$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2014 Check-out: Aug 18, 2014

Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

4 stars
Scarsdale Place Kensington, Kensington, London, W8 5SR
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
242 reviews
Perfect!

This hotel was amazing! The hotel staff went above and beyond. We happened to be staying during the... See full review

  • Jasmine2014
  • Jan 18, 2014
An excellent capital stay

We couldn't have wished for a better stay at the Copthorne Tara. The location is right in the heart... See full review

  • smartiemart
  • Nov 17, 2013
Popular 4-star hotel in the Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea

The Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington is tucked away in a quiet corner of the Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea. The hotel is one of the city's most well known 4-star properties and is equally suitable for both business and leisure travelers. The Copthorne Tara Hotel boasts more than 800 rooms appointed with contemporary furnishings and amenities. The hotel also features two restaurants, a bar, café, 24-hour room service, high-speed Internet and a fitness center.

Highlights
  • Several on-site dining options
  • On-site coffee shop
  • Complimentary fitness center
Rooms

Rooms have been carefully designed to maximize natural daylight, with light wood and soothing shades that offer a quiet retreat at the end of the day. All rooms include private facilities and include satellite TV and pay-per-view, Internet (fees apply), hairdryer, tea and coffee making facilities, mini-fridge and direct dial telephone with voicemail. Club room guests enjoy complimentary access to the Copthorne Club Lounge, which offers free continental breakfast, newspaper, Internet access, tea and coffee throughout the day and drinks in the evening.

Features

The Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington is located in a quiet area of Kensington, just a short walk to the shops and museums of Kensington and Knightsbridge. The hotel is a contemporary and stylish 4-star hotel and is the ideal base for both leisure and business pursuits.

Dining

The hotel boasts a variety of on-site dining and drinking options: Artist Corner offers a la carte dining options in a relaxed setting; Cafexpress serves coffee drinks and sandwiches; and Bugis Street serves a tantalizing array of Singaporean, Malaysian and Cantonese cuisine. Additionally, the Brasserie Restaurant & Bar serves a wide selection of drinks and an all-day menu featuring typical pub fare.

 

The hotel offers a fitness room with cross trainers, treadmills, dumbbells and a stretching area. On-site parking is available, too (fees apply).

Transportation
  • High Street Kensington tube stations (1 minute walking)
  • Heathrow Airport (24 minutes)
  • Gatwick Airport (1 hour, 6 minutes)
Attractions
  • Hyde Park (1.7 mi./2.86 km)
  • Kensington Palace (0.36 mi./0.59 km)
  • Portobello Road Market (1.47 mi./2.37 km)
  • Royal Albert Hall (0.61 mi./0.99 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Computer stations with Internet (fee applies) and color printers
  • Meeting rooms for 2 to 280 people

Hotel Map

51.4989 -0.1912
Area served
London.
Nearby airports
London Heathrow International Airport.
Area description
Located in a residential area of Kensington within walking distance of the High Street- buses and underground station, close to Earls Court and Olympia Exhibition Centres. Easy access by car or tube from Heathrow airport, minutes away from the shops and museums of Kensington and Knightsbridge/Harrods, 20 minutes to the West End/Oxford Street and Theatreland.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington Rooms

