, 2012

Ok for a sightseeing trip

We have spent our 4-day Easter weekend in London and the most important issue regarding the hotel was the location. Corus Hotel Hyde Park matches this criteria for sure. It's located less than two walking minutes from Central line Underground station "Lancaster Gate", directly beneath the Hyde Park. That's about all I can say about the hotel, that's positive. On the negative side the hotel has very, very small rooms (at least for the standard room category we had). Taking a shower will challenge everyone taller than 1,70m because one can not turn due to some strange wall construction, the cleanliness of the bed was good, but the rest of the room, let's say it was average to be nice. Also I could not get a bottle of water at the hotel bar after 11pm, because they would not accept cash and my credit card seemed not to be registered with the hotel (although I paid the room in advance with credit card?). And of course you will hear the guests next door and cars on the street. I appreciate that all looks not that important, and if you're planning on spending just one or two nights in London for sightseeing it's a good place. BUT I would definitely not recommend this hotel for more than two nights, nor to any couple looking for privacy, nor for a business trip, family holiday or the like. Sorry.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you step out of the hotel, turn right and walk about 100m. On the left side you will see a pub called "The Mitre". Check out the burgers or Fish & Chips, you will not be disappointed. Food is served until 10.30pm, perfect for late arrivals at the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Corus Hotel Hyde Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GlobeTrotter626
Business
Bronx, NY
Apr 10, 2012

The Corus "Low" Hotel

**I stayed at this hotel for two nights in a single room** Amenities: This hotel provided free Wi-Fi with reasonable speed. Location: The hotel is close to the Lancaster Gate underground station on the Circle Line. The hotel is literally a 5 minute walk away from the tube. There isn't much around the hotel since it is in a residential area. Therefore, you will need to take the train to get anywhere in London. I found this a bit inconvenient because at times I was forced to eat the over priced hotel food. Room Cleanliness: Overall the room was very clean however the bathroom could use a good scrubbing. The shower had a lot of mold around the handles and I could hardly turn the knobs to turn the shower on because of the mold. Room Comfort: I had no complaints here the room was the standard size for a typical European hotel for one person. Staff: The staff was average. They did not go out of their way to make your stay comfortable at all. Every time I would ask them if they had good restaurants suggestions they would only suggest the hotel facilities or would tell me the nearest restaurants were ten minutes away but would never give a specific name. It was as if none of them lived or worked in London at all! Value: Overall, you do not get a good value for your money. I paid $300 for my entire stay and thought it was a total waste of money as I had received better service at two star hotels. I had to switch my room twice because the lock inside my room did not work. Also, my reservation did not include the breakfast and the hotel staff seemed so confused when I would say that I would pay for it out of pocket. Overall, the people at this hotel are just very socially awkward.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

If the breakfast is not included in your reservation try to have a plan as to where you are going to eat in the morning. There are very few places around the hotel and the breakfast at the hotel costs 16 euros!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Corus Hotel Hyde Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Brother
Business
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Apr 5, 2012

Tiny and uncomfortable

I was really disappointed. It was not close to anything, and other than being fairly clean, did not have much going for it. The room was tiny and the bathroom was so small you could barely turn around in it. For the cost of the package, I felt burnt by the room/hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Corus Hotel Hyde Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
maeham
Business
Hamburg, Germany
Apr 4, 2012

good location

very close to the lancaster gate st.(tube), easy to find out, good location infront of Hyde Park. reception staff is polite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Corus Hotel Hyde Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Jan 10, 2012

3rd stay at the Corus

The rooms are very simple but if you're not planning on spending a lot of time there it is perfect. Has everything you need for a comfortable stay but nothing extravagant. Breakfast is fine. Rather than including meals every day, this time I pre-bought two breakfast vouchers for a four night stay. It was perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Turn right on Bayswater Road to Queensway for "late" night take away. And by late I mean up until midnight. Sort of early for Americans traveling abroad and looking for a midnight snack but it works!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Corus Hotel Hyde Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jane and Doug
Business
Cleveland, WI, USA
Nov 9, 2011

Very nice hotel!

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel atmosphere is very inviting. We enjoyed our stay and we would absolutely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Corus Hotel Hyde Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TravelAnne
Business
Massachusetts, USA
Oct 4, 2011

Right location, right price!

Our second stay at the Corus Hyde Park didn't disappoint. Same helpful staff, same great value. The location is perfect, across the street from Hyde Park and just around the corner from the Lancaster Gate Underground Station. The room wasn't fancy, but it was clean and comfortable. Some nice dining options within walking distance. We'll be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Add breakfast vouchers to your stay. Hooray for beans on toast!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top