Superior Room
The bedding option for the room is one double bed or one twin bed. Room offers Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Cable / Satellite TV, Disabled facilities, Hairdryer, Heating, Broadband Internet access, Modem / data port connection, Non-smoking rooms, Pay-per-view movies, Refrigerator, 24-hour Room service, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone.
Club Room
The bedding option for the room is one double bed. Room facilities include all those featured in the Superior rooms. In addition, Club guests benefit from complimentary access to the Copthorne Club Lounge, offering: Complimentary Continental breakfast, Newspapers, Tea & coffee throughout the day, Internet access and Evening drinks between 6.45pm - 8.15pm.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • High Street Kensington: 0.2 mi
  • Kensington Palace: 0.4 mi
  • Gloucester Road: 0.4 mi
  • Baden-Powell House Exhibition: 0.6 mi
  • Royal Albert Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Royal College of Music Archives and Museum of Instruments: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Memorial : 0.6 mi
  • Earls Court Exhibition Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Imperial College London: 0.7 mi
  • Science Museum London: 0.7 mi
  • Kensington Gardens: 0.7 mi
  • Polish Institute and Sikorski Museum: 0.8 mi
  • National Art Library: 0.8 mi
  • Victoria and Albert Museum: 0.8 mi
  • High Street Kensington: 0.2 mi
  • Kensington Palace: 0.4 mi
  • Gloucester Road: 0.4 mi
  • Baden-Powell House Exhibition: 0.6 mi
  • Royal Albert Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Royal College of Music Archives and Museum of Instruments: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Memorial : 0.6 mi
  • Earls Court Exhibition Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Imperial College London: 0.7 mi
  • Science Museum London: 0.7 mi
  • Kensington Gardens: 0.7 mi
  • Polish Institute and Sikorski Museum: 0.8 mi
  • National Art Library: 0.8 mi
  • Victoria and Albert Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Queensway: 1 mi
  • Lancaster Gate: 1 mi
  • Whiteleys Shopping Centre : 1.1 mi
  • Harrods: 1.2 mi
  • Stamford Bridge: 1.2 mi
  • Knightsbridge: 1.2 mi
  • King's Road: 1.2 mi
  • Royal Institute of British Architects Collections: 1.3 mi
  • Chelsea: 1.4 mi
  • Paddington Station: 1.4 mi
  • Westfield Shopping Centre : 1.5 mi
  • City of Westminster: 1.5 mi
  • Cadogan Hall: 1.5 mi
  • Broadway Shopping Centre : 1.5 mi
  • Notting Hill: 1.5 mi
  • Saatchi Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Sloane Square: 1.5 mi
  • Couper Collection: 1.6 mi
  • Hyde Park: 1.6 mi
  • Hammersmith Apollo: 1.7 mi
  • King's Mall Shopping Centre : 1.7 mi
  • Hyde Park Corner: 1.7 mi
  • Royal Hospital Chelsea Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Marble Arch: 1.7 mi
  • Portobello Market: 1.7 mi
  • Park Lane: 1.7 mi
  • Portobello Road: 1.7 mi
  • Wellington Arch: 1.8 mi
  • Showroom Gallery: 1.9 mi
  • Selfridges: 2 mi

Dining

Bugis Street
Offers a delightful selection of authentic Singaporean, Malaysian and Chinese cuisine.
Cafexpress
Serving a selection of coffees/ teas and a wide range of home-made sandwiches, salads and delicious snacks either to enjoy in or to take away.
The Brasserie
It (restaurant & bar) is located on the ground floor of the hotel and offers an informal and very relaxed atmosphere. The venue offers casual dining in the restaurant, serving an 'A la Carte' menu with predominantly British cuisine, and an 'all day' snack menu in the Bar area from 11am .

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (242)

Ratings and reviews for Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
32 out of 242
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
I'm not that picky.
Denver, CO
Jan 5, 2014

Just fine

Everything was good enough to leave me with no complaints, but nothing was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
OrryBoy
Mexico
Apr 28, 2013

Great Hotel !

I stayed here to visit London and it was perfect ! Walking distance to subway, great room service, stores, cafes and pharmacy in front of the hotel. Alse there are some sightseeing spots within walking distance. Book a Tour in the Lobby they were very friendly and helpful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the Subway/Tube from the airport

Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Forest nfc
Mainz, Germany
Feb 22, 2013

Tara

Really great hotel. Perfect location and great value for London. I would stay there again in a second.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JPari
Denver, CO
Jan 7, 2013

Quiet Hotel in Good Location

This hotel in London has the biggest and most clean room I have stayed at thus far. The room was comfortable and was kept quite clean. This is about a 10 minute walk from the High Street Kensington Station and is in a nice peaceful area that allowed me to unwind and relax after a long day out in London. I would definitely stay here again - the money value is worth the stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a rather nice piano bar right on the High St.

Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Spikiesmom
Honolulu, HI,USA
Dec 10, 2012

Perfect Location for the tourist

Been to London two times and stayed at the Copthorne both times and loved it. On my first trip I had problems catching the shuttle to the airport even though I had pre confirmed my status the night before...Thanks to the concierge desk I got to ride the Black London Cab free...I was thrilled to end a dream trip to London on a London cab. The Copthorne is perfectly situated to catch the tube....the perfect hotel for the first time tourist. I plan to return someday.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Study the maps. I walked to Kensington Palace and Buckingham Palace. It's close to the tube and to the buses.

Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wannabe Ex Patriot
Dayton, Ohio
Oct 22, 2012

Very good for a one person trip!

I stayed a week at this hotel during my first trip overseas and it was in a great location! The staff were all very friendly and helpful as I was upgraded when a problem with the room above me was discovered. The rooms are somewhat outtdated and dreary but the location was fantastic with a short walk to the nearest tube station (closed on weekends) on High Street. Taxi's are readily available in the mornings but not really throughout the day so plan accordingly!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sweaty in Miami
CA
Oct 10, 2012

Solo traveler - Hot Room - Low Lighting

I stayed here for 3 nights and in general this hotel is old and needs updating. However, the beds were reasonably comfortable and the shower was actually pretty good. I fail to see how you can get any air in the bathroom and not allow it to steam up because there's no ventilation. The only thing that I have to complain about is that the hotel staff wasn't particularly nice or friendly, or rude in any way, it was pretty average. They didn't take too good care of me after my wallet was stolen and my hotel card with it. Also the room, the A/C does NOT work! It was excessively warm in the room the whole time despite it being cool outside so it really should have been more like heat versus cool but it was super stuffy in the room the whole 3 days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

High Street Kensington Station is close by

Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Most bucksed
Lagos
Aug 27, 2012

Decent hotel

Good amenities. Friendly staff and excellent location. Nice Asian restaurant. Got a free room upgrade

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Budget conscious 1
NY, USA
Jul 5, 2012

Surprisingly good deal

Based on what I paid I was surprised to get such a nice hotel. I reserved a room for one and got a huge room meant for two (with two large beds). It's near the Kensington part of London within walking distance of Buckingham Palace (though it would be a long walk). About a block or two away from High Street Kensington underground station. Nearby are a few restaurants which range from Thai to McDonald's to cafes. Con: 10 GBP/day for wifi. It has its own restaurant, but breakfast costs 10-17 GBP (depending on who you believe).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Faery Gramma
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 7, 2012

Great Bargain

I was upgraded to 9th floor, odd # room, at desk for no extra charge. Room is well thought out but older. Great tree top view, I was able to see the fireworks after Jubilee Concert. Kensington is my favorite place in London. Lots of towels, lovely tea/coffee set up in room and also a little fridge. The only downside to the room is not fresh air and a stale smell which was allevaited by a/c but I have allergy issues. The staff was GREAT! The hotel has excellent Asian restaurant, gift shop, snack center. The food is very average except for Asian food which was superb. It is very safe, lots of security, and runs smoothly for tourists i.e. post box, money changing center, any kind of guest service you might need. Lovely big lobby. Location cannot be beat, right near busses and Tube.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the #9 bus which goes right by Knightsbridge, down Piccadilly and ends at Green Park. It is a short walk to Regent's St. which takes you to the Mall with Buckingham Palace on right and on the left cut through Horse Guard to Westminster. Piccadilly Circus has short cut over to Covent Garden and it is about 7 min walk. AVOID Tube. It is stuffy and crowded. TAKE THE BUS!! I will stay there again. Just wish some fresh air.

Back to menu Return to